Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Standard Publishing The Young Reader's Bible, Hardcover

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Standard Publishing The Young Reader's Bible, Hardcover

The Young Reader's Bible has large type, appealing illustrations, and kid-pleasing special features, making it a fantastic Bible storybook to give your 5- to 8-year-olds!

From Genesis, to the prophecies of the Messiah, to the beginning of the church, to Revelation, each of these 70 action-packed Bible stories is short enough to finish in one sitting. New and beginning readers feel successful each time they complete a story. Use The Young Reader's Bible for family devotions, bedtime, or anytime. It's the perfect way to begin your child's lifetime adventure of personal Bible reading!

Features:

  • 70 Easy-to-read Bible stories
  • Scripture references
  • Maps and map activities
  • Illustrated Bible "Who's who?"
  • Other learning helps
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 580%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Young Reader's Bible, Hardcover
Review 1 for The Young Reader's Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Favorite Book at our House!

Date:February 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Oracle Triple C
Location:Tucson, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this Bible years ago for my firstborn daughter. She loved it to pieces (quite literally). And now, our son has his own and loves it too! Great way to get young children, especially those learning to read, into the Word of the Lord! The stories are simply stated, but not dumbed down. Great, engaging pictures! If you want your child to develop a passion for studying the Bible, this could be just the bridge that they need before they get a chapter and verse Bible. I know that was the case in our home.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Young Reader's Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding!

Date:September 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kmama
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best story Bible I have ever seen. The stories are Biblically accurate, with well chosen easy-to-read words, and the pictures are peaceful & beautiful. (No stick figures with bug eyes here!) A wonderful pictorial table of contents at the beginning, too.
My four children all learned to read from this Bible. I read it to them so much that they already knew most of the words when it was time for them to start reading it themselves. Once they had read this whole Bible out loud to me, then it was time for them to give them their first real Bible. (But of course, they still spent a lot of time with their beloved story Bible.) Now I am buying copies for my youngest nieces & nephews, and looking forward to reading it to my grandkids someday!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Young Reader's Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Doesn't go with curriculum.

Date:August 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Location:Wichita, KS
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Without book names, chapters and verses, you can't really follow the teaching of the curriculum; to learn how to use the Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Young Reader's Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reading over Web cam fosters relationship

Date:October 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
mamabirdluby
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 6 year old granddaughter loves this Bible. She has a couple of other Bibles for Children but this one is by far her favorite. It is right at her reading level, with a few words to push her a bit, but it does not frustrate her. Great investment. We are separated by over a thousand miles, but several evenings a week, we have a web cam. She reads to me and I follow along with my copy. We discuss the stories and how they apply to our lives--a great way to foster and keep a relationship when separated by many miles!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Young Reader's Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Interesting

Date:April 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
JaxReader
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Young Reader's Bible is interesting and chock full of information that helps the young readers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Young Reader's Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tina Rucker
My son loves his new Bible. He is 6 and it is easy for him to read and understand. He reads it every day! The price is very reasonable and shipping was fast!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Young Reader's Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Paula Galatis
Not what I expected. This easy to read Bible stories, I was looking for a Bible for young reader.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Young Reader's Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2004
Customer Avatar
Jodi Shropshire
This is the perfect Bible for young readers. I was so excited to find a Bible at K-2 grade reading level. My boys read a chapter to each other every night. They love to read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Young Reader's Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2000
Customer Avatar
Connie Martin-Wilson
My 7.5 year son reads a section of this book almost every night.About 5 nights out of 7.He's in 2nd grade and the reading level is just right.He likes reading the stories to me. I don't have to fight with him toread it. He wants to.I also use the companion Fun Pad that goes with this bible. In pencil I noted on those pages in the bible that had a corresponding fun page.When we read the section of the bible that has fun page we do it.It reinforces what he has read in the bible.I also use the companion Devotional that goes with this bible. Onthose nights where he seems interested in only reading 2 pages,this is what we read. It has devotionals on his level that apply tohis life-age situations, like school, play, friends, activities, etc. Ithas a simple verse for him to say, a prayer (which he does rightaway without prompting), and a reference to the bible. This hasbeen a hit too.The other children's bible I've explored were to adult-ish for him.They had tiny print and no interesting pictures. They would nothave kept his interest. He was above a Toddler Bible, or Read-to-meBible, but not quite ready for the full tiny printchildren's bibles.This is winner if you want to keep your active son reading the bible.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.