Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vision Video Treasures Of The Snow, DVD

Vision Video Treasures Of The Snow, DVD

High in the Swiss Alps, little Danny disappears. When he is found---alive, but seriously injured---his sister, Annette, vows revenge. Lucien, who caused the accident, escapes to the forest where he is taken in by a godly old woodcarver. Lucien wants to make amends, but will Annette learn to forgive him? Features easy-access chapter-title search. Treasures of the Snow was filmed in the breathtaking Swiss Alps. The charm of genuine antique chalets will delight you. And you will experience real life drama, the tensions of ordinary people under pressures and the satisfaction of righteousness rewarded. Approx. 107 minutes.

Special Features:

  • Promotional Trailer
  • Chapter Title Search
  • About the Production: Director & Author

Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Treasures Of The Snow, DVD
Review 1 for Treasures Of The Snow, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A true lesson on forgiveness.

Date:May 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shirley
Location:New Bern, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have listened to the radio version of this many times. Was thrilled to find the video. It is one I will watch over & over.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Treasures Of The Snow, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!

Date:October 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
catwoman
Location:Dundas, Ontario
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My children & I first saw this movie on TV in the 90's I think & loved it. I loved that it was filmed in the Alps & back in time, but it really showed how even though someone can do something wrong to someone it is always best to tell the true & that by doing the right thing you can be forgiven by God & then hopefully by the person you hurt. I also loved that this story was filmed in such a beautiful place & that it had a happy ending! I had taped it, my tape had worn out & I was thrilled to see you had it on DVD. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Treasures Of The Snow, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Margaret Ketler
Location:Winkler, MB
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Beautiful film on forgiveness! Children must be taught at a young age for being unforgiving has long lasting effects that can scar permenently! Bitterness also takes root if not dealt with!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Treasures Of The Snow, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great family film

Date:May 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Eagles
Location:U.K.
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would highly recommend this beautiful adaption with stunning scenery of Patricia St John's Treasures of the Snow, a book loved by both children and adults. No doubt a favourite with many Christian families, it also makes a good gift to non-Christian children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Treasures Of The Snow, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good movie

Date:March 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
melissa
Location:nc
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
even though movie was a little dated was still great to watch, great lesson on forgiveness
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Treasures Of The Snow, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good drama and lessons!

Date:February 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Lilley
Location:Lookout Mountain, GA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good story for children and adults -- to watch together or alone. So glad it's available.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Treasures Of The Snow, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

On forgiveness

Date:January 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dorothy
Location:Midland, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This DVD has the same atmosphere as the book. It is true to its author. A lovely story about forgiveness and how lack of forgiveness can cause such pain.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Treasures Of The Snow, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
DebbieOlson
A wonderful story about forgiveness and courage.The warm love between family members (Ftr-daughter and siblings Annette & Danny) was wonderful to see. Of course the scenery is beautiful as it is filmed in the Swiss Alps.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Treasures Of The Snow, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dorothy Bickar
Treasurers of the Snow was a delightful simple story of life in the Swiss Alps. It is a lesson in human kindness and the way one boy learns from life there. We loved it. It had no violence or worldly lustfulness. Not too many DVDs out there like it. Good family entertainment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Treasures Of The Snow, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nancy Dunnewin
This movie is a good movie for children who tend to be selfish or unkind. I would highly recommend it. I like the spirituality of it and the fact that kindness pays off.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Treasures Of The Snow, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Borgia
This is a wonderful DVD to share with your elementary age children. It teaches a lesson about bitterness and revenge. The plan of salvation is also very clear. I find it is best to watch this DVD after you have already read the book. The DVD is somewhat slow as it is an older movie, but if you have read the book you will enjoy it. I teach in a Christian school and read the book to my students every year. After we have finished the book we watch the movie. There are great discussion questions with the movie that make the children think.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Treasures Of The Snow, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
concerned mom
I enjoyed the movie. It was fairly accurate to the story though I enjoyed the book much better. The message of God's working in their lives is much stronger in the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Treasures Of The Snow, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joan Mccandless
Very well done movie. Most parts true to the book but disappointed in the portrayal of the gospel message which is so plain in the book. The book gives the truth of repentance as a sinner, as sinful acts make that plain, recognizing that's why Christ died and opening our heart for the Lord to come in. The movie only shows feeling sorry for the acts of anger or vindictiveness. The book which I read as child over 50 years ago was a huge factor in pointing me to the Saviour. I wish the movie did the same as so many children don't read anymore but will watch movies.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Treasures Of The Snow, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Eleanor Leone
I homeschool my 12 year old daughter and our curriculum included the reading of Treasures of the Snow. The book is awesome, but not exactly like the movie, some parts are left out etc. the movie was wonderfully done very moving especially to see hatred turn into friendship.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Treasures Of The Snow, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sheryl Reeves
Excellent. Teaches consequences of sin, repentance and forgiveness. For children and adults alike. A family movie that teaches principles of God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Treasures Of The Snow, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Warren Berstler
This film teaches the true meaning of forgiveness. We have a human nature to hold a grudge when bad situations occur to us, but God's love, mercy and grace surpasses all that is evil and He can truly change the human heart if we allow Him to. If we don't we become bitter and remained "chained" to our past. And if we do that, the healing of our hearts, minds and bodies of those involved will never take place.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Treasures Of The Snow, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mary Edwards
Teasures of the Snow DVD is an excellant DVD to have as a family or children's worker. I showed it to my 4th grade students at school as it has so many character building traits in it that children don't see today or get. My students really enjoyed it and several read the book also. I plan to use this DVD again next year. Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Treasures Of The Snow, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lynn Boone
This is an exellent movie about forgivness. I heard the story on the radio and then bought the dvd. Even my 5yr old grandaughter sat through the whole thing and loved it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Treasures Of The Snow, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Paul Klinger
This is truly one of the finest family films ever made. The acting is excellent, the script is faithful to the book, and the scenery of Switzerland is spectacular. It isone of my 20 favorite films of all time, andI am 66 and have seen at least a thousand films.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Treasures Of The Snow, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2007
Customer Avatar
Ruth C.
This film is great for children (and others of all ages) for teaching forgiveness. Children will be able to relate with the children on the film and will see how holding a grudge and hating someone only hurts the one doing so, but forgiving others brings/restores peace and joy and love. God's way is best! And for those of you who enjoy Switzerland's scenery as much as I do (never been there, but have seen pictures and heard descriptions), you will enjoy this aspect as well. Be sure to check out other products by Patricia St. John such as the DVD "The Tanglewoods Secret" and her many books that children have enjoyed and will enjoy for years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>