Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Faith Films Sunday School Musical, DVD

Faith Films Sunday School Musical, DVD

Not your ordinary high school! Two competing groups of high school students must rally together and enter a song and dance competition in order to save their youth center from closing. Featuring a hot 21 songs, Sunday School Musical is wholesome family entertainment with an inspirational message! Special features include cast and crew commentary, sing-along selections, gag reel, and more! Widescreen. Approx. 85 minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
3.662 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (77 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
23
3 stars
10
2 stars
8
1 star
9
38 out of 4879%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sunday School Musical, DVD
Review 1 for Sunday School Musical, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great family movie

Date:March 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Betty
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My grandkids and I love this movie. Great story and values. They know every song.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sunday School Musical, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My kids love it and so do I!!!

Date:August 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nancy
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This movie was great! My kids really enjoy it and they love the CD that goes with it. No blood, guts, sexual content (except a modest kiss at the end), or swears.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sunday School Musical, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Lame

Date:July 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christian mom of 7
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I don't understand why Christians try to rip off the success of the world. Couldn't this movie stand on it's own without trying to play off the Disney movie Name and even the cover of the movie is similar. Who are they trying to fool? I think the audience they are trying to reach with this are the very ones who will call it lame without even watching it because of the blatant attempt to snag some of Disneys success. COme on people, we can do better than this.
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sunday School Musical, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Mixed review

Date:July 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sheryle Thompson
Location:NH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
This movie would have been a fairly good movie, my daughter actually loves it, the music, the singing and dancing, all are good.
The problem is the mouth kiss at the end...why is this ok? why couldn't they have just given each other a nice hug or something, this was totally unnecessary. This kiss at the end just wrecks the whole thing - my kids always have to look away at that part but we know what's going on...it's just gratuitous, not necessary at all.
The other thing that kids won't notice is the choppiness of one scene to the next, but the talent is definately there amongst the actors (not for their acting, mind you, but their singing!)
Also keep in mind that in the bloopers, the girl lead says 'oh my ...' which is totally unnecessary, why would this blurt out of her mouth if she were a Christian? they do bleep it out but it's still obvious what she said.
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sunday School Musical, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's a great movie.

Date:May 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Consecrated
Location:Minneapolis MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a great movie for a young girl nearing her teenage years. I mentor this young girl and I'm trying to reach her for Christ. To have good morals. She sees alot of bad TV at her house.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sunday School Musical, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Geat Singing !!!

Date:May 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Suzy
Location:Shakopee, Minnesota
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
There was some great talent in the DVD. The production lacked some quality, and sometimes the story line was not clear.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sunday School Musical, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
rhondaandbrad
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our children loved this just as much as the Disney version of High School Musical! We loved that the message was much better than the Disney version.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sunday School Musical, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The grand daughters loved it

Date:April 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
repentorburn
Location:Australia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The grand daughters loved it and it has been played over and over
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sunday School Musical, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
ladybug
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The movie was awesome. My 8 yr old really enjoyed it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sunday School Musical, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not A Good Movie

Date:March 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Newsboysfann
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I know there have been a lot of mixed reviews about this movie. But in my opinion, this movie is terrible! First of all, the plot is slow and boring, and not very well written. The actors are very talented, and the songs and choreography were enjoyable but the whole story was just poorly written. There was no obvious Christian message, and the kiss between the two main characters at the end was very unecessary and out of place. Besides singing a few Christian songs, the movie made no effort to point people to Christ. Instead, the characters tried to solve their problems on their own, without asking God for help and guidance. This sends out a poor message to non-Chrisitna viewers watching this film. I would not suggest this film to anyone, despite it's supposed Christian message.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sunday School Musical, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
revjim
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This movie was good family entertainment, and we enjoyed the music and dancing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sunday School Musical, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cymbal
Location:Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The movice was very good and the song i love them and the Kids thay know what they are doing and it's is showing us that we can live good with each other and we have to Love each other and work with each other
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sunday School Musical, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This movie is fun, safe and has great songs...

Date:February 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Julena
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter wakes up to the CD that came with the movie, every morning. She loves this movie, the message it sends about relationships between young men a young ladies. It doesn't focus on the whole high school drama between boys and girls and the clothing the kids wear is appropriate. She gets mad when girls wear too reviling attire. The end was great when the other church choir gives up the prize. Great movie for the whole family. OH, I can't stop singing the song "I sing because I'm happy" so I think I liked it a lot too!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sunday School Musical, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good clean fun.

Date:February 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Amy Riley
Location:Maryland
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a movie I'd of loved as a kid. Singing and dancing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sunday School Musical, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

We won't be showing it to anyone.

Date:January 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Laura Gurney
Location:Maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My husband and I previewed this video for our child. We're glad we did. We won't be showing her because at the very end of the film, the teens have a mouth kiss and that ruined the whole thing for us. (We teach those in our influence that mouth kissing is only for married people.) Just wish they could have left that out.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sunday School Musical, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
BABS
Location:CHICAGO, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EXCELLENT MOVIE FOR ALL AGES. THIS WAS THE SECOND TIME THAT I PURCHASED THIS MOVIE. I ALREADY HAD ONE COPY FOR MYSELF BUT I WANTED TO SEND A COPY TO MY GRANDCHILDREN AND I ALSO PURCHASED ANOTHER COPY FOR THE CHILDREN IN MY SUNDAY SCHOOL CLASS TO WATCH. VERY GOOD STORY LINE, GOOD SONGS AND JUST A GREAT CHRISTIAN MOVIE. GREAT PRINCIPLES
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sunday School Musical, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This movie is inspirational for teens

Date:January 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kimberly Best
Location:NJ
I like to view movies/musicals before recommending them to kids & friends. This was definitely a good musical! It seems to focus on real life issues through expressions of singing & music. I think its based on having faith of how God can come through in troubling situations. So yes, this is one I would highly recommend...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sunday School Musical, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good family movie

Date:January 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Luv2read
Location:KY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's so hard anymore to find decent things for my 11 year old to watch. This movie didn't have as much of a storyline or as many songs as I would have liked, but overall I enjoyed it. It also did a decent job of holding my son's attention.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sunday School Musical, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

My kids lIves it

Date:January 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
IVAW
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Nice wholesome movie for the most part and my kids really enjoyed it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sunday School Musical, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I would recommend it .

Date:January 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Patricia Tryal
Location:Bent Mountain, Va
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my granddaughters, aged 11 and 7, and they love it! They have watched it several times. I watched it with them last night, and it is a cute story. The songs are good, the dancing is awesome, the premise is good, tied into the scriptures in Galatians, loving your neighbor as yourself. I did notice that the most basic conflict resolution -prayer- was not mentioned, which I thought was strange, but all in all, I liked it.
The sound quality is not good, being very low when people are speaking and very loud when they are singing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.