Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Charismatic Chaos

Zondervan Charismatic Chaos

The charismatic movement has made an impact on the church unparalleled in history. But one legacy of the movement is confusion and mushy thinking. In Charismatic Chaos, John MacArthur calls for biblical evaluation and analyzes the doctrinal differences between charismatics and non-charismatics in the light of Scripture.

"My principal concern," writes MacArthur, "is to call the church to a firm commitment to the purity and authority of the Scriptures, and thereby to strengthen the unity of the true church." To tough questions that seem to divide, Charismatic Chaos provides tougher answers that strive to unite. This book tackles such questions as:

  • Is experience a valid test of truth?
  • Does God still give revelation?
  • Prophets, fanatics, or heretics?
  • Does God still heal?
  • What should we think of the Signs and Wonders movement?
  • Does the Bible promise health and wealth?
Average Customer Rating:
4.44 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Charismatic Chaos
Review 1 for Charismatic Chaos
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
jerdeb81747
Location:Wichita, Ks
Age:55-65
Gender:male
MacArthur makes many valid points...HOWEVER, he also displays a total ignorance and misunderstanding in many things he says. If I follow him word for word, many of my non-charismatic friends, who are followers of MacArthur would now be considered suspect as trustworthy. It is impossible for MacAuthur to have heard from God on anything he has printed...for basically, he says 'we know longer hear from God by inspiritation etc.' Again, I do agree with him exposing error...but I must also say, he has exposed himself as being in error as well.
My biggest issue is his use of the word: 'all charismatics'...if there is one problem child in his fellowship...then all members of his fellowship should be labeled as 'problem children and unreliable as well.'
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Charismatic Chaos
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Biblical Theology

Date:July 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Benny Mac
Location:Wyoming
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having been raised in a Pentecostal ministering family and experienced most if not all of the subjects MacArthur addresses in Charismatic Chaos I could not recommend a better read, other than God's Word, which he leans on heavily to validate the cessationist view of the gifts of the Spirit he endorses.
Subjective experiences to validate understanding of God is not safe or Biblical. If your desire is to know God as He reveals Himself in His Word but are confused about spiritual experiences and how they relate to your understanding of God this is a must read.
It is written to be understood and carefully respectful of people's feelings. Anyone offended, in my opinion, is not ready for Biblical truth on the matter and has a skewed and man-centered view of the Holy Spirit and His work in the life of the Church. His work is to testify of the Son and Glorify the Father, not man.
+12points
20of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Charismatic Chaos
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Malcolm Christmas
This is a great book! What Macarthur said, I have known for a longtime. To me the charismatic movement is false teaching. Love the book!!
+2points
13of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Charismatic Chaos
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Maggie
Although he raises some interesting points, I wish MacArthur would stop writing! This book along with Truth Wars demonizes fellow believers, misquotes and misrepresents fellow believers, and uses extreme examples and fanatics to describe the norm. Charismatics, as well as those in the emergent movement, cannot be lumped into a single category and to do so, is misleading and deceptive.
-11points
25of 61voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Charismatic Chaos
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Arlie Lloyd
Many people are confusion on these issues,and this book offers a clear understanding of how and why Charismatic spiritual gifts came about. I highly recommend this book for folks with questions on these issues.
+5points
13of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Charismatic Chaos
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Richard Gumina
This book is an outstanding work and a great read in exposing the false teaching in the Charismatic movement that has created chaos and confusion. As a former Charismatic and now a Baptist, proper perspective was given to the significance of scripture over spiritual experience.
+4points
11of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Charismatic Chaos
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
eric
The charasmatics preach a false gospel of signs and lying wonders and most importantly that one can loose their salvation. This book is a must read for those who have either put their faith in this false gospel or those who are genuinely saved but ignorant to the topic at hand.Using the Bible, MacArthur does a nice job of allowing the Word of God to speak for itself.
-1point
9of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Charismatic Chaos
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lisa Dawson
This book is a must read! It is a call for all Christians to return to their Biblical roots.
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Charismatic Chaos
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pastor. Samuel Selvamony
An excellent book that changed my belief which I had once about the work of the Holy Spirit. I highly recommend this book, and every believer should go through this book at least once in their life time and see the deception of the devil through pretension in the name of Jesus..
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Charismatic Chaos
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patrick
Dr. MacArthur lovingly, yet honestly and candidly, responds to the theological and practical questions raised due to the explosion of Charismatic doctrines and practices within our churches. Those who read will be called to the testimony of scripture to see if we can find any biblical support for the framework of Charismatic theology. MacArthur also reveals the darkness found in the "Word of Faith" movement, and its relationship to metaphysical cults. This book is a much needed read, especially for those of us that seek to understand Charismatics. While he has no desire to discredit the ministries of clear thinking Charismatic brothers that are orthodox in doctrine, MacArthur looks at this young movement within the Church, points out the dangers of it, and examines it in the light of scripture.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Charismatic Chaos
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
DARRYL
Even though this book is over 16 years old, I feel it is still relevant for today. It really shows you what was going on 16 years ago in the word of faith movement and how much of what you hear today on so-called Christian TV has it's roots grounded in past errors. At this price I bought 2 books; one for me and one to give to others who are looking for the truth.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Charismatic Chaos
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
John Sorensen
MacArthur does a great job at bringing biblical truths to light, and how Scripture backs up/defends what he teaches. The chapter on Tongues really helped me understand how I was misled in the past, I now know tongues ceased.
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Charismatic Chaos
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2007
All I can say is wowzers. He really laid out the true facts about the false doctrines and teachers out there! It's a must read.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Charismatic Chaos
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
Nathan French
In Charismatic Chaos, MacArthur examines the well-known traits of the Charismatic movement (like tongues, healing, prophecy, miracles, and a long chapter on the Word Faith movement), placing each under the microscope of Scripture. While not denying the sovereign right of God to bestow supernatural gifts on whomever He chooses at any time, MacArthur demonstrates how even during biblical times, miracles and healings were not the norm, but basically neon signs designed to get mans attention to new and important revelations which would become Scripture (as happened with Elijah and the prophets). The Bible, not the fantastic claims of a guy in a suit, are to be the guiding principles of the Christian life.Those who accuse MacArthur of taking TBN teachers out of context ignore the fact that he uses their own words, transcribed from their own TV shows. When Paul Crouch said, I am a little god! Critics begone!, I found it difficult to find another meaning in that statement. Unfortunately, most charismatic churches accept whatever these teachers say without question, and indeed, how can they not? Once Scripture can be explained away, it is like trying to design the Golden Gate Bridge without being sure that two plus two equals four. This is MacArthurs most damning indictment of the charismatic movement its total failure to honor the Scripture above the teachings of men.My usual complaint about MacArthur is his tendency not to use the best arguments to defend his critical points a la his Revelation 22 argument for the closed canon of Scripture but the substance of his message always stays on course. Love him or hate him, he always tells you exactly what he thinks and why.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Charismatic Chaos
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2005
THE BEST.As with all of Dr. John Macarthurs works, this is excellent. I highly recommend.Dr. Macarthur is one of the greatest authors of sound Biblical doctrine of our time.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Charismatic Chaos
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2005
THE BEST.As with all of Dr. John Macarthurs works, this is excellent. I highly recommend.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Charismatic Chaos
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2003
Customer Avatar
Ken Young
As a pastor in NZ, we are seeing more and more people come from a charismatic background with all kinds of interesting experiences and ideas. When they want to join us, we now recommend this book as reading first for them to see our position on this phenomena. We must lovingly stand against this tide which is overtaking so many. This book does a great job of presenting the facts in a well thought-out manner. Thanks.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Charismatic Chaos
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2002
Customer Avatar
T Thomas
After spending three years with a Catholic Charismatic movement and another four years among Pentecostals, I can relate to many of the findings in this book. I am glad that God had revealed the truth to me and helped me get out of this unbiblical cult like movement more than a decade ago. Hope this book helps other Christians see the truth about Charismatic/Pentecostal groups and the dangers in associating with such movements.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Charismatic Chaos
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2001
Customer Avatar
S. Taylor
One of the best "expositions" I've ever read on the church and gifts (tongues, healings, miracles, etc.). Many years ago I was raised with such sound doctrine but then got involved in the Charismatic movement for several years. This brought me back to the word. This reminded me that the "scriptures" are our basis for measuring all the strange things coming into the church and not our "experiences". Experiences not weighed in the word and downright false doctrine in the church have caused much confusion and hurt in my family. Thank you John MacArthur for not being afraid to tell it like it is in a "scholarly" way. You do a wonderful job on early church history unlike many so called Christian authors out there who are trying to rewrite it!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Charismatic Chaos
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2001
Customer Avatar
Daniel Woodring
I highly recommend this book to everyone in search of the truth. The issue is not charismatics verses conservatives although some extreme examples are quoted to show where bad theology ultimately leads. The issue with this book is contending for Biblical truth. Some may disagree with Rev. MacArthur but they will have their hands full trying to prove why. Truth needs to judge experience not experience judging truth. This book proves that when we move from objective truth to subjective experience we make ourselves targets for every kind of bondage and perversion.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>