Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NavPress God's Design for Sex Series, Book 1: The Story of Me, Revised

NavPress God's Design for Sex Series, Book 1: The Story of Me, Revised

It's never too early to begin giving your child a practical understanding of his or her unique, beautiful body and why God designed it to be exactly the way it is. The Story of Me is the first book in the God's Design for Sex series, written to be read to children ages 3 to 5. With candid, age-appropriate language and realistic illustrations, The Story of Me explains:

  • God's love and the goodness of all He has made
  • The nurturing family as God's context for love
  • Why God wants each baby to have both a mommy and a daddy
  • The specialness of being made a boy or a girl
  • Proper names for private body parts

    "Tell me my story again, Daddy!" Little Paul Jackson loves to hear his parents tell him the story of where he came from. And so, beginning all the way back when God knew and loved him before he was born, and brought his parents together to love each other and to have a little boy to love, Paul's parents explain to Paul where he came from and how and why God made him. Paul participates along the way with questions and comments of his own, about himself and his baby sister. At the end, Paul exclaims, "I love that story! I love to know how God made me!" His father replies, "It's a wonderful story, Paul. It is one of the most wonderful stories there is." This winsome book beautifully tells its story with wholesome, simple, honest content accompanied by delightful paintings to illustrate the text, and is charmingly realistic in its portrayal of this interaction between godly, loving parents and their young child.

    Spend a few special moments with your child and The Story of Me, sharing the stories of God's wonderful love and the marvelous body that is His special gift!

  • Average Customer Rating:
    4.636 out of 5
    4.6
     out of 
    5
    (33 Reviews) 33
    Open Ratings Snapshot
    Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
    5 stars
    26
    4 stars
    4
    3 stars
    2
    2 stars
    0
    1 star
    1
    7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
    Customer Questions & Answers:
    1 Question | 6 Answers
    Customer Reviews for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 1: The Story of Me, Revised
    Review 1 for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 1: The Story of Me, Revised
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Simple

    Date:August 10, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    MomofFourinFFX
    Location:FFX, VA
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I read this to my 4 year old son. He didn't seem to "get it" but I think that, given a little more repetition, and following up with the other stories in the series as he gets older, it will. I like how these books allow you to address a sensitive subject in a wholesome manner.
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 2 for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 1: The Story of Me, Revised
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Excellent Book Recommended by Doctors

    Date:June 2, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    Maidenfine
    Location:Kansas
    Age:25-34
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    This book was recommended by a pair of therapists at a childrens ministry conference I attended. And the book certainly did not disappoint. I read the book to my daughter and I felt like all of the material was both appropriate and helpful. It made it very easy to talk to my daughter about her body, and also about keeping it private. The book is written so that it will be relevant to every child. I highly recommend it, especially if you have no idea how to talk to your children about their bodies.
    +5points
    5of 5voted this as helpful.
    Review 3 for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 1: The Story of Me, Revised
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    This book is so age appropriate

    Date:May 2, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    froggyj
    Location:Norwalk, CA
    Age:55-65
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I read it to my 6 year old granddaughter and it was the perfect way to tell her about the way she was made. I have already recommended it to several people.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 4 for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 1: The Story of Me, Revised
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Publisher description is accurate...

    Date:December 28, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    clowens9144
    Location:SC
    Age:25-34
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    ABOUT AGE RANGES:
    I bought this book for my 5 1/2 year old son and 9 year old daughter based on the review descriptions I read here. It was *okay* for my 5 year old, but I will buy book #2 for both of them. The reviews made it seem like the books were somewhat advanced in their age ranges (i.e., use Book 1 for the Book 2 age range, and Book 2 for the Book 3 age range) but this is NOT the case. Book 1 was right on target for the 3-5 age range. My 5 year old was ready to take it all to the next level. The information that would be "just enough" for a 3-5 year old only brought on more questions from a nearly 6 year old. This is not from being over-exposed to sexuality, but simply because children at that age are mentally capable of thinking on a higher cause-and-effect level. As far as the 9 year old goes, this was old news to her. She didn't pay the slightest bit of attention. The book focuses on the development and anatomy of a baby, and being an older sibling this was old hat to her.
    ABOUT THE CONTENT: I wanted something that teaches a godly view of family and sexuality without being overly graphic or vulgar. I definitely got what I wanted there: "God wants only people who are married to have babies." Way to go! And as far as the baby-making process is described, it only says [paraphrased], "God took a little piece of Mommy and a little piece of Daddy and made you!" Be prepared for proper genitalia names. (That's usually a bigger deal for the parents than the children!) I certainly appreciated the small, low-key, non-scary section entitled, "But are all hugs and kisses good?" That's something we all have to guard our children from, unfortunately, even in the church building.
    BEAUTIFUL illustrations. Highly recommended.
    +15points
    15of 15voted this as helpful.
    Review 5 for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 1: The Story of Me, Revised
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    good books

    Date:November 2, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Mandy Farris
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I was really pleased with this book. It allowed a way to explain where babies come from without getting too much into the details. It gives proper names for some body parts, but not too much information. It tells it how God meant for it to be with a mom and a dad both in the picture and lots of love.
    +3points
    3of 3voted this as helpful.
    Review 6 for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 1: The Story of Me, Revised
    Overall Rating: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5

    I CERTAINLY DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT!!!!

    Date:October 19, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    mommy of four
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Meets Expectations: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5
    I have been a cbd customer for yrs and have come to trust them soooo much, however I would not EVER recommend this book. It is so very highly inappropriate for the recommended age group. I would NEVER have read this book and its content to my 3 yr. old as it was way to explicit. What happened to letting our kids be kids? I totally agree that we should teach them about their bodies and sex but WOW!!! it really needed to be less detail for each age in this series. I ordered some other books when I ordered this set and the others were MUCH more beneficial for my family.
    -6points
    2of 10voted this as helpful.
    Review 7 for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 1: The Story of Me, Revised
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:August 15, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    BusyMom
    Age:25-34
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I was very pleased with how the book was written & illustrated. I will be reading this book to my children again.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 8 for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 1: The Story of Me, Revised
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Exceeded our hopes

    Date:June 22, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    waterpurity
    Location:El Paso, TX
    Age:25-34
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    My husband and I were unsure of how to approach the topic of sex with our oldest daughter who is six. Neither of us had talks with our parents that were Christ focused, with just enough information, but not to much. This book would be perfect for ages 3 to 5 as the book suggests. It's the perfect amount of information for a young child and we are going to use it for our next three children which are all under the age of two.
    +4points
    4of 4voted this as helpful.
    Review 9 for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 1: The Story of Me, Revised
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:September 30, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Amy
    A great first book to start teaching your children about "where babies come from"! My only complaint is that the illustrations are not that appealing to kids.
    +3points
    3of 3voted this as helpful.
    Review 10 for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 1: The Story of Me, Revised
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:September 16, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Betty Lou Knapp
    I loved the book.....very right for the age set...sex has always been a hard subject to discuss and with this book it made it so easy and the best part is that it is God's truth of why there is sex.....Thank you and God bless you in abundance for what you have given to us...
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 11 for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 1: The Story of Me, Revised
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:July 10, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    B. Fox
    This is a great way to start the "talks" with your children. The other 3 books in the series were passed down to me and I am thrilled to have the set as a Godly tool for such an important topic.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 12 for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 1: The Story of Me, Revised
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:June 2, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    April Kick
    I love this book. I baught it for my 5 year old son and he loves to hear the story. I wanted to find something for my son that talked about sex and that was age appropriat for younger kids to understand. This is a great book. I'm deffently going to buy the rest of the set.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 13 for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 1: The Story of Me, Revised
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:May 20, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Gretchen Pope
    I read this book with my 3-1/2 year old and 5 year old. Sex is a touch issue to talk about, but these books make the point that if we do not do it now, they are going to get their ideas from sex somewhere else which will probably not be good. This book handled the issue really well. My girls actually wanted to read it again and asked several questions showing me that it was understandable for their age level. Great book!!!
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 14 for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 1: The Story of Me, Revised
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:May 14, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Stephanie
    I really like these books. They are simple and help me talk to my oldest child about a subject that I might otherwise feel shy about. I read it several times and then to him. I gave only 4.5 stars, because I feel that the ages listed on the books are not accurate. I feel that they are a little mature. The first book I did not read this until my child was 5, now at 7 I do not feel he is ready for the second book. I would never read this first to my 4 year old. Overall great, but just make sure you read it and take into account your childs maturity level. I would also not recomend this to a person looking for a book for a child under 5.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 15 for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 1: The Story of Me, Revised
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:April 5, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Meghan Theiss
    I am thankful for this series for parents to read to their children. My children are 7 and 5, and I think they are just now ready to hear the first book in this series. I believe as parents, we need to determine the appropriate time to read these straight-forward books based on our children's exposure and questions, which will vary for each child. But when they do come to us with these questions, praise the Lord that we have the tools and opportunity to guide them in the truth. Thank you.
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 16 for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 1: The Story of Me, Revised
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:March 18, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Evee
    This book is a good introduction to Health class type topics. It uses correct terms that present the human body in a God honoring way that children can understand. My 4,6,& 8 year olds enjoyed the story and asked good questions about new words they learned. A very helpful book.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 17 for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 1: The Story of Me, Revised
    Overall Rating: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5

    Date:January 28, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Amy
    This is a wonderfully written book with a good Christian perspective on sex for the age group...from a boy's point of view. There really needs to be two versions of this book, one for each gender. I was disappointed as I have two girls and think that for this age group in particular it's going to be confusing. It could have been written to be more applicable to girls (there's a little sister in the story and they could have told things as applied to her equally). I will rewrite for my girls so no big deal, but do just be forewarned - I'd give it five stars if it was written a bit differently or if there were two versions.
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 18 for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 1: The Story of Me, Revised
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:October 11, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    Kristen Veacock
    Very well written and easy to understand. It opened up a great discussion with my daughter. We will order the rest of the series as she graduates to the appropriate ages!
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 19 for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 1: The Story of Me, Revised
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Date:September 15, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    Kathleen Whitehead
    Nicely told with story and appropriate language and pictures. I felt comfortable reading this to my daughter. My only wish was that they had said a bit more about adoption. Adoption is mentioned, but minimally with the focus very much on the birth of biological children.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 20 for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 1: The Story of Me, Revised
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:August 15, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    Cynthia Rand
    I was very happy with this book. My son wanted to read it to himself, he is old enough to be aware that this could be a topic he might feel shy about discussing. That to me was fine, as I would rather he read about where he came from in a beautiful book like this than hear something on the playground.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    12Next >>>