Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NavPress God's Design for Sex Series, Book 2: Before I Was Born, Revised

NavPress God's Design for Sex Series, Book 2: Before I Was Born, Revised

If you are looking for a trusted resource to use in explaining sexuality to children 5 to 8 years old you will find this gently illustrated book an asset. From a biblical viewpoint you can explain sexuality, human reproduction, and the growth of a child inside the mother's body. Understandable yet straightforward text, and softened, but very realistic illustrations show the physical differences between men and women before and after puberty, as well as the miracle of childbirth. Children will develop an appreciation for God's marvelous gift of their bodies, including their sexual organs, and begin to understand the concept of families as God's intended framework for their own nurture and growth.

This is Book Two in the God's Design for Sex series, with over 250,000 copies in print. It will allow you as the parent to be your child's primary sex educator, teaching what God's design for sex is all about, through marriage, pregnancy, and birth.

Average Customer Rating:
4.353 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
3
11 out of 1385%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 2: Before I Was Born, Revised
Review 1 for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 2: Before I Was Born, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Helped to guide the conversation

Date:August 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
DPReview
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Friends of ours recommended the book. We started with Book 1 and did Book 2 two days later for our 8 and 10 year olds. Book 1 was simple and fine, while Book 2 sparked an hour's worth of conversation. However, we enjoyed a great conversation. The kids were shocked at how everything "works." I was so pleased by their surprise/disgust responses throughout the book, as I thanked the Lord that they were hearing much of the information from their parents...FOR THE FIRST TIME. I thank the Lord that we were able to lay some foundation pieces in place and prayerfully trust that they will walk after Him in a worthy manner, guarding their sexuality and their bodies and saving themselves for their spouse on their wedding day.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 2: Before I Was Born, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to read and understand

Date:August 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
MomofFourinFFX
Location:FFX, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this to my 6 year old daughter. It raised appropriate questions and it also seemed to answer some questions that she had. It is written in a straight forward and beautiful manner to show the gift of life in a wholesome way.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 2: Before I Was Born, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Way To Introduce Kids To Sex And Birth

Date:July 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brenda M
Location:Frostburg, MD
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have two boys, seven and ten. I want to give them accurate information about sex and birth in a matter of fact way. This book was extremely helpful. For some reason, my seven year old is more curious right now and the illustrations were helpful if explaining how a woman gives birth.
I would have to say it all depends on your comfort level as parent, but I would rather my children hear about sex from me, in a biblical manner and these books help with that. Nine and ten years are already talking about sex and pornography, so these books help me, as a parent, to give my sons a fact-based foundation and a springboard of how True Love Waits.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 2: Before I Was Born, Revised
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sharing the story of God' plan for us

Date:April 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
momof3
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has beautiful illustrations. We read it to our 9 1/2 year old son. I wouldn't read this book to my 5 1/2 year old. Our son appreciated us giving him information on how we are created and God's plan. Just so you know - this book tells all!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 2: Before I Was Born, Revised
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent teaching, but not for 5 or 6 year olds

Date:November 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
thinkingmom
Location:Murray, KY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We love this series that promotes healthy sexuality and the role of parents in giving kids appropriate information about sexuality. This book is not too embarrassing to read - it is pretty matter-of-fact.
This second book in the series does go as far as to explain that male parts fit into female parts, which to me seems like a little too much for the age rating on the book. This might not be the case for young kids who are around older kids who might talk about sexual issues. But we will wait until an older age range for the full reading of this book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 2: Before I Was Born, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good book

Date:November 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mandy Farris
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think this is a very good book to explain sex to a younger child. However, I still think it depends on the child's maturity and the kinds of questions they are asking. Children today learn so much more from TV and computers so this really gives an explanation about sex and babies the way God intended it to be. I do suggest reading through it first before you read it to your child so you can be prepared. That way, you won't let it show that you are embarrased so the child will be more comfortable with the topic and discussing it with you.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 2: Before I Was Born, Revised
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

DO NOT RECOMMEND..... Mine went back

Date:October 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
mommy of four
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have been a cbd customer for yrs and have come to trust them soooo much, however I would not EVER recommend this book. It is so very highly inappropriate for the recommended age group. I would NEVER have read this book and its content to my 6 yr. old as it was way to explicit. What happened to letting our kids be kids? I totally agree that we should teach them about their bodies and sex but WOW!!! it really needed to be less detail for each age in this series. I ordered some other books when I ordered this set and the others were MUCH more beneficial for my family.
-1point
7of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 2: Before I Was Born, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
BusyMom
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was pleased with the way the book explained sex & the differences between girls & boys.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 2: Before I Was Born, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exceeded our hopes

Date:June 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
waterpurity
Location:El Paso, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was the perfect opener for my husband and I to begin the sex talk with our six year old. I believe it had just the right amount of information without being graphic or creating more curiousity. She was very satisfied with the answers from the book and although we had discussion while reading it she had very few questions and it was so much easier to have a starting point. I think it's a most excellent tool for helping parents open the topic up and controlling how much information is given while creating a safe environment.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 2: Before I Was Born, Revised
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good place to get started

Date:May 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Thomas
Location:Nebraska
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a good place to start, It teaches more then I was ready for for each age so I am going to use the first book at about 5-7 and the second at 7-9 and so on. These are good books, and I am glad for the help. But It is hard for me to get use to the idea of talking about this with my kids. But it's better for me to talk to them then their friends.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 2: Before I Was Born, Revised
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Too much information for a 5 year old

Date:April 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
buttercup97140
Location:Columbia, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was excited to read this book to my daughter so she would start to have an idea of where we all came from, but I do not think a five year old needs to know this much about sex. I wish the information was a bit more vague. We are very open with our children about our bodies, but I do not think this age group needs this MUCH information. I also think kids are curious and if they know HOW sex is performed they may innocently want to try it...I will keep this book and read it to them later!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 2: Before I Was Born, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
leona
Location:Johnson City, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this book for my daughter when she was 8 years old. I have passed it along to many other mothers who would pass on to someone else. This book is so good to help your child understand their bodies. I love the biblical point of view, because it shows why & how God intended sex in our lives.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 2: Before I Was Born, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
gmbd
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My question I ask myself: Do I want to share this special story about sex from a godly point of view to my son? Or do I want the world to give him a perverted story of sex? At the age 9 I knew all about sex and came from a Christian home and went to a Christian school. Now, I am 35. Imagine, what the little ones know now.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 2: Before I Was Born, Revised
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Josey Emery
I give only 4 stars because I believe the age it is appropriate for should be determined by the parent. We have book 1 and this book...#2 out of the series. We have 3 girls, oldest being 9...it will be awhile before we read it to our 4 & 6 year olds.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 2: Before I Was Born, Revised
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Angie Harris
Very well written book. Personally I think that the age group should be just a bit older, but appreciate the content.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 2: Before I Was Born, Revised
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Leda Schumacher
This is a great platform on which to begin a child's education about sex. It is biblical and talks about things parents may not think to include but are necessary. I read it to my 6 year old. She asked a couple questions. My only complaint the book is a bit lengthy for her age.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 2: Before I Was Born, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
April Kick
I wanted a book to talk about how boys and girls are different and about sex and this book is a great one for that. I got it for my son so that I could start on talking about sex in a way for a 4 and 5 year old to understand and this book does it, so does book 1 wich we have to. I also love that it talks about what God wants.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 2: Before I Was Born, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
I really like these books. They are simple and help me talk to my oldest child about a subject that I might otherwise feel shy about. I read it several times, and felt my 7 yo was not ready for it. I gave only 4.5 stars, because I feel that the ages listed on the books are not accurate. I feel that they are a little mature. The first book I did not read until my child was 5, now at 7 I do not feel he is ready for the second book. I would never read the first to my 4 year old. Overall great, but just make sure you read it and take into account your child's maturity level.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 2: Before I Was Born, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kathleen Jennette
This series has been a God send to me. Each book has a 100% Biblical world view. Extremely helpful to me in parenting and talking to my daughter about these issues.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for God's Design for Sex Series, Book 2: Before I Was Born, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cheryl E
Although it says for ages 5-8, I read this with my 9 year old son and thought it was just age appropriate. It is a good book, however and I would recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.