Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NavPress Bonded leather, distressed tan

NavPress Bonded leather, distressed tan

The Message Remix 2.0 is packed with a variety of features ideal for students and youth pastors. This latest version of the best selling Message Remix is 20% thinner than its predecessor and includes expanded book introductions, a topical concordance of student related material and reference resources with maps and charts. Available in seven refreshingly cool binding styles and as always... includes the exclusive Message numbering system.

  • 20% thinner than the original
  • Expanded introductions to each book of the Bible including unique information about the author and events in world history
  • New topical concordance of issues students face every day
  • Fresh new binding styles, textures and colors selected by hundreds of high school and college students from across the country.
  • Charts that explain the chronological order of the Old Testament and New Testament books.
  • Five new handcrafted maps
  • Exclusive Message verse numbering system
  • 7 cover styles to choose from including new exclusive hypercolor covers
  • 7" x 5.25"
  • 1856 pages
  • Nubuck tan distressed bonded leather
Average Customer Rating:
4.559 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (68 reviews)
5 stars
50
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
27 out of 2896%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bonded leather, distressed tan
Review 1 for Bonded leather, distressed tan
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product is easy to read.

Date:December 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bunting
Location:Waterbury Ct
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product for my daughter-in-law because she is not very good at reading and understanding difficult texts. She was thrilled to have a copy of the Bible that she could read and understand..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bonded leather, distressed tan
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great addition!

Date:November 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
mountains
Location:Alberta Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was a treat to sit down and read through scripture as if it were a story book. I think The Message:Remix has earned a permanent place in my daily devotions!
I found the language easy to process and very visual. It added such impact and imagery to my personal bible study time.
I love the compact size and the pleasing wood surface cover. I like how the scripture references were in the side margins instead of within the actual text. This helps the words to flow more like a story.
However I found the pages far too thin and difficult to turn. The words from the back side of the page were distractedly obvious on the page I was reading.
At the beginning of each book of the Bible there is an introductory page. I found these informative and enlightening. Peterson is a Pastor and his pastor-heart is found on every page but especially in the introductions. Each one I read felt like sitting in a pew listening to a great reflection in a sermon. (Hopefully that doesn't sound boring to you - that is not my intention.)
One last comment is that The Message: Remix is intended for a Youth market. From the sections I read I found it useful and applicable to all ages.
"Book has been provided courtesy of NavPress and Graf-Martin Communications Inc.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bonded leather, distressed tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a very good translation

Date:September 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
PatP
Location:Kingston, Idaho
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Of course the Bible is great in any translation. I would only say that I wish that the printing was larger. Seems very small print to me, for anyone. Thank you
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bonded leather, distressed tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Krause mom
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The pages were thinner than expected. Very transparent. Other than that a good buy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bonded leather, distressed tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great 'message'

Date:May 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
daisy
Location:Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
love the compact size and the simpleness of the text. easy to understand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bonded leather, distressed tan
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I have always been satisfied with my purchases!

Date:March 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kimmy
Location:Wilmington, California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anytime I have purchased anything from Christianbook.com, I have been very satisfied with the item in quality and price. Keep up the good work!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bonded leather, distressed tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A very readable translation

Date:February 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
reyh
Location:KS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought myself this Bible a few years ago and finally God's word was opened up to me. I was able to understand the messages God had for me. I have several other translations on hand, but always turn to the Message Bible to get a full understanding of the scripture. I gave one to my friend and we enjoy reading to each other out of it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bonded leather, distressed tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the Message

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ramona Opray
Location:Calf
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this for travel~usually end up giving them away and need to buy a new one~this was what happened!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bonded leather, distressed tan
This review is fromMessage Remix 2.0 Leather Look: Purple & Cork.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for young people!

Date:January 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Grammy
Location:Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this copy of The Message and the blue/black edition for our granddaughters. They were baptized in water and this was our gift for them. They love them, and we're praying they will always want to read God's Word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bonded leather, distressed tan
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

It is not a Bible.

Date:October 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
xiqtem
Location:Idaho
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The reason I gave this such low scores is that the quality of translation is nill, The value as a Bible is nill, and the expectations of it being God's Word are nill. It is not a Bible. It is one man's paraphrase of the Bible. He was not divinely inspired to do what he did. It should be avoided. Instead you should buy an NASB, ESV, KJV, or NKJV.
-8points
6of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bonded leather, distressed tan
This review is fromMessage Remix 2.0 Leather Look: Purple & Cork.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful and Easy to Read

Date:September 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
NaturaLEA
Location:NH
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love holding this Bible in my hands. The leather is so soft and I just don't want to put it down. Although The Message is the least accurate Bible on the market, it does give another perspective that is refreshing - even entertaining :)
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bonded leather, distressed tan
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

I liked the set-up with the intro's to the books

Date:August 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jamie
Location:Kalkaska, Mi
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I found the printing of words to be very small - will try again by ordering a large print.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bonded leather, distressed tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great product.

Date:July 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cookie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product for people who have difficulty reading the KJV.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bonded leather, distressed tan
This review is fromMessage REMIX 2.0, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Suey
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like to be able to personalize the cover! Gave them out to my Confirmation Class.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bonded leather, distressed tan
This review is fromMessage REMIX 2.0, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Barb
Location:Oklahoma
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the Bible for a birthday present. I liked it a lot, and so did the person receiving it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bonded leather, distressed tan
This review is fromMessage REMIX 2.0, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good but has some flaws

Date:April 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robbie Oh
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I rather enjoyed reading The Message.
I like the layout and the set up for the text And most passages read very nicely. It was great for casual reading.
However, Exodus 34 has a huge error that contradicts every translation of the Bible I can get my hands on. The Message claims this:
(The Message) God spoke to Moses: "Cut out two tablets of stone just like the originals and engrave on them the words that were on the original tablets you smashed. -Exodus 34:1
However this doesn't line up with any version of the Bible. There is something very important that it'e missing. Check out these 2 highly trusted translations below:
(ESV) The Lord said to Moses, “Cut for yourself two tablets of stone like the first, and I will write on the tablets the words that were on the first tablets, which you broke...."
(NASB) Now the LORD said to Moses, “Cut out for yourself two stone tablets like the former ones, and I will write on the tablets the words that were on the former tablets which you shattered...."
"I will" is what is missing. Thats huge. This means that God himself wrote on the tablets, not Moses like The Message implies. How this error has been able to stay in the Message after all these years and all the revisions that it's had is beyond me. This is the only real issue that I have with it so far.
Please try to understand that The Message is a reading Bible, It is not a Study Bible, just as Eugene H. Peterson himself writes in the Preface of this book in the last paragraph on page 8.
Read it and enjoy it, but please don't study it. Use a study Bible for that purpose instead.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bonded leather, distressed tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent quality and easy to read

Date:February 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Greg
Location:Tualatin, Oregon
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Message/Remix is not only an extremely readible version of The Bible, but the print quality and readiblity are excellent for a "pocket" verison. Simply outstanding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Bonded leather, distressed tan
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is a good translation of the Bible.

Date:January 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dilly
Location:Rural Nebraska
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I really like the format of this Bible with an introduction to each of the Books. Perhaps because I'm older and may be having some eyesight dimming, the "greyed" passages are difficult for me to read. Otherwise, I am delighted with the binding, price and especially with The Message.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Bonded leather, distressed tan
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good product

Date:January 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Donna
Location:California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this bible for my grandson. He liked it very much. The quality was very good, the only thing I noticed was that the print was very small. My grandson liked it, but for older eyes I think the print is too small and to get the large print.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Bonded leather, distressed tan
This review is fromMessage REMIX 2.0, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent

Date:February 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
jeremywatson
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We gave these to our Confirmation Class, and they are loving them. The Message paraphrase makes the Bible more accessible, and they like the extra study guide additions, as well as the fresh look of the Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.