Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NavPress The Message: Solo - An Uncommon Devotional

NavPress The Message: Solo - An Uncommon Devotional

Bask in God's presence as you read, think, pray, and live his Word! Calling you to the ancient practice of lectio divina, "divine reading" Peterson offers more than 365 devotions featuring selected passages from The Message, reflection questions, prayer suggestions, and life applications. His guided meditations will help you better understand yourself and the God who created you. 304 pages, paperback from NavPress.
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Message: Solo - An Uncommon Devotional
Review 1 for The Message: Solo - An Uncommon Devotional
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very well done

Date:April 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
carol
Location:Grand Bend ,Ontario ,Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we have one given one to each of our 3 married children and now are passing them out to some of the youth
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Message: Solo - An Uncommon Devotional
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
seniorscaregiver
Location:Ontario
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent devotional. Peterson gives you alot to think about each day as you follow his outline. I gave a couple as gifts this year for Christmas and both people are really enjoying them. I purchased both the full year devotional and the smaller pink cover one. Very pleased with both of them. The smaller one makes a great gift for someone new at using a devotional and it is also very nicely bounded.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Message: Solo - An Uncommon Devotional
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most applicable devotional I've ever owned!

Date:December 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Leese
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is such a great devotional that I ordered 20 so I could give one to all my immediate family members for Christmas! It's been lifechanging for me!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Message: Solo - An Uncommon Devotional
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tonya
Just like the reviews I read before purchasing--if you are wanting to know more about the content of the Bible, this is it. "Solo" allows the reader to apply the devotionals to daily living and the occurrences in life, giving one greater insight to his/ her faith journey.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Message: Solo - An Uncommon Devotional
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Beth Turner
This is a great way to develop hearing the voice of God speaking directly to you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Message: Solo - An Uncommon Devotional
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tywan Lindsey
This is absolutely the best devotional I have ever owned! This devotional presents as a one-on-one bible study with God. This devotional has helped me connect to God more deeply through His Word. I HIGHLY recommend it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Message: Solo - An Uncommon Devotional
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Unaka
Wonderfully different approach to daily Bible reading. This devotional uses the classical method of lectio divina (I didn't know what that was until I got the book.) and would be great devotionals for any age.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Message: Solo - An Uncommon Devotional
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Terri Herman
A neat idea that makes reading the Bible different. Clear and easy to read, just what young people need. A nice value too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Message: Solo - An Uncommon Devotional
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
AmandaB
I only just started digging into this, so my five-star rating may be a little premature... but so far I love it. I've been frustrated lately with the abundance of devotionals out there that make little reference to the actual Bible. I was really looking for something that would deepen my understanding and help me meditate on God's Word, and not just provide anecdotes from the author's life... this is it! A short passage (maybe 5-20 verses) is included right in the devotional, with recommended readings for those wanting even more time in the Word. Then there's the chance to "think", "pray", and "live" the passage.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Message: Solo - An Uncommon Devotional
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cheryl-Lee Raine
I have bought several devotionals in my time but this lives up to its title - 'an uncommon devotional'. I already owned a copy of The Message Bible so I was very interested in buying this. I've used it a few times and, with the help of the Spirit, the Word has came alive!! I'm 24 and have a young family so this was perfect for me to get into the Word a different way. I enjoy many different Bible study methods and this devotional helps me discover the Word of God in a fresh new way!! A must buy for anyone, especially teens, who want to get into the powerful and life changing Word of God!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Message: Solo - An Uncommon Devotional
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jeff Frohnheiser
Good price for a year-long devotional with scriptures. Nice selection of topics and easy to comprehend. Short time commitment each day with weekly wrap-up. Giving out to Sr. High SS class for gift. Should be fine for all levels. Only problem was that some of the white covers came dirty from shipping box. Cleaned up nicely with pencil eraser.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.