Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NavPress The Restorer, Swords of Lyric Series #1

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

NavPress The Restorer, Swords of Lyric Series #1

Susan Mitchell is wondering what happened to God's plan for her. Her life can't just be about cleaning, organizing her family, and being involved in damage control for her four rambunctious children, can it? When Susan opens a box in labeled "Dress Up" in her attic, her question is answered.

Upon opening the box, Susan finds herself thrust into a parallel universe where she must help bring heathens and warring territories "back to the Verses." Susan is a Restorer, a prophet like the Biblical Deborah. Together with an unfamiliar sword, it is Susan's job to show the inhabitants of this new world how Jesus can save people. This universe will forever change how Susan looks at life, love, and family.if she can get out alive. Sharon Hinck, softcover, 464 pages.

Average Customer Rating:
4.897 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Restorer, Swords of Lyric Series #1
Review 1 for The Restorer, Swords of Lyric Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The truth will set you free!

Date:July 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This was my first book by Sharon Hinck and certainly not my last. What an awesome writer she is! She drew me right into the story and kept my attention 'till the very last page!
Susan is a normal mom in our world. She prayed that the Lord will use her for a great work. When she's on her attic she accidentally stumbles upon a portal to another world. She doesn't know what is happening to her, and suddenly she's a witness of a man killing another man with a sword! When she recovers from her shock she notices that things around her look different than in her own world. First she believes she's dreaming, but soon she's discovering she's wide awake and she doesn't know how to get back to the attic in her own world.
Tristan is a guardian in this strange world. He finds Susan and takes care of her. First they don't trust each other, but soon Tristan discovers that Susan is showing signs of a Restorer. A restorer is sent to Tristan's people--the People of the Verses--in times of great need. Susan can hardly believe she's the one.
After some time in Tristan's world she is learning of the dangers that are threatening the People of the Verses. Can she really be sent to be the Restorer these people need?
A story that reminds us of the times of the Judges in the Bible--The Restorer is a fascinating read with many Biblical truths woven into the story, without becoming preachy.
The message in this book is very clear and also important for Christians nowadays--the truth will set you free!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Restorer, Swords of Lyric Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

so intuitive

Date:April 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Orangevale Diesel
Location:Orangevale, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Well done & sucked me right into the story, although, it took some convincing that it would hold my interest. The characters wrestle through the same very real emotions & struggles we have with the Devil; they come out victorious after a time. I wish they had more of the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Restorer, Swords of Lyric Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bari Bargerstock
I really like the book,however wish I would have read the notes in the back that explained what things meant before or as I was reading the book. I found it to be a bit slow moving at first but then had a hard time putting it down. It has a Christain theme that parallels our beliefs thus makes you think on many occasions. I found it ministered to me in a personal way. I enjoyed the concept of the book and could relate with the main character.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Restorer, Swords of Lyric Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth
This was an extemely good book! I'm am an author in training and as such, I am very critical of what I read. I find few books that I can really enjoy. This one however was very well written. I couldn't put it down! It also shows you how to battle with depression. Don't believe the Rhusicans' lies or enter the gray fog. Fight with the Verses!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Restorer, Swords of Lyric Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Heidi
I haven't read many fantasy books but I really enjoyed this one! I bought it at a booksigning from the author and absolutely loved it! Sharon Hinck did an excellant job making the main character a very believable hero and the fact that it is a woman who is the hero was very fun to read. Because it is written in first person I was a little unsure at first if I would like it or not, but the book really drew me into Susan's world and into her character. I think Sharon Hinck did an excellant job writing an unusual book. It was also very encouraging and challenging for me spiritually, and my faith has becomne stronger after reading this book. It really touched me and I would deffinantly reccomend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Restorer, Swords of Lyric Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
cson
Maybe I was expected a little to much with this book. I don't think it lived up to what different sources led me to believe, but still, it was worth reading I guess. I'd recommend it to people who have already finished all the other Christian fantasy fiction like The Door Within Trilogy and Echoes from the Edge.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Restorer, Swords of Lyric Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2008
I absolutely loved The Restorer! Sharon Hinck is an amazing writer! I loved the intense emotions in this book, it was really cool the way Sharon described how Susan was feeling, and how she could detect what others were thinking just by their facial expressions - especially Tristan.And I loved all her moments with the One ... what it would be like to feel His presence like that as much as she did...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Restorer, Swords of Lyric Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2008
If you like fantasy books and you can't find any that you haven't already read, try this one!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Restorer, Swords of Lyric Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Abbie C dowell
I love this book it's very well writen,and caught my attention right away I never got bored well reading it . I'm realy looking foward to reading the second book the RESTORERS SON!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Restorer, Swords of Lyric Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Elisabeth
Awesome, Amazing, Outstanding, Wonderful...and so much more. This book is beyond fiction it truly teached the reader about true surender and dedication to God. This books if a must read. Buy it, read it, share it -- you won't regret it! In fact buy the whole series they are truly enjoyable reads with life changing lessons!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Restorer, Swords of Lyric Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Dan Case
As a responsible adult and ever-vigilant protector of all that is good and true, I feel it imperative that I issue a stern warning about The Restorer by Sharon Hinke.This is a very dangerous book. Reading this book will upset your place in the time-space continuum. It will suck you into its pages like a portal into another reality, and then drop you back into our world hours later, potentially leaving entire days unaccounted for. And, if you are given to reading in the bathtub, be warned: it is nearly impossible to put this book down long enough to towel off, and you may find yourself trapped in a tub of room-temperature bathwater with more pruney wrinkles than a bulldog.Established CBA Mom-Lit author Sharon Hinke has accomplished something incredible in The Restorera successful fusion of Mom-Lit and Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Allegory genres. Like any fusion of extremes, hard-core advocates of either genre will have to adjust a little. The hard-core Mom-Lit fans may find it challenging at first to get their heads around the alternate universe that burned-out soccer mom Susan Mitchell falls into; portals into alternate realities arent exactly the norm in Mom-Lit. Likewise, hard-core Fantasy readers may be challenged by the interpretation of that alternate reality through the eyes of a suburban soccer-mom. However, those who have the creative vision to see this fusion for what it is and approach without presumption will find The Restorer to be a wondrous journey with a truly unique twist or two and more than a few surprises as soccer-mom Susan grows into her calling in the alternate reality, and in the process rediscovers herself.Be warned that once you open this book and start reading, you might slip through the portal right behind Susan. I did, and I want to go back. Its a good thing this is the first of three (and who knows, maybe more) in the Sword of Lyric series. Ill soon make the return trip with The Restorers Son. D.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Restorer, Swords of Lyric Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Margaret
This story gives a reader an escape from reality, everything that Susan needed at the time. But it does so in a fashion that brings you back stronger and more optimistic about what really needs to be accomplished in reality. (Confused yet? Don't be, because that is not what is important.) There are so many things in our lives that are overwhelming and we just sometimes want to run away inside ourselves. It is possible and we are capable of doing just that, but that will not solve anything and really make life harder on the people we care about around us. It is when we realize that we need God, the One, and use His strength that we can accomplish any and all things that we are meant to do. The Bible, the Verses, are a gift to man from God. He has given us this gift of power for strength. When we know various scriptures and verses that can help in various situations, we can avoid the doubt and depression that comes on and move forward in His love. This book fully encourages me to go and memorize scripture for all I'm worth. When I think about my life I can remember times when scripture has helped me, or I knew the right thing to say to a friend to help. But so many times I have gotten caught up in the world around me and let doubt and the lack of time take over. In a sense I was being "poisoned" and did not realize it. Part of me feels like if only we could live in a world that is framed around the Biblical scriptures and have everyone believe it would be so much easier, but at the same time. I realize that it wouldn't fix everything. There are still the random leader who seeks power for corruption and people can be fooled by man-altered documents. Prayer and time spent with the Lord and time thought over his verses of scripture personally is the only way to be as strong as you can be. Nobody else can do it for you. Wow, what an inspirational book. I never thought I'd be this impressed, but I am.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Restorer, Swords of Lyric Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ginger B
What can I add to the reviews already written? All I can say is that this book has ministered to me! I struggle with depression, and Sharon Hinck has hit the nail on the head with the answer--praise the One when doubts and crippling thoughts hit! Sharon Hinck is definately my newest favorite author, right up there with Ted Dekker, Karen Kingsbury, Francine Rivers, and Beverly Lewis. I want more of the fantasy genre by Sharon Hinck!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Restorer, Swords of Lyric Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2008
The Restorer by Sharon Hinck is one of the most thought provoking books I've read in awhile. I found it on my Powell's trip and remembered meeting her at Mt. Herman at a writing conference. I had to have the book. I needed something to distract me on the plane trip back from Oregon. I don't like to fly. I identified with Susan, the main character right away. She knows she has a great life but longs for something just a bit better, to help others and she's depressed. Yep, could have been me in the book. I settled into my seat at the airport, this would be a good comfortable read. Wrong. This book was fascinating, character driven, with a plot that twisted like spaghetti on a fork.By the time we were in the air, Susan had left her home and traveled to a place that doesn't exist in our world. I read, turned pages and read more, the air miles went by and soon we landed in Kansas City. I didn't relish having to stop living in this magical world where soccer moms can use a sword! Still I had to deplane and wait for the connecting flight to St. Louis. As soon as I could respectfully ignore my husband and read, I yanked that book back out of my bag. What makes this book so special to me is the idea of how dangerous one thought can be. At first when I read this book I thought Hinck very clever to use an evil thought to throw a community into chaos. A week later I'm identifying thoughts of my own that are leading me in the wrong directions. Thank you, Sharon for helping me to see how poisonous those wrong thoughts can be.Would I buy the next two books in this series? You bet. I can't wait for them to arrive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Restorer, Swords of Lyric Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
Chandra Lynn Smith
Is it fantasy, real, dream or allegory? The truth is, it is all of them. In The Restorer, Sharon Hinck has followed C.S. Lewis in taking her characters into another world. Only this time the traveler, warrior is a busy housewife and mother. Susan Mitchell sits in the chair in her new attic quiet room, her husband, Mark, built for her. However, it is not quiet. The noises coming from the other side of the room keep her from concentrating. As she explores the sounds and picks up items from an old trunk she finds herself on a street in a strange town witnessing a murder. How can this be?The journey home Susan begins takes her into the heart of a physical battle between different nations and a spiritual battle for the very souls of the people. How can a simple housewife be the awaited Restorer? That question is repeated by Sharon and all whom she meets. And as she faces the greatest battle of her life, her heart must learn to rely upon the One in ways she never imagined. Susans adventure will forever change her faith, her understanding of love and her family.This book hooks from page one. It romances the soul. As the reader roots for the people of the Verses and cheers Susans growth, the One romances the heart of the reader. Sharon Hinck has written a new kind of Narnia that will entertain and challenge anyone who opens the cover. Go ahead, open it and believe.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Restorer, Swords of Lyric Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
Nina Ruth Bruno
Sharon draws you into this world of sword fights and political intrigue with a deft hand; however, the book is not just plot/story-driven: I found myself caring so much about the characters---they are like dear new friends! I cannot wait to finish the 2nd book, "The Restorer's Son!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Restorer, Swords of Lyric Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Diane
Every time I opened the book I could almost hear the ring of swords and smell the damp air. Your words reached out, grabbed me, and transported me to another place. The message was great. What a powerful concept, powerfully told.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Restorer, Swords of Lyric Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
Dona Watson
"The Restorer" was one of the best books I've read in a while. As a fantasy lover, I really enjoyed reading the book, but it was also more than a fantasy. The book does an incredible job at combining both modern day with a fantasy world. After reading other reviews, I couldn't wait to get this book. It finally arrived and once I got started, I couldn't put it down until I finished the entire book. I heartily recommend this book to anyone who enjoys general fiction, chick lit or fantasy. Sharon Hinck has created a wonderful world and a wonderful book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Restorer, Swords of Lyric Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
Rena Pishcura
In a culture where movies and books have been pushing magic and witchcraft. Fascination for fantasy has continually pulled us. Sharon has done a awesome job with tying in the idea of traveling to different worlds(like C.S Lewis chronicles of Narnia) and the need we have for our Lord Jesus. She has woven an amazing story that will draw young and old alike. One that will be a light in such a dark society. Reading Restorer was so refreshing and like a breath of fresh air. You will not be disappointed when you read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Restorer, Swords of Lyric Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2007
Fantasy is a genre I don't normally read. It's not that I don't like it, I just have trouble getting into a story where it doesn't relate to what I live in. I'm not saying I don't have an imagination, I just prefer stories that seem more realistic. But when I saw Sharon Hinck had a fantasy/mom lit book coming out, I wanted to pick it up because I really enjoy her writing. I ended up enjoying the book very much. I love how Susan is respected by being the Restorer and that no one doubts her because of her gender. The other world is described thoroughly so I could fully picture the places and people that Susan met with. Since there was so many new things to discover, it does get slightly confusing at times to keep track of everything, but overall it makes the reader able to adapt to the new place. I'm a sucker for sword fights, so I liked reading about her training to use her weapon. I'm glad that she also got to fight in the battle, unlike other Christian books I've read where women had to stay out of the fighting. The other characters are very interesting and it's cool to learn about their culture and how it compares with Susan's. There is a scene near the middle of the book that totally caught me off guard and had made me flip to the beginning for clues. I did enjoy the twist though as it was highly unexpected.The only part that really confused me about this book is that the People of the Verses live in a world where it seems Jesus doesn't exist but Susan does. Obviously I know that there is spiritual allegory with the way they live, but it's just hard for me to grasp this concept. It's a completely different universe where Jesus didn't live in, yet just on the other side he does. But other than this, I did enjoy this book very much. It has changed the way I view fantasy and am highly looking forward to reading the sequel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>