Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NavPress The Restorer's Son, Swords of Lyric Series #2

NavPress The Restorer's Son, Swords of Lyric Series #2

Plunged again into the gray world of Lyric and Hazor, Susan and Mark search frantically for their teenage son, Jake, as all signs hint that a trusted ally has betrayed them and threatens their son. Assassins and political intrigue, false leads, and near misses beset their path, which will lead them into the dark prisons of Hazor before the One's purpose is revealed.
Cast out by those he trusts and preferring to cross swords with the One rather than submit to His will, Kieran flees to enemy Hazor, only to find that the One knows no borders. Pursued by his calling, Kieran journeys to Sidian, where he finds a boy without a home, a king with burning questions, and a nation torn by darkness. As he embraces the tasks the One has set before him, this new Restorer learns that the One requires his all-perhaps even his life.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Restorer's Son, Swords of Lyric Series #2
Review 1 for The Restorer's Son, Swords of Lyric Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great & relevant issues

Date:April 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Orangevale Diesel
Location:Orangevale, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
The characters wrestle through the same very real emotions & struggles we have with the Devil; they come out safe after a time. You do not have to read book 1 first, but, it sure would help. Leaves you feeling like you can live victorious too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Restorer's Son, Swords of Lyric Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is a great read!!!

Date:July 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carol Schultz
Location:Chula Vista, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed reading The Restorer's Son. I couldn't put it down. I felt like I was right there in the story!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Restorer's Son, Swords of Lyric Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2009
I love fantasy books and try hard to find good ones and The Restorers Son is definitely a good fantasy book. The writing is very well done and the story is intriguing! I doubt you'll get bored reading this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Restorer's Son, Swords of Lyric Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2008
The Restorer's Son was just as captivating as the first book in the series. I enjoyed following Kieran on his spiritual journey, even though I wanted to smack him a few times. I can't wait to read the third one, I'm sure it'll be just as good!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Restorer's Son, Swords of Lyric Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sally
Surprisingly, I liked it! Yes, it's a good read, and mind you, I haven't read the first in the series. The characters are well defined. Kieran is a round character with plenty of faults for people like me to relate to. It's awful to say this, but I love his temper. He questions God and why things must be done in a certain way at a certain time, just as I have done. There's a good fight scene, but I can say no more without revealing what I should not. Susan, a nurturing mom, does what I might do and acts as I might act under the same circumstances. There's a couple of realistic roll-their-eyes teenagers in the novel. The plot moves along at a reasonable pace, with a good story line. Yes, it's a good book. I'm glad I finally picked it up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Restorer's Son, Swords of Lyric Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2008
This book was just as good as the first one. I can't wait to read The Restorer's Journey!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Restorer's Son, Swords of Lyric Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Chandra Lynn Smith
If you love adventure and traveling to other worlds, this book is for you. The adventure began in book one, The Restorer, and continues with even more excitement and surprises in book two. You haven't read book one? I highly recommend it. But you can also read this one now if you'd prefer.Sharon Hinck created a parallel world of nations and wars and faith. Susan and Mark's son escaped through the portal into the world of Lyric while they were there. Upon returning to our world, they discover their son's absence and once again travel to Lyric in search of their son. Within Lyric they find assassins, political intrigue, and hatred. But they don't find their son, Jake.Kieran, the rebel of Lyric, was thrust into the role of Restorer after Susan's duties ended. He doesn't want the role, but has no choice. Running from his appointment he meets Jake, a lost young man, and a king of a dark culture seeking answers. Will Kieran allow the One to guide him and have his all so that peace may be restored? And will Jake find understanding between truth and lies and return to his family?Sharon appropriately named this country Lyric, for the world truly reads like a ballad, a lovely ballad. Sit down to read this book and travel somewhere else. Along the way, find the strength of faith and love and the healing of forgiveness. This book is a must read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Restorer's Son, Swords of Lyric Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2008
The Restorer's Son is an amazing book that sucked me into its pages immediately and didn't let me go until I was finished - and then I had to read the bonus chapter at the end that starts the next book!This book is incredible in the way that as much as I recommend that you read The Restorer first - you don't actually have to in order to fully enjoy this book. One thing about Sharon's Sword of Lyric series is that ANYONE will enjoy these books - you do not have to be a fantasy, sci-fi lover to find a world and people where you want to go and be a part of. I have not talked to one person that did not love these books. Do yourself a favor and join us in Lyric!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Restorer's Son, Swords of Lyric Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2007
Last summer I was asked to consider writing an endorsement for this book. That meant the publisher sent me a preview copy months before the October release date, along with a copy of book one, The Restorer. I started with the second book because I had a deadline for deciding whether or not to write an endorsement. I devoured this book in a single day. I got nothing else done all day, because I could not tear myself away from the incredible world Hinck created. The next day I read the first book and loved it, too! I can't say enough about these books. If you like fantasy adventure stories with spiritual truth seamlessly woven throughout, I highly recommend The Sword of Lyric Series.If you want to read my endorsement, buy the book and check out the Endorsement page!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Restorer's Son, Swords of Lyric Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2007
Keiran of Braide Wood has always been different. His looks marked as a man of mixed blood, his mother coming from the hated Hazorite clan and forever setting him apart. Banished by the Council, Kieran flees from Lyric and his calling only to find his escape hampered by a strange young man he believes to be a spy.Susan and Mark find themselves journeying back to the other world of Lyric in search of their son, Jake. Fearing he has been captured by the vengeful Chief Council member, Cameron they give little thought to Susan no longer having the special abilities granted to a Restorer and how vulnerable they are.When the One confronts Kieran and his fears, a mighty battle ensues, that draws out all his pride, anger, resentment and aggression, leaving him empty and at the mercy of the One, who he has blamed for the suffering and heartache in his life. Will Kieran seek mercy or surrender his calling and his life?Sharon Hincks first novel in this Sword of Lyric series was mind boggling in its originality and substance. I am delighted to say The Restorers Son is all that and more!Kieran, the reluctant Restorer with an anguished past, provides the first person voice for most of the story and is a testament to Sharon's talent and insight. Anyone who has struggled with Gods calling on their life will relate to Kierans journey. His battle with the One mirrors the Biblical struggle when Jacob wrestles with God - it is the novel's most moving and powerful offering.Susan and Marks return to Lyric is fascinating with the loss of her protective powers yet her mother heart drives her to risk everything to find her boy. Revelations regarding Tristan, Kendra and other familiar characters add interest, intrigue and some surprises to this exceptional sequel. The hint of a developing relationship and the inspired spiritual nuances has me eagerly awaiting the final installment in this epic series The Restorer's Journey.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Restorer's Son, Swords of Lyric Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
Judy Fedele
The Restorers Son is Book Two of The Sword of Lyric series by author Sharon Hinck. With the background set in the first novel (The Restorer) and the names and culture familiar to the reader, Hinck shifts the narration between Susan, Housewife Ordinaire turned Restorer Extraordinaire - and Kieran, native of Lyric and newly chosen Restorer at the close of Book One.Susans purpose is different this time around; no longer the Restorer, Susan and her husband Mark are forced into a search and rescue mission for their son, Jake, who has slipped through the portal and is missing. As for Kieran, though he is personally chosen by the One to help guide and protect His people, Kieran is unwilling to accept it, and chooses to opt out of his new title. He pulls a Jonah and hightails it out of Lyric to avoid dealing with the One, whom he thinks does not exist beyond the borders of his own land. Newsflash: God is everywhere, and regardless of how far Kieran runs, he cannot outrun the One. Kieran finds himself on the outskirts of Lyric in flight mode, when he stops and decides to literally pick a fight with God. Who generously obliges him until Kieran learns that the One is real, and powerful, but above all, merciful. Jonah syncs into Jacob, wrestling with the angel, then back again as the One directs Kieran to go spread the word to the nation of enemy Hazor.Both narrators struggle with their identity and sense of purpose through a series of events that eventually bring their paths together. But as they unite they discover that the One does indeed have a purpose for each of them, even through the darkest of situations. This story is Everyman (and Everywomans) everyday life search to find meaning in a mixed-up and often (seemingly) meaningless world. Another solid and satisfying novel by Sharon Hinck. The Restorers Son is a must-read novel, and firmly establishes this series in the sci-fi and fantasy genres.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Restorer's Son, Swords of Lyric Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 13, 2007
Like I've said before, fantasy is a genre I don't normally read. I have a great imagination but outside of Star Wars, Narnia, or LOTR I'm not too good with imaginary worlds. However, this series has totally bridged the gap between women's fiction and fantasy allowing the two audiences to enjoy the story. With a modern female lead character, the audience is able to relate to both the outside world and the world beyond. I loved returning to the world of the Lyric. It felt like returning to Narnia or going back to Middle Earth, seeing familiar faces again. I liked reading the story from Kieran's POV this time around. It was interesting to read about the reluctant and unwilling Restorer as opposed to the I'm not sure what I'm doing Restorer that Susan was. The battle scenes aren't as intense as they were in the first book but I cringed every time Kieran would slash his hand just to prove a point. Just like in the first book, there's a shocker in the middle of the story. Call me clueless but I totally didn't see it coming. Let's just say it makes you really think about who the title of the book is supposed to be for. The ending is a cliffhanger and I'm dying to know what happens next. It makes me want to go up to my attic space and snoop around for a secret portal. What C.S. Lewis did for wardrobes, Sharon Hinck has now done for attics.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Restorer's Son, Swords of Lyric Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 19, 2007
Customer Avatar
Chawna Schroeder
Clean, straightforward, and engaging, Restorer's Son is even better than book one, The Restorer. Okay, maybe the title is a bit misleading. Maybe the plot and characters aren't as spectacular as some stories. But in many ways, that is part of the charm of this book. Its unassuming air simply draws you in, and you let it, thinking you'll put down after one chapter and get back to the work you're supposed to be doing. But one chapter becomes two, then ten, and suddenly you realize an hour or two has passed, but you can't put it down now because the characters are in the middle of a swordfight and what's going to happen to this character who is an absolute rogue, but you wouldn't wish what's happened to him on your worst enemy and in a strange way you understand exactly what he's going through and it hurts and things are only getting worse andWell, you get the idea. Then to make this good book even better, Ms. Hinck has dealt openly and in such a real way with the struggles of the Christian life. No perfect images here. Just real characters (who say and do the things we've all wanted to do at one point or another even if we were too Christian to admit it)and the God who sees us through it all.Overall Restorer's Son is easy enough for the uninitiated, detailed enough for the fantasy aficionado, providing an excellent read for teen and adult alike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Restorer's Son, Swords of Lyric Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 16, 2007
In The Restorers Son Kieran fights with the One over his selection as the next Restorer. Hes an outcast among his people, and cant imagine how he will serve as their rescuer. Then the One tells him to take the message of the One to the people of Hazor. This does not seem like a job for a Restorer. Susan and Mark are back; this time hunting for their son who slipped through the portal.The book is told in first person from Kieran and Susans points of view. Each character has a distinctive voice no chance of mixing them up.I could easily relate to Kierans struggle with GodDoes God love me? Why would He love me and care about me? This cant really be His call on my life. He must have the wrong personbut wouldnt He know that!Sharon paints powerful word pictures of these other worlds. I felt like I was returning to an exotic location Id visited long ago. And yet the descriptions were rich enough to easily carry the uninitiated straight into Lyric, Braide Wood and Hazor. The authors creativity in constructing an entirely new world that is unique yet easy to picture is amazing to me. I am not traditionally a fantasy reader. I need a concrete world to plop a story into. Yet Sharon does an incredible job of creating a world and pulling me deeply into the story. Even though the world is not like ours in many ways, I am quickly invested in what is happening there. This is a great book for fantasy lovers and novices.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.