Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NavPress Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate

NavPress Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate

As Christians, we believe that all sins are considered equal in God's eyes. Yet while evangelicals continue to decry the Big Ones---such as abortion, adultery, and violence---we often overlook more deceptive sins. It seems we've created a sliding scale where gossip, jealousy, and selfishness comfortably exist within the church. In short, some sins have simply become acceptable.

Bridges, bestselling author of The Pursuit of Holiness, believes that just as culture has lost the concept of sin, the church faces the same danger. Jerry writes not from a sense of achievement, but from the trenches of his own personal battles. Drawing from scriptural truth, he sheds light on subtle behaviors that can derail our spiritual growth. Throughout, Jerry encourages a victory over personal sin through the gospel's transforming power, the perfect release for those who desire to thoughtfully examine their lives and discover a deeper walk with God.

Average Customer Rating:
4.797 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 out of 2496%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate
Review 1 for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Daniel
Location:Decatur, AL
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The material in Respectable Sins is very concise and well written.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pathway
Location:Colorado Springs
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a Recovery Ministry and give our the Bibles and Books we order away free. We know they are great books for Recovery and living a Christ-life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is very helpful for Christian growth.

Date:January 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dennis
Location:Jefferson City, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As usual, Jerry Bridges calls believers to repentance and holiness. Respectable Sins exposes the "little sins" of our lives, the subtle sins that people do not ordinarily notice. We have an everyday constant battle with sin and we are humbled when those sins we tolerate, are brought to our attention. We must deal with our own subtle sins and at the same time we are reminded that it is the power of the transforming grace of God that gives victory over these sins. This book is not only helpful for the individual but can be used very effectively in a group study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great book

Date:May 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Amy M
Location:Iowa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
perfect condition, arrived when expected, and it's a wonderful book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better than I expected

Date:February 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
yellowtrose
Location:Woodhull, NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I believe the Lord is using this study in our group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Woody
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book. He hits our little white sins that we brush off and overlook. A easy read for kids in middle school and up to adults. Definitely a book you need to read over and over for a reminder of our sinful lives. So we can be convicted daily.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best

Date:February 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shari
Location:El Paso, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is undoubtedly one of the best and most practical books that I have read. (I read a lot.) I have been so convicted in so many areas, yet, the author gives hope and help. I would recommend this to anyone. We are getting a copy for each of four teen children and we will be going through this book in our family devotions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this book has been easy to read and very practical

Date:December 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mark T. De Agostino
Location:Owosso, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am Mark's wife and had him order this book for me to do a Bible study at our church. He is a pastor and I recommended that he read this book also. It will be added to his library.
We have had much thought provoking discussion in our study and it has brought an obvious awareness of how we all have looked at subtle sins as excusable; til we really consider what God's Word says.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A good resource for any library

Date:November 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
tpffleming
Location:Detroit, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wish I had this book years ago, I think we can all stop and take a good look at ourselves in light of what the Word of God says about our conduct in the small things.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Stacey
Location:Centreville, MD
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Book!!! I would recommend this book to everyone!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Stimulates thought.

Date:November 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bill
Location:Topeka, Ks.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had previously read the book and was buying an additional copy to use in a Bible study for a small group. I expect it to be one that stimulates good discussion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good book

Date:October 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ginger
Location:Little Falls, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are using this for our Wednesday night Bible Study and it is really eye opening. It's easy to fall into the complacency of the world and not realize how much sin affects God. This study helps to bring out the hidden, accepted sins to new light so that you can seek God's forgiveness and move forward in your walk with God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for Jesus followers and those contemplating!

Date:October 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Greyfeather
Location:Utah
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only just started reading the book (up to chapter 3); but, already I am enjoying the author's writing style. His explanations of sin is very good thus far - even to the point that I have considered having a faith-searching friend read some of this to better understand the concept of sin and why he/she needs the Lord. Needless to say, it is also (thus far!) a good reminder of why I continue to need the Lord and how I can better follow Him by being aware of and turning away from - with His empowerment - my "respectable sins." The workbook, too, is very good thus afr - full of questions which are actually thoughtful and not the standard "repeat what I just said" type of questions. The only reason that I did not rate this a "5" overall is that I have only just started the book/workbook!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recommend

Date:August 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joyojoy
Location:Canby MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are using this book in out SS class at Full Gospel Assembly. I rarely re-read a book, except my bibles, but this one I will. This book has a great deal to digest and one can not glean it all at one setting. Thank you Mr. Bridges for following the Holy Spirit's lead in writing this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Practical wisdom for dealing with small sins.

Date:June 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
klab
Location:New Waverly, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sharing this study with a group of about 12 and all are impressed by the presentation of the problems we all have with respectable sins and are challenged to practice the wise, Biblical view of dealing with these sins daily.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Hits, Misses, and a Load of Respect

Date:June 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Widsith
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate, Jerry Bridges gently focuses our attention on widespread sins in the church. Not only are they common, but they also go unchecked.
1) Bridges’ confession
Before expanding on these sins, though, he makes a confession to his readers: He’s not perfect, he has committed many of these sins over the years and he doesn’t pretend to be any better or holier than the rest of us.
He makes this confession right at the start, helping readers to understand his humble attitude while writing this book, which ultimately helps us to accept what he has to say about these sins.
2) Seasoned Christians still have room to grow
Next, Bridges walks us through those familiar Bible verses about sin, salvation and grace. He knows he’s talking to people who’ve heard these things a million times, but he reframes them to help us see ourselves—that is, lifelong Christians who think we’ve got this faith thing all worked out—in the centre of God’s plan of salvation.
Even now, as seasoned believers, with years of Sunday services under our belts, countless worship songs sung, who knows how many prayers said, devotions read and volunteer hours logged, we're still sinners in need of God’s grace who have lots of room left to grow.
3) Down to the nitty-gritty: Sins Christians tolerate
Bridges covers everything from anger, judgmentalism, anxiety and impatience to worldliness, pride, selfishness and lack of self-control.
Sometimes we Christians purposely ignore these 'respectable' sins. Sometimes we just don't take them seriously. Gossip and materialism are a couple examples of this.
Other times these sins are winked at or they’re the subject of jokes. I can think of a few, but I’m curious which sins you (reading this review) would file under this category?
4) Bridges hits the mark
I’ve grown up in the church and consider myself to have been a believer most of my life, (You know, the ‘asked Jesus into my heart at age 6’ story), and I’ve seen each and every one of these sins in myself and in most ‘mature’ Christians around me.
Some of them, like materialism and selfishness, are shied away from in sermons, Bible studies, devotionals and especially in conversation with one another. We’re so hardwired from birth to practically idolize individualism, privacy and a citizen’s ‘rights’ to do whatever he wants with his money that we hardly distinguish them from the true sins of materialism and selfishness that God’s Word tries to guide us away from.
Other sins, like anger, are sometimes wrongly interpreted. I’ve been angered by serious sin in the church (e.g. putting personal comfort over helping a neighbor in need), and for that I have been accused of the ‘sin’ of anger. We Christians don’t know the difference between good anger (e.g. at cruel injustice) and sinful anger.
5) Bridges also missed a few biggies
Bridges really does justice to most sins that we Christians often let slide. He invites the reader, after reviewing each issue, to consider instances in our own lives where we have committed those sins and how we can return to a belief and a lifestyle more reflective of God’s desire for us, His Bride.
There are a few sins, though, I wish he had mentioned.
- Love your neighbor: We don’t do it
The second commandment, to love our neighbor as we love ourselves, seems like a biggie in Scripture. And yet, growing up I’ve witnessed countless times when Christians have refused to help a fellow Christian in need.
Not helping one’s neighbor is often made to seem acceptable with the false teaching that people must suffer in silence, without asking for help, in order to prove that they’re trusting God. Scripture, on the other hand, is full of commands and examples of Christians tangibly helping one another and that this is linked to proof of our salvation. (See John Piper’s sermon on this.)
- Church: The old boys’ club
I’ve gotta be honest. Sometimes the church resembles an old boys’ club more than a family of mature, caring believers who actually live by integrity. I’ve seen ‘mature’ Christians cover up fellow Christians’ sins and paving the way for that sin to continue. They also attacked anyone who brought those sins into the light.
Take the sexual abuse of children by clergy and other church leaders, for example. Consider the lengths to which ‘mature’ Christians have gone to cover up those sins, regardless of the fact that known pedophiles were free to continue abusing children because of the community’s collective will to keep it all quiet.
- Accountability: Who's it for anyway?
Often the church patriarchs and matriarchs consider themselves above accountability. Their age and status in the community gives them a kind of immunity from it.
Jesus and Paul’s clear instructions to deal with sin and conflict in the church (Matt. 5:23-24; Matt. 18:15-17, 1 Cor. 5: 11-13) are only applied to hot button sins (e.g. divorce, premarital sex, challenging ‘authority,’ etc.). These sins are loudly preached against and the people who committ them are publicly disciplined, cast out, or otherwise raked over the coals.
What about extreme sins, like when missionaries and elders and pastors rape children? No, we’re told, we must pray for those leaders and do nothing more. If we break the code of silence, we’re accused of the sin of judgmentalism, vengeance, anger and so forth.
You know in some ways, the Church is seriously screwed up. That’s why these are some of the very deep and dangerous sins I wish Bridges had covered in his otherwise stellar work.
6) 4.5 out of 5
Overall, the book was a huge encouragement to me, in that Bridges’ gentle treatment of these common sins paints a bright, uplifting picture of what the Church can become if we simply want to. All we need is to humble ourselves—I mean totally forget our privilege, status and years of service—and decide that our lives will not be a breeding ground for these sins anymore.
No sin is respectable.
Speaking of respect, it isn’t easy taking on the attitudes of overly comfortable Christians. I respect Jerry Bridges for the courage to share this unpopular yet urgently needed message with us.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chap
Location:Carneys Point, NJ
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was purchased for our Sunday School class, and it served its purpose well. Very easy to read and understand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lori Bryant
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jerry Bridges is an easy reading writer who still gives a strong Biblical based messge. We are doing this book with our small group and people are engaged and open. Highly recommend this book to help looking inward to who we really are and why that is important. L.B.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Edie315
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great book! something all Christians should read, at least once a year!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
JenBen
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is exactly what is needed for helping someone's perspective on life to be in the right direction. It deals with issues in everyone's life. Love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.