Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NavPress Every Good & Perfect Gift

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

NavPress Every Good & Perfect Gift

"I'm not the strong one. I've never been the strong one." So believes Gabby Whitaker in her friendship with DeeDee McAllister. They've been best friends since sixth grade, when headstrong and courageous DeeDee began mapping out their lives. But after twenty years with her husband, DeeDee changes the plan. Nearing forty years old, she wants a baby-now! Two years of infertility, prayers, and outrageous behavior finally result in the birth of DeeDee's demand. Gabby is present for all of it, noting the increasingly strange behavior of her lifelong friend after the baby's birth. Then comes a diagnosis that threatens to shatter their world. Now Gabby must find the strength and faith to carry DeeDee and herself through the dark unknown, but is she up for it?
Average Customer Rating:
4.933 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Every Good & Perfect Gift
Review 1 for Every Good & Perfect Gift
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2008
I was thrilled to get to read this book, it is what I would categorize as women's fiction and is Sharon's debut novel. Based on this book I am anxious to see what she will accomplish for her 2nd novel. "Every Good & Perfect Gift" is a great book that draws on real life experiences and deals with some heavy issues such as infertility, illness, friendship and faith. Sharon manages to take these heavy issues and infuse them with humor and feeling. It is not a usual thing for me to find a book that grabs me from the first paragraph and doesn't let me go until the last page (as I'm bawling). This book does that, and its not a mystery or a suspense - usually I think of women's fiction as being a slowly developing work in character development and a continuously, unraveling plot line - Sharon's book breaks that mold in the manner of jumping right in with both feet. You will meet Gabby and DeeDee and follow their path with them as they show that true friendship breaks all conventional stereotypes and is truly a blessing from God.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Every Good & Perfect Gift
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Megan DiMaria
Sharon Souza's debut novel captured me from the first chapter. One thing I loved about this story is that it told of a beautiful, loving relationship between two women modeled on the love between David and Jonathan in the Old Testament. Sometimes even loving the most lovable person in the world isn't easy, and Souza illustrated the blessing of doing just that. Scenes of self-doubt and frustration that revealed the character of Gabby as a flesh-and-blood woman who wrestles with doing the right thing were beautifully written. The story drove toward an issue that would disturb the seemingly perfect lives of her characters to create the ultimate conflict. I was curious about what that would be and how it would play out, and I was satisfied with the turn the story took. This story ended up being a love story between friends and illustrated the ultimate love story between God and his people. Well done!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Every Good & Perfect Gift
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Ousley
This was such a wonderful book! I couldn't put it down! The relationship between Gabby and Dee Dee is so refreshing and beautiful!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Every Good & Perfect Gift
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Chandra Lynn Smith
In her debut novel, Sharon Souza introduces herself as an author of depth, compassion, and faith. Her first book, Every Good and Perfect Gift is a beautiful look at friendship and sacrifice.Gabby Whitaker and DeeDee McAllister have been best friends since sixth grade. Theirs is a rare and beautiful friendship born of time and shared faith. Gabby always considered DeeDee the strong one and herself the follower. Not only are they best friends, but they married best friends. As they near their fortieth birthdays, DeeDee announces her decision that she does want to have a baby, despite her adamancy for the past twenty years she didn't. The four embark on a journey of infertility, tests, trials, failures, and the birth of a beautiful baby. Through it all, Gabby and DeeDee's friendship grows ever stronger. After the birth, Gabby becomes increasingly concerned over disturbing changes in DeeDee's behavior. The diagnosis changes everyone's life forever and challenges their faith. Gabby finds the greatest joy is in sacrificing for your friend.Sharon Souza has written a modern day story similar to the friendship of Jonathon and David in the Old Testament. This heartwarming story will make you laugh, make you cry, and make you want to call your best friend and say 'thank you.' The characters are as real as your next door neighbors. I highly recommend this book. Maybe give it to your best friend and read it at the same time. Sharon's debut novel leaves the reader eagerly anticipating her next one.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Every Good & Perfect Gift
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rebecca LuElla Miller
Every Good & Perfect Gift "adeptly portrays the strengths of friendship, and the wonderful but often difficult relationships between mothers and daughters," as the Publisher's Weekly review says. What the review doesn't mention is how realistic the characters are and how significant the story is. Written in the first person, but as much about another character as the "I," the novel gives unique voices to both women. And makes the reader care for both. This book is not light weight. It "adeptly" deals with serious issues (not just friendship, though in saying "just" I'm not implying that friendship isn't a worthy topic to explore. Rather, this novel goes beyond that scope and treats something bigger) and "Souza laudably refuses to succumb to a pat ending that neatly ties up all the loose ends." Rather than frustrating, this ending seemed to me like the only one possible. At one point, the PW review called Every Good & Perfect Gift "poignant." That's a good word to describe the story. "Sad" is inaccurate because the story has more to say than "what happened in the end." Besides, in places, the journey to the end is itself poignant. At times I was laughing, at other times I wanted to shake one or both characters, but in the end I cried. And cried. If one sign of a successful novel is that it evokes emotion in the reader, then Sharon Souza has written one very successful novel. Mind you, it is most definitely women's fiction. It is contemporary, and it may touch on some raw edges for some people. But in so doing, it also might help those readers process what is almost an untouchable subject (or subjects) among Christians. Yes, this book is also overtly Christian, but without any platitudes or pretension. It is simply a moving story, one that touched me even though I am far from the target audience. Good books have a way of doing just that.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Every Good & Perfect Gift
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Annette M. Irby
I loved Sharon's book. Her prose was fresh and original and it's written in first-person point of view, which is my favorite approach. She wrote with such depth and heart, I have to applaud her! I highly recommend "Every Good and Perfect Gift."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Every Good & Perfect Gift
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kellie Green
I have never loved a book more then I love this one! It pulled me right in and I felt like I knew the characters personally. I usually cant get through a book, because I lose interest, but this one kept me coming back for more! Sharon K. Souza is brilliant! I highly recommend this book to everyone!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Every Good & Perfect Gift
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kathie M Bader
What a great book! I enjoyed being swept into each chapter anxiously wanting to know what was going to happen next with Gabby and Dee. Highly recommend reading "Every Good and Perfect Gift", as well as watching for Sharon K. Souza's future writings.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Every Good & Perfect Gift
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
JenG
Let me start by saying Every Good & Perfect Gift has both touched and moved me on many levels. The story of Dee Dee and Gabby goes beyond friendship, beyond sisterhood, and beyond commitment. Everyone has a choice to love and go beyond love. When asked if you would give your life for your friend, death would be easy, but truly living for your friend takes on a whole new meaning. This story takes you on a journey of Dee Dee and Gabby from children into adulthood. What a magical friendship they share. If only we could all experience a Dee Dee or Gabby in our lives.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Every Good & Perfect Gift
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
TamiH
I loved this book! It was sweet and tender and wonderful. I'm telling all my friends to read it too. You'll laugh and cry all at the same time. It will be one of my favorites.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Every Good & Perfect Gift
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jerry Boyd
After my wife purchased and read Sharon Souza's new book "Every Good & Perfect Gift" and had laid it down, I decided to scan a few pages to see if I could hang with it. Knowing it was clearly meant for the female reader, I was surprised how quickly it drew me in and made me want to keep turning the pages. I learned several new things about women, marriage, and pregnancy during the course of the book and that's always helpful to us male-types. The kind of close friendship between these two women is often foreign to us men, but had poignant lessons about what true friendship means. Acknowledging that there were details of wedding plans, pregnancy, and other "female stuff" that only women can fully appreciate, there was also adventure, humor, and dramatic tension...in other words the stuff from which good reads are made. In addition, I found enough parallels in the book to situations in my own life that I could certainly relate and take valuable insights. It became a topic of conversation between my wife and I as we discussed the characters and situations portrayed in the story and that's a wonderful by-product. Thank you Sharon. It certainly has my recommendation.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Every Good & Perfect Gift
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Diane Gideon
Every Good and Perfect Gift is the most wonderfully written story of friendship between two women. I only wish I could write as well as Sharon to give it the absolute best review it deserves.Its the kind of friendship I think every woman would love to have. Its such a sweet story of how Dee Dee and Gaby became friends in their childhood, and the ups and downs that took them into their adulthood. I laughed; I cried; I truly got lost in the story. I honestly didnt want to get to the end of the book because I came to love these women. And I will miss Dee Dee and Gaby.If you read no other book this year you have to read Every Good and Perfect Gift. You wont be disappointed.I cant wait to read Sharon's next book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Every Good & Perfect Gift
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Deanne Barth
I have already recommended this book to everyone I know, so I had to come and post a review for the benefit of those I don't. This book is the best I've ever read. It is a masterpiece. The writing, dialog, storyline; every aspect of the book is fabulous. I will read this again and again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Every Good & Perfect Gift
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kathleen Popa
Every Good and Perfect Gift is as delightful and funny and heart-breaking and tender as the richest friendship. Sharon K. Souza manages to treat difficult subjects with sparkling humor and gentle warmth, and leaves you smiling when you turn the last page. I absolutely recommend this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Every Good & Perfect Gift
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jayden Grant
This is a must have book! The natural, unique talent that this author has brings stories to life and will leave you with a yearning for more. Her work will touch your life and your children's lives for generations. Sharon Souza uses real life situations and shares them with you and the world. You will be touched and blessed. Keeping all this in mind, you will want to purchase her Christmas book "A Heavenly Christmas in Hometown" to bring holiday cheer and warmth to your home.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.