Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Th1nk Books A Katie Parker Production, Act 3: The Big Picture

Th1nk Books A Katie Parker Production, Act 3: The Big Picture

Katie Parker is having a bad day. First she's dumped by her boyfriend, Charlie! And then her former convict, current addict mother reappears and wants to take Katie away from her foster family, friends, and church. How will Katie's life change as she struggles to understand what home and family really mean? 352 pages, softcover from NavPress.
Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Katie Parker Production, Act 3: The Big Picture
Review 1 for A Katie Parker Production, Act 3: The Big Picture
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Book

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Colleen Leftwich
Location:Oklahoma
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought for my 13 and 15 year old daughters for Christmas. It was on their wishlist. The first time they read these books was in 2009 when they borrowed them from the library. The would return them and check them out again a couple of months later. They think this book is funny and has a good story. There are 3 books in this series, they have read all of them, and have enjoyed each one immensely!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Katie Parker Production, Act 3: The Big Picture
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2009
The third book in the Katie Parker Production series brings us back to the small, quaint town of In Between. From trying to save the local drive-in to dealing with the ex-girlfriend who seems to be trying to win back the guy Katie currently likes, Katie's seems to be all ready for another summer in In Between. Unfortunately, her mother comes to take her away from her foster parents and the life she's grown to love. However instead of giving Katie the life she needs, her mother returns to a life of drug addiction and neglect. I was appalled and disgusted with Katie's mother. I do not understand why she wanted Katie back in her life and then treated her the way she did. I felt so sorry for the way Katie had to live those few months. I literally was getting so angry at her mother that I wanted to scream at the book. Katie handled these situations WAY better than I would have. It's incredibly sad when a 16 year old has to become the adult in the parent/child relationship.It's really funny how time changes the way you perceive people. In the first book, I really disliked Maxine. This probably also had to do with the fact that Katie disliked her as well. Then she started to grow on me to the point, in this book, that I looked forward to seeing her pop up with whatever crazy scheme she had concocted. I think it's great that even grandmothers enjoy excitement and not letting their age get the better of them. It's also really funny seeing her next to her straight laced daughter. The ending was rather a surprise but I enjoyed it.I'm incredibly sad this series is older as I enjoyed Katie's adventures (as well as Maxine's zany antics). This is a really good series for teen girls and it's great for combining serious subject matter with a funny twist. It's one of the most realistic and fun YA books that's out there. Jenny B. Jones is one of my favorite YA writers and I'm looking forward to reading the rest of her books! HIGHLY recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Katie Parker Production, Act 3: The Big Picture
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lanie
i actually read this one first cause i didn't know it was a series.i loved it!! 5 stars!i would recommend this book to anyone who loves to read a book you can't put down!also, check out the Twilight series. i couldn't stop reading the Twilight Series.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Katie Parker Production, Act 3: The Big Picture
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Katie Parkers past closes in on her in The Big Picture, Jenny B. Jones final volume of A Katie Parker Production. Katies mom gets out of rehab and wants Katie back. The Scotts drive Katie out to Middleton, Texas, to her mothers mobile home and her new lifeor old life, depending on how things go. Katie leaves the Scotts, her best friend, Francis, and her boyfriend, Charlie, and sets forth on a new journey, hoping her mom is ready to make their family work. From the start tensions are high between Katie and her mom. Katie often finds herself home alone when her mom disappears for days at a time, even missing the social workers visit. Katie wants her mom to make this work, but she isnt making it a priority. Nor is Charlie making their long-distance friendship a priority, despite his claims to care about her. Katie finds in instant friend in Tate Matthews, who goes out of his way to make Katie feel at home in Middleton. When the situation with her mom escalates and becomes dangerous, Katie is forced to make some hard decisions that will affect her future forever. This book is a wonderful end to the trilogy. I was concerned about Katie not being with her In Between friends for most of the book, but Tate Matthews was a wonderful surprise. I thoroughly enjoyed his character. My only disappointment was the absence of letters from Katie to Mrs. Smartly, which were my favorite parts of the previous two books. Still, a satisfying read until the last line, The Big Picture shows that happily ever after isnt always perfect, but a girl can get through it with the GOG (grace of God). Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Katie Parker Production, Act 3: The Big Picture
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Chandra Lynn Smith
Katie Parker returns in this third book in the Katie Parker Production Series. Jenny B. Jones has once again written an entertaining story of youth, trials, faith, and forgiveness. Sometime when you get to the third book in a series, the story has weakened and the characters lost some charm. This is not the case with The Big Picture. You will welcome the opportunity to become involved in Katie Parker's life again. She settles into life in her foster home, and then her mother gets out of rehab and reclaims custody. Katie must move back to her mother's home and start again. She leaves her best friend and her boyfriend, who appears to be more focused on his ex than her. As she starts over in the new location her newfound faith struggles to understand God's plan. Katie makes friends with another young man who never questions her background, but always manages to be by her side when she needs help. When the situation with her mother changes for the worse and becomes dangerous, Katie's life seems condemned much like the local drive-in, The Big Picture. As she and her friends, both new and old, work to save the local landmark, Katie faces destruction in her world. Her mother returns to the old criminal ways. Can one lonely teenage girl find a happy ever after in a life is tough world?The Big Picture is an excellent book which I highly recommend. The final book in the Katie Parker series leaves you hoping maybe someday to return to the small town of In Between. Jenny B. Jones has a creative way of writing from the point of view of a teenage girl trying to find her way in a lost world. You will laugh, cry, and sigh with contentment as you read this book. I also recommend the first two books in the series, In Between and On the Loose.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Katie Parker Production, Act 3: The Big Picture
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Erin
This is the third in the Katie Parker Series, which is about a teenage girl in foster care because her mom is in prison for drug dealing. In this book Katies mom wants to take her back, and Katie feels torn between her mom and her foster family and friends. How can Katie show her druggie mom the love of Jesus when her mom does not want to change?I think this series is awesome! I dont like to read, but this story pulled me in right away and has showed me that reading can be fun. I like how the author mixed humor with sad situations. I found myself crying sometimes but I laughed a lot. ~~Erin, age 14~~
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Katie Parker Production, Act 3: The Big Picture
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jessica Epps
I really enjoyed reading the 3rd book in the Katie Parker series! I caught myself laughing out loud throughout the book. I'll never understand how authors can be this funny and come up with this stuff, it is pure talent! Katie Parker is a character that you continue to love throughout the series. She goes through REAL challenges and learns big lessons. The series would be a great present for teenage girls!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Katie Parker Production, Act 3: The Big Picture
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jessica Epps
I really enjoyed reading the 3rd book in the Katie Parker series! I caught myself laughing out loud throughout the book. I'll never understand how authors can be this funny and come up with this stuff, it is pure talent! Katie Parker is a character that you continue to love throughout the series. She goes through REAL challenges and learns big lessons. The series would be a great present for teenage girls!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Katie Parker Production, Act 3: The Big Picture
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
G
Whats not to love? Take a quirky (make that really quirky) foster grandmother, a tough situation with her real mom, add a little romance, and you get Katie Parker. The Big Picture was an awesome, cant-put-it-down book. The hilarious schemes of Maxine (Katies foster grandma) left me laughing out loud (and cringing at times). Katies behavior and thoughts, especially with her just out of jail mom, were so honest and real. I couldnt help but feel connected to Katie. Its a fantastic book! Youve gotta read it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Katie Parker Production, Act 3: The Big Picture
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jennifer AlLee
In The Big Picture, Jones brings us the third act of her Katie Parker Production Series. Katie's given her life to Christ, but that doesn't mean everything is all sunshine and happiness. Between the return of her ex-convict mother, the romantic trials of her foster grandma Mad Maxine, and being drawn to her not-sure-if-he's-a-boyfriend Charlie, Katie's got a lot going on in her life. Jones writes with humor and a heart for teens. She never speaks down to the young people who will read this book. But this isn't just a young adult novel. Even if you're old enough not to get carded anymore, I guarantee you'll enjoy this story of family ties and trust.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Katie Parker Production, Act 3: The Big Picture
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
L Burns
Love this series!It's funny, sweet, and filled with characters that will take root in your heart. The Big Picture is a book that I'll read again - one of my all time favorite series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.