Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NavPress Thriving Despite a Difficult Marriage

NavPress Thriving Despite a Difficult Marriage

If your marriage is less than perfect and the "happily ever after" that was promised to you in childhood fairy tales is a distant dream, then Thriving Despite a Difficult Marriage will offer you hope. Christian psychologists, the Misja brothers, explain that faithfulness, not happiness, is God's desire for you. In your less that perfect marriage, you can still have meaning, purpose, endurance, and optimism. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
4.294 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Thriving Despite a Difficult Marriage
Review 1 for Thriving Despite a Difficult Marriage
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great help

Date:July 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kadie
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Prior reviews of the book scared me because it sounded like it was depressing. I don't agree now that I have read more than half the book. This book describes very real relationships. Too often what we see is 'Sunday behavior' and this book offers real hope and a plan...not perfection or fantasy. 'Thrive Despite' is a great way to approach many difficult situations in life. The focus is on what you can be aware of, change, or improve- you. Would rate it higher, but haven't finished the book yet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Thriving Despite a Difficult Marriage
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindy
Location:Dayton OH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was recommended to me and will be a valuable resource
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Thriving Despite a Difficult Marriage
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michael
My marriage has been difficult for the majority of its sixteen years. Until I heard this honest, pull-no-punches broadcast on Focus, I was mired in emotional turmoil, anger and hopelessness. Before stumbling upon the Misja brothers broadcast, everywhere I turned I was met with simplistic platitudes that usually began "If you would only..." and ended "...Then things will be right in your marriage." Worse yet, many said to give up and get out. Experiencing the well-intentioned, but ineffective response of numerous Christian friends, teachers and counselors only deepened my shame and desperation over the true state of my marriage. I only felt more lost and confused about Gods purpose in this storm in which I live continuously. In truth, I nearly gave up on seeking any counsel and even started becoming hostile toward those who presumed to understand my situation well enough to offer solutions. However, after receiving hope from the book and broadcast, I recommended and shared the information with several other hurting people and with the pastors and counselors at my church. Many eyes have been opened to the unacknowledged pain that many in the church are enduring without earthly relief, and to the additional pain and condemnation caused by misguided responses that make us feel that if only we were strong enough Christians then all would be well. The Misja brothers get it and address painful truths without copping out and accepting the worlds answers. Their very honest approach is helping to restore my perspective and the hope that I can thrive and live for Christ EVEN IF my marriage is never fixed. I especially respect and value their Christ-centered counsel because it offers understanding and hope without trying to solve something which has no single, simple solution. I feel more enabled to return to a focus on growing with God instead of just holding on and praying that somehow my present circumstance will reach a merciful end.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Thriving Despite a Difficult Marriage
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Liz
This book was an answer to prayer. It is the only one I have read that offers an answer for someone who does not believe in divorce, yet is part of a marriage that has little chance of improving. It offers a completely different perspective and hope for dealing with the disappointment of living with a spouse who probably will never change.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Thriving Despite a Difficult Marriage
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gary Mayhanagian
Not as helpful as I had hoped. And really not much offered until the last chapter. Some truth can be gleaned and applied to the hurting marriage partner.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Thriving Despite a Difficult Marriage
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Valerie Holt
This book offered a realistic, in your face approach to people in very difficult marriages and yet offered biblical ways to still thrive as a person that God can use. I highly recommend this book, what I like the most about it - it is not pollyanna and everything will be alright if you just pray about it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Thriving Despite a Difficult Marriage
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Christman
I didn't read the whole book but passed it on to someone who needed it now. What I had read was so good that I ordered 2 more for other friends in troublesome marriages.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Thriving Despite a Difficult Marriage
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
David Dumont
Drs. Misja and Misja realistically address the genuine problem of Christians living in marriages that produces pain, confusion, doubt and anger. Jesus died to bring us peace in our souls and these authors offer practical advice on how to find it. Included is a in-your-face evaluation of what the bewildered spouse brings to the situation, in terms of expectations, desires, and emotional history and baggage. This book offers hope to Christians who desire to turn depression over their marriage into genuine joy in the Lord, whether circumstances change or not.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Thriving Despite a Difficult Marriage
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Naomi
It is so sad to me to see Christians such as these two men embracing worldly wisdom, calling it "Christian Psychology" and attempting to help others through means that are not always Biblical. We are told in 2 Peter 1:3 "His divine power has given us everything we need for life and godliness through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness." Either Christ is sufficient for all that life throws at us, or He isn't; we can't have psychology and the Bible and try to mix them together; they are worlds apart. If you want to read Biblical truths where Christ is exalted above all, as the true answer to all trials, then I would recommend the book by Mike Cleveland, "The Cross: Finding Life in Jesus' Death."
-9points
3of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Thriving Despite a Difficult Marriage
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sheila Landis
This book is very helpful in most marriages I think. Even if you don't have a difficult marriage it is helpful to read. It also helps you see what other couples might be dealing with.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Thriving Despite a Difficult Marriage
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marydiane Kuegler
After years and decades of seeking help in every possible venue (I was diligent about this) I came across this info while listening to "Focus on the Family" on radio-sent for the cd and book- and may I loud and clear say this is like nothing NOTHING out there anywhere! RUSH TO GET YOUR COPY !
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Thriving Despite a Difficult Marriage
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Trish Ashby
EXCELLENT BOOK!! It was very easy to read and had so many situations I could relate toand made me feel better that I was not the only person in the world in a difficult marriage. Great information to think about and consider to help the hurting spouse! This is a book I'm sure I will read several times over. Great backup with scripture which I appreciate since I want to know & do what God's word says.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Thriving Despite a Difficult Marriage
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ted Daniels
Thanks for showing the Biblical relationship that follows the problem of difficult times in a marriage even if I have tried all the "self help" items that I can. I am not alone, and I can Thrive not just survive.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Thriving Despite a Difficult Marriage
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kibbie Hoobler
Wow! The book on marriage that I have been looking for for years. Not an easy read, not for corwards. These folks pull no punches but do provide hope for those of us who are struggling alone in our marriage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Thriving Despite a Difficult Marriage
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carol
I purchased "Thriving Despite a Difficult Marriage" after hearing the Misja brothers on Focus on the Family. The authors give a frank look at troubled marriages in a perspective not offered in any other marriage book I've read. However, I found it to be repetitious in some places, and I actually found myself getting more depressed as I read. I kept asking myself when the solution was coming - I already know the problem. Of course, solutions are offered near the end of the book, and the authors are clear to state that the happy ending we would like and pray for may not come. It offers hope in that a fulfilling life in Christ is still possible despite the pain and tortuous lonliness. My favorite from the book is, "One day you will know how God has utilized your sufferings in ways you cannot understand now. The pain in your marriage is not meaningless". I've given this book a rather low rating (although it deserves a higher one) only because it did not address the specific problem that is tearing my 37-year marriage apart. I've yet to find a Christian marriage book (or anyone) that offers help for our specific problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Thriving Despite a Difficult Marriage
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
AB
My husband wanted "out", I did not. I felt the love in my heart for him wasn't man-made, but a gift from God. Our marriage had become so routine that the enemy had been able to get foothold into our lives. I bought this book after hearing a broadcast with the authors on Focus on the Family in hopes it would give me insight into what I was doing to destroy his love for me, and vice-versa. Just about every page has something highlighted that was helpful and meaningful to me. The book did provide insight into our marriage from a Christian point of view, which is exactly what I was hoping for. Today, we are communicating more than ever before, the 'connection' is there, and the Lord has stopped the enemy at the door. Bottom line, yes, the Lord showed me things through this book that has helped glue our marriage back together. Recommended highly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Thriving Despite a Difficult Marriage
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Chuck Roberts
I just finished reading the first chapter of this book in an email from Nav Press. As a marriage counselor myself, it appears they've written the book I always wished someone would write on marriage. I've ordered a copy, and I cannot wait to read the entire book. The authors have done a beautiful, thoughtful job of explaining what I try continually to explain to my marriage counseling clients, that their real hope is a deep intimacy with the Father and their own personal change in the context of a painful marriage. I find that to be an extremely difficult sell, but I am staying the course. Their book is going to be a valuable resource to further think through my own marriage, the way I counsel, and to recommend to clients who come to me in much the same way as Dave and Patty, the couple they talk about in the first chapter. Chuck and Mike, thank you for writing it.When I wrote the above review I had only read the first chapter and was waiting to receive my copy of the book. I devoured the book and I am rereading it, carefully studying in order to bless my marriage and my clients.This is a well-written, thoughtful book, but it isn't easy to read. There are some hard things to consider, but I am convinced that if you read the book and apply its' concepts you will find deep joy and peace and personal change.I hope and pray the Misja brothers will sell many copies of this book. It has so much more to offer than many of the Christian marriage books, which are basically guidelines to manipulating your spouse into the behavior you want.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.