Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NavPress Hope for Wholeness: The Spiritual Path to Freedom from Depression

NavPress Hope for Wholeness: The Spiritual Path to Freedom from Depression

As the leading cause of disability worldwide, depression affects millions of people, including Christians. Medical and psychological treatments have proved effective for some, but for others they didn't bring lasting healing. Hope for Wholeness addresses the spiritual roots of depression and encourages readers to tackle the difficult personal issues that precipitate spiritual depression.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Hope for Wholeness: The Spiritual Path to Freedom from Depression
Review 1 for Hope for Wholeness: The Spiritual Path to Freedom from Depression
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rev. Gordon Cook
As I read this book, I was doing so as Sharon and her husband Tims pastor. I felt like the children of Israel in the description thats given of them in the book of Ezra. When they saw the Temple being rebuilt, part of the congregation was weeping because of the past and part of the congregation (that hadnt seen the old Temple) was laughing and rejoicing. And the Bible says that they could not discern the noise of eitherof the weeping and of the joy.Thats how I read the book. As I read the intensity of what Sharon, Tim, and their daughters went through half of me was weeping. Im interested to find out our congregations reaction to the story as they read this book, because I dont think even the closest to Sharon and Tim in the church realised the depth of what was going on. But to see the wholeness thats been brought to Sharon and her home, to see how God is using this experience and the insights He has given her, the rest of my congregation was praising, rejoicing, and laughing. And so by the end of the book, I didnt know what I was feeling: heartache or wholeness. I am thankful to Sharon for sharing her journey. The transparency in the book is inspirational and overwhelming. I look forward to seeing how God uses HOPE FOR WHOLENESS to minister to people all over North America, and throughout the world. Im convinced that lives will be changed through it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hope for Wholeness: The Spiritual Path to Freedom from Depression
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rev. Dr. John Weiler
There are several reasons why I like HOPE FOR WHOLENESS. First of all it defines depression very well and it outlines symptoms to be aware of. Secondly, it urges people with the signs of depression to get help-medical help from doctors, psychiatrists, and especially Christian help from Christian counselors. The book is well researched including quotes and support from writers and professionals, and every chapter is supported by Scripture references and illustrations. I also appreciate the fact that every chapter has a self-reflection section that readers can spend time in.HOPE FOR WHOLENESS is real. It tells a real story, a story everyone can relate to. I am thankful to Sharon Fawcett for sharing her story and journey. It is my prayer that God will use this book to help many people find wholeness, and have hope in their dark times. -Rev. Dr. John Weiler, Regional Minister, Convention of Atlantic Baptist Churches
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hope for Wholeness: The Spiritual Path to Freedom from Depression
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Berys Richardson
I like HOPE FOR WHOLENESS for many reasons. I like it from a counsellor's perspective because you can read one chapter at a time. Each chapter stands alone and can teach you something, challenge you, or help you to move into a healthy place. The chapters on fear and shame are amazing. The chapter on self-worth is really a little jewel because even though there are tonnes of books written on self-worth, I can't find any that I think are really going to help my clients grow and move into a place of worth and value. I believe the chapter Sharon has written on self-worth can do that.The self-reflection sections at the end of each chapter are excellent to challenge an individual to think through the issues relating to that particular chapter. I also like the fact that there is a chapter on listening prayer for inner healing. One of the most profound gifts that God has given us is to hear His voice and I believe that hearing God is one of the major keys to all healing, not just from depressionfrom fear, from marital problems, and much more. I love this chapter and I've never read a book on depression that addresses the need to listen to God.At the end of the book Sharon includes two valuable appendixes for those who live with a depressed person. They offer advice on how to help a loved one who is depressed and how to help yourself when you're living with a loved one who's depressed.HOPE FOR WHOLENESS is a great resource; it's very practical and helpful. But it also reveals Sharon's heart, and I love that about hershe allows herself to be open and vulnerable. I thank God for Sharon Fawcett and the way He is using her, and I know He's going to use this book. Berys Richardson, MA Psychology & Counseling
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hope for Wholeness: The Spiritual Path to Freedom from Depression
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rev. Dr. Martin Kreplin
HOPE FOR WHOLENESS is an inspirational book not only for people who are struggling with depression directly, but all those who are peripherally impacted by the illness. An average reader interested in the topic could access the information in this book very readily, and that takes a certain degree of finesse in writing. Sharon has written this book with what Id describe as a brutal self-honesty. But it constantly moves the reader toward hope, wholeness, health, and a closer and more mature walk with God. You dont often find those kinds of combinations in a single book. The self-revelation that takes place in HOPE FOR WHOLENESS doesnt relish in false triumphantism, nor does it enter into what I describe as voyeuristic self-deprecation. Its always aimed at helping others understand themselves, understand others better, and understand their relationship with God.For those who are directly struggling with depression, this book is tremendously helpfulnot only offering comfort in the experiences of another who has journeyed this path and has struggled tremendously with it, but also offering clear and articulate descriptions of spiritual treatments for depression. But the book goes even further, beyond just the prescriptive and toward continued wholeness and maintenance of wholeness beyond a therapeutic stage. This is a book of grace. Its a book of hope. Its a book obviously written with deep love for others who struggle with depression, both directly and indirectly. HOPE FOR WHOLENESS is a book thats truly going to be very helpful for others. Rev. Dr. Martin Kreplin, St. Andrews Presbyterian Church, Moncton, NB, Canada
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hope for Wholeness: The Spiritual Path to Freedom from Depression
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Chris Summerville
One of the best on spirituality and mental illness Modern medicine and health care operate from a Eurocentric biomedical model that often does not take into consideration the whole person in terms of body mind and spirit. "Hope for Wholeness" is a first-person story of Sharon L. Fawcett's journey with depression and her recovery. While acknowledging both the value and limits of medication and other treatments, she looks at the spiritual dynamics of mental illness and healing. No matter the causes of depression and other mental illnesses, authentic spirituality as a source of strength, meaning and purpose in life, is currently one of the hottest subjects in mental health circles. Sharon shares her lived experience of darkness as well as God's grace and tender mercies in her journey of recovery. Chris Summerville, D.Min., CPRPBoard Member, Mental Health Commission of Canada Executive Director, Manitoba Schizophrenia SocietyChief Executive Officer, Schizophrenia Society of Canada
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hope for Wholeness: The Spiritual Path to Freedom from Depression
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kimberly Kirkpatrick
Thank you Sharon for breaking down stereotypes and stigma associated with this life threatening condition. This book started a journey for me that has allowed God to deal with issues that I previously did not realize contributed to my depression. Thank you Sharon for sharing your story and God's healing to help me and countless others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hope for Wholeness: The Spiritual Path to Freedom from Depression
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Emily Wierenga
According to Statistics Canada, eight per cent of adult Canadians will experience depression at some point in their lives. Yet most of them, particularly if they're Christians, won't seek help for fear of being judged.Sharon Fawcett's debut book, Hope for Wholeness, stems from a nine-year battle with depression in which the mother of two learned to embrace, and subsequently let go of her disease. As she writes, "I hope you will come to understand that depression is not an enemy trying to rob you of life but rather an opportunity for self-examination and spiritual growth."Before she could get better, Fawcett says she had to erase the stigma associated with depression--that is, as a character flaw or weakness. "I thought that followers of Christ were supposed to live like walking billboards, advertising perfect, painless lives as the product of a relationship with Christ. I gave all I had to projecting the victorious image, but the truth was that deep inside I was one of the messy ones." It was only after accepting who she truly was that Fawcett could begin to recover, with God as her helper. Within the pages of this book Fawcett painstakingly details every leg of her journey with raw, emotion-filled stories. These personal anecdotes are intermingled with Scripture, examples of Biblical characters who battled depression, and inspirational stories meant to motivate and uplift the reader. "I've experienced this miraculous transformation, though it was a long process and I needed a lot of help. It took the insight of a trained Christian counselor -- and divine illumination from the Holy Spirit -- for me to identify and renounce the lies that had held me in bondage for three decades. Be encouraged that if I can lose my baggage, you can too."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hope for Wholeness: The Spiritual Path to Freedom from Depression
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Shannon Wall
Hope for Wholeness brings encouragement to friends and family of those who battle depression.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hope for Wholeness: The Spiritual Path to Freedom from Depression
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Shannon Wall
HOPE FOR WHOLENESS brings encouragement to friends and family of those who battle depression. As someone who has stood on the sidelines watching the ones I love suffer so much, I needed words to give but felt mute in the presence of such pain. Through Sharon's book, I found a resource that enabled me to hear the words that my friends could not express so I would be a better comfort to them. It has also given me a resource that I can confidently pass on to those who are in need of hope. Thank you, Sharon, for being willing to comfort others with the comfort you yourself received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hope for Wholeness: The Spiritual Path to Freedom from Depression
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Laura Heinsohn
Hope for Wholeness by Sharon Fawcett gracefully weaves the beauty of God's truth with her own heart-wrenching journey. I found her honesty and transparency refreshing! This book brought me tremendous hope in my own personal struggles.I will recommend this book to friends and family who are traveling the winding, blinding maze of depression. A must read.Laura Lee Heinsohn, author of Cracking the Parenting Code
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hope for Wholeness: The Spiritual Path to Freedom from Depression
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jan Coates
Sharon Fawcett's excellent book helps--survivors, counselors, pastors, lay leaders, women's ministry participants and leaders--understand the critical need for the church to step up and accept the truth that depression is not a stigma, but a reality. Sharon's book addresses the body, soul, and spiritual problem that needs God's front-line workers to embrace the broken and wounded, and provide healing found only in Jehovah Rapah--God our Healer. Enough of the head, clinical stuff. Truth is spoken by those who have lived in the lonely parched desert of depression and found Living Water--complete healing from the inside out. Bravo, Sharon, for taking a brave and bold stand, telling it like it is: Depression can be an opportunity to grow--to embrace personal pain, and get to the spirtitual roots of the core issues. Our Great Physicial doesn't say, "What color pills do you want?" He says, "Come to me my broken child and I will make you whole." Thank you to this gifted author for writing this much-needed book. Jan Coates www.setfreetoday.com www.jancoates.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hope for Wholeness: The Spiritual Path to Freedom from Depression
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kimberly Lisowski
As a former counselor, I am constantly searching for honest and insightful feedback for lasting change. Hope for Wholeness offers readers a chance to experience a transformative journey as the author shares her story and powerful experiences. We all seem to share a common thread of unfulfilling moments and dark thoughts, yet some of us are trapped in depression to which we can find no remedy. The author builds her testimony as she fights this battle of depression, weaving in what she has learned and overcome, to end with a newfound freedom and aliveness in God. For anyone currently struggling with depression, and for those who have in the past...this book offers hope and healing, and an enduring message of love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hope for Wholeness: The Spiritual Path to Freedom from Depression
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jeff Garrison
This is a personal book in which Sharon Fawcett draws upon her nine year battle with depression. A committed Christian, Sharon fought hard to maintain a faade of a happy, productive and fulfilled follower of Jesus. But then her wall of cards collapsed and she found herself in darkness. She attempted suicide, succumbing to the devil's lies that she was a failure and that her family would be better off without her. After years of years of counseling and stints in mental hospitals, including electrical shock therapy, Fawcett began to include a spiritual component to her treatment. After being involved in a deliverance ministry, her depression ended. But, as she notes, her journey to wholeness was just beginning. (176) This book is valuable to both those who battle depression as well as to those who are caregivers to the depressed. Fawcett helps remove the stigma of depression from Christians. Too often we believe the lie that depression isn't something a spiritual person should have to deal with or if they're battling depression there is some deep hidden sin that is the reason. Instead, she exposes the strong lies that binds us with fear and shame and destroys our self-worth. She encourages a holistic approach to battling depression, one that addresses body, mind and spirit. She also sees a benefit from depression. It was God's way of forcing her to depend upon him. Referring to the 23rd Psalm, depression was the Shepherd's way of "making her lie in green pastures." (51) The book issues a warning of the dangers of busyness, of thinking or attempting to maintain control. In addition to drawing upon her own life, Fawcett also includes several vignettes from the lives of others, individuals who overcame great odds and who serve as examples for those struggling with depression. This book is easy to read and Fawcett encourages the reader at the end of each chapter to reflect upon their own lives and to meditate upon the Scriptures.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hope for Wholeness: The Spiritual Path to Freedom from Depression
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rev. Dr. L.D. Buckingham
I have learned a lot from Sharons book. It has helped me to better understand all who are victimized by depression. It is all around us. As pastors, we are continually dealing with a wide range of difficulties in families and individuals caused by mental challenges. This book has made me more compassionate and understanding of all concerned. Most of all, my faith in the power of God to make a difference has greatly increased. The book is well-titled because Sharon has proven there is Hope for Wholeness and the healing she describes makes it possible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hope for Wholeness: The Spiritual Path to Freedom from Depression
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Candy Arrington
Often, when I meet with prospective writers, they tell me a tale of woe, the story of something awful that happened in their lives that they now want to write about. When I met Sharon Fawcett, I immediately knew she was different. Not only was her writing excellent, but here was a woman who fought depression, triumphed, and wasn't still looking over her shoulder at the battlefield. Sharon didn't spend the fifteen-minute appointment telling me about her time in the abyss of depression. Her story centered on the spiritual path upward and out of the pit of despair. Her main desire was, and is, to help others find the way. Hope for Wholeness is a non-clinical, refreshing, and honest look at the devastation caused by depression. But what sets this book apart is the positive light it sheds on this debilitating condition. In the pages of this book, the depressed, and those who love them, will find encouragement, truth, and most of all, hope.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hope for Wholeness: The Spiritual Path to Freedom from Depression
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Terry Whalin
Depression is a chronic problem which can catapult you into the world of the unknown. How do you escape and what if you were stuck in it for years? Author Sharon Fawcett knows the devastating effects of depression first hand and for nine years struggled with it. In HOPE FOR WHOLENESS, Sharon combines her personal experiences with solid how-to information, encouragement from the Bible and inspirational stories. As she writes on page 70, "Depression wounds families. It crushes the spirit, steals joy, and causes confusion. As the family becomes fractured, home is no longer a haven to retreat to for comfort but a wounded place filled with uncertainty and turmoil. Sometimes called silent victims, those who love someone with depression suffer every bit as much as the one with the illness but in different ways." If you or someone you know is stuck in a vicious cycle of treatment for depression, you need HOPE FOR WHOLENESS. Sharon can show you the spiritual path that she found to freedom. I highly recommend this book and hope millions will use this book find release from the bondage of depression.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hope for Wholeness: The Spiritual Path to Freedom from Depression
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Glenn Mac Donald
Seriously, what a tremendous read. In recounting her journey through depression, Sharon helps you see how the messes of our lives are meant for more than just cleaning up and hiding from everyone theyre for growth and revelation. Her book is very well written and does what it was intended to do: it gives people Hope for Wholeness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hope for Wholeness: The Spiritual Path to Freedom from Depression
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jerome Daley
Captivating and Equipping!Sharon Fawcett's drama--trauma, one might say--explodes upon the mind in its opening paragraphs. Hope for Wholeness is no mild documentary of one woman's depression; rather, it is an excavation of the ruins of one woman's soul...and the silent movie of its reconstruction. Whether you have wrestled this enemy personally or know others who have, Sharon's warfare of hope will become your own...and you will be equipped like never before to defeat the scourge of depression. I highly commend it.-Jerome Daley, Writing Coach (www.PurposeCoach.net), Managing Editor at the Journal of Christian Coaching
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hope for Wholeness: The Spiritual Path to Freedom from Depression
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Fil Anderson
In this achingly authentic book, Sharon Fawcett offers the extraordinary and rare gift of vulnerability by telling the deeply personal story of her journey through brokenness to wholeness. Sharon's humble transparency and holy boldness renewed my own hope for wholeness by drawing me back again to the wonder working power of the gospel.Fil Anderson, author of Running on Empty, Executive Director of Journey Resources
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hope for Wholeness: The Spiritual Path to Freedom from Depression
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
James E. Robinson
In Hope for Wholeness, Sharon L. Fawcett shares a great gifta true-life story filled with transparency, courage, and, above all, grace This is a real-life journey through the darkness of depression and related disorders, told with a gentleness of spirit and firmness of personal conviction that lifts its eloquent message high above more didactic works on the subject. Fawcetts lean, unsentimental style draws us in, sits us down near a warm fire, and confidingly shares with us the soul-secrets of a true survivor. The most profound kind of healing always comes from those brave enough to return from battle, emotionally undress, and show us their ugly wounds. And by allowing us into this most private of places, Hope for Wholeness reflects the true face of the healing Christ. James E. Robinson, founder of ProdigalSong Ministries and author of Flower of Grass, a novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.