Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers Treasury of Scripture Knowledge

Hendrickson Publishers Treasury of Scripture Knowledge

This classic Bible study help gives you a concordance, chain-reference system, topical Bible, and commentary all in one. Complete with over 500,000 Scripture references and parallel passages, this reference work contains the most exhaustive listing of biblical cross references available anywhere. Turn to any Bible passage and you will find chapter synopses, key word cross-references, topical references, parallel passages, and illustrative notes that show how the Bible comments on itself. This resource reveals how Scripture interprets itself on every verse, topic and important word: from biblical promises, doctrines and historical issues to prophecies and their fulfillment, supplies lists of verses that shed biblical light on the intent of each passage and dates at the top of each page furnish a chronological framework for biblical people, places and events. This is a hardcover reprint edition from Hendrickson Publishers and can be used with any Bible translation.
Average Customer Rating:
3.625 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
2
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Treasury of Scripture Knowledge
Review 1 for Treasury of Scripture Knowledge
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Amazing amount of info. Can be better quality.

Date:March 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Andy
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not sure if this is for the everyday bible student as it is VERY tedious in the amount of information. Which could be great or just plain "too much" depending on who you are. Would recommend for anyone in ministry who has to teach on a regular basis.
However, with the modern day technology in Bible software, might not be as relevant to younger people in teaching ministries.
Only downside is that the material could be better quality, don't know durable the pages would be if someone was really putting this thing through it's paces.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Treasury of Scripture Knowledge
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not bad . . .but

Date:July 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jeff
Location:South Central MN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have the computerized version of this product, and I like that. This resource is okay, and it does have some nice things in it.
pros: Over 500,000 cross references, lots of information in it.
cons: small print (which I knew going in) and the extensive use of roman numerals through out the book. (Brush up on your roman numerals if you want to use this book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Treasury of Scripture Knowledge
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Very helpful

Date:September 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Old Shoe
Location:Columbia, TN
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This will be very helpful in getting cross-references to passages and terms when studying the bible and preparing to teach a lesson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Treasury of Scripture Knowledge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

useful study tool

Date:January 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mark Holloway
Location:Savannah, Ga.
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sometime I like to leave the big bulky study bibles on the shelf and get out my large print text bible. No other distractions on the page, just me and God's Word, and when I encounter something I want a better look at I have this useful tool at my fingertips. Its print isn't large but I knew that going in, it met my expectations, I haven't had it too long but I can tell already that I will get a lot of use from it. A great resource.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Treasury of Scripture Knowledge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Barbara Ratcliffe
A must have for learning and teaching. This opens up our Bible as well as our eyes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Treasury of Scripture Knowledge
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dr.claudette Mason
The print of the book is much too small; a magnifying glass is needed for comfortable reading. When the book is first ordered, it should be stated to customers that the print is very small. Thank you for allowing me to give my opinion.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Treasury of Scripture Knowledge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Aaron Lumpkin
This work provides multiple cross-references for almost every verse in the Bible. This is a great tool for explaining Scripture with Scripture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Treasury of Scripture Knowledge
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
William Keyes
The Treasury of Scriptures Knowledge is unique and valuable as a source of understanding and meditation. The comparison and contrasting feature of similar themes is great, HOWEVER, the print quality of this particular publisher is pathetic. I was able to locate a better quality publishing by Nelson of The New Treasury of Scripture Knowledge which I give a five stars recommendation.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Treasury of Scripture Knowledge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joshua Vasquez
Awesome book! Learn to explain the Bible with the Bible itself! Great for young men growing in the faith!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Treasury of Scripture Knowledge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lawrence Allen
The best bible tool available today for enhancing your time in studying God's precious word!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Treasury of Scripture Knowledge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
John Hubbartt
It really speeds up Bible study with including tools in one book. Word study is so easy with this reference work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Treasury of Scripture Knowledge
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tony Wilkins
This is more of a concordance and cross reference bible than I expected or wanted. Cannot be used for studying by itself, requires you to refer to a full text bible. This bible is hard to study because of how it is formatted.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Treasury of Scripture Knowledge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
John Tew
I have used this book for years and have found it to be one of the most valuable Bible tools ever published. Following the flow of references to a particular verse increases understanding of God's Word. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Treasury of Scripture Knowledge
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
J. Johnson
One of the best books I have purchased. Cross references are given that you will not find in your Bible cross reference section.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Treasury of Scripture Knowledge
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
R.L.
This book may be good if you have excellent eyesight plus know what you are looking for. For a beginner this is not the type of concordance that I thought it would be. We were disappointed that I picked the wrong type of book.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Treasury of Scripture Knowledge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 8, 2006
Customer Avatar
Nick G.
This is one of the best Bible study cross reference helps available.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.