Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Beside Still Waters: Words of Comfort for the Soul

Thomas Nelson Beside Still Waters: Words of Comfort for the Soul

In times of doubt, alarm, or discomfort, this year-long devotional book gives you a steady source of comfort, hope, and healing, delivered fresh from the pages of Scripture and in the timeless words and writings of Charles H. Spurgeon.

Beside Still Waters is more than just a devotional book. Each reading is indexed by topic, allowing you to locate specific passages for all the pressing needs in your life. So let The Shepherd lead you to a place of safety and calm. Be refreshed by His peace, and encouraged by His presence. Beside Still Waters will help you find comfort and encouragement for almost any challenge you may face.

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Beside Still Waters: Words of Comfort for the Soul
Review 1 for Beside Still Waters: Words of Comfort for the Soul
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good

Date:August 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
truth
Location:Columbus, Wis.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a recent widow and I believe the Lord brought this across my path for just this time. I have always loved Spurgeon and have read almost all of his writings but this author has done us a great service in bringing these particular messages to us in a devotional format. Thank you so much for that. I have purchased several copies and given them to friends undergoing trial and everyone has come back to me with words of praise. I plan on giving more for Christmas gifts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Beside Still Waters: Words of Comfort for the Soul
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a comfort during a difficut season

Date:February 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
lynnie
Location:Monrovia, California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this book haas been a comfort to me, given to me from a dear friend at a difficult season in my life, battling cancer.
I passed it on to another brother, battling cancer .
it has been a blessing
and a grace
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Beside Still Waters: Words of Comfort for the Soul
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
A J Robinson Sr
Location:Chula Vista, Ca
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Haven't finished the book and probably won't. It is not the kind of book you read once and put on the shelf. It is transforming my walk with God at a very difficult time(blindsided by divorce) in my life.
I have taken it for a road test and kicked the tires. I'm recommending this book to as many people as I can.
Like the word of God, we must spread it.
Just can't praise it enough. There were not enough stars for my review and the book more than met my expectations.
Thank you for making it available.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Beside Still Waters: Words of Comfort for the Soul
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Frying Pan Prayer
Location:Okotoks,Alberta
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This daily devotional is a huge comfort to me, especially right now as I am going through a big storm in my life. I feel like words were written for me at exactly for a time as this. Love the devotional. A must have.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Beside Still Waters: Words of Comfort for the Soul
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:October 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
santa
Location:Fayetteville, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spurgeon is an awesome writer. I wish I could have been there to hear him preach, but these books that are put out are the next best thing to being there. This is a book that must be on the shelf and more important, it must be read.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Beside Still Waters: Words of Comfort for the Soul
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2010
Deep waters devotion book that inspires one to trust God through the difficult times. As usual, anything by Spurgeon is of great value!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Beside Still Waters: Words of Comfort for the Soul
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 22, 2008
This devotional book is full of blessings for all believers. To those who have never read Charles Spurgeon, dive in head first to glimpse a depth into the Scriptures like you have never experienced. This book is warm and applicable to today! Give this book as a gift and it will bless others 365 days a year!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Beside Still Waters: Words of Comfort for the Soul
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
Lydia
Beside Still Waters: Words of Comfort is my favorite devotional of all time. Having lived thru many troubles Spurgeon touches your heart with the heart of Our Father. I have received such wonderful healing thru these spirit-filled words. If you don't know what to do for a hurting friend, get this into their hands.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Beside Still Waters: Words of Comfort for the Soul
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jim
Combining Spurgeon's eloquence with God's Word makes for wonderfully, challenging reading. Too often we are 'lifted up' with inspirational type readings - here one is lifted by looking clearly at life's troubles and issues and seeing God in all of life's sufferings and trials. Well edited and indexed by subject and scripture passage makes this a versatile reference as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.