Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ZonderKidz The Early Reader's Bible, Revised

ZonderKidz The Early Reader's Bible, Revised

Teach your kids to read and love God's Word with their very own "I can read it myself" Bible! They'll love the feeling of accomplishment they get from reading the Bible themselves. Completely revised, the Early Readers Bible features 64 stories that use a 450-word vocabulary list developed from public school reading materials. Each chapter closes with questions and activities that parents and kids can share together. Also, colorful illustrations and real-life applications increase a child's understanding of God's Word. Recommended for ages 4 to 8.
Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Early Reader's Bible, Revised
Review 1 for The Early Reader's Bible, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect for Beginning Readers!

Date:February 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
GodsAmiga
Location:Misawa, Japan
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am homeschooling my 5 year old this year for kindergarten and have been trying to find good books to use for practicing reading. This Bible is perfect! My daughter can read each story aloud with little to no help from me and in just the week since she has started reading to me from it (one story each night) her fluency has improved by leaps and bounds! We are also using other story books but this is by far her favorite. She loves reading Bible stories and when we get to the questions I read them to her and she enjoys answering them. The questions help me see where her reading comprehension is at as well as makes her learn from the story. :-) It isn't so long that it gets frustrating but there is enough on each page that it isn't too easy either. The illustrations are bright and colorful. This is all-around a wonderful Bible! :-) Even on days when my daughter doesn't want to read a story to me she will still ask to read the Bible!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Early Reader's Bible, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect for my two children (ages 2 and 4)!

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Laurie S
Location:Wichita KS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Both my kids love this Bible and can't get enough. I love the questions and ideas at the end of each "story"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Early Reader's Bible, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

confidence builder

Date:May 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
mrcz
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible storybook has great illustrations and easy to read stories. Definitely encourages beginning readers to keep learning. Reading God's Word is the most important reason to learn to read, so this book gives a great sense of accomplishment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Early Reader's Bible, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

exceptional product!

Date:April 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
educational minister
Location:Cypress, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been teaching Bible in regular basis for the children ages 2 through 5. I believe this Bible is the most effective tool I ever had!
Thanks for the author and publishing company
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Early Reader's Bible, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Bible!!

Date:April 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
HomeschoolMama
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! We LOVE this Bible!! My daughter is in grade 2 and has been learning reading through phonics. She liked the pictures right away (we have the 1991 version, with different illustrations than the newer publication). She should be able to read just about every word in this Bible with little help, yet also still be challenged with a few new words in each story. At the end of each story is a great little section that includes questions and follow-up activities. In the back is a Story List, which includes Scripture references and the moral & spiritual values learned in each story. There is also a public schools Basic Words List. With each Bible story reading you will find not more than five new words not found on this basic list. The New Words List is also at the back of this Bible. This will make an excellent Bible for her own personal devotions, as well as being a great addition to our homeschool reading materials!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Early Reader's Bible, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
izzy
Location:rock hill sc
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This meets all expectation and is a great gift for a young person
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Early Reader's Bible, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
William Herrle
certainlly the best way to teach our Grandson to read. Just like they did on (little house) days of old.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Early Reader's Bible, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mom of two
This is a wonderful Bible for young kids. My two and four-year-old love it. The questions are perfect for someone 4-6-years-old, and my two-year-old can answer some of them. The questions, story titles and applications really get the kids to think about what the story means, not just what happened. Each story is 3 pages long, and has just the right amount of words for a young child!I give it 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Early Reader's Bible, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2005
Customer Avatar
Cory-Lynn Lopez
My children love this Bible! We all appreciate the colorful illustrations, and simple way each story is told. The questions at the end are a great tool for me, as a parent to see what my child comprehended. I appreciate the prompts to talk to God, right then, when they've learned something from the story. The Something To Do section is a neat way to make the lesson practical. My 9 year old, who read through this book several times when he was younger still enjoys hearing me read to his younger brother, age 5. Highly recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Early Reader's Bible, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2000
Customer Avatar
Connie Martin-Wilson
My 7 year old is on his second reading of this book.We read it almost every night. I don't have to fight with him to readthe book to me. He enjoys the book, and I enjoy him reading the bookto me.The words aren't too hard for him, so he finds comfort in accomplishingthe reading, and getting the story. He's to the point now wherehe peeks ahead to the next story to see if he can find out what isgoing to happen. I like that. If the words where too tough for him I don't think he would be interested. The new words come often enough to stretch him,but not flatten him. (if you know what I mean) I'm not necessarily using this book as a tool for him to become an expert reader. I'm using this book to allow him to read bible stories on his own, at his current reading level, and to most ofall enjoy the process. Reading the bible should be a funexperience. I'm now trying to find the next bible book, that is right for his readinglevel. He's not ready to jump to those tiny text bibles quite yet withonly a scattering of pictures. I'm looking for something inbetween this book, and the next jump of kids bibles I see in the market. Its looking like its going to be a hard and long search.Hopefully I'll find something before the summer is almost gone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Early Reader's Bible, Revised
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2000
Customer Avatar
L. Duthler
Very helpful for beginning readers and those who are struggling with reading skills. The Basic Word List is a valuable resource as is the list of new words (names, places, and other specific words). The art work is cheerful, bright, and actually helpful to early readers who need a visual reference. The "something to ask" and "something to do" sections give valuable guidance for appropriate questions and concepts for students at this learning level. I am using the book as a text in a classroom setting for five early readers (boys and girls)to develop reading skills, study skills, and to help in the transition from "spoon fed" to "self-feeding" students. It is working beautifully. My students are developing Values Journals to reflect the Values Learned in each section of every lesson and enjoying it. I think this is probably the best of its type available on the market today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.