Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The New Christian's Handbook

Thomas Nelson The New Christian's Handbook

Take one spin through this guide, and you're grounded---not in trouble, but in truth! Brief chapters present basic what, why, and how facts of the Christian faith, clarifying even the deepest Bible doctrines and explaining how to put them into practice in real life. Varying evangelical views are presented fairly, interesting stories and anecdotes relate information effectively, especially for people with a limited church background, and the contemporary style page design appeals to today's young adults. Great for beginners---and a perfect "refresher" course!
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for The New Christian's Handbook
Review 1 for The New Christian's Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
SKirtonBear
Great information. Easy to read. I love using it with my Confirmation Classes junior highers through senior highers, and another class with adults. Segments are concise, never boring and if the reader wants more info on any subject resources are listed. I get copies for new believers and youth studies. One small mistake on page 57, Luke 1:35 is listed, but Luke 1:41ff answers that it was the angel, Gabriel who spoke to Mary.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The New Christian's Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2010
Good book. Though much of it is a repeat from his "30 Days to..." series. This is a great book to give to a new believer or someone who has not been well grounded to the Scripture. Max Anders has a great way of communicating. Get all of his books. You will not be disappointed.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The New Christian's Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2010
Good book. Though much of it is a repeat from his "30 Days to..." series. This is a great book to give to a new believer or someone who has not been well grounded to the Scripture. Max Anders has a great was of communicating. Get all of his books. You will not be disappointed.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The New Christian's Handbook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bill Parks
Anders as always makes learning fun and simple. This is a good read, and there is much information in a simple form which will bring great encouragement to all who read it and apply it to their daily lives.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The New Christian's Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jennifer
I started visiting a church over a year and a half ago. I had so many questions I needed answered and I can honestly say that most of my questions were answered after reading this book. I am so HAPPY I bought this book and I feel that every new Christian (like me) should read. Every Christian should own a copy of this book. I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The New Christian's Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Darlene Seger
I used this book to teach a Foundations of Faith class and found it very useful. I am not teaching it for the second time and its great for the new believer, very easy to understand and readable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The New Christian's Handbook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jere Geurin
This is basically an expanded version of the doctrine found in "30 Days to Understanding the Bible," but is worth the read. Handbook Delivers what its cover promises: what we believe; why we believe it; how we live it. Each chapter ends with a few brief review questions, enough to prompt the reader to scan the text one more time. I would find this useful in discipling a new Christian.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The New Christian's Handbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2005
Customer Avatar
Daniel
The "New Christian Handbook" is a very good resource for Pastors as well as New Believers, because it explains the Questions of Christian Life in a very easy but clear way. It is easy to read and holds a lot of information, but is on the other hand not to overloaded with Bible references and study notes. For further studies Max Anders refers to other good books. Short chapters make it easy to read a chapter a day and then think about the read material before going on to the next topic. Very good, Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.