Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press Every Single Woman's Battle Workbook

WaterBrook Press Every Single Woman's Battle Workbook

This companion guide for Every Woman's Battle, designed specifically for single women, will give you the tools you need to resist temptation and help you discover true fullfillment. Each weekly study section guides you deeper into God's Word, then helps you personalize and apply the principles that will help you win the war for sexual and emotional purity. Perfect for use by both individuals and small groups in either eight-week or twelve-week tracks.
Average Customer Rating:
3.875 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Every Single Woman's Battle Workbook
Review 1 for Every Single Woman's Battle Workbook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good workbook

Date:July 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
kingfishers
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This workbook serves as a companion to Every Woman’s Battle, and is meant for single women who are trying to work through the various issues brought up by that book. I thought the layout and structure were fine, with excerpts from Every Woman’s Battle and Every Man’s Battle included in the front of each chapter and discussion questions following. I don’t think I’m necessarily the target audience for this type of book, so it’s hard to evaluate how effective it would be for someone concerned with the struggles of sexual temptation as a single woman, but I think that the book would serve as a fine companion work for people reading through the series. The section on having a right relationship with God was particularly well done, I think. If this workbook were done in group study, the questions would be good for discussion. Comprising one’s integrity should not be something a Christian is willing to do, and this looks like a good option for those struggling with staying true to their values.
*I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Every Single Woman's Battle Workbook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Purity Is Important

Date:July 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Alyssa Liljequist
Age:Under 18
Every Single Woman's Battle by Shannon Ethridge is a book about remaining pure mentally, physically, spiritually, and emotionally. It asks questions and has spaces for you to fill in the answers; this allows you to personalize the book. It is a study guide for individuals and small groups. It explains how to start a study group of your own.
I like that Shannon encourages us to find our fulfillment in Christ. I also appreciate the part (though rather small) about modesty.
As for the rest, I don't know how much I can say on what's supposed to be a family friendly blog :). It's not that s*x is somehow inherently bad to talk about...it's just not something kids need to be thinking about yet. It's supposed to be beautiful and wonderful inside marriage...after all, God created it! Unfortunately, in our society, it's treated cheap as something to be given away casually before marriage...hence the fact Every Single Woman's Battle was written. The subtitle is "Guarding Your Heart and Mind Against S*xual and Emotional Compromise".
Purity is very important. May we all guard our hearts, bodies,and minds, by the grace of God!
~I received this book free from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishers in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Every Single Woman's Battle Workbook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Workbook!

Date:July 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
purplehannah
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
First, realize that this book is NOT the book "Every Single Woman's Battle". It is the workbook. Two very different things! I made the mix-up mistake, so be sure you don't.
That being said, it is pretty much like the book, with less actual novel content. It still has 2 or 3 pages of written text by the author, and then there are pages of questions that you can think & respond to.
For CBD's price, it's a good alternative (or addition) to the regular book. I wouldn't pay the listed retail price for the workbook though.
This book will really make you think. The questions are personal and heart-tugging, and nothing is left out. It will draw you a picture that God is the one & only true lover of your soul, and that should always be kept in the forefront of your emotional/ romantic life.
Overall, it is a good book. I would personally rather own the actual book, if you are considering one or the other. But this one would be a good addition to that.
Waterbrook-Multnomah gave me this book in exchange for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Every Single Woman's Battle Workbook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Workbook

Date:June 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Virtuous Girlhood
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have yet to read Every Single Woman’s Battle. BUT, when I got this book to review I thought that it was the actual book. Not the workbook! Anyhow, that was my mistake! :P
Personally, I thought that this book would NOT be for kids or immature teens at all. This book/workbook is for ADULTS. Not kids. I repeat that. Ok?
Every Single Woman’s Battle is a personal companion guide to the book Every Single Woman’s Battle. Reading through this workbook made me really think about some of my thoughts, and it also made me want to read the other books by Shannon Ethridge. :) I honestly, don’t know what else to say about this book since I haven’t read the “book, book”, but it looked really good! I would recommend this book if you have read the book first and then you could use the study guide with it! :)
You can buy this book on CBD.com here.
Virtuous Girlhood received these products in exchange for writing a review. I was under no obligation to review them if I so chose. Nor was I under any obligation to write a positive review. This review is my honest thoughts of the products and company. All opinions are my own and not impressed by monetary compensation. Virtuous Girlhood does not endorse nor agree with everything at the websites featured.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Every Single Woman's Battle Workbook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Book of Honesty and Purity

Date:June 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Location:Liverpool NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Every Single Woman's Battle is a workbook filled with nuggets of wisdom, challenging questions for personal reflection and discussion. Shannon Ethridge deals with the issue of purity of both heart and mind honestly yet tactfully. This is a refreshing call for single women to take their hearts, thoughts, and behaviors captive in order to pursue godliness in their day to day choices and decisions.
The book offers helpful tools and charts for one to do a self evaluation, as well as counsel on how to apply the knowledge from its pages. The book would be an awesome small group study among single women at church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Every Single Woman's Battle Workbook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lindsay
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Every Single Woman's Battle" was a great study to help women realize that they are not alone when it comes to struggling with purity and guarding your heart. This guide uses excerpts from "Every Woman's Battle" and "Every Man's Battle" and gives you Bible verses to cling to in a time of need. If you are willing to be open and honest with God and yourself you can work through the issues that all women struggle with.
I did this study on my own and there were pros and cons to that. Since I did it by myself I was able to take my time and honestly think and pray about my answers. However, if I had done it with a small group of single women I'm sure that I would have a group of friends that I could share anything with. Whether you choose to do this study with a group or alone, it is worth your time to discover why purity and guarding your heart should be important to you and why it is important to God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Every Single Woman's Battle Workbook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Useful Help

Date:May 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
First things first. Obviously, I am not a single woman. I’ll have been married for ten years this fall, so why am I reading a workbook companion guide designed to help single women win the battle for physical and emotional purity? Well, I have four daughters (so far), and because they are young, they are all single. Some day they will enter into the fight for emotional and physical integrity (puberty is still thankfully a ways off).
So, on to Every Single Woman’s Battle. After reading it from cover to cover, there were things within its pages that helped even me (an old married lady as far as these things go) focus in on some heart issues and past actions that I have struggled with in the course of my marriage. I imagine that it will be even more helpful for my children as they enter into adulthood.
There are eight chapters, designed to be completed on a weekly basis. Ideally, this guide is written to be used in a group discussion setting, but can also be used independently. Each chapter is divided into an introductory section, “Planting Good Seeds” (Personally Seeking God’s Truth), “Weeding Out Deception (Recognizing the Truth), “Harvesting Fulfillment (Applying the Truth), “Growing Together (Sharing the Truth in Small-Group Discussion), and a closing, focusing prayer.
There is a lot of good content in this guide, and it draws it’s ‘text’ from two different books from the same series – Every Woman’s Battle and Every Man’s Battle – those two titles now include their own companion guides, but because single women have different marital circumstances than married women and men, this stand alone guide is available for them.
Unfortunately with short quotations taken out of the context of these two books to drive home certain points, it reads a bit choppily, and to be honest, seems a bit disjointed from time to time. Quotes refer to other portions of the books they are originally drawn from that readers of this stand alone guide won’t have read unless they own both of those titles. There aren’t any page references available for the quotations either if one did want to look them up to read them in their larger context.
As long as you keep in mind the difficulties of working from excerpts only, this is still a valuable resource for single women seeking to glorify the Lord in the realm of their sexuality. It will help readers learn to guard their words, actions, and thoughts while they draw nearer to their Creator and Savior, seeking Him as their ultimate fulfillment and delight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Every Single Woman's Battle Workbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gaurd your heart

Date:May 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Abbie
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
This is the workbook that is meant to be read with the book Every Woman's Battle. I found it to be an excellent workbook when used with the book. As a stand alone study it encourages single women to pursue a virtous life in thought and deed - recognizing the pull of sexual compramise. The one thing I liked was the fact that this explored the issue of what sex means to a woman - that it is more than the physical act but is also very emotional. To compramise sexually is to compramise emotionally as well. The ramifications are long-lasting and often times devasting. I especially liked the theme of "guarding one's heart" as this is truly the route that must be taken to maintain sexual integrity in a highly phornographic and sexually charged society where all things go. I highly recommend this for young ladies entering a world outside their parents home. I believe it would be an encouragement to them to gaurd the most precious thing by gaurding their hearts - from which life and death are issued. For it is in this most sacred place that we make all decisions - and what we allow into our hearts will determine our abibility to fully rest in the Savior.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.