Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press Fortress of Mist, Merlin's Immortals Series #2

WaterBrook Press Fortress of Mist, Merlin's Immortals Series #2

Now that Thomas has conquered Magnus, his work is only beginning. He must rid his land of the dark forces once and for all. But who will stand with him to battle against the powerful Druids? And after being abandoned by his "adopted family," can he trust either Katherine or Isabelle with his secrets---and his heart?
Average Customer Rating:
4.182 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
18 out of 2282%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fortress of Mist, Merlin's Immortals Series #2
Review 1 for Fortress of Mist, Merlin's Immortals Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

4 stars

Date:November 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessica Allen
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Plot: This book had much more to it than the first book in this series. There were several plot twists and unexpected turns throughout the story. It continues perfectly where the first book leaves off, and ends at a place where you want to immediately read the next book.
Characters: The character development wasn't as good as the first book. Since you are already familiar with most of the characters, there was not a lot to be mentioned about the characters themselves, only plot advancement. I don't necessarily think it's a bad thing though, since this is the second book, you already know about the characters what you need to.
Themes: This book really deals with good versus evil and the struggle to sometimes know which side is in fact good and which evil. Thomas is forced to try to understand "those of the strange symbol" while at the same time not really knowing anything about the Immortals.
Emotion: As with the first book, I did not think that there was much depth to the emotion. Towards the end, you read of Katherine's emotion's towards being bandaged and not being able to allow Thomas to see her for who she really is. I don't feel, however, that this is enough to compensate for the entire book.
Overall: I really enjoyed reading this book. It was another quick read that kept me wanting to know what was going to happen to Thomas and to Magnus and what each side of these opposing societies was going to do next. The last words in the book leave you in anticipation for what is to come in the next books.
---I received this book for free from the publisher for this review.---
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fortress of Mist, Merlin's Immortals Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thomas is now the ruler of Magnus, the city won with a bloodless battle. He has everything he could ever dream of, and possess knowledge from his mother, Sarah and her ancient library that greatly surpass the military knowledge of his time. He sits on the wisdom from centuries past, but there is a dark, unknown power that seems to follow his every step. An evil he can't begin to understand haunts his every move and every breath he takes.
As the Orphan King, Thomas is seemingly beginning to loose his grip on the power that holds his impenetrable city together. The Earl of York asks him to join leagues with him and fight the Scots, and Thomas takes the men of Magnus with him to do battle. But along the way, mysterious events serve to confuse Thomas even more concerning his role as the leader of Magnus, and enemies are encamped all around him. Will he unknowingly concede to the side of evil? Will the decision he makes cost him his control over the city that his mother spent a lifetime trying to teach him how to win back as an Immortal?
As always, Brouwer leaves us with a wonderful conclusion to the story, but also leaves a few crumbs to interest us in the next installment to the series. As I've said before, this time period always leaves me with much to be desired. But Brouwer makes everything so real, it as if you were there beside Thomas, Katherine, Hawkwood, the Earl - all of them. My favorite realistic description is the little flea cages, because while it's impossible to conjure up something we will never experience; Brouwer makes it all happen from his pen to our couch. All in all a wonderful novel, and though short, it makes you want to just start it all over again.
This book was provided for free by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fortress of Mist, Merlin's Immortals Series #2
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Wasn't thrilled with this read

Date:September 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Raechel
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Title: Fortress of Mist, 2nd book in Merlin's Immortals series
Author:Sigmund Brouwer
My review:
I will be very honest in my review of this book: I really was quite disappointed.
I will allow that I have not read the first book in this series (though I did try; the book wasn't available in any libraries near me), so maybe had I read the first, it would change some of my opinions, but not all.
I felt like this book never truly 'got-going'. I kept waiting to feel engrossed in it and just for something to make sense. Unfortunately that never really happened.
However, there were two thing that I did like.
First was that I was impressed/intrigued by Thomas' battle tactics - the part with the arrows, that is.
And Second, the character, Gervaise has some good qualities and potential. He shows wisdom, but unfortunately, he was not in this book a ton.
I do understand that perhaps the intention of the author is to make it an on-going series, so you need to read all of them, but in my opinion (and keep in mind, all of this really is only *my* opinion) each single book should at least show some sort of clarity for the reader, and encouragement as well. Especially from a Christian author.
Another thing I was not keen on at all was all of the 'secrets' involved. That part made me uncomfortable. It all seemed rather 'dark', even those who I assume are the 'good-guys'. There is a fine-line between Fantasy and Sorcery. Anything that gets on that fine-line makes me very uncomfortable. I know sorcery wasn't necessarily included in this book (I think it is warned against in the book, but not overly clear about that), but there was just a lot of cloaked-darkness I thought, and I didn't like that.
So yes, I was not really impressed with this book. I was expecting something like "The Knights of Arrethtrae" and it obviously wasn't that, but even that aside, I wouldn't necessarily recommend it at this stage.
I received this book throughing the Blogging for Books program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fortress of Mist, Merlin's Immortals Series #2
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

An Okay Book

Date:August 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bookworm
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This book wasn't all that great. As a sequel, it should be at least on level with the first book, which I don't think it was. I'm highly disappointed with the quality of the writing. The plot-line was okay, if a little confusing at times. It was mostly the quality of the writing that was below par.
I got this book free from Multnomah Publishing for the purposes of this review, which is my own, uninfluenced opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fortress of Mist, Merlin's Immortals Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Brouwer is a gripping author

Date:June 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sarah
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sigmund Brouwer is a brilliant author. When I was in middle school, I attended one of his writing seminars, and since then I have read a few of his novels, all of which I thoroughly enjoyed. When I saw his name on the list of books available for review, I grabbed it.
I didn’t realize when I did that Fortress of Mist is actually the second in the Merlin’s Immortals trilogy. I tried to find the first book, The Orphan King, but to no avail. I was afraid not having read the first book would affect my enjoyment of the second. But Brouwer, being the excellent writer that he is, kept me in the know without spoiling the first book. There were pieces of information I was missing, but he gave me just enough to understand what was going on even while I grew more curious about the first installment of the story.
The story itself was gripping. This was definitely a page-turner. The plot was pleasingly complex, well-thought out, and organized, so I didn’t get confused with random sub-plotlines. The characters in it were also well-developed. Thomas, the main character and ruler of Magnus, was believably deep. He was smart, and acted like he had everything together, but he also had many doubts about his past and his character. He was brave, but I saw his fear underneath it. He had a good balance of strength and vulnerability.
Most of the other main characters had the same balance to a lesser extent, but I wasn’t given as much background on them as I was on Thomas, so some of them were hard to understand. Thomas’s lady love was especially difficult – her motives and true feelings were almost impossible to discern because her actions seemed so random. Maybe I wasn’t looking hard enough, but I think a reading of the first book would do tons to clear that up.
DISCLAIMER: The next paragraph talks about Brouwer’s use of magic in the book. This discussion cannot be had without a little bit of a spoiler. If you don’t want to know Thomas’s secret weapon, skip the next paragraph. (However, this was one of the best parts of the book.)
One thing that points to Brouwer’s ability was his use of magic. I like fantasy as much as the next girl (and I love Harry Potter), but sometimes magic in books can be hokey, especially if they are set in earlier times like this book is. However, Brouwer uses magic in a unique way. Thomas has one main weapon of his own – knowledge. Somehow in the first installment he gains access to a set of books. These books are about science and military tactics and history, from what I read. Thomas hides them away and uses the information in them to thwart his enemies. Once, near the end of the book, Magnus, his kingdom, is being attacked and Thomas needs a diversion of some sort. He uses chemistry to create clouds of smoke and special effects that frighten the attackers. The average person from the Middle Ages would not know of these chemical tactics, so to the soldiers it seemed like magic or sorcery. This is how Brouwer threw in the fantastical magic while still making it believable.
Brouwer’s storytelling is great. I am definitely going to go back and read the first book, and I’ll be waiting for the last one. He leaves just enough loose ends to leave me wanting more. I heartily recommend this.
I received this book for free from Waterbrook Multomah Publishing Group in exchange for this review. All opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fortress of Mist, Merlin's Immortals Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Full of mystery & keeps you guessing

Date:May 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
ACS Book Finder
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review (spoilers included): This book was full of mystery. It starts out with the main character Thomas being visited in his bedroom by a young lady that he thought was dead. Isabelle came to see if Thomas would be part of a mysterious alliance. Thomas had been curious about this group before Isabelle "died." He finds himself cautious now and not sure that he wants to be a part of this alliance. He is not sure that he can trust some one who was able to make him think she was dead. He suspects some type of magic or trickery. He begins to study herbs and potions and figures out how Isabelle was able to seem dead. Thomas learns that the alliance Isabelle is with is known as the Droids. They are known for witchery and are not spoken of highly. They are a group that the people in his kingdom are scared to confront.
Thomas later meets the Earl of York. The Earl wants to see where Thomas' loyalty lies. The Earl asks Thomas to join him in battle against the Scots.Thomas agrees to go to battle to show the Earl of York that he is not the enemy. Thomas and the Earl defeat the Scots and form a friendship. The friendship is threatened when the Earl's son lies to him and tells him that Thomas is not who he says.
Once Thomas has returned to his kingdom he is visited by one of the Druid leaders. This leader wants Thomas to join him but Thomas refuses. The leader then threatens Thomas and his kingdom and tells him that Thomas will not prosper. He tells Thomas that he will send a sign of bats falling from the sky to scare his kingdom and make them turn against him. Thomas is not threatened. He loves his kingdom and knows that he can prove to them that he is here to protect them from people like the Droids.
A young lady by the name of Katherine has been hiding through out the book in a disguise. She had helped Thomas take the kingdom of Magnus. She had to fake being burned and go in hiding for Thomas' sake. She is now coming back to see if Thomas is going to become part of the Droids. She hides in the secret passage ways and hears Thomas talk to the leader of the Droids. She is impressed that he does not join them but is still uncertain of his loyalty. She decides to show herself and try and learn more of Thomas' loyalty. He is glad to see her and wants to restart their friendship. He starts to put things together and realizes that Katherine has secrets and was able to trick him too. He wonders if she is part of Isabelle's plan? He has a hard time trusting her. He realizes that the mask on her face is not really hiding burns and that it was a ploy. He makes her take her mask off and tell him the truth. She refuses because a man by the name of Hartwood told her to not let her emotions get in the way. She has to wait and see if she can trust Thomas. Thomas is hurt that she will not trust him so he asks her to leave Magnus.
The book ends there. It is setting up for book three. I think that this book would be one that students would enjoy reading. It is full of mystery and keeps you guessing. (rev. S.Wall)
DISCLOSURE: A complimentary copy of fortress of Mist was provided by Waterbrook Press on behalf of the author, Sigmund Brouwer in exchange for our honest review. Opinions expressed are solely those of the reviewer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fortress of Mist, Merlin's Immortals Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great YA fiction!

Date:May 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Beth
Location:N.C
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The recently conquered kingdom of Magnus is desperately coveted by the Druids and the dark powers of the symbol and Thomas, the new king of Magnus knows they will not stop until the Kingdom of Magnus is under Druid control once again.
Able to withstand siege for 10 years, the walls of Magnus seem impenetrable from the outside but inside it is but a fortress of mist, nothing is as it seems. The very walls are spies and people once thought dead are now visiting the living. The people are demanding answers and Thomas has none.
Who can he trust? What is real and what is merely an illusion?
For a Young Adult book the book this is an extraordinarily written story. The only reason I only give it 4 stars is because there was really nothing new or fresh but there was still enough action to keep you reading.
I would recommend this book for ages 12 and up. It would be a great book for young teens.
I received this book free from blogging 4 books in exchange for an honest review!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fortress of Mist, Merlin's Immortals Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fortress of Mist: Worth every penny

Date:April 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Crazy RAGs
Location:Coshocton, OH
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fortress of Mist by Sigmund Brouwer is a book filled to the brim with romance, treachery, and forces unknown to Thomas. As the second book of the Merlin's Immortals Series I found myself not wanting to read it for fear that it would not be as good as the first, boy was I wrong.
Thomas finds himself in many situations that test his character. A person he thought to be dead comes to him in the night. The Earl of York comes to visit waring a ring with the strange symbol. Thomas is asked to help with war but is treated like an underdog. The attempts and threats on his life become more and more frequent by many more people. A person who left him returns only for him to discover that they are not who he believed they were.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fortress of Mist, Merlin's Immortals Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
kelisni
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Fortress of Mist is book 2 in a series. I don't actually know how many there are in this series total. You do not need to read the first book to understand what was going on. I felt Sigmund Brouwer did a great job with the background details of the characters and the situation going on. There were some references to just a few things I didn't know fully what was going on, but it didn't detract from the book at all.
"The throne is redeemed, but the battle is just beginning.
In the dark corners of an ancient land, evil lurks in the shadows. Powerful druids haunt the spaces of their lost territory. Double-minded noblemen fight for domain and influence. Invaders from the north threaten the kingdom of Magnus. This land of promise and redemption is mired in deceit and corruption.
The Orphan King, once victorious in conquest, appears to be losing his grip on his seat of power. Thomas rules Magnus, but does not know whom he can trust. His enemies anticipate his every move, thwarting him at each turn. Something is not right.
Under attack, both in the supernatural and natural worlds, Thomas must reach back into the secret layers of his past to find the strength and wisdom to fight his battles. When the mist clears, who will stand with him?"
I really liked this book...especially since it's the smallest book I've read in a while. The genre is geared towards young adults, but I don't feel as if Brouwer "dumbed" down anything for a specific age group. I was immediately pulled in with each character that he introduced. It was very hard to put the book down as the pace just kept going. There wasn't a dull moment in the book! The ending is a cliff hangar....cannot wait for the next book to come out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fortress of Mist, Merlin's Immortals Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I liked it better than the first

Date:April 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
StoryGirl
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It had been a while since I read the first book in this series, The Orphan King. Though I found the first book okay, I liked this second one much better- I understood it more. However, I definitely recommend reading the first book, because then this book will make more sense.
Fortress of Mist was on the shorter side, and I read it in one sitting. It definitely kept my interest (which not many fantasies can do) and I also think I’m starting to crack the whole “magic” thing about these books. (It sounds a lot like science….something those in Medieval England definitely do not understand and mistakenly call “magic”)
I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fortress of Mist, Merlin's Immortals Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Location:Summerfield, FL
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thomas is now the ruler of Magnus, the city won with a bloodless battle. He has everything he could ever dream of, and possess knowledge from his mother, Sarah and her ancient library that greatly surpass the military knowledge of his time. He sits on the wisdom from centuries past, but there is a dark, unknown power that seems to follow his every step. An evil he can't begin to understand haunts his every move and every breath he takes.
As the Orphan King, Thomas is seemingly beginning to loose his grip on the power that holds his impenetrable city together. The Earl of York asks him to join leagues with him and fight the Scots, and Thomas takes the men of Magnus with him to do battle. But along the way, mysterious events serve to confuse Thomas even more concerning his role as the leader of Magnus, and enemies are encamped all around him. Will he unknowingly concede to the side of evil? Will the decision he makes cost him his control over the city that his mother spent a lifetime trying to teach him how to win back as an Immortal?
As always, Brouwer leaves us with a wonderful conclusion to the story, but also leaves a few crumbs to interest us in the next installment to the series. As I've said before, this time period always leaves me with much to be desired. But Brouwer makes everything so real, it as if you were there beside Thomas, Katherine, Hawkwood, the Earl - all of them. My favorite realistic description is the little flea cages, because while it's impossible to conjure up something we will never experience; Brouwer makes it all happen from his pen to our couch. All in all a wonderful novel, and though short, it makes you want to just start it all over again.
This book was provided for free by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Fortress of Mist, Merlin's Immortals Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Read the First Book First

Date:April 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
CharityUAusten
Age:18-24
Gender:female
This was a good story, aimed at tweens I suppose, set in a simply fascinating time period. It also included a very interesting cast of characters. I must admit that I highly recommend starting with the first book, “The Orphan King.” I wasn’t able to do this, and thus, I’m afraid that I didn’t enjoy this one as much as I would have – some parts were quite confusing, but I think it’s due to my lack of background with the series. However, it’s got a good story like I said, and mystery abounds throughout its pages. Adventure too moves along quickly in this one! Completely clean, and I think I can safely recommend this series for tweens and early teens.
**I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Fortress of Mist, Merlin's Immortals Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good fantasy series

Date:April 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
jnjdet
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fortress of Mist is the second book in Merlin's Immortals series. This series continues to intrigue and make you look forward to the next in the series. The forces of good and evil are played out well and at times your not sure who to root for. The mysteries are still being unraveled and we get just enough into Thomas's past with those mysterious books. I enjoy the character of Katherine who disguises who she really is. I am looking forward to figuring out more about her character as she seemingly is falling in love with Thomas. If you enjoy fantasy books, you'll enjoy this series which is geared toward middle school age.
I received this book free from Waterbrook Press in exchange for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Fortress of Mist, Merlin's Immortals Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Phronsie Howell
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fortress of Mist picks up the story of The Orphan King not too long after Thomas takes over Magnus. With a little bit of mystery, a little bit of adventure, and well developed characters, Fortress of Mist delivers a great continuation in the Merlin's Immortals series.
It's written with young adults (teens) in mind but even though I'm almost 30 I love the book. Fairly short read but engaging. I must admit, at the end I said "No! Thomas, don't!" out loud. I anxiously awaited the release of Fortress of Mist and now I'm waiting again for book three.
Disclaimer: I received this book for free from Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Fortress of Mist, Merlin's Immortals Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Looking forward to the next book in the series

Date:March 30, 2013
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fortress of Mist is the second book in the Merlin's Immortals Series. The first is The Orphan King.
This book is geared toward young adults, I would say upper middle school through high school. These are books I would definitely be excited for my children to read. If your child enjoys Lord of the Rings, Narnia, even Harry Potter, I would be willing to guess they would enjoy this series.
Honestly, you might enjoy it as an adult. I did and these are not the types of books I would normally choose but because they were geared for young adult I wanted to see what was out there for my kids. I really did like the books and was pushed along with the mystery and intensity of the plot.
There is a bit of romance, but nothing mushy in either of these books, no kissing, just normal teenage feelings. I also think this book is appropriate for boys or girls. The main character is boy but still relatable from a women's stand point and there are female characters that I don't think would be too "girlie" for the boy reader.
Fortress of Mist takes you into the kingdom of Magnus and the evil that Thomas must still fight to prove himself and keep his kingdom that rightfully belongs to him but was taken from his family. Thomas doesn't know who to trust and I was left guessing who is being honest and who is trying to trick Thomas.
Faith is woven in beautifully in this book. Thomas has questions about God and isn't fully ready to surrender but he is searching. Again, I think great conversation for teens who themselves might be in that place in life and are trying to define their faith.
If you are looking for some new books for your teen that you don't have to worry about Merlin's Immortals might be a good option for you. Read it first so you can have a conversation with your child about it, how much more enriching will the experience be if you share it together?
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Fortress of Mist, Merlin's Immortals Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Review: FORTRESS OF MIST by Sigmund Brouwer

Date:March 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
MoriahN
Location:Maine
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
He conquered Magnus, but the real battle has only begun.
Thomas, new lord of Magnus, finds himself caught in a centuries-old battle between two invisible sides, both of whom desperately need him to join their forces. But with much more than just kingdoms at stake, Thomas does not know who he can trust and who is the real enemy; who is in disguise or who is what they really seem to be.
Full of the same intriguing and unexpected plot twists as The Orphan King, the Merlin’s Immortals series book 2, Fortress of Mist, continues the story of Thomas. If you haven’t read The Orphan King you probably won’t like this one, as you won’t much of the background of the story and you will find it hard to follow. However, if you HAVE read The Orphan King (definite recommend; loved that book!) then you will definitely want to enjoy this one as well!
Kudos to the author on a book well-written. Of course, now I am really eager for the next book in the series which is coming out at the end of October, because Fortress of Mist ended at a sort of cliff-hanger! I DEFINITELY would recommend this series as I have thoroughly enjoyed them! This is a series you won't want to miss out on!!
Thank you to WaterBrook Multnomah for sending me a free copy of Fortress of Mist in exchange for my honest review.
P.S. If you’ve read and loved Fortress of Mist and The Orphan King, you may enjoy Sigmund Brouwer’s book Wings of Dawn (also published under the title Magnus). It’s the story of Thomas, told a little differently, but the complete story all in one book. I would give it 10 stars; I loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Fortress of Mist, Merlin's Immortals Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

In this tale we were whisked away to a land of hid

Date:March 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
A Simply Enchanted Life
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is book two in the Merlin’s Immortals series and I honestly thought it was much better than the first book. I will say, if you haven’t read book one then don’t pick this one up as it would be really hard to follow if you didn’t know the back story. I thought there was a definite improvement in the excitement factor in this book. I’m not sure why but the first book seemed to drag at times for me. I can’t wait to see how the next book turns out!
About the story:
Thomas has reclaimed the throne of Magnus but a threat rises against his new leadership—the druids. Further, a neighboring kingdom is insisting that Thomas help in England’s fight against invaders from the north and he’s obligated to help—though he fears that the Earl of York may be working with the secret sect of druids that seek his throne.
In this tale we were whisked away to a land of hidden secrets and hints of magic. Two beautiful women also crave Thomas’ attention—one who hopes in secret and another who is brazen in her attempts to seduce him into the hands of the druids.
I feel that these stories fall into the fantasy genre but they don’t really read as such and I almost crave that and wish I saw more exploration of that element but they’re still good quick reads. Also, unlike the last book I did see more of a Christian element with this book—mainly from the priest. Though this series doesn’t necessarily make it to my “to keep and reread” shelf they’re still worth the read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Fortress of Mist, Merlin's Immortals Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fortress of Mist holds attention till the end!

Date:March 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fortress of Mist
Merlin's Immortals Book 2
By Sigmund Brouwer
Thomas of Magnus has reclaimed his kingdom, but he feels isolated and lonely. Sarah is dead, William has left, and Katherine has disappeared.
But when Isabelle comes to him during the night, he is confused because he saw her die after being clubbed by Geoffrey. But Isabelle refuses to answer Thomas's questions until he pledges his allegiance to the symbol. But Thomas is unwilling to blindly pledge his allegiance to the unknown or to give up what has been left to his care.
All too soon the Earl of York comes to Magnus and Thomas is again tested. Thomas agrees to ally himself with the Earl in battle against the Scots. But treachery follows Thomas as secret forces of opposition try to sway him to their side. But all Thomas knows is that those of the symbol are after his knowledge - the books left to his care and hidden away from Magnus.
Following Thomas' suggestions the forces under the Earl prevail against the larger Scot army. But treachery awaits Thomas' return as the Druids try to force his hand or bring about his death at the hands of the Earl of York. Following the instructions of a message Thomas is able to persuade his accusers of his innocence.
But who can Thomas trust as those around him try to manipulate him to their ends? With no one willing to answer his questions Thomas must rely on the teachings he received as a child from Sarah. Can no one fill the need in Thomas' life?
I found Katherine's struggles to be an intriguing part of the story. She has her alligences, but she wants to help Thomas. I'll be interested to see how her story develops in book 3.
I found Fortress of Mist to be an excellent sequel to The Orphan King and would highly recommend it.
If anyone has heard of the One Community, One Book program I have a suggestion to make this a family activity. For your One Family, Two Books event have teens and adults read The Orphan King and Fortress of Mist and middle grade readers read Wings of an Angel and Barbarians from the Isle. You'll be able to read the same books in an age / length appropriate manner and you'll have fun sharing these books by Sigmund Brouwer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Fortress of Mist, Merlin's Immortals Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!

Date:March 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fortress of Mist is Medieval fiction at its best. The setting rang true as did the emotion and fear of the people. If you enjoy stories involving castles, lords, superstition, herbalists, treachery, battles between clans, druids, and legends, you will enjoy this book. There were real players in this story such as Robert the Bruce, king of the Scots and the Earl of York. Edward II is also mentioned in this novel. I love stories containing real legends and players from the time period.
There is darkness building and brewing across the land. Secrets are brought forth that have yet to be revealed. The end of the story is pretty intense, yet leaves the door wide open for the next installment. I did not read the first book in the series, The Orphan King, but there was just enough background and history trickled into the story to give me the background I needed to understand Thomas, Lord of Magnus, and the was he came to be in charge of the castle and village. I look forward to reading the next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Fortress of Mist, Merlin's Immortals Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

RAGS TO RICHES

Date:March 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Crystal
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As always I'm one step behind, it's always a GOOD idea to read the 1st book of a series rather than the second first, so you can have a solid foundation of plot and characters. Otherwise you'll probably end up lost. Nevertheless, this is one jam packed novel though! This is your typical Medieval history, you have supernatural forces, crazy adventure, battle over good versus evil, yet based on spiritual strength, WHAT NOT TO LOVE? It's a Rags to Riches re-telling of the young hero, "The Orphan King" Thomas, raised as a Monk, innocent and true, only to leave for a higher and greater purpose for King and country. A masculine read, yet I'm a girl who loves her knights in shining armor!! ;)
*I received this book free from the Publisher in exchange for a non-profit, unbiased, honest review*
Author Podcast
More Info
Read Chapter One
Author Bio
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>