Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press Painted Dresses

WaterBrook Press Painted Dresses

Crushed by a failed marriage, Gaylen Syler-Boatwright flees to her late aunt's mountain cottage. There, while seeking solace for life's disappointments, she discovers a mysterious gallery of framed painted dresses---enshrined with meaning known only to Aunt Amity. Joined by her capricious sister, Delia, Gaylen embarks on a search for far-flung family and forgotten secrets. 352 pages, softcover from Waterbrook.
Average Customer Rating:
3.461 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
0 out of 50%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Painted Dresses
Review 1 for Painted Dresses
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

warning!

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
saved by grace
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was extremely disappointed with this book. I felt uncomfortable and oppressed while reading it yet kept going in hopes that there would be a turning point... but there wasn't! It just went on and eventually came out with the disturbing story of the main character's molestation as a very young girl and her parents covering it up. It was unquestionably horrible and didn't even get around to a Christian message of hope. I felt unsettled and distressed after reading it. This is not (as some would have it) an author bravely dealing with a difficult subject... It's NOT "dealt" with, it's just taken out into broad daylight as if that will somehow fix things. Having been a victim of this crime, myself, I can speak with conviction that this is not the way to approach this subject. I would strongly recommend against purchasing or reading this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Painted Dresses
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
cip5
Location:sc
Age:55-65
Gender:female
disappointed - have read other of her books and therefore purchased this one...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Painted Dresses
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Odd story line

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindee
Location:Mt. Sterling, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This writer seemed to be a very good writer. But, from the description of the book and what the book was actually about disappointed me. If I would have known that the book would dwell on a specific storyline, I would not have purchased it. Because of this, parts of the book, I did not care for. I may try to read another of her books, but she does write with a different flare and somewhat unique. Just not quite my style.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Painted Dresses
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not to my taste.

Date:October 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I've read better stories. Just not my "type" of book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Painted Dresses
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wylla Carmichael
Location:Rex, Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not an easy to read book because it was hard to stay on point.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Painted Dresses
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Trish Cloud
Having previously read all Hickman's other works I was eagerly anticipating a good read. I was rewarded. It was wholly different from her previous works but wholly engrossing and entertaining. She takes a subject that is horrifying and scrapes the paint off to show us how healing painfully begins. No, it's not your typical "Christian fiction", but since when does Jesus do everything the same? The book will speak to the lost and hurting and show them the way to the ULTIMATE HEALER.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Painted Dresses
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2009
Patricia Hickman plumbs the depths of family secrets and dysfunction in . This novel, 'Painted Dresses' based on her own experience, exposes the shadows that families hide and the lies they use to protect their pride and later generations from a darkness that would threaten to swallow them whole. It is a heartbreaking tale of discovery and facing the family demons. Yet beyond the heartbreak there is healing and hope for a positive future.Gaylen and Delia are a study in opposites. Where Gaylen is careful, mature and responsible Delia is haphazard, childish and rebellious. Gaylen feels that her life is falling apart around her ears, whereas Delia has an unrealistic impression that Gaylens life is perfect and that Gaylen herself has it all together. Patricia portrays their relationship so realistically that I found it easy to relate the story to my own sibling relationships, because every family has its moments!I loved the way Patricia uses Aunt Amitys painted dresses to propel Gaylen and Delia on their journey, seeking the truths about their family that have long been hidden. It seemed that those works of art gave the family members and friends involved permission to share the secrets that surrounded the dresss inclusion in Amitys collection, thus encouraging Gaylen in her search for the truth.Patricia skillfully draws Painted Dresses to a satisfying conclusion that left me able to imagine both Gaylen and Delia reaching forward towards good things in their futures.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Painted Dresses
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carla Stewart
One part Southern Fiction. One part mystery. One part journey of self discovery. Painted Dresses brings all my favorite elements of fiction together in a delicious mix of wounded characters and breath-taking prose. Following her fathers funeral, Gaylen, whose marriage is in ruins, flees the confines of her family with Delia, her impulsive, sometimes annoying sister. In their deceased aunts mountain cottage, they find a collection of painted dresses and embark on a journey to uncover family secrets and the source of Gaylens nightmares. There are delights at every turn as each leg of the journey brings the sisters closer to the truth about their pasts. Painted Dresses is a book to savor for the beautiful writing and to assure the reader of rest and hope even in brokenness. Highly recommended.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Painted Dresses
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
River Jordan
I read Painted Dresses with surprise at how well it portrayed real people with problems that mirror those in my family and my neighborhood. My five star rating is for this reason - Patricia Hickman has dared to put the truth that she feels is honest and raw about human frailty onto the written pages - not something whispered at the coffee shop or over the phone line. The Power of story is very individual and what one person thinks is a masterpiece, another doesn't warm to or like and that's okay. God created us all in beautiful individual ways. So too, He works through writers to tell stories that are just that far reaching in their originality - to reach human hearts in different places and seasons. Being human is a messy business and that fact is clear and evident as her character Gaylen tries to shed light and grace on a dark past, to forgive herself in the process, and to find her way home again. Ultimately, I think that's what we all want. God's grace, forgiveness, and a welcoming way to go home.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Painted Dresses
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Eric Wiggin
In this thoroughly Christian book, Patty Hickman wrestles realistically with real problems of real people--and shows how, as in Esther, God works behind the scenes to bless His own.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Painted Dresses
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Elise Bailey
Reminds me of Jamie Langston Turner's book, but more difficult to follow since we are learning about 2 people who appear to be very scattered in their thinking and speaking. Probably just showing how we are before Christ and how He clears our thinking. Slow read, probably worth sticking with.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Painted Dresses
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
melanie
I didn't really like this book. I almost quit reading in about 200 pages into it. It left me feeling disturbed during many portions. Based on the back cover and other review, this book was not what I expected. It deals with a tough issue "molestation" and covering over secrets. I feel that a lot of time was devoted to the evil side of life, but not much was said of Hope. It takes reading the authors note at the end of the book to remotely understand that Jesus can redeem even the worst situations. I would only cautiously recommend this book to anyone.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Painted Dresses
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Patricia Hickman
"Painted Dresses is both wise and witty, full of living, breathing people, rather than cardboard characters. I'm sure I went to high school with Gaylen, dated Braden, partied with Delia, and ran away from Freddy--that's how convincingly they leaped off the page. Amusing at one turn, sobering the next, Painted Dresses captures life in all its messy glory. A wonderful novel from a uniquely gifted storyteller." --Liz Curtis Higgs, best-selling author of Grace in Thine Eyes
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.