Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Baker Books Church Is a Team Sport: A Championship Strategy for Doing Ministry Together

Baker Books Church Is a Team Sport: A Championship Strategy for Doing Ministry Together

A former all-American wrestler and coach, Pastor Putman shares his winning strategy for growing a vibrant congregation! Learn how to transform Christians from Monday-morning quarterbacks into dynamic players by getting back to the primary task of the church---intentionally making disciples. Includes reflection questions and application ideas for individuals or small groups. 256 pages, softcover from Baker.
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Church Is a Team Sport: A Championship Strategy for Doing Ministry Together
Review 1 for Church Is a Team Sport: A Championship Strategy for Doing Ministry Together
This review is fromChurch Is a Team Sport.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Regina Womble-miller
This is a fantastic book. The entire Christian Education dept of my church is reading it. We are going to discuss it and then teach the lessons learned to our class leaders, trustees and stewards. This book is a must have it you want to grow your church spiritually and numerically.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Church Is a Team Sport: A Championship Strategy for Doing Ministry Together
This review is fromChurch Is a Team Sport.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Daniel P Jones
If anyone wants to understand how effective, modern day Biblical discipleship can work at your church, this is an end to end, detailed discussion. I cannot more highly recommend this book as one who has experienced first hand the issues that did not go as well in another similar discipleship model, all of which are carefuly and Biblically addressed in this book. Dan Jones. Maple Valley, WA.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Church Is a Team Sport: A Championship Strategy for Doing Ministry Together
This review is fromChurch Is a Team Sport.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ivy Caldwell
This book is excellent! It gives you another perspective to look at when dealing with church leadership. It has definitely been an eye opener for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Church Is a Team Sport: A Championship Strategy for Doing Ministry Together
This review is fromChurch Is a Team Sport.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Grace Bible Church
I read this book for myself first, then I realized that this one is a book that men can really relate to because of the sports - coaching illustrations. I purchased copies for each of my board members.This is not ivory tower concepts, this is down to earth practical teaching about how a church should function.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Church Is a Team Sport: A Championship Strategy for Doing Ministry Together
This review is fromChurch Is a Team Sport.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Paul Ratzlaff
Thought-provoking perspective on how "church" works--or should. Convicting for all who think "church" is simply about getting lots of warm bodies to show up on Sunday morning. I bought several copies in order to distribute them to church board members.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Church Is a Team Sport: A Championship Strategy for Doing Ministry Together
This review is fromChurch Is a Team Sport.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Arnold Menaar
THis book takes adifferent outlook on Church and Church growth. It challenging, thought provoking and interesting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Church Is a Team Sport: A Championship Strategy for Doing Ministry Together
This review is fromChurch Is a Team Sport.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Susan Robertson
This is a great book and well worth the read. I am not finished with it yet but so far I think everyone who cares about their church should read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Church Is a Team Sport: A Championship Strategy for Doing Ministry Together
This review is fromChurch Is a Team Sport.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Aaron McClary
I attended a conference this past week with another member of our church staff during which we had the opportunity to sit through six sessions on "Church Is A Team Sport" with Real Life Ministries' lead pastor Jim Putman. His heart for the Church and insight into how to mobilize the collective hearts and hands of the people God has placed under our care was an incredible encouragement and motivation to us. I read the book in six hours and ate up every bit of it. I highly recommend the material to any pastor who desires to see God's church succeed in its mission to develop true disciples of Jesus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Church Is a Team Sport: A Championship Strategy for Doing Ministry Together
This review is fromChurch Is a Team Sport.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Richard Gates
Loved this book. Our new pastor recomended the church read it so we are on the same level and I couldn't put it dow. It modles the type of church and relationship I want. I would recomend this to anyone, even those of us who are not sports fans will pull amazing stuff from it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Church Is a Team Sport: A Championship Strategy for Doing Ministry Together
This review is fromChurch Is a Team Sport.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Pat - www.bookbargainsandpreviews.com
This book is the inspiring story of a church that God is using to reach the world one person at a time. Author Jim Putman, pastor of Real Life Ministries, uses his knowledge as a former wrestling coach to demonstrate strategies that work in revitalizing a church. The fact that they work is evident in the growth of his own church.Pastor Jim takes the responsibility for the nurturing of the church off the staff and lays it at the feet of the congregation. Whether you are a church leader or new to the faith, after reading this book, I guarantee you won't want to sit on the sidelines anymore!I recommend that you not only read this book, but get it into the hands of your own pastor or church staff.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.