Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press Slightly Bad Girls of the Bible: Flawed Women Loved by a Flawless God

WaterBrook Press Slightly Bad Girls of the Bible: Flawed Women Loved by a Flawless God

Slightly Bad Girls of the Bible is the latest of Liz Curtis Higgs' "girlfriend theology" Bible study. Combining contemporary fiction with a verse-by-verse commentary, she explores the "slightly bad" lives of a few Old Testament women. Far from evil, yet slightly bad, these women from the book of Genesis stubbed their toes along the rocky path of righteousness. Sound familiar? These ancient sisters aren't a whole lot different from us. Laced with humor and built on solid research, this book will bring you to the realization that God loves you just the way you are. Flaws and all! Each chapter concludes with a series of questions for personal reflection.
Average Customer Rating:
4.81 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Slightly Bad Girls of the Bible: Flawed Women Loved by a Flawless God
Review 1 for Slightly Bad Girls of the Bible: Flawed Women Loved by a Flawless God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great

Date:May 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Queen
Location:Tn
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was great to resource and review for future bible study
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Slightly Bad Girls of the Bible: Flawed Women Loved by a Flawless God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book and Customer Service

Date:May 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Val C
Location:White House, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a connect group leader of a group of ladies over the age of 50. We studied Bad Girls of the Bible during our earlier bible study. I purchased Slightly Bad Girls of the Bible for our current study. We love the relevance to today. Unfortunately, we see a little of ourselves in every chapter. I would highly recommend this book for your next study. Christian Books is easy to work with and the customer service is excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Slightly Bad Girls of the Bible: Flawed Women Loved by a Flawless God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great book for fun but also for study

Date:October 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
judy
Location:Davison, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lizzi is s great writer. Sthe puts humor in her story, but in the story she is very Biblical. I love how very matter of fact she is and realilistic she is. She makes you wonder how much do you really trust God. And am I really patiently waiting for His answer?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Slightly Bad Girls of the Bible: Flawed Women Loved by a Flawless God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Liz does it again! :)

Date:June 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All I can say is WOW! Another book that blew me out the water and had me really see how these women were! Truly touched my heart and opened my own eyes!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Slightly Bad Girls of the Bible: Flawed Women Loved by a Flawless God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
KimH
Location:NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book grabs your attention from the very beginning and compels you to keep on reading. Good research and sound biblical teaching make this an excellent book for personal or group study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Slightly Bad Girls of the Bible: Flawed Women Loved by a Flawless God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
princess caraboo
Location:West Lafayette, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a gentle reminder that "all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God" yet in his mercy he can still use us!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Slightly Bad Girls of the Bible: Flawed Women Loved by a Flawless God
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sandara Fakler
entertaing and educational. showing us all how we are not as good as we think we are and how we ca be better
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Slightly Bad Girls of the Bible: Flawed Women Loved by a Flawless God
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2009
The book was not written as I expected and I really couldn't use it for my services as I wanted to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Slightly Bad Girls of the Bible: Flawed Women Loved by a Flawless God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jennifer
I have done all of the studies Higgs wrote before and I really enjoyed it a great deal I love her books they really teach me a lot about myself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Slightly Bad Girls of the Bible: Flawed Women Loved by a Flawless God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Brenda Sparks
Really enjoyed the book. I found myself seeing these women and their counterparts in a different light.(and myself) Yes flawed but still very much loved of the Father. I would definitely recommend this book to ladies. I enjoyed this book so much, I ordered the other books, Bad Girls and Really Bad Girls. I am enjoying them just as much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Slightly Bad Girls of the Bible: Flawed Women Loved by a Flawless God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2008
I highly recommend "Slightly Bad Girls of the Bible". Liz Curtis Higgs not only writes wonderful fiction, but she is an insightful Bible teacher. Both of these talents are brilliantly showcased in all of her "Bad Girls" books! She begins the study with a modern-day fictional tale to get us thinking as the Biblical characters would. She then opens the Word of God and takes you through scripture line-by-line to reveal the bad girl's story. These are the most wonderful Bible studies! A MUST HAVE for yourself or your Bible study group!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Slightly Bad Girls of the Bible: Flawed Women Loved by a Flawless God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
kim
this book is an excellent tool & also very easy to understand about these 5 slightly bad girls of the Bible.This is a MUST if you love reading....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Slightly Bad Girls of the Bible: Flawed Women Loved by a Flawless God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Joan Lynch
A great approach to studying these biblical women, as are all of LCH's "Bad Girls" books. Every woman with whom I have shared these books loves the perspective and the lessons taught.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Slightly Bad Girls of the Bible: Flawed Women Loved by a Flawless God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Carolyn L
I love the way Liz uses humor to convey her powerful and insightful messages. The story of Rachel and Leah is told in such a fresh way here, I was really moved by it. I showed this book to my ladies group at church and it inspired them to start a Bible study based on this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Slightly Bad Girls of the Bible: Flawed Women Loved by a Flawless God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
April Reed
Wow! The 'girlfriend theology' truly shines through in this study. It changes how you read the Word when you can see the people in the Bible as real people with real emotions, real issues, and a REAL GOD! This book helps you to see that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Slightly Bad Girls of the Bible: Flawed Women Loved by a Flawless God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Susan Waite
This book brought about an eye-opening perspective on some great women of the Bible. I previously knew Sarah, Hagar, Rebekah, Leah and Rachel more, if not only, for their moments of faith. This focused look at their flaws and the subsequent consequences of their not-quite-God-inspired actions was truly thought provoking. I particularly enjoyed the format of a line-by-line study, that could still easily be a quick read, or useful for an indepth study, if desired. While I'm not sure I agree totally with all the premises of these women's flaws as presented, they provided a lively discussion of opinions in our book club.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Slightly Bad Girls of the Bible: Flawed Women Loved by a Flawless God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Barbara Hinkle
Flawed women; aren't we all? A wonderfully humorous reminder that we are loved by a flawless God who can use our flaws, just like He used those of Sarah, Hagar, Rebecca, Leah, and Rachel to bring glory and honor to Him. A well researched Bible study that will help you look at yourself, and be thankful for His grace.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Slightly Bad Girls of the Bible: Flawed Women Loved by a Flawless God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kathy
This book is amazing...it really spoke to me. The author is witty and interesting and full of insight. God used this book to speak peace to my troubled heart. I can't wait to read the others in the series! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Slightly Bad Girls of the Bible: Flawed Women Loved by a Flawless God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2007
Customer Avatar
Debbie
We are using this book for a Bible Study with college women. The young ladies have commented that this book has made these women of the Bible seem "real" to them. We have learned a lot of historical background from this study. A general observation has been that the customs of that time and place may be different from our circumstances today, but our human reactions are often the same. By studying these women, we are learning how God would like us to respond and know that God will be with us even if we don't get it right the first time to help us work through it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Slightly Bad Girls of the Bible: Flawed Women Loved by a Flawless God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 22, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sallyann Lopes
Another fine book on some of the women of the Bible that really are a testament to God's wonderful work in the lives of ordinary people who are flawed like us all. A real encouragement for women today to lead Godly lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>