Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Baker Books Christless Christianity: The Alternative Gospel of the American Church

Baker Books Christless Christianity: The Alternative Gospel of the American Church

Is it possible that we have left Christ out of Christianity? Is the faith and practice of American Christians today more American than Christian? These are the provocative questions Michael Horton addresses in this well-received, insightful book.

In Christless Christianity: The Alternative Gospel of the American Church he argues that while we invoke the name of Christ, too often Christ and the Christ-centered gospel are pushed aside. The result is a message and a faith that are, in Horton's words, "trivial, sentimental, affirming, and irrelevant." This alternative "gospel" is a message of moralism, personal comfort, self-help, self-improvement, and individualistic religion. It trivializes God, making him a means to our selfish ends. Horton skillfully diagnoses the problem and points to the solution: a return to the unadulterated gospel of salvation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Christless Christianity: The Alternative Gospel of the American Church
Review 1 for Christless Christianity: The Alternative Gospel of the American Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Read for the Introspective Christian

Date:June 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
csense
Location:Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I came here looking for a study guide for Christless Christianity as I prepare to read it again, this time with a women's study group. I am short on time but would agree with the high rated reviews/comments already published. This is a book that helps to shift the Christian's paradigm back to "true north" so to speak, as opposed to so many recent popular books that are trying to reinvent or add to the central message of Christianity. Mike Horton shows how this is connected primarily to the lack of understanding and practice of the essential doctrine of rightly dividing the Law and Gospel in preaching and teaching, which manifests into other misguided practices/tendencies in the church. Highly encourage you to read this with an honest, non-defensive posture, and you will surely reap the benefit of being discipled by one of the best, (thankfully) non-rock star theologians of our time. I say this as a Lutheran who studies regularly the Bible and Christian non-fiction with evangelical women, not as a member of a reformed church. Final note, I would agree with the reviewer who said you must read carefully -- not because Horton is so hard to understand, but in his writing and speaking style you might miss when he is describing a general misconceptions or wrong teaching in the church, and think he is making a statement as to what he believes is biblically true teaching. If you take some time to listen to his online radio program, The White Horse Inn, a time or two, I think it would help immensely to hear how he teaches first, so that you will "hear" his written voice more clearly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Christless Christianity: The Alternative Gospel of the American Church
This review is fromChristless Christianity: The Alternative Gospel of the American Church.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great Book

Date:January 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
ebergen
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Horton os to the point and covers many aspects of the Christian faith in which many people have been blindsided by. Very good and thorough book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Christless Christianity: The Alternative Gospel of the American Church
This review is fromChristless Christianity: The Alternative Gospel of the American Church.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
jerdeb81747
Location:Wichita, Ks
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Although there is a balance to all Michael Horton says...he is direct and hits the nail squarely on the head. This book, if read with an open mind, clearly can bring corrective balance to what is going on in the Church today. I have been saved 50 years and experienced a swing from legalism to liberty...and this book addresses both issues.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Christless Christianity: The Alternative Gospel of the American Church
This review is fromChristless Christianity: The Alternative Gospel of the American Church.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well worth reading

Date:May 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kadje
Location:BC, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A well-written book that helped me understand the trends in what passes for Christianity in many churches today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Christless Christianity: The Alternative Gospel of the American Church
This review is fromChristless Christianity: The Alternative Gospel of the American Church.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Restoring the Gospel in the Church

Date:November 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
David Gough
Location:Alexandria, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was attracted to this book by its title because I, like others, am concerned at the distortion of the Gospel in the contemporary American church. I was anxious to get the author's take on such obvious examples as the prosperity gospel, televangelists, and "web church," but found myself evaluating my own forms of ministry and the manner in which I personally conveyed the Gospel. In short, "blind spots" were revealed as I took a closer look at how I lead our people to live out the Gospel on a weekly basis. Horton is provocative, but hard to argue with as he takes aim at many of our "sacred cows" and those who feed them. He exhorts us to be discerning and biblical and cautious not to follow every wind of doctrine that turns the focus of salvation upon ourselves rather than God. Horton's reformed perspective will not resonate with everyone, but I personally found it refreshing to reflect more on what God has done for us instead of what we are to do for Him. This is not an easy book to read, but it is a necessary call for us to refocus on what the Gospel is and not what we have made it to be. Pastors and lay leaders who care about maintaining or restoring the purity of the Gospel in their churches should read it.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Christless Christianity: The Alternative Gospel of the American Church
This review is fromChristless Christianity: The Alternative Gospel of the American Church.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent and challenging work

Date:July 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Trog
Location:South Dakota
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Horton has a challenging message about the Church today and the ways that we unknowingly make the Gospel of Jesus Christ more about us than about Him. If you expect this book to be about others' mistakes, beware. You are likely to find that you are challenged as well. His message is clear, and its all about Jesus.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Christless Christianity: The Alternative Gospel of the American Church
This review is fromChristless Christianity: The Alternative Gospel of the American Church.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tom Klein
Horton hits the nail on the head as far as I am concerned. If you do not understand "therapeutic moralistic deism" then you need to read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Christless Christianity: The Alternative Gospel of the American Church
This review is fromChristless Christianity: The Alternative Gospel of the American Church.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
William Walls
A very well written account of the worldliness of so much of "Professed Christianity" found in America in this time of materialism and so-called, faith healers. This book...and Hank Hanegraaff"s book entitled; "Christianity in Crisis", should also be among every mature Christian's book collection in this day of deception that plaques the real gospel of the Lord Jesus Christ. Well worth the price! Signed: An Unknown Christian
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Christless Christianity: The Alternative Gospel of the American Church
This review is fromChristless Christianity: The Alternative Gospel of the American Church.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2009
As a foreign guy, I have to admit that this book is rather difficult to read because of it's high level vocabulary usages. They are a lot of words that are not in common usages. It is a very good book for me but it is hard to grasp all the meanings . I hope the author should simplify his words to make a new simplified edition for average readers.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Christless Christianity: The Alternative Gospel of the American Church
This review is fromChristless Christianity: The Alternative Gospel of the American Church.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Catherine D Carr
This is a very timely and important subject. It's one that Christians need to stop and consider once it's put before us in such a clear and concise manner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Christless Christianity: The Alternative Gospel of the American Church
This review is fromChristless Christianity: The Alternative Gospel of the American Church.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Naomi O'connor
Not an easy read but valuable insight on the condition of American churches. Rather difficult to determine if a statement was quote or authors opinion, requires careful reading.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Christless Christianity: The Alternative Gospel of the American Church
This review is fromChristless Christianity: The Alternative Gospel of the American Church.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2009
Superb book and very timely. We live in an age where the church is more shaped by secular culture than the Bible. Horton exposes the trend of Christian confusing Christianity with American-ism. He offers the solution- a return to the purity of the Biblical gospel of regeneration and salvation. This book could do for the modern church what Luther's 95 Thesis did for the Renaissance era church if enough folks read it. God bless Michael Horton.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.