Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Baker Books GOD'S WORD Personal-Size Giant-Print Bible, softcover

Baker Books GOD'S WORD Personal-Size Giant-Print Bible, softcover

An exceptional Bible that consciously combines scholarly fidelity with natural English, GOD'S WORD Translation communicates the saving, life-changing Good News about Jesus in clear, natural English. Translated directly from the Hebrew, Aramaic, and Greek.

The combination of accuracy and readability makes GOD'S WORD Translation ideally suited for devotional reading and in-depth study, preaching, teaching, and worship, memorization, discipleship, and more.

A Large Print Bible In an Easy-to-Carry Size, its features include:
  • Large 12.5-point type
  • Convenient, portable size
  • Single-column, paragraph format
  • Presentation page
  • Black letter text
  • Translation and textual notes
  • The Teachings of Jesus Index
  • Application Index
Average Customer Rating:
4.774 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (62 reviews)
5 stars
51
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
33 out of 3497%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for GOD'S WORD Personal-Size Giant-Print Bible, softcover
Review 1 for GOD'S WORD Personal-Size Giant-Print Bible, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Maddie
Location:Calgary ,AB
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible is a gift we give to our Church members or to those that do not have a bible of large print, very easy to read with the large print.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for GOD'S WORD Personal-Size Giant-Print Bible, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Crisp copy.

Date:April 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
rgwalker
Location:Madison, MS
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just like it came off the printing press. Superb quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for GOD'S WORD Personal-Size Giant-Print Bible, softcover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

no notes in margin

Date:February 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
babe
Location:san bernardino, ca
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was disappointed then were no bible references in margins or footmotes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for GOD'S WORD Personal-Size Giant-Print Bible, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Decision

Date:July 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cookie
Location:Stockton California
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am thankful I made the decision to purchase this Bible. It is easy to read because of the large print and I love the translation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for GOD'S WORD Personal-Size Giant-Print Bible, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
dearly
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bible. Easy to read & understand. I have a few bibles at home but this one is the best..
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for GOD'S WORD Personal-Size Giant-Print Bible, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love it

Date:April 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
tita
Location:staten island, ny
Age:45-54
Gender:female
after reading the comments on this bible, I decide to order it, its easy to read and the print is large to read without glasses. Its not the column print side by side, but the format is like reading a book, which is good to follow as well, after a little try you can find the what your looking for .
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for GOD'S WORD Personal-Size Giant-Print Bible, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I bought it as honest description of the book.

Date:March 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
tony
Location:Milwaukee WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read it first to help me understand because of it's easy reading. Then I read my Catholic version and feel I've gotten a good understanding of what I've read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for GOD'S WORD Personal-Size Giant-Print Bible, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful

Date:March 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vonda Koester
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This translation is so easy to read and very true to the Word. I compare some verses to my Cumash and the meaning is the same. Well worth the investment. I haven't had it too long and am already in Exodus. Excellent choice for everyone.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for GOD'S WORD Personal-Size Giant-Print Bible, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a wonderful bible.

Date:January 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
gatorlady
Location:Grand Ridge, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I can really understand this version of the Bible. The size of the text is large for me to see and that is a number one item for me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for GOD'S WORD Personal-Size Giant-Print Bible, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Favourite Translation

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
MacDonagh
Location:Mississaga, Ontario, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all, Christianbook.com is one of the best book sellers on line. I am a frequent user of many, both Christian and secular.
Secondly, the Baker offering of the God's Word Translation has become my constant companion for devotional reading and study. I have many translations, as well as being an amateur Greek and Hebrew scholar, and this one combines the helpful features of most of them. Two of these features are worth mentioning. The simple accuracy of the translation itself done by professional, full-time biblical language scholars. Then the unique touch of professional English language editors whose skill in communicating in English has been used to obvious benefit for the reader.
It reads smoothly and beautifully. I highly recommend it to anyone who is serious about studying the bible.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for GOD'S WORD Personal-Size Giant-Print Bible, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this book

Date:December 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
mark
Location:concord, nc
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible has everthing I was looking for. Large print, easy feel. I can really understand the way the Lord speaks now.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for GOD'S WORD Personal-Size Giant-Print Bible, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Bible is excellent and understanding

Date:November 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Miss Yvonne
Location:Houston, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is great, well written and easy to understand God's words better. I highly recommend this Bible to everyone. God's word Bible help me to get a better understanding quicker and when attending Bible Study at my church when the minister is giving out scriptures the description in the God Word Bible is easier and I can better understand what he is talking about. Thanks
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for GOD'S WORD Personal-Size Giant-Print Bible, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good value.

Date:October 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chief
Location:Alpena, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gos's Word Translation is a very readable translation in todays English.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for GOD'S WORD Personal-Size Giant-Print Bible, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Makes a great Christmas gift

Date:November 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sweetbeauty
Location:Plum Coulee, MB
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this and got it personalized for my husband for Christmas. I couldn't wait and gave it to him early!! We both really like the version and the large print. It's SO easy to understand and makes the Bible come alive!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for GOD'S WORD Personal-Size Giant-Print Bible, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This bible I would recommend to everyone!

Date:November 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Suzi
Location:Dover, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first Bible that I can fully understand. I look forward to reading it & learning a lot that I couldn't understand from my other ones. Thank you for having it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for GOD'S WORD Personal-Size Giant-Print Bible, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
busy child
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
underrated translation. God's influence is evident.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for GOD'S WORD Personal-Size Giant-Print Bible, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible for all ages who can read.

Date:August 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
pcrowe mv
Location:Moreno Valley, California
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to read and understand, you lose nothing in the translation. We have reviewed 6 versions of the Bible and own 3 versions. This Bible would make a great addition to any christian household. It's great for advanced readers also.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for GOD'S WORD Personal-Size Giant-Print Bible, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Susan H. Self
Location:Pine Mtn, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this the first time because Rev. Billy Graham endorsed it so I knew it would be good.The second one I ordered was for my husband. Then a good friend said he has a hard time understanding the KJ Bible and we told him about this God's Word version and he wanted to try it so I ordered the 3rd one and he loves it. Now a girl-friend of mine wants one so I am ordering her one. I love to read the Bible now because it is so much easier to understand. Thank you for making this available to us. We love this Bible and would highly recommend it to all. And love the Giant print, so easy to read and see. LOVE,LOVE,LOVE this Bible.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for GOD'S WORD Personal-Size Giant-Print Bible, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy Reading and true to God's Word

Date:May 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anne Hermanson
Location:Aurora, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
God's Word is easy to read and true to God's Word! It is a true blessing! Thank you!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for GOD'S WORD Personal-Size Giant-Print Bible, softcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
charlynantx
Location:tx.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only thing I didn't like about this one is that the book and chapter is in the middle of the page, which makes finding your chapter more difficult. when it is in the top right or left it is easy to flip through and find what you are looking for.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.