Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Random House, Inc Having a Mary Spirit: Allowing God to Change Us from the Inside Out

Random House, Inc Having a Mary Spirit: Allowing God to Change Us from the Inside Out

We long to serve God with grace and strength, to reflect Christ in every word and action. Yet we find ourselves continually struggling to bring that vision to life in our daily walk. At the very core, every one of us is a "twisted sister" within whom the flesh and spirit battle constantly for control. We are afflicted with spiritual schizophrenia, the disconnect between our "good girl" desire to put Jesus first and our "bad girl" realities that crowd our thoughts and push him out of the way.

In Having a Mary Spirit, Weaver, author of the bestseller Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World, directs your gaze past your own shortcomings to the God who stands ready, willing, and able to make a new woman out of you. She equips you with biblical insights and practical tools to partner with Christ, inviting him into the hidden places of your soul and giving him full permission to redeem and renovate. Drawing on the stories of biblical Marys and others whose experience with God transformed their lives, Weaver shows how you can find the hope, healing, wholeness, and joy your heart longs for. Includes a 12-week Bible study for both individual reflection and group discussion.

Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Having a Mary Spirit: Allowing God to Change Us from the Inside Out
Review 1 for Having a Mary Spirit: Allowing God to Change Us from the Inside Out
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Seeker
Location:Fallon, Nv.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Her writings apply to all of us. Great study for our class of 10 women.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Having a Mary Spirit: Allowing God to Change Us from the Inside Out
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The book rings true to life and is inspirational

Date:November 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jerusha
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scriptural and practical, spiritually deep but not heavy reading, this book has reinvigorated my devotional life. I like the "gray boxes" that appear here and there in each chapter and contain helpful quotes, summaries and insights.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Having a Mary Spirit: Allowing God to Change Us from the Inside Out
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Glenn Metzler
Location:Farmingdale, ME
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our women's group thoroughly enjoys studying this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Having a Mary Spirit: Allowing God to Change Us from the Inside Out
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The book has been a great study thus far

Date:November 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
grateful4grace
Location:Brookfield, WI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our group of 8 women are using the book and it has been a great way to seek the Lord. The author shares wonderful insights and is very real and honest in what she includes about herself. It is easy to read and the study questions are approprirate.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Having a Mary Spirit: Allowing God to Change Us from the Inside Out
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
kabv
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is one that I will keep referring back to as I seek to walk with the Lord. The author's insight was very helpful as she shares her struggle for the kind of heart that seeks the Lord. You find yourself desiring to be this kind of person. She takes you continually back to the source - Jesus, and to remind us to stay in dependence upon Him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Having a Mary Spirit: Allowing God to Change Us from the Inside Out
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ginny
Location:FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This author has extraordinary faith and perception as she relates our daily lives to God's Word. Who are you in Christ? You will know for sure once you read this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Having a Mary Spirit: Allowing God to Change Us from the Inside Out
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is a good Bible Study Book

Date:December 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Betty Monda
Location:Sullivan, Mo
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are using this book for our Tuesday Morning Ladies Bible Study group and they love it. We are learning a lot and Joanna knows how to touch all of us and what we may be going through at the time. This is a very good book and I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Having a Mary Spirit: Allowing God to Change Us from the Inside Out
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Suzanne Taylor
I am leading a Christian ladies group once a week using this book as a guide as well as study source. The ladies love the book....it is so "down to earth". They relate to Joanna Weavers' writing which is so inspiring!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Having a Mary Spirit: Allowing God to Change Us from the Inside Out
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Darcy Wood
This book is perfect for the women's small group study I am leading. It is inspiring, has questions for group discussion, and helps us see ourselves in a real way.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Having a Mary Spirit: Allowing God to Change Us from the Inside Out
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Darlene Seger
I purchased this book to use for our Ladies Bible Study. We just got started in it last night and everyone seems to be really enjoying it. It gets right down to where we are living and helps us see what we need to allow the Holy Spirit to do in our lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Having a Mary Spirit: Allowing God to Change Us from the Inside Out
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sara Hoffman
Great book so far! Well written and insightful; looking forward to getting through the whole thing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Having a Mary Spirit: Allowing God to Change Us from the Inside Out
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jill Good
Our women's Sunday School class is really enjoying this book. It has great advice for developing your Christian walk as a woman. We are finding it easy to relate to and enjoying the study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Having a Mary Spirit: Allowing God to Change Us from the Inside Out
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2009
This book has given me that boost to just enjoy loving, praising and worshiping my Lord. So often I am thinking of me and my problems and not just giving them over to the One Who can handle all of them. Thanks to a wonderful author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Having a Mary Spirit: Allowing God to Change Us from the Inside Out
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jimmie Patterson
Great personal and study book. the questions were the best of any study we'd done and really got to the heart of the matter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Having a Mary Spirit: Allowing God to Change Us from the Inside Out
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Julieann Hull
This book is a wonderful aid to a godly transformation. Don't read this book unless you truly want and expect God to change your heart. Joanna Weaver has a very personable way of writing that anyone can relate to. Her transparency is a blessing in knowing you are definitely not alone in your struggle. I highly recommend this book!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Having a Mary Spirit: Allowing God to Change Us from the Inside Out
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Deb Mcconkey
Doing this with a "small" group that has grown to 25 women. Word has gotten out about how great it is....You really examine yourself and are reminded when the flesh woman begins appearing and you are no longer listening to the Holy Spirit. it has been wonderful. Recommend it to all that desire the leading of the Holy Spirit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Having a Mary Spirit: Allowing God to Change Us from the Inside Out
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
La Toya Ross
I really love this book. It is very beneficial in my growth with my walk with Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Having a Mary Spirit: Allowing God to Change Us from the Inside Out
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ruth Snow
great study book for womens groups, we did the Mary heart to start and finishing with the Mary Spirit. Enjoyed both
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Having a Mary Spirit: Allowing God to Change Us from the Inside Out
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
John Howe
This is a book that speaks to the heart. Wonderfully challenging, convicting and encouraging! I have given it to 5 friends and led 2 Bible studies with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Having a Mary Spirit: Allowing God to Change Us from the Inside Out
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Debbi
This book is very good for a women's Bible Study. It made me think about my past and how God has walked with me throughout my many years. My group was able to reflect on all the things God has brought them through.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>