Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press #1: Auralia's Colors: The Red Strand

WaterBrook Press #1: Auralia's Colors: The Red Strand

When thieves find an abandoned child lying in a monster's footprint, they have no idea that their wilderness discovery will change the course of history.

Cloaked in mystery, Auralia grows up among criminals outside the walls of House Abascar, where vicious beastmen lurk in shadow. There, she discovers an unsettling-and forbidden-talent for crafting colors that enchant all who behold them, including Abascar's hard-hearted king, an exiled wizard, and a prince who keeps dangerous secrets.

Auralia's gift opens doors from the palace to the dungeons, setting the stage for violent and miraculous change in the great houses of the Expanse.

Average Customer Rating:
3.909 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
0 out of 10%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for #1: Auralia's Colors: The Red Strand
Review 1 for #1: Auralia's Colors: The Red Strand
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not a good choice

Date:February 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
dazfused
Location:Hayward, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My firiend bought this book. I started this book and was not impressed. If it is suppose to be a christian based book where the bible references. I told my friend don't read it she should send it back to you and complain. Not a good book or a good show on christianity like in other books I have bought from CBD.....
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for #1: Auralia's Colors: The Red Strand
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
the man with a plan
This was the most interesting fantasy that I have ever read. It was as if the writer's pen was a paint brush, and was painting the book; as if the world was black and white. And when it got to the end the world was filled with colors. This is a very colorful book. I do recommend it to all fantasy readers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for #1: Auralia's Colors: The Red Strand
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2009
Auralia's Colors is a bit different of a fantasy than I am used to. It was somewhat darker than the stories I usually read. I found it in our local library and decided to try it out. the story was well written but I found the descriptions of the villains in the last chaper quite disgusting (kids may not want to read that chapter)and I definitely don't like it when a character I have come to like dies (I won't say who). But I hope that the later books in this series have a bit lighter a tone than this one. such books as this can depress me at time and afterward I must find a lighter book to read. But it is good to fight boredom or read on a rainy day.Try it. Who knows. you might like it more than I do. I just get tired of the dark tones in the movies, books, or just life in particular sometimes. I read as an escape. I preferr to escape into something wonderful and exciting. This book just didn't quite fit the bill for me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for #1: Auralia's Colors: The Red Strand
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Two Gatherer thieves find an abandoned child lying in a massive footprint near the river. They take the girl back to the village where she grows up wild and mysterious amongst the Gatherers, those unworthy of living inside the walls of House Abascar. The girl, Auralia, has a unique gift, the ability to weave breathtaking colors from the world around her. When Queen Jaralaine issues a proclamation that sends all of House Abascar into a colorless season of winter, Auralias gift becomes illegal.As Abascars Winter stretches year after year Auralia grows up, nearing the age of sixteen when all enter House Abascar for the Rites of Privilege to show what gifts they might offer the kingdom. As the Rites draw near, Auralia must decide if she will go and reveal her gift to the king or if she will remain safely hidden in the forest all her days. Either way, her choice could mean the end of life as she knows it.Auralias Colors was a unique book. The writing was beautiful. I couldnt read it as fast as I like to read. It had many point of views, but the author brought them all together in the end in a wonderful way that fulfilled most of the plot lines, but left several dangling so that I have to read the next book to find out what happens. It was entertaining, creative, and unique. Recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for #1: Auralia's Colors: The Red Strand
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jacquelyn
Stylistically and thematically I found the book captivating. Although it was enthralling, I had to put the book down due to some unnecessary violent and suggestive content. This was disappointing because it was so good otherwise!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for #1: Auralia's Colors: The Red Strand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Creative Madness Mama
What an interesting story Jeff has woven together through the novel of "Auralia's Colors". This is a story to set sometime aside to read and let it soak in. I will bet that this is one that would even fascinate my husband to read.Sections in this book lost my interest, and I wanted to walk away, but I am glad that I did not because all in all it was quite an enjoyable journey and I plan to read the rest of the Threads as they present themselves.I found the atmosphere for me was very reminiscent of Stephen Lawhead", especially his lately series including "Hood", "Scarlet", and in 2009 "Tuck".As a Fantasy novel, this is one of those that you fall into and forget about what is real and what is not. That is one of the hardest parts for me, but once I click into the world, I do not want to leave. I'm so glad that I have "Cyndere's Midnight" that I can jump into right away.If you enjoy Lawhead, or Toilken, or Madeleine L'Engle, I do believe that you will find enjoyment through the creative prose that is practically poetry in the writings of Jeffrey Overstreet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for #1: Auralia's Colors: The Red Strand
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Loraine
I was very disapointed in this book.It was really dark. There were a couple of scenes and descriptions that could have been left out.I ultimatly had to put the book down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for #1: Auralia's Colors: The Red Strand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Amara
oh my goodness. This is such a wonderfully woven story line. I can hardly wait for the three other strands. I've got to know what happens next. I want to see where Auraila is from and where she went. :D I hope she gets 'you-know-who' too! *squees*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for #1: Auralia's Colors: The Red Strand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
Cheri
So if youre a fan of fantasy such as Lord of the Rings or J.R.R. Tolkien than youll love Auralias Colors an awesome tale for young and old alike. Enter into the fantasy world of fangbears, river wyrms, bamble pigs and ride upon varns. As the dream world unfolds you too will be swept up and enchanted by the marvelous imagery of Auralias Colors. The author Jeffery Overstreet takes you into an awesome dream in this his first fantasy novel that is not only colorful but flows so smoothly you will not want to awaken.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for #1: Auralia's Colors: The Red Strand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
Bethany
Good fantasies are few and far between. I thoroughly enjoyed reading Auralias Colors, and recommend it to anyone in the mood for a fantasy. I am very much looking forward to hearing more about the people of Abascar.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for #1: Auralia's Colors: The Red Strand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
Deena Peterson
A good fantasy story draws you in and holds you captive until the story has finished its telling. You find yourself lost in the tale, uncertain of which world you dwell in, and once it is finished, feel as if you have dined on a masterful literary feast."Auralia's Colors" is just such a story.Filled with magical creatures and lavish with imagery that teases the senses, "Auralia's Colors" is more than just a story. I found allegory that paralleled Narnia and The Lord of the Rings...a richness of Heaven revealed through fantasy. And it's good stuff!This is the first in a series called Auralia's Colors...this is the Red Strand...Jeffrey is working on the Blue Strand...which I hope is to release soon. I want to go back to the Expanse and learn what happens to House Abascar and her people...to get lost in "Auralia's Colors" once again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.