Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan NIV The Jesus Bible: Discover Jesus in Every Book of the Bible, Hardcover, Printed

Zondervan NIV The Jesus Bible: Discover Jesus in Every Book of the Bible, Hardcover, Printed

An all new full-featured Bible for kids ages 9-12 that focuses on Jesus and how his teachings apply to everyday life.

Jesus isn’t just found in the gospels of Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John. His presence can be felt throughout the whole Bible, even at the beginning in Genesis. The Jesus Bible contains the complete New International Version (NIV) with daily study helps that point you to Jesus and show how he fulfilled the prophecies for the Messiah found in the Old Testament.

Features:

  • Presentation page for personalization and gift giving
  • Book introductions explain where Jesus appears in each book of the Bible
  • 365 devotions revolve around the “sightings” of Jesus in the Old Testament and his life and teachings in the New Testament
  • Application notes to help kids apply Jesus’ teachings to real life today
  • Hundreds of clues highlight the promises/prophesies made about Jesus in the Old Testament and the fulfillments in the New Testament
  • Index of the Old Testament prophecies fulfilled in Christ
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NIV The Jesus Bible: Discover Jesus in Every Book of the Bible, Hardcover, Printed
Review 1 for NIV The Jesus Bible: Discover Jesus in Every Book of the Bible, Hardcover, Printed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great features added for children to learn more

Date:February 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Aussiegirl
Location:Orlando, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2/15/2014 Posted Review
THE JESUS BIBLE
The cover is very interesting. This is a children's Bible from Zondervan. It maybe a kids Bible but I really liked it to use along with my Bible. (just a kid at Heart). In the front it has the Simplified family tree of Jesus, I just loved reading this part. Very interesting to me and I think that children need to be able to get to this quickly and know Jesus family and to learn it (wish I had this in my bible when I was younger). I never really heard of Jesus family in my Church growing up did you?
You'll discover Jesus in every book of the Bible. There's prayers on the bottom of the pages for example: Jesus Forever and it tells of Jesus from beginning to end--then a Prayer.
Like Jesus to the Rescue--Amen we know he's always with us no matter if we are in our darkest hour or if we are happy, he NEVER leaves us. Let us not leave and forget him when things goes our way and only call on him in the darkest hours of our life.
Psalm 23 I remembered parts of it as a child-- but decided that everyday from now on it will be what I say and learn and keep close at heart. Psalm 23 in this Bible is simplified for a child but since I read it as a child from my Fathers old Bible I think for myself I like the words out of my Father's Bible. Children will probably understand the Jesus Bible words better.
This Bible has eleven great features added in it. There are beautiful maps in the back of this Bible. It really has extra help and I like it for myself to read with my own Bible. This is still a very good Bible for a child.
I recommend it highly for your child.
HAPPY READING!!!
I received this beautiful Bible from booklook free for an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review just an honest one. The opinions I have expressed are entirely my own and no one else's.
5 Stars
ISBN 978-0310-726005
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NIV The Jesus Bible: Discover Jesus in Every Book of the Bible, Hardcover, Printed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Such a great idea for kids and adults!

Date:February 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
DavidsMom
Location:Louisiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Such a great idea for kids and adults! I thought the description given with the book below would be a great idea for my son:
The Jesus Bible, NIV
Discover Jesus In Every Book of the Bible by Zondervan
Jesus isn’t just found in the gospels of Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John. His presence can be felt throughout the whole Bible, even in Genesis. The Jesus Bible contains the complete New International Version (NIV) with daily study helps that point to Jesus and show how he fulfilled the prophecies for the Messiah found in the Old Testament. A perfect way to see the overarching narrative of the Bible, The Jesus Bible includes these features:
• Presentation page for personalization and gift giving
• Book introductions explain where Jesus appears in each book of the Bible
• 365 devotions revolve around the “sightings” of Jesus in the Old Testament and his life and teachings in the New Testament
• Application notes to help apply Jesus’ teachings to real life today
• Hundreds of clues highlight the promises/prophesies made about Jesus in the Old Testament and the fulfillments in the New Testament
• Index of the Old Testament prophecies fulfilled in Christ
• List of Jesus’ miracles and parables
• Timeline of Jesus’ life
• Lineage of Jesus
• Concordance to help find key topics, people, and events in the Bible
• Words of Christ in red
I was very pleasantly surprised by what I found when I got this hard back Bible. It will be a great Bible for years to come with him. I love the way everything is laid out and the way it gives daily stories to relate to things that happened in the Bible and with things that Jesus said. I would highly recommend this Bible if you are looking for a good one for your child. Thank you to the booksneeze blogging program for this copy of The Jesus Bible in return for my honest review.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NIV The Jesus Bible: Discover Jesus in Every Book of the Bible, Hardcover, Printed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Jesus Bible, published by Zonderkidz, is written to help children discover Jesus in every book of the Bible. It is presented in the New International Version, making it easy to understand. In each book, the introduction page includes “Where is Jesus in this book?” as well as the author, key people, when, where, and some of the stories found in the book.
This Bible also includes several study aids, such as a year’s supply of daily devotions written to be used in any order and checked off in the index at the back of the book and a “Live Like Jesus” section to help one apply the lesson to his own life. The “Hints of the Savior” highlight promises and prophecies made about Jesus in the Old Testament, while “Jesus Revealed” highlights their fulfillment in the New Testament. In addition to all of this, the concordance and full color maps in the back provide a wonderful resource to enhance one’s study.
I was impressed by this Bible. While it is published for children, I felt that it would be a great resource for any adult as well. It would be especially helpful for new Christians, as it highlights some basic stories and information. I would definitely recommend this Bible.
Kara
I received this book free from the publisher and was not required to write a positive review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NIV The Jesus Bible: Discover Jesus in Every Book of the Bible, Hardcover, Printed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I was so excited to order this book because I am going into teaching hopefully in a Christian school. This Bible has some incredible features such as character profiles, stories, and devotions for kids. I think this is a must have for children who are at the age that they can read and are starting to make their faith their own.
This would be a great resource to have in Christian schools as well as in Churches so that children would see that churches and schools cater to them and don't just have the standard Black cover Bibles available. I find that if the Bibles are geared towards children they are more likely to read them and become way more interested in them instead of the plain old text. This Bible has so many features that would get students and children involved and excited about reading the Bible. Definitely a must have!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NIV The Jesus Bible: Discover Jesus in Every Book of the Bible, Hardcover, Printed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Dr JSK
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Jesus Bible: Discover Jesus In Every Book Of The Bible, published by Zonderkidz, is a Bible designed to help today's youth discover Jesus in every book of the Bible.
To receive another Bible is a time of celebration, at least where I am concerned. I was once asked, "How many Bibles does one person need?" The answer is simply stated, we can never own enough Bibles, especially since each one offers something unique to aid in our understanding of God's purpose for our lives.
The Jesus Bible is one of those Bibles that everyone should have in their collection, at their disposal. While this Bible is centered around a youthful study experience, it offers many aids of study that would enhance any Christians relationship with God.
This Bible offers its readers a unique display of the presence of Jesus within every book of the Bible. Through what is entitled Hints of The Savior we find hundreds of clues that highlight the promises and prophecies made about Jesus within the Old Testament. In the New Testament, sections entitled Jesus Revealed display the scriptures that bring about the fulfillment of the Old Testament prophecies with a reference back to the it's beginnings.
Also included are application notes that strive to utilize specific passages with the purpose of helping aid in the desire to live out our lives like Jesus. Enough daily devotions are scattered throughout the Bible to encourage a Godly walk for an entire year.
All this and much more, utilizing the easily read and understood NIV translation, makes this Bible one that needs to be purchased and utilized by those desiring to live like Jesus within this lost and broken world.
Dr. Jeff Krupinski
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NIV The Jesus Bible: Discover Jesus in Every Book of the Bible, Hardcover, Printed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Most Awesome Bible

Date:January 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Debbie Kimble
Location:St. Louis MO
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Discover Jesus In Every Book of the Bible
Jesus isn’t just found in the gospels of Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John. His presence can be felt throughout the whole Bible, even in Genesis. The Jesus Bible contains the complete New International Version (NIV) with daily study helps that point to Jesus and show how he fulfilled the prophecies for the Messiah found in the Old Testament. A perfect way to see the overarching narrative of the Bible, The Jesus Bible includes these features:
Book introductions explain where Jesus appears in each book of the Bible
365 devotions revolve around the “sightings” of Jesus in the Old Testament and his life and teachings in the New Testament
Application notes to help apply Jesus’ teachings to real life today
Hundreds of clues highlight the promises/prophesies made about Jesus in the Old Testament and the fulfillments in the New Testament
Index of the Old Testament prophecies fulfilled in Christ
List of Jesus’ miracles and parables
Timeline of Jesus’ life
Lineage of Jesus
Concordance to help find key topics, people, and events in the Bible
Words of Christ in red
All I can say is WOW! This is the bible I have been looking for. As a relatively new believer, or new returner to the Christian life, this is a great bible. It is so clear and gives so much information beyond the word. Wisdom from Christ's word comes from studying the bible over and over again. However, that is not always as easy as it sounds. With the many translations, the words that often are misunderstood and translated differently from translation to translation, it can be difficult to understand that bible. In this particular bible, the authors make it easy to understand, and impart their own wisdom to help you find your own way to understanding each passage of the Bible. There are plenty of devotionals, and ways in which the Bible applies to real life.
It is absolutely clear where God's words are, and when, where, and who wrote each book of the bible. There is also a great Concordance that help one find topics, people, and events in the bible and it is a fantastic tool to be used by one and all.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NIV The Jesus Bible: Discover Jesus in Every Book of the Bible, Hardcover, Printed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Incredible Bible for Kids!

Date:January 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kezziah June
Location:Stafford, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The description says (in part) that "Jesus isn’t just found in the gospels of Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John. His presence can be felt throughout the whole Bible, even in Genesis." This is so very true, and what a great idea for a Bible for kids!
Specifically geared towards kids who are 9-12 (although I think it could easily be used for younger kids as well), what makes this Bible especially unique is the fact that it includes 365 devotional readings. I expected them to be maybe a few sentences or a couple paragraphs, but each of the devotions is a full page. That's some serious space dedicated to the devotions! It makes the Bible much thicker than others, but what a great reason! This Bible uses multiple colors, and even different fonts, to make the various sections stand out from the text of the Bible itself. The whole layout of the Bible helps you see Jesus in every book, something that I feel is really special. As a child, I don't remember learning about how Jesus was in each book. I remember learning about how God was talked about, but not Jesus and how to see Him through all that we read or learned about. Jesus was talked about in the New Testament, but not in anything else. (For those who may be concerned about me, I do completely understand that God and Jesus are the same person, but I think it's pretty neat that this version of the Bible doesn't just show Jesus in the New Testament, but gives devotions that help you see where Jesus was at in the Old Testament too.)
There are all sorts of charts, checklists (a list of parables that Jesus taught, for example), an index of the devotions (so you can check them off as you do them!), and various maps at the end. It's a great Bible to get for kids, to help them see how the Bible isn't two separate parts - talking about God in the Old Testament and Jesus in the New Testament, but it's one story that all shows you the same person. Not different people, but the same person. That is pretty doggone cool, especially in a Bible for kids.
I received a free copy of this book from the publisher, in exchange for my honest review. I was in no way required to write anything positive - the thoughts and opinions expressed here are completely my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NIV The Jesus Bible: Discover Jesus in Every Book of the Bible, Hardcover, Printed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great first bible for kids

Date:January 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
mojo
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zondervan has a new kids bible. "The Jesus Bible" this new volume attempts to show young readers that the Bible is a story about Jesus from the beginning to the end. This bible is available in Hardback, Imitation Leather and as an e-book that would work well on a kidle or e-reader.
Inside the Bible, young minds will discover book introductions and where to look for Jesus in each section. The bible also contains a years worth of devotions that walk the reader through the many passages that talk about Jesus' life and ministry.
This Bible is also packed with study aids; including notes, commentary, timelines, and a helpful concordance. Plus this bible is also heavy on helping the reader to discover more about Jesus - all of Christ's words are in red, there are charts about his family tree, which miracles he did, all sorts of notes concerning the OT prophecies and much much more.
This is a wonderful recourse for kids who are perhaps ready for that "first bible" in their lives. This would make a great "gift" from parents, grandparents, pastors and sunday school teachers. Thank you to Zondervan for this preview copy in exchange for a fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NIV The Jesus Bible: Discover Jesus in Every Book of the Bible, Hardcover, Printed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Jesus Bible (NIV)

Date:January 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
InkBlotsbyTRD
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Jesus Bible (NIV) is a New International Version of the Bible with daily devotions and other extras that seem to be geared toward tweens/early teens. This Bible specifically points out how Jesus can be discovered throughout the pages of the Bible, which to me seems like a great next step for those of us who have used and enjoyed The Jesus Storybook Bible in our children's younger years.
The pages in The Jesus Bible are easy on the eyes (the headings and text are in brown ink as opposed to the traditional black with chapter numbers and words of Christ in red). The other other extras (book introductions, daily devotions, "Live Like Jesus", "Hints of the Savior", "Jesus Revealed") are in a similar red/shades of brown color palette.
Each book of the Bible has a one page introduction that gives short answers to questions such as: "Where is Jesus in this book?", "Who wrote this book?", "Why was this book written?", "When did this happen?", etc. Some of the questions are the same throughout the introductions and some are only asked/answered in specific introductions. At the bottom of each introduction page is a section (red background/white text) that highlights some of the main stories in the book (or in books such as the Psalms it highlights some favorite Psalms).
There are 365 daily devotions spread throughout the pages of The Jesus Bible. I like that the devotions are spread throughout and tend to be related to a nearby book/passage, but there is also an index on page 1671 for those who would like to look for specific devotions (or prefer to move through them in order without having to thumb through the pages to find them). Each of the devotions takes up a full page, which I appreciate because it doesn't interfere with the flow of the Biblical text. Each devotion sticks with the theme by relating somehow back to Jesus, and each devotion also ends with a short prayer.
The "Hints of the Savior" and "Jesus Revealed" highlights throughout the text are a great way to keep the reader looking forward and focused on Jesus. There is also an index of these starting on page 1679.
As with most Bibles, there is a Concordance at the back of The Jesus Bible. There are also full color maps at the back printed on heavier paper (not traditional Bible-weight pages) and additional heavier pages such as "The Simplified Family Tree of Jesus", "The Time Line of Jesus' Life", "Jesus in the Psalms", "Miracles of Jesus", "Jesus by the Numbers", "The 'I Am' Statements of Jesus", "Parables of Jesus", and "Who Saw Jesus Alive?" - all of which are great at-a-glance pages for easy learning and reference.
All in all, I think this is a great bible and it is also a great value being that it is a full NIV bible and 365 days of devotionals in one.
FTC Declaration: The publisher has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book or advanced reading copy through BookSneeze®. This does not change the fact that I will give my honest opinion in my reviews.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.