Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press #1: When the Heart Cries, Sisters of the Quilt Series

WaterBrook Press #1: When the Heart Cries, Sisters of the Quilt Series

Raised in an Old Order Amish family, 17-year-old Hannah Lapp wants nothing more than to break with custom and experience the outside world---so when her longtime Mennonite boyfriend proposes, she joyfully accepts! But will her choice damage her family forever? And when tragedy jeopardizes her upcoming marriage, can she cope without her community? 323 pages, softcover from Waterbrook.
Average Customer Rating:
4.759 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (87 reviews)
5 stars
78
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
2
6 out of 786%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for #1: When the Heart Cries, Sisters of the Quilt Series
Review 1 for #1: When the Heart Cries, Sisters of the Quilt Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

When The Heart Cries by Cindy Woodsmall

Date:January 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
frugal4utx
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All her life, she has leved teh sheltered life on the Amish. After tragedy strikes, Hannah sinks into an uncertainty and despair. How can she face life knowing what has happened. In the midst of her person struggle, her brother, Luke and her best friend Mary barely survive being hit by a car. Taking care of her friend gives her life a new purpose and direction, but will the secrets she has been keeping destroy her?
Only a few know the truth of her situation and so many rumors are spreading. Has Hannah turned her back on the Amish community or has the community turned its back on her.
This novel is a worthy read and will break your heart while reminding that God is always there especially when the heart is broken.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for #1: When the Heart Cries, Sisters of the Quilt Series
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

"When the Heart Cries" Review

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shoopette
Location:Indiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Seventeen-year-old Hannah Lapp, raised in an Old Order Amish family, has done the unthinkable: she has fallen in love with a Mennonite. Paul Waddell is in love with her as well, and he has asked Hannah to marry him as soon as he finishes his final year in college.
But everything comes crashing down after a traumatic event, and all Hannah thought she knew is destroyed. This event leads to questions that the Old Order ways cannot answer, and Hannah risks losing her family and even her one true love.
This first book in the “Sister of the Quilt” series by Cindy Woodsmall was published several years ago, but it became available again for review at Blogging for Books from WaterBrook Press. Since I have read a couple of other books by this author, I thought I would see how I liked this Amish series.
I thought this book was written well because, even though I didn’t exactly relate to the characters, I was still able to feel their emotions and their experiences. This can be seen as a positive (and I do think it is a positive thing to be able to feel what the characters feel), but this can also be a negative. Because this book deals with some difficult subjects, it was sometimes really hard to read. It was depressing at times, and I was extremely frustrated with the way this Amish community related to each other.
Even though I thought this book was written well, there was just an overall feel to the book that bothered me. The community and Hannah’s family were extremely harsh, and this decreased my enjoyment of the book. There was no spirit of forgiveness among this community, especially for something that wasn’t even Hannah’s fault.
There were a few characters that I did enjoy. Paul, Mary, and Matthew seemed to be the only characters in the book that had any compassion at all. I was also interested in the story, even though the characters (especially Hannah's father) sometimes frustrated me to no end.
It’s hard for me to say for sure whether I liked this book or not. Is it fair for me to say that I didn’t like a book because I disliked some of the characters? To me, that is the sign of a well-written book – the author has crafted a story that makes me empathize with the main character and feel her frustrations. But, at the same time, the book was sometimes difficult to read because of the harshness of the characters.
Although I had mixed feelings about this book, the story (even the parts that were harsh) is compelling, and I am interested to see where the next books in the series take us.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from WaterBrook Press through their Blogging for Books program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this is accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for #1: When the Heart Cries, Sisters of the Quilt Series
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Uncomfortable reading

Date:November 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Abby715
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When the Heart Cries by Cindy Woodsmall
When Hannah Lapp is proposed to by the Mennonite Paul Wadell, she is elated. There is a problem with this incredibly in love couple, Hannah is Amish. Facing the possibility of being shunned, Hannah hopes that Paul can win over her family and community by working free on her family’s farm. Unfortunately, a tragedy strikes on the eve of their engagement, and Hannah is thrust into a world of doubt, despair, and depression. Will Hannah overcome the fears and memories that haunt her, or will she be swallowed by them?
I saw that this book was able to be requested, and I love Cindy Woodsmall’s books, so I was excited at the opportunity to review one. I always enjoy Amish books because they are usually very pure. This one was not. There was an entire “scene” if you will, that I was entirely uncomfortable reading, and it leaked into the following chapters.
I believe this book could really minister to women who have been affected by a wrongdoing more evil than all the others, however, I was VERY uncomfortable reading this book, and I would only suggest reading it to either very mature adults or victims of rape. Sadly, I did not enjoy this book very much.
Sincerely,
Libbi H.
Waterbrook Publishing gave me the book in exchange for an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for #1: When the Heart Cries, Sisters of the Quilt Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most Suspenseful Amish Fiction!

Date:June 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lehrerin
Location:Roxboro, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hannah Lapp loves Paul Waddell, but she's pretty sure her parents won't. As an Old Order Amish teen growing up in Owl Perch, Pennsylvania, Paul's Mennonite ways won't be acceptable to her father - and neither will their plans to marry. Everything changes, however, when Hannah is raped on her way home from a meeting with Paul as he returns to college. Can their relationship - and Hannah's good standing in her Amish community - survive the trauma?
Most books that I've read with Amish characters are simple. Simple plots, often about whether to join the Amish church or leave for the English world, or maybe about forbidden love, seem to make up the most of them. This tends to give those books a similarity that prevents them from jumping out and really grabbing the reader - but this isn't one of those books.
I've never read a book about an Amish community that so thoroughly portrays the difficulties of remaining separate but apart in a fallen world; that describes the pull of the Amish faith in such a realistic way.
Well-written, realistic, and suspenseful, this book will keep a reader on his toes and craving more. The first of three, I couldn't stop when this one ended - and finished the series in a matter of days. If you have any interest in Amish culture, this is definitely a must-read.
I received a free copy of this book from 'Blogging for Books' in exchange for an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for #1: When the Heart Cries, Sisters of the Quilt Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

You'll want to go straight to the next book!

Date:May 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Savannah, GA
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A friend loaned this book to me. I didn't receive it from a publisher for review. But I was so intrigued, I immediately purchased the second in the series, then waited in anticipation for the third to be released. This is what the publisher says about "When the Heart Cries":
"Despite being raised in a traditional Old Order Amish family, seventeen-year-old Hannah Lapp desires to break with custom, forgo baptism into the faith, and marry outside the cloistered community. She’s been in love with Mennonite Paul Waddell for three years, and before returning to college for his senior year, Paul asks Hannah to be his wife. Hannah accepts, aware that her marriage will change her relationship with her family forever.
"On the evening of their engagement, tragedy strikes and in one unwelcome encounter, all that Hannah has known and believed is destroyed. As she finds herself entangled in questions that the Old Ways of her people cannot answer, Hannah faces the possibility of losing her place in her family, in her community– and in the heart of the man she loves."
To complicate matters, a jealous sister spreads rumors about Hannah causing suspicion toward her within the community, her father is more concerned about the family's reputation than Hannah's plight, and a buggy accident which nearly kills her sister-in-law is blamed on Hannah, adding even more pain. As circumstances become ever more desperate, Hannah begins to run out of choices. Her hope of rescue comes from an unexpected place.
The story is intense and emotional, sometimes almost too much so. But readers will want to read straight through to the end. Thankfully for new readers, all three books are available now! It's a series I recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for #1: When the Heart Cries, Sisters of the Quilt Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not your typical light romantic escape novel

Date:April 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debra Brinkman
Location:Yoder, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had the opportunity to review When the Heart Cries by Cindy Woodsmall as part of the Blogging for Books program. I picked this book up one evening, intending to read a chapter or two before bed. It was 4:00 a.m. before I put the book down, finished.
Cindy Woodsmall does a fantastic job of creating real characters, real conflicts, and real relationships. Hannah quickly became a very real person to me.
Early in the story, this 17 year old is raped, by a stranger, on her way home. I had no idea that was the tragedy, the unwelcome encounter. From that point on, the various plot-lines involve the characters coming to grips with what has happened. For Hannah, for her parents, her siblings, her friends... and her community. With Paul off at college, he's unaware of what has happened.
This is the first book in the Sisters of the Quilt series, and one thing that means is that not everything is wrapped up and tied with a pretty bow when the book comes to a close. As a result, I immediately looked into obtaining book #2, When the Morning Comes.
Reading this book was a bit like going through the wringer. Agonizingly difficult decisions, horrible injustices that aren't resolved, and situations that are just so heartbreaking and unfair. This is far from your typical light, romantic escape novel. But it is well worth reading.
Disclaimer: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for #1: When the Heart Cries, Sisters of the Quilt Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
cyndidd
Location:Troy, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has me looking forward to book #2 of the series! Author Cindy Woodsmall does an excellent job portraying young Hannah Lapp in her role as a teenage girl still going through her *rumschpringe* (running around years). Hannah wants to leave her order and join her Mennonite boyfriend, Paul. She is biding her time until she is eighteen, so she can leave home legally and her *Daed* cannot stop her. Unfortunately, she is attacked coming home from visiting Paul. This starts a series of events that cause Hannah's life to seem to spiral out of control. Throughout it all, Hannah learns that God is still there for her, no matter what.
Excellent storyline, great character portrayal, definite read for anyone that likes the current "Amish stories" that are quickly gaining popularity.
--------------------------------------------------
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for #1: When the Heart Cries, Sisters of the Quilt Series
This review is fromWhen the Heart Cries, Sisters of the Quilt Series #1 LGPT.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Elinor Coover
awesome series - enjoyed them so much - would highly recommend this for enjoyable reading
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for #1: When the Heart Cries, Sisters of the Quilt Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2010
Cindy Woodsmall has a knack for creating characters that you really care about from the very first introductionhowever she also has a knack for twisting their lives into a complicated mess that wrecks havoc with your emotions.I feel positively gutted after just finishing When the Heart Cries. The complexity of the plot, the agonizing decisions some of the characters make, the injustices that arent righted, the ill-fated timingack! I was alternately speed reading and pushing the book aside in order to catch my breath. But through the desperation we catch a glimmer of hope and the first book in The Sisters of the Quilt series reads like the prologue of a journey just beginning. Positively riveting and might I suggest having all three books in the series on hand so you dont have any lag time in between? The waiting is unbearable and its only been a half hour since I read the last page of When the Heart Cries!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for #1: When the Heart Cries, Sisters of the Quilt Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Barb
This series could change your outlook toward hope, love, and romance!! The heroine is strong when faced with the weaker aspects of being Amish. This series has HEART--one that cries, then sees morning light, and then the soul mends. The books are aptly titled, and I, for one, will never be the same. Don't shy away because this isn't a "typical" romance as a couple of reviewers have pointed out. The romance is deeper and richer than any romance I've ever read, but it doesn't come easy for anyone involved. Hooray for realistic people with problems that don't solve easily, and for a God who shapes and molds until He has final say in their lives!!!Book two and three pick up within hours of when the previous book ended. I loved that!! All three books continue Hannah Lapp's life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for #1: When the Heart Cries, Sisters of the Quilt Series
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Meg
I could not wait to read this book but once i start i only read to chapter three. I was very disappointed in the subject matter it was a little to much for me to go from Hannah being so utterly happy about her relationship with Paul to then have something so horrific and unexpected to smack you in the face. Its not what i expected from this book at all and the way her family reacted it was all just to sad. Not the inspirational romantic story i thought it was going to be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for #1: When the Heart Cries, Sisters of the Quilt Series
This review is fromWhen the Heart Cries, Sisters of the Quilt Series #1 LGPT.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Laura DiPaolo
This book was awesome!!! Definitely a must read if you are into amish love stories. Just picked up the book and couldn't put it down!!! Halfway through the second book already!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for #1: When the Heart Cries, Sisters of the Quilt Series
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jane
This is the first of a well-written series of books that develop the main characters and keep the plot flowing. My problem was unexpected criticisms of the Amish faith.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for #1: When the Heart Cries, Sisters of the Quilt Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Erin
Our book club calls Cindy Woodsmall the "Karen Kingsbury of the Amish." Our only complaint is we're desperate for her next book before its out, but it's always worth waiting for. She had an ABC Nightline interview air recently (May 26, 2009), and it's really good. I'm not sure if CBD will allow the link to it, but I'll send it just in case: http://abcnews.go.com/Video/playerIndex?id=7684044
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for #1: When the Heart Cries, Sisters of the Quilt Series
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2009
This was probably one of the most difficult books I've ever read. I just dreaded reading about the horrible things that kept happening to Hannah and seeing how badly she was being treated by everyone especially her parents. Without spoiling the entire story, I was very disappointed at the way Hannah's situation was treated. I know that the Amish do not like to bring attention to themselves and are willing to forgive even the most heinous of crimes. However, that is no reason to blame your daughter for her getting raped! Then to top it off, the family doesn't press charges on the guy even though he might very well go and do the same thing to other women in the community! Rape is something in books that I feel justice must be served. I really hate it when I read about how the victim is blamed for the attack. It's one thing for the girl to blame herself from feelings of self guilt, but it's totally wrong when the PARENTS blame her for what happened. Hannah's whole life seems to be doomed from the beginning with Murphy's law just waiting for her at every corner. I will say though that if there's anyone in this story that is a positive influence to Hannah, it is her friend Mary. Even without knowing Hannah's problem and the fact that she's had a traumatic experience herself, Mary stays by Hannah's side throughout the book even to the point of defending her against the man she loves who happens to be Hannah's brother. It was interesting to learn more about the Amish lifestyle but as I said, the subject matter in this book made me uncomfortable and did not help to entice me to read the book. I just could not fathom being a parent, having your daughter be raped, blame her for it, refuse to do anything to help her, and then still call yourself a Christian. I do have the other two books in the series, and I know that things will eventually get better for Hannah. Hopefully it won't take me as long to finish those books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for #1: When the Heart Cries, Sisters of the Quilt Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Riva Goodwill
It was a very good book to read and made want to keep going .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for #1: When the Heart Cries, Sisters of the Quilt Series
This review is fromWhen the Heart Cries, Sisters of the Quilt Series #1 LGPT.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tammy
Great Book could not put it down. Loved it can't wait to start next book. Characters you can relate to and helps keep the focus on GOD at same time. Like to read inspirational book like this
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for #1: When the Heart Cries, Sisters of the Quilt Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Linda Flaugh
This book was very good. I would recommend it for readers who are interested in the Amish ways of living.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for #1: When the Heart Cries, Sisters of the Quilt Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sandra Haight
Ths is a wonderful series. I have never read this author and will certainly read anything she publishes. She is right up there with Tracy peterson nd the like.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for #1: When the Heart Cries, Sisters of the Quilt Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Barb Brown
The book was great. I truly enjoyed the first book in this series and will no doubt be reading them more than once.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.