Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press Bad Girls of the Bible: And What We Can Learn From Them, DVD Edition

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

WaterBrook Press Bad Girls of the Bible: And What We Can Learn From Them, DVD Edition

Women everywhere marvel at those "good girls" in Scripture - Sarah, Mary, Esther - but on most days, that's not who they see when they look in the mirror. Most women (if they're honest) see the selfishness of Sapphira or the deception of Delilah. They catch a glimpse of Jezebel's take-change pride or Eve's disastrous disobedience. Like Bathsheba, Herodias, and the rest, today's modern woman is surrounded by temptations, exhausted by the demands of daily living, and burdened by her own desires.

So what's a good girl to do? Learn from their lives, says beloved humor writer Liz Curtis Higgs, and by God's grace, choose a better path. In Bad Girls of the Bible, Higgs offers a unique and clear-sighted approach to understanding those "other women" in Scripture, combining a contemporary retelling of their stories with a solid, verse-by-verse study of their mistakes and what lessons women today can learn from them.

Average Customer Rating:
3.7 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
1 out of 333%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bad Girls of the Bible: And What We Can Learn From Them, DVD Edition
Review 1 for Bad Girls of the Bible: And What We Can Learn From Them, DVD Edition
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

DVD needs work

Date:January 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
jzdce
Location:Canton, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The DVD, while good in content, is difficult to use. One lesson just runs into the next. It is hard to know where to stop the lesson and how to begin again if you are doing this over multiple weeks. Needs major improvement.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bad Girls of the Bible: And What We Can Learn From Them, DVD Edition
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

You do not need this DVD to teach the study

Date:February 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
oldteacher
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was not what I expected as a "help" for teaching the bible study "Bad Girls of the Bible." It was only the author giving a preview of her book at a church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bad Girls of the Bible: And What We Can Learn From Them, DVD Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Angie
Location:Wellington, New Zealand
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the way Liz presented the bad women of the Bible because it was straightforwardly explained how these
women succumbed to temptations and how she correlated
God's teachings in the bible without complications. Very easy to understand and very amusing. First time to hear
her and I am already a big fan of Liz. cheers
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bad Girls of the Bible: And What We Can Learn From Them, DVD Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ising4him
What better way to understand the author than to see and hear her words? Wonderful addition to our bible study!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bad Girls of the Bible: And What We Can Learn From Them, DVD Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sandra Perkins
What a great DVD and what a funny lady. She keeps you laughing, yet brings home the truths of the "Bad Girls". We can all relate to them in some manner and Liz Curtis Higgs tells us how to turn our "bad" selves into women that can be used by God, just like these Bad Girls were. I loved it and plan to buy the other Bad Girls DVDs.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bad Girls of the Bible: And What We Can Learn From Them, DVD Edition
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Betty Rahming
I thought this was a movie not a seminar. I'm glad I only ordered just one version instead of all of the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bad Girls of the Bible: And What We Can Learn From Them, DVD Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Evelyn Tembo
A very good summary of some of the main points in her book. Quite funny too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bad Girls of the Bible: And What We Can Learn From Them, DVD Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Osheim-owen
I had given a stack of Bible Studies to one of our Women's groups to choose; They chose Bad Girls of the Bible. I had done the study once before, and the DVD helped to give them a taste of what we were going to be studying over the next few months. Liz does a great job of showing her enthusiasm for her work and especially the first in the series. Thanks Liz!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bad Girls of the Bible: And What We Can Learn From Them, DVD Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Gail Gower
Liz did a wonderful job of presenting the Bad Girls of the Bible. she is able to put their story in modern day situations that we can relate to. We can learn lots from Liz and the Bad Girls of the Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bad Girls of the Bible: And What We Can Learn From Them, DVD Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sheila Adams
Liz at her best. I have watched this again and again. With humor, Liz get the message across loud and clear. Would make a great gift for a non believer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.