Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press A Mile in My Flip-Flops

WaterBrook Press A Mile in My Flip-Flops

With a freshly broken heart, Gretchen Hanover swaps her wedding plans for home improvement shows---she's going to flip a house! But when the place turns out to be in worse condition than she realized, her retired contractor father needs help and calls in carpenter Noah Campbell. A whimsical look at building relationships and renovating hearts! 336 pages, softcover from Waterbrook.
Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Mile in My Flip-Flops
Review 1 for A Mile in My Flip-Flops
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Darling book!

Date:May 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love anything that Melody Carlson writes. This storyline about a young woman renovating a house and the ups and downs that go with it was sheer delight. Worth the read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Mile in My Flip-Flops
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story

Date:February 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wanda Myers
Location:Dublin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband is a professional carpenter and I have helped him on many renovation projects throughout the years so when I saw this book by Melody Carlson I just had to read it. The plot of the book centers on Gretchen Hanover, a young woman who is reeling from a broken engagement. As solace for her broken heart, Gretchen has formed the habit of watching home improvement shows while eating ice cream. One day she decides to do more than just watch and the idea of flipping a house is born. She asks her retired contractor-father for help and he brings along his carpenter friend (who is single) and the fun begins.
Knowing something about the remodeling process added to my enjoyment of the story. I read about Gretchen getting in way over her head and wondered how she would work it all out. The tale was cute, funny and touching all in one nice package. I thoroughly enjoyed this story right from the very beginning all the way down to the satisfying ending.
I received this complimentary copy from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group through their Blogging for Books program. A positive review was not required and the opinions expressed here are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Mile in My Flip-Flops
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Really Liked It

Date:November 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jamocha
Location:Waynesboro, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gretchen's story has so many parts that I think many of us can relate to. She has been dealing with her broken engagement for 18 months now and has isolated herself during that time from others. She has come to the point where only 2 things comfort her: HGTV and Ben and Jerry's. How many of us can relate to at least one of those items? For me, it's definitely all about the ice cream. Mmmmmm! Gretchen has come up with a great plan to get out of her tiny one-bedroom apartment that she shares with her half chocolate Lab dog - she's going to flip a house. Having no real experience other than what she's "gathered" from observing her dad over the last 20 plus years, she believes she's ready and fully aware of what is involved in flipping a house. But, like many of us, Gretchen is unaware of what is really involved in a venture of this nature. She is a woman with a plan to make changes in her life, but even she isn't prepared for all of the changes God has in store for her. It's a great story that anyone who's done any remodeling can appreciate and the rest of us can certainly enjoy for other reasons. So follow Gretchen as she moves onto a new pathway in life and finds out that life is rewarding beyond her dreams!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Mile in My Flip-Flops
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2009
If you are a fan of the HGTV channel, you will love this book. This book focuses on the art of house flipping, where a person buys a house usually in disarray, renovates it completely and then goes back and sells it to make a profit. Gretchen seems to make a rash decision to pursue a dream of becoming a house flipper and uses up most of her savings to buy a decrepit house. Unfortunately things don't go as smoothly as she had planned. Pretty much everything that could go wrong goes wrong. While it probably wouldn't have been amusing to Gretchen, reading about her adventures was enjoyable and a hoot at times. I learned A LOT about not only house flipping but also the basics of renovation and upkeep. It was like reading an HGTV show.Gretchen's initial reaction to Noah is, while understandable, a bit put offish. I didn't like how she assumed that just because he was divorced, that meant that he was bad at making commitments. She didn't know the situation yet she was wrongly blaming him. However once the two finally settle their differences, they have excellent chemistry that is really fun to watch. Even better is when Noah's ex-wife comes on the scene which throws everyone for a loop. Another part of the story I liked was Gretchen's relationship with her father. I enjoyed reading about the two of them and especially her willingness to have him be involved with her house flipping plans. It's good to read about a father -daughter relationship, when no mother is involved, that's managed to stay pleasant and close throughout the years.If you're looking for a fun read to end the summer with, grab this book. It's lighthearted chick lit with a dose of learning about learning who the ultimate fixer-upper is. Melody Carlson's books have the power to take me from whatever I'm doing and draw me right into her books. Whether it's one of her YA books or her edgy adult fiction or like this book, fun chick lit I always know I'm going to be in for a good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Mile in My Flip-Flops
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Susan McClelland
I really enjoy reading Melody Carlson's books! They are very easy to read and I always get caught up in her stories. I am a big fan of HGTV and I love watching the shows about flipping houses,so I really related to this story line! I also had a very close relationship with my Dad before he passed so Gretchens relationship with her Dad touched my heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Mile in My Flip-Flops
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Margaret Beatty
This book was a great sumer read. Very funny with a strong message as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Mile in My Flip-Flops
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Erika Neary
Cute story, I enjoyed it very much and will be passing it on to friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Mile in My Flip-Flops
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2008
In the novel A Mile In My Flip Flops by Melody Carlson, Gretchen Hanover has become a recluse. Seeking solace in front of the tube watching Home and Garden TV with a container of Ben and Jerrys and a spoon, this charming leading lady tries to heal the heart broken by her fianc only four weeks before the wedding! With the help of friends and family and God, Gretchen rises like a phoenix from the ashes of broken promises to discover new life and new love.Melody writes a beautiful story full of wit and wisdom that inspires and teaches as it entertains. Her loveable characters come to life in vivid color. Gretchens strength and reliance on God really inspired me to get out of my own personal ruts and more actively pursue Gods will for my life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Mile in My Flip-Flops
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Reading Room Reviews
This is an adorable book laced with both humor and heart. As the description says, the book is about a thirty-something woman whose life has been turned upside down by heartache. She decides to do something new to get her out of her slump, but she finds it's not as easy as she imagined.Gretchen decides to try her hand at remodeling a house and she finds many parallels in this task to rebuilding her own life. She learns that life doesn't always meet our expectations, yet that doesn't necessarily mean it can't be worthwhile.I love Melody Carlson's books and this one is no different. I flew through it and passed it on to my twenty-something daughter who loved it too. It's a great read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Mile in My Flip-Flops
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2008
This is a humorous and touching story about a determined and eager "house-flipper" newbie named Gretchen. She has been a faithful viewer for 18 months now and knows she has an advantage most of these contestants don't have her father is a contractor. She has watched him build houses for years. She is confident and ready to tackle the challenge of flipping a house herself she's watched the shows and her dad, what more was there? Gretchen soon learns they don't show every possible scenario on "House-Flippers". And, just because she has watched her dad do construction all of her life, it's completely different when the hammer is in your own hand and you have to hit the nail on the head. The show and her dad made this look a lot easier than it is. Gretchen and her dad were going to renovate this house in six weeks. Wow!!Remodeling is stressful on family relationships - I know, I've lived it firsthand. Gretchen gleaned this from watching her TV show. She didn't want to put stress and strain on her relationship with her dad during this house flip. She wanted them to have fun. As a friend reminds Gretchen in the middle of this project, "Life doesn't always meet our expectations." How true that is. Gretchen learns many things about herself and life while remodeling this house. As Gretchen and her dad start to clean up this unbelievably horrible, smelly house, and start to make changes for the good, they uncover many surprises and challenges. Don't judge a book by its cover especially this one. I would have never suspected that this book was about "house-flipping" from the outside. But trust me when I say that you will totally enjoy the inside of this book. And, you may learn a thing or two about relationships, but there is definitely something to learn about "house-flipping". I love Melody Carlson's writing, the topic of this story and this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.