Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Random House, Inc Piece de Resistance, French Twist Series #3

Random House, Inc Piece de Resistance, French Twist Series #3

Having earned her chef's hat, Lexi Stuart bids au revoir to her glamorous and deliciously satisfying pastry mentorship outside of Paris and returns to her hometown of Seattle, Washington. There, she finds life unexpectedly complicated. She's put in charge of a high-end catering bakery called Bijoux, which should be her dream job, but there's a catch: She has to make this lavish bakery into a successful business in just a few, short months, which will require more than her ability to make an amazing wedding cake. In over her head and at a loss for creative marketing ideas, Lexi isn't sure what this recipe for success needs to be. Stir in a complicated relationship with her French beau Philippe and his daughter, Celine, then add a dash of romance with down-to-earth lawyer Dan, and life suddenly contains more ooh la la than Lexi can handle.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Piece de Resistance, French Twist Series #3
Review 1 for Piece de Resistance, French Twist Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 28, 2013
**This is a review for the whole series**
As you may have noticed, if I read fiction it tends to be of a made up world or historical. I don’t read a lot of contemporary fiction, I guess I like that history/the past won’t change and they’re timeless. And Hobbits are going to be awesome until the end of time (a given).
But that doesn’t mean I never do, especially when it’s from an author I like! I’ve enjoyed all of Sandra Byrd’s novels up until now, so I knew that wasn’t going to change.
Plus, I’m not gonna lie, that fact that part of the story takes place in France already had me liking it. You don’t go through life with the last name Lapeyrolerie and not have a soft spot for all things French.
The story follows Lexi, a girl in her mid twenties trying to figure out life. She loves France, food and cooking. And while she’s not obsessed with it, she wouldn’t mind a little love too. I kinda chuckled because I was thinking “girl, it’s the same shenanigans at 30 ;) .” Lexi’s story really could be any of my friends (plus one is living overseas right now, I’ll be sure to let her know what’s in store for her ;) . That’s one reason why I enjoyed it so much!
There’s three books in the series (Let Them Eat Cake, Bon Appetit, Piece de Resistance) and each are quick and entertaining reads.
After reading a well written book, I can’t help but sit back at be wowed by the skill of creative writing. It’s no easy thing friends and I’m glad there are authors out like Byrd who know how to create and tell a story! Not matter what time period she writes about, the result from Byrd will the same: entertaining and engaging reads.
And dang it! Why can’t I speak French?? I swear I would be at least 7 points cooler.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Piece de Resistance, French Twist Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Robin Bayne
A delicious journey of love, career and caring. Lexi is a wonderful heroine who has her feet on the ground and her baked goods in the oven. Don't read this book on an empty stomach or a low-carb diet.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Piece de Resistance, French Twist Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patsy Oshea
I had great expectations prior to reading the last book in Sandra Byrds French twist series Piece de Rsistance. To put it simply I was not disappointed. Sandra once again filled Lexi Stuarts life with suspense and unexpected adventures. I would compare her French twist series to eating French pastry it takes at least three pieces to be completely satisfied.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Piece de Resistance, French Twist Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Barb Salzer
This third book in the French Twist series truly is the piece de resistance. Sandra Byrd has struck just the right balance between fun and conflict in the life of Lexi Stuart. Without being heavyhanded, she has showcased attitudes that can either help or hinder a lasting relationship.I felt like I was right there with Lexi through the different situations she found herself in. This is a character we can relate to. I very much enjoyed this book and absolutely LOVED the way it ended. Excellent work, Sandra!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Piece de Resistance, French Twist Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sherilyn
If you have not had the pleasure of reading this book or any of the books in this series, it is a must! I'm so glad that I was unexpectedly given the first book (Let Them Eat Cake) in this series. You will fall in love with the characters in this series, and want to follow them along. The only thing disappointing is coming to the end and finishing the book. You won't be ready for it to end!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Piece de Resistance, French Twist Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Martha Artyomenko
I read the book before this as well as this one. I have to say when I finished the other book, I figured the story would go a certain way, and this book took it a whole different direction than I thought. It seemed sort of like life to me, you think "Wow, things are going this way!!" You are excited and then God takes you down a whole other path! Sandra makes you hungry once again in this novel of French baking, sprinkled with the French language and assorted recipes. You start craving cake as Lexi struggles through working with a co-worker that is not all that easy, romance issues and a business that needs some help to survive, along with sometimes a lack of confidence in her skills. A fun light romantic read, with romance coming from other directions than you thought, this is one when you really don't want to think and just enjoy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Piece de Resistance, French Twist Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Pice de Rsistance by Sandra Byrd is the third and final volume in the French Twist series following Lexi Stuart in her quest to become successful in work and love. It picks up immediately after Bon Appetit with Lexi returning home from Paris to Seattle to start a pastry and wedding cake shop, Bijoux, under the Delacroix family banner. Torn between the affections of her suave French boss Philippe and his adorable daughter Celine and all-American lawyer Dan, Lexi isn't sure which mans holds the key to her future, but before she can fall in love, she has to make her business a success, despite working with Philippe's cranky sister, Margot, as well as finding her place in God's community. Byrd's writing should come with a warning label; I'm sure I gained ten pounds just reading about all of the delectable treats she describes with such care. Her romance is fresh and without cliches. Lexi focuses on the book of Philippians in her reading, giving readers a taste of its powerful message as well. I can't wait to see Byrd's next project.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Piece de Resistance, French Twist Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2009
What I love about this series is that it combines everything I love in just one story. There's the chick lit style of writing. Then there is the talk of travel to places I've always wanted to visit. Next there is the glorious food that thankfully does not cause you to gain weight from reading about it. Finally, the wonderful characters that keep you enthralled and always wanting more. In this installment, Lexi returns to Seattle from her experience as a chef in Paris. Now back at home, she is given the opportunity to run her own bakery. Of course things don't run as smoothly as hoped and Lexi must struggle with her dreams as well as being practical. Reading this book was like watching Ace of Cakes with a French kick. It's filled with wonderful pastries, cakes and all sorts of delectable treats. Lexi is a character I would love to know in real life. Her experiences throughout the series have been fun to read and it's been a delight to watch her fulfill her dreams.The romance in this story was really great as well. I don't know how Lexi was able to make her final choice between the two men. Of course there were little situations that helped out this dilemma but otherwise it would have been incredibly difficult to pick between the two of them. I also really liked her relationship with Philippe's daughter. It's very sweet. There is absolutely no fault with this book other that I am really really sad that this is the last book in the series. I feel as if I've really gotten to know Lexi and about baking and the French culture through these stories. You must be careful not to be around food while reading this book or you will find the pages of the book covered in crumbs. If you are looking for a chick lit book, are a foodie, or love to travel, then this series is absolutely perfect for you. This book has inspired me to go find a bakery, preferably a French bakery and indulge in at least one item mentioned in this book. VERY HIGHLY recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Piece de Resistance, French Twist Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2009
Well, its a happy day and a sad day. A happy day because I just finished reading Piece de Resistance and I loved it. Its a sad day because now the French Twist series is all over. I have loved this series since the very beginning and I will miss these characters and all the wonderful cakes!Piece de Resistance was everything I hoped it would be and more. There were some delightful surprises and adorable new characters. All the loose ends were tied up and the book ended exactly the way I was hoping it would. I was afraid that this book, being the last in the series, might seem rushed and that there might be too much tension between Lexi and her beaus. This was just simply not the case. The book, the writing, the characters, the story, all had a nice natural flow that made for a wonderfully light, relaxing read.If Piece de Resistance sounds like a book you would enjoy, take my advice and read the entire French Twist series from the beginning. You can follow Piece de Resistance just fine without reading the other books, but they are all so good, you dont want to miss any of them. This has been one of my favorite series and Piece de Resistance did not let me down one bit, a wonderful way to finish a wonderful series. Enjoy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Piece de Resistance, French Twist Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Amie Skeith
Fantastique! I really enjoy the way Sandra writes her books. I find her books to be refreshing, inspiring, wholesome, and lots of fun. Lexi expressed words that she doesnt doubt Gods ability to pull anything off. Only His will to do it the way that I wanted needed it to happen. This rings true in my own life as well as many others Im sure. Although Lexi is a fictional character I can really relate with her. Piece de Resistance doesnt disappoint.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Piece de Resistance, French Twist Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2009
I have been aching to read Sandra Byrds Piece de Resistance. This wonderful novel picks up where Bon Apetit left off. Lexi has returned to Seattle from her bakery training in Paris to run the latest Delacroix Bakery. She is running into some challenges and is unsure if she can do it. She hopes that her interpretation of events and her study of Philippians is leading her in the right direction. She is also at a crossroads in her love life. Will she choose Dan, the Seattle lawyer, who makes her heart skip a beat when he enters a room? Or Philippe, the exotic Frenchman with the beautiful little Celine, who has captured Lexis heart?Byrds writing sparkles like the Bijoux Bakery. I was riveted from cover to cover. The suspense builds as the story progresses, drawing the reader into a deep investment into Lexis personal and professional choices. Youll believe that these characters live right next door to you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Piece de Resistance, French Twist Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Angela Rogers
Peice De Resistance is the third book in the series by Sandra Byrd. Having read the first in the series, Let Them Eat Cake, I was excited to read Peice De Resistance and wasn't disappointed. I immediately was able to pick up with Lexi Stuart even though I missed the 2nd book of the series, Bon Appetit. In this third installment, Lexi has just returned to the States after spending some time in Paris doing an internship, her dream world. Now coming back to the states, she is faced with living in a retirement center, opening a new bakery and making it profitable and trying to straighten out her love life. What more can a girl ask for? Sandra Byrd's characters are always well thought out, and developed. I love Lexi for her faults as much as I do for her strengths. A wonderful, light hearted read
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.