Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B. B. Kirkbride NIV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather 1984

B. B. Kirkbride NIV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather 1984

For years the unique Thompson Chain-Reference system has been a favorite study tool, and for good reason. Easy to learn and use, the Thompson Chain-Reference system contains over 100,000 topical references in over 8,000 chain topics, helping to make in-depth topical study and lesson preparation easier and more efficient. The Thompson Chain is also known for its excellent archaeological supplement and extensive collection of charts, diagrams, and other illustrations. Other features include a revised concordance, 16 pages of full-color maps, words of Christ in red, and Smythe Sewn reinforced tubular construction, which lies flat and provides a durable binding that will hold up to heavy use for years.

Features:

  • Thompson Chain-Reference System---over 100,000 marginal references covering 8,000 completed chain topics
  • Thompson instant-use guide included
  • NIV concordance
  • Numerical index of chain topics
  • Alphabetical index
  • Outline studies of the Bible
  • Bible character studies
  • Bible harmonies and illustrated studies
  • Hebrew calendar
  • Index to the Scriptures atlas
  • 8 point type
  • Double-column format
  • Wide margins
  • References in margins
  • Words of Christ in red
  • Subject headings
  • Concordance
  • Full-color maps
  • Archaeological supplement
  • Ribbon marker
  • Gold gilded page edges
  • Smythe Sewn
  • Black bonded leather
  • 7" x 91/2" x 11/2"

Average Customer Rating:
4.862 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 1593%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NIV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather 1984
Review 1 for NIV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for topical research on the go.

Date:November 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
yewneek
Location:Overland Park, KS
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been in Bible studies where rabbit trails are neither appropriate or are tabled for later discussion. In others, rabbit trails are chased down until exhausted. This Bible fits this need very well. You read a scripture that regards a topic, you look up the chain on that topic, hmm, that chain refers to this scripture who mentions a person, who is that person, hmm, that was in that place, where is that? And so it goes as God uses another resource to weave our way through His Word.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NIV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful

Date:May 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Minister Dwight
Location:Bronx, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is wonderful, very useful tool in teaching the bible to the average person.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NIV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The product is great! Beyond expectations! Highly

Date:April 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cam connect
Location:Maryland
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do your spirit a favor, buy this bible and grow your spiritual knowledge and understanding!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NIV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Product

Date:February 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Teege
Location:Sydney, Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have two bibles and this is perfect. Great value for money. All arrived in great condition
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NIV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
JETSET
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have Thompson chain link for many years. This one is for my grandson he like his too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NIV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather 1984
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Inside is good but cover could be better

Date:July 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
anitasjm
Location:Kildeer,IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was glad to order a Thompson Chain Bible since I have had one for the last 20 years. I was disappointed in the cover since the binding has the word Thompson bigger than the word Bible. Some might not be bothered by this but I am.
The contents are great as always.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NIV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Bible

Date:February 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
RLittles
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm very impressed with the quality of this Bible. I enjoy the chain reference, the concordance, and the appendices. I would recommend this Bible to anyone that is seriously interested in an Bible for Bible study and research.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NIV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
n3wzu
Location:Maryland
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this study Bible almost everyday. It is great study tool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NIV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Study Bible!

Date:October 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robert
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have being using this bible since 1989. I wore out my last one. This purchase was leather with my name engraved. i love it. 1984 NIV Great value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NIV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Heather
Location:Woodstock, Ga
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am really enjoying my new Thompson Chain-Reference Bible. It is easy to use and has very helpful tools in locating information quickly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NIV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible especially for Bible Study.

Date:May 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
LadyT
Location:St Charles, MD
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first used my new bible in Sunday school, then I used it for my personal bible study. I had a goodtime using the references and the maps. I'm glad I made this choice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NIV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This study bible exceeds expectations

Date:May 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
nawdw
Location:Indianapolis, In
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are many study bibles on the market to choose from, but the Thompson Chain Reference stands above them all. This reference has always made bible study easy, but also allows believers to go far beyond the initial point of study. Proverbs 3 says that we are to search for wisdom like a hidden treasure. I believe that the Thompson Chain Reference does just that; it helps and encourages the seeker to dig deeper.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NIV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It was just what she wanted.

Date:December 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
jfisher
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my 40 something sister for Christmas. She has recently rededicated herself to the Lord and wanted a Bible that would help her dig deeper. It came promptly and in good shape. She said it was just what she wanted. I would like to have a better choice on covers. It is boring and not the most attractive Bible I've seen, but the content is great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NIV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thompson Chain Reference W/Thumb tabs

Date:October 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
mercano
Location:Woodland, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This chain reference bible is a replacement for a larger version of the same bible. Although smaller, it is still a very good reference material and satisfies the need for topical study. The thumb tabs are handy too. As a topical study tool this one is grerat!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NIV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just what I needed

Date:October 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Juliette
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a fairly new Christian I am looking to read and learn the Bible. This Bible in particular is perfect for a newbie, such as myself because it has references and definitions and the like, which makes it easier to understand. Overall, I'm happy with my purchase!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NIV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debby Sire
I'm happy with the Bible. It's loaded with information and once I learn how to use all the information I'm looking forward to delving deeper into the Bible
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NIV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rev. Wilf Flavell
I have used the KJV Thonpson Chain bible since Bible School in 1964. This NIV is jsut as great to work with, and provides sermon material at your fingertips when using the chain reference and book analysis.I purchased the hard cover book as a gift to a bible college student. It is afordable and a great study tool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NIV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cathlene Thomas
Just what I was looking for. I m sure it will get tons of use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NIV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Elaine Silveus
Very nice bible with good size print...I am very pleased with this bible and highly recommend it for those who love the Thompson Chain-Reference System.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NIV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Victoria Davis
I found this bible to be very informative and well designed. I love reading and researching and this bible makes it so easy to do that. The bible character studies, the marginal references, and maps make this one a Bible I will surely treasure and use throughout my lifelong study of God's word. I will be getting several of these in the near future for my grown children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>