Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B. B. Kirkbride NKJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather

B. B. Kirkbride NKJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather

For years the unique Thompson Chain-Reference system has been a favorite study tool, and for good reason. Easy to learn and use, the Thompson Chain-Reference system contains over 100,000 topical references in over 8,000 chain topics, helping to make in-depth topical study and lesson preparation easier and more efficient. The Thompson Chain is also known for its excellent archaeological supplement and extensive collection of charts, diagrams, and other illustrations. Other features include a revised concordance, 16 pages of full-color maps, words of Christ in red, and Smythe Sewn reinforced tubular construction, which lies flat and provides a durable binding that will hold up to heavy use for years.

Features:

  • Thompson Chain-Reference System---over 100,000 marginal references covering 8,000 completed chain topics
  • Thompson instant-use guide included
  • NKJV concordance
  • Numerical index of chain topics
  • Alphabetical index
  • Outline studies of the Bible
  • Bible character studies
  • Bible harmonies and illustrated studies
  • Hebrew calendar
  • Index to the Scriptures atlas
  • 8 point type
  • Double-column format
  • Wide margins
  • References in margins
  • Words of Christ in red
  • Subject headings
  • Concordance
  • Full-color maps
  • Archaeological supplement
  • Ribbon marker
  • Gold gilded page edges
  • Smythe Sewn
  • Black bonded leather
  • 7" x 91/2" x 11/2"

Average Customer Rating:
4.76 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 1995%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NKJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather
Review 1 for NKJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The product is great!

Date:November 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
SAND
Age:45-54
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend adding a family linage in the opening pages of this bible. Otherwise this is a great product, God bless you all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NKJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It is everything I hoped it would be.

Date:June 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
John Tompkins
Location:Washington State
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The print seemed a little larger and darker and easer to read than the previous NIV that I had. Could have been print size or because of the excellent paper quality. There are more verses printed out in the chain index. All the verse numbers were clearly before the verse and I don't have to look between the lines for the number.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NKJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thompson Chain is a great reference Bible

Date:March 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Karen Caridi
Location:PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Thompson Chain Bible I ordered was exactly what I was looking for and the price was quite good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NKJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
sue 1
Location:Eastpointe,MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great bible, was a christmas gift for my husband who totally loves it, especially with the thumb print came at a reasonablly time frame.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NKJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My favorite out of many!

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
jeity
Location:Idaho
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This Study Bible is outstanding! The chain reference is an invaluable tool. It lists not only the beginning of the verses under a word or theme but often gives you the entire verses, so you don't have to go thumping through the Bible when you are reading out cross-references!! Overall, you are still drawing the Truth out yourself, and you have TONS of Bible study outlines in the back! You have pages like "Life of Jesus, Paul"..many illustrations, like "The last hours of Jesus on the cross" "Jesus' last days"...and many other pages that summarize important facts about God's Truth! The concordance is very thorough and The archeological part is super encouraging as there are also photos of the different sites and a description to each "item". I love the red letter edition. If there is anything I should have payed more attention to, it would be the font size, which is still totally okay. I prefer a little bigger font size than 7.5 or 8. I own this Bible in the NIV translation and it has a bigger font, but I prefer the NKJV. This Bible will never get old! Great, great study Bible!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NKJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

See below

Date:February 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pablo
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Both Nancy & I use the TCR Bible in preparation in preparation for Bible studies. We were long overdue in securing it.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NKJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Purchase

Date:February 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Momma Nana
Location:Central Mississippi
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this Bible for my daughter's 28th birthday. It is a fabulous study Bible. She's only had it a few days but has stayed up late every night studying from this Bible. I am so pleased with this Bible! If you can get them to open the Bible ... read It ... PLUS study It ... It just doesn't get any better than that! This Bible will do just that!!! I will be purchasing two more for my son's! How wonderful it is to have the entire family studying the Bible!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NKJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Day
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although I have used other Bibles, this is the only Bible I have purchased for the past 20+ years. The tools and study aids found within this Bible makes it virtually unnecessary to have to use any other book. For the price, it is one of the best values in a study Bible. You certainly cannot go wrong with this purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NKJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
E. L. Daniell
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Pastor recommended this bible and it is a great source for the true student of the bible. E L Daniell
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NKJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

disappointed

Date:August 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
sas9
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The chain references are great but the print is small so not of much use. I received the bible with my initials imprinted on the back of the bible. Its a disappointment because normally the quality is excellent.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NKJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God's Word for serious Believers

Date:May 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mrs M
Location:North FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thompson's is the Bible for every devout Believer. Easy access to similar Scriptures, minimal personal/denominational commentary, and room for notes in the margins. The best study Bible available.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NKJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Diane
Location:new york state
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thank you so much for the Bible . it is more then I expected
Praise God and Thank you Jesus
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NKJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this bible has too many study features

Date:May 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
brut
Location:WA STATE
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Thompson Bible is useful book for everybody who like BIBLE and want to study it. It has exclusive information.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NKJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT STUDY BIBLE!!!

Date:March 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ken Gomillia
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Thompson Chain-Reference Bible is by far the greatest study bible I have ever laid my hands on. It gives you every important tool you need for serious Bible study, without the noisy commentary...all in ONE VOLUME!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NKJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
blondie
Location:mpls, mn
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Chain referencing is a little complicated, haven't had much time yet using the bible. First Bible I've ever purchased on the advice of my Pastor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NKJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I would recommend this product to everyone

Date:February 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jack
Location:Scottsburg, In
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used the Thompson Chain Bible for many years and I would say that this one is the best yet.
If I were to only have only one book or Bible to put together a sermon with it would be the Thompson Chain Bible. It has always served me well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NKJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Angie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent study bible that can be used for years.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NKJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Bible is great & great references

Date:December 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Robbin Grill
Location:Boscawen, NH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Bible for my husband and he absolutely loves it. He has an extensive library of Bibles, but he is using this one all the time now.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NKJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Song of Songs
Location:Alcoa, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This precious Bible was purchased on-line, shipped, at a substantial savings that even the local "Discount Christian Store" couldn't match.
"Meets Expectations":
The Bible was purchased as a Christmas/Birthday present for my dad, so I can't say how the Bible's binding will hold up, which was one of the concerns for the replacement of his old Bible.
My short term expectations, receiving an excellent product for an excellent price in a timely manner, exceeded my expectations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NKJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nikita Bailey
i find this bible to be an excellent study guide. i do recommend this study bible for the serious bible student.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>