Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press Ruby Among Us, La Rosaleda Series #1

WaterBrook Press Ruby Among Us, La Rosaleda Series #1

A sweeping saga of three generations of women set among the lush vineyards of Sonoma Valley! Scarred by grief, Kitty strives to keep hidden secrets buried with her daughter Ruby. But her granddaughter Lucy yearns to learn about the mother she barely remembers. Will Lucy's discovery of betrayals and longings tear the family apart? 336 pages, softcover from Waterbrook.
Average Customer Rating:
4.882 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Ruby Among Us, La Rosaleda Series #1
Review 1 for Ruby Among Us, La Rosaleda Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
R. Thomasson
Lucy is only eight years old when her mother Ruby dies from an asthma attack. Kitty, Lucy's grandmother raises her and loves her as her own. Lucy is an introverted sort who seems to hold in her emotions and her questions about her mother's past. She starts to come out of her shell when she begins college and meets new friends. Lucy blames herself for her mother's death years ago because she could not find the inhalor for her mother's asthma quick enough. Lucy wants desperately to learn about her past with her mother, but Kitty is reluctant to reveal family secrets which affect them all. This is a story of long-suffering, hidden secrets and finally forgiveness. I have "Ruby Among Us" in my high school library, I recommend it often because these days, many students need love and forgiveness in their own lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ruby Among Us, La Rosaleda Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Megan DiMaria
Tina Forkners debut novel Ruby Among Us is beautifully written and transports you to the lush, rich Sonoma Valley. Rubys daughter, Lucy, struggles to put the pieces together to discover the story of her deceased mother. Her efforts bring into focus not only Rubys story but that of Kitty, the grandmother who raised her, and the story of Lucy herself. Ruby Among Us is a tale of generational love and finding redemption from the past by dealing with the present. I loved the story of Ruby, Kitty, and Lucy and fell in love with the beautiful language and moving prose penned by Forkner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ruby Among Us, La Rosaleda Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tara Robertson
Ruby Among Us is an inspiring novel about faith and forgiveness and the relationships between mothers and daughters. The characters are well developed and I enjoyed getting to know them as I read the story. The storyline drew me in and kept me interested the whole way through. I look forward to reading the next book in this series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ruby Among Us, La Rosaleda Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Carol Hazen
A great book for anyone who has had an abortion who is unwilling to forgive themselves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ruby Among Us, La Rosaleda Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Megan
"Ruby Among Us" is an outstanding novel from debut author Tina Ann Forkner. The story of 3 generations of women and the men they love is woven among the lush scenery of the places they cherish. Long-held family secrets unravel in a unique writing style that brings the characters to life and is at the same time both honest and sensitive about topics rarely brought out in Christian fiction. This is a fast-paced read that at times leaves you breathless to learn both the history and the future of characters you come to love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ruby Among Us, La Rosaleda Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
bigguysmama
In "Ruby Among Us", we enter a deep and wonderful world in CA wine country. Lucy grows up living with her grandma, or Kitty, as she's called. Tina's debut as an author is definitely a successful one. She draws us into Lucy and Kitty's world with a deep emotional pull.Lucy wants to know about her past and Kitty wants to forget it. As Lucy grows up, her family history becomes a passion and Tina has a way with her words that makes it our passion as well.As I finished this book, I realized I was looking back at my life and how certain decisions I made completely changed my life. I appreciate that about this book, and it was totally unexpected.This book was extremely well written and I would suggest having a box of tissues at the end. :o)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ruby Among Us, La Rosaleda Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Writer Woman
I didn't know what to expect when I received Ruby Among Us in the mail, but it didn't take long for the story to pull me in. Michelle expresses it well when she says that the story starts heavy, but the weight is necessary to understand why Lucy, the protagonist thinks, acts and feels the way she does. She yearns to remember her mother Ruby who died when Lucy was eight years old, yet grandmother Kitty is hesitant to fill in the many missing pieces of the puzzle that makes up their heritage. As time passes the pieces of her family's past fall into place for Lucy and she finds she has come full circle, rediscovering herself and a faith in God she thought she never had.I loved this book. Forkner's writing style brings alive the setting in a way that the Sonoma Valley becomes a character on its own. She opens up her characters hearts and draws the reader inside until you almost feel as though you are one with them.I look forward to many more books from Ms. Forkner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ruby Among Us, La Rosaleda Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Ruby Among Us starts with a heavy theme, but it's important in order to understand Lucy's perspective throughout the story. If you love and miss your mother who has passed on, this story will move you to tears of healing and unleash memories of love. My mother had gone to be with the Lord for over ten years now, and reading Ruby Among Us sparked memories of loving times as I reached the conclusion of the book. I don't want to give away any key plot points because half the pull of this story is not knowing imporant things about Lucy, Kitty and Ruby's pasts, and wanting so desperately to find out that you have trouble putting the book down. Forkner's writing style and voice is fresh, unique, and insightful. It's beautiful how she pulls you into the heart and mind of someone sheltered from life so much that she truly is an innocent in many of the things that take place around her. But the fresh, healing experiences she embraces, and her journey toward trusting others outside her immediate family is exciting and deep. And the romantic portions of this book are WONDERFUL and exciting. I felt my heart being tugged and moved with the tiny steps of faith that Lucy made toward healing...and toward love. For someone who has always had a father in her life, it was eye-opening for me to see how truly painful it is for a young woman to never have a father figure in her life. In fact, so much pain is evoked that the hurt can taint choices and destroy a young woman's security for years to come. Our culture has tried very hard to shut down the importance of a man's role in a family and in a daughter's heart. Ruby Among Us beautifully illustrates how erroneous this belief is. For that reason alone I would love to see many men embrace this book. The bummer is that this story was so good I'm sad it had to end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ruby Among Us, La Rosaleda Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jennifer AlLee
Every family has secrets. For Lucy DiCamillo, who lost all memory of her early childhood at the time of her mother's tragic death, it seems that every day uncovers something knew to deal with. In Ruby Among Us Tina Ann Forkner weaves together memorable characters and a unique setting to create a standout debut novel. She explores the complicated relationships between mothers and daughters with honesty, and shows how the secrets we keep inside can eat us alive. This novel is a mixture of heartbreak, reconciliation and joy. I thoroughly enjoyed every bit of it, and look forward to the next offering from this talented new author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ruby Among Us, La Rosaleda Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cindy Armstrong
I finished Ruby last night and loved it! Now, I want to go back and read it slower so I can absorb more. When I read a good book, I speed through it to get to the end to see what the big kicker is, etc., but I never read the end of the book first. So, now, I want to go back and sink into all of the descriptors and pictures youve drawn.I really enjoyed your story, although, Ill have to admit, I could see myself in it a few timesscary..so, if that is what you were trying to doGood Job! I can see why you have had such wonderful reviews on your book, and now Ill be first in line for your second one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ruby Among Us, La Rosaleda Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Barbara
When I began reading Ruby Among Us there was no way I could put it down. I stayed with it until I was finished with it and it left me wanting more. It is a precious story of a daughters love for a mother and grandmother. Every mother and daughter will relate to this book. It is filled with excitement and wonderment and you find yourself feeling like you are right there in the sonoma valley with the characters of the book. The author does a fantastic job of relating the history of the sonoma valley while telling her story. I can't wait for it to debut so I can purchase it. It is such a moving story. Women and men alike will fall in love with the chracters in this story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ruby Among Us, La Rosaleda Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
DK Roy
Ruby Among Us is an excellent novel that makes you think of the relationships that surround us and inspires you to search out your family heritage. Lucy is a young woman with a past that is a mystery to her. With the help of her grandmother, the truth about her family is unwoven before you. This novel is beautifully written by Tina Ann Forkner to draw you into to the picturesque area of Northern California and into the characters themselves. Forkner writes Ruby Among Us with an intrigue that keeps you reading to the very last page
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ruby Among Us, La Rosaleda Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Laura
This is a tale well told by a gifted young writer. Forkner does a great job of drawing you into a story of a daughter searching for her forgotten past and her uncertain future. Lucy stuggles between her desire to know and her fear of what she may find as she unweaves the mystery of her mother whom she barely remembers and her grandmother that has her own secrets. It is candid and honest with a strong spiritial thread throughout.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ruby Among Us, La Rosaleda Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Helen Newman
Tina Forkner's first novel shows much skill in character development for a beginning writer. As Lucy realizes she does not really remember her mother, she matures before our eyes. She also remembers the importance of the faith she and her mother shared. The events and other characters in the story add to the mystery and intrigue that kept me involved in the novel until the very end. I highly recommend Forkner's novel and I look forward to more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ruby Among Us, La Rosaleda Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2008
This is a very thought provoking and moving book. Tina tells a tale that is intense. The plot is intricately woven with many twists and turns. The curiosity, pain and deep yearning of Lucy to get to the truth of her life, her mothers life and her grandmothers kept me reading this book every chance I could get to see if the truth would ever come out. This book showed me a word picture for John 8:32 which says You will know the truth and the truth will set you free. Lucy longed to be free of the family secrets but how? Kitty was the keeper of the family secrets. Her heart was broken and her spirit crushed by the storms of life. Kitty felt that she had to hold onto these secrets to survive. This book showed another word picture for Psalm 34:18 which says The Lord is close to the broken hearted; He rescues those whose spirits are crushed. This story also is about forgiveness, redemption, and new beginnings. I was compelled to keep reading this rich story to find out if Lucy could put the pieces of her life together. The life she never knew she had. Her Heritage. Its definitely a page turner!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ruby Among Us, La Rosaleda Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Gramma Kim
Before Lucy can confidently face her future, she must uncover her past...and her seeking gains much more than coveted memories. This debut novel is intricately woven with threads of grace. If you enjoy a literary feel in women's fiction, you will enjoy RUBY AMONG US.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Ruby Among Us, La Rosaleda Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2008
In her debut novel, Forkner explores the relationship between three generations of mothers and daughters with the sensitivity of a seasoned novelist. When her young, single-mother dies, eight-year-old Lucy loses her memories of Ruby. Grandmother Kitty moves in to raise Lucy. But as Lucy grows up, she's no longer satisfied with Kitty's memories of Ruby. Lucy wants her own and begins to search for them. Forkner does an extraordinary job of drawing the reader into the mystery surrounding Lucy's heritage and her grandmother's past. As she struggles to regain some memory of Ruby and delve into the secrets everyone else seems to know, you'll feel as if you're walking beside Lucy, discovering each piece of the puzzle with her. I loved how Forkner resisted telling too much before Lucy discovered it, which created a very credible tale. If you're a mother or a daughter, you're going to love Ruby Among Us. I give it a high recommendation and look forward to more from this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.