Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Value Books Wonderful Names of Our Wonderful Lord

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Barbour Value Books Wonderful Names of Our Wonderful Lord

Average Customer Rating:
4.146 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
2
3 out of 560%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wonderful Names of Our Wonderful Lord
Review 1 for Wonderful Names of Our Wonderful Lord
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So many names I did not know!

Date:April 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jeannie Donaldson
Location:Statesboro, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been reading one name a night as a devotional. There are so many more names than the typical ones we all think of. It has been a blessing to read these names in Scripture, then meditate on what it means to me to address Jesus by that particular name.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wonderful Names of Our Wonderful Lord
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Incomplete

Date:May 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
SaddFrogg
Location:Southern California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Only 160 names of God from Old and new testament. Not nearly comprehensive enough. I was very disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wonderful Names of Our Wonderful Lord
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

not at all what I expected

Date:April 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
marygems
Location:new zealand
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
A book about the Names of the Lord such as Jehovah Jireh, El Adonai, and many more is what I was wanting. This book had lots of obscure names such as 'A Stranger and an Alien', and ' Rain upon mown grass'- while these might be references to The Lord, I wouldn't call the 'names'~!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wonderful Names of Our Wonderful Lord
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
whiteblonde
Location:Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these as Christmas presents along with other things I gave them and they were a hit immediately. They will be something to pass along to others to share within the church community.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wonderful Names of Our Wonderful Lord
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Reminds us who Christ really is

Date:October 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kathy Harper
Location:California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this book but wish it had longer explainations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wonderful Names of Our Wonderful Lord
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carolyn Gumpert
This was awful!!! It was not comprehensive and was poorly written. I disliked it so much that I immediately got rid of the batch I ordered. I refused to give such a poor example to anyone to try to teach them something about our God. Very disappointing. On a scale of 1-10 it ranks a ZERO.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wonderful Names of Our Wonderful Lord
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Susan Charlton
We used these to put in Grandparent's baskets on Grandparent's Day and everyone enjoyed them. It was great to find KJV!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wonderful Names of Our Wonderful Lord
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Vickey Murphy
It did not take long for me to read this value book. I was hoping to get the Hebrew version of the name of our Lord but this is o.k if you just want some of the names they used for our Lord throughout the bible. The master is known by so- many names and this is useful when you want to choose a name to call Him by when you are praying or ministering to all souls who have an interest in konwing who Jesus is. You can't beat the price, great deal!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wonderful Names of Our Wonderful Lord
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2009
Several people rated this book low because it did not contain ALL the names of the Lord. It is true that it does not include the compound names of Jehovah, such as Jehovah-Tsidkenu, Jehovah- Rohi, etc. There are many things it does not contain. It does not claim to be an all-inclusive deep indepth study. It clearly states it is abridged. It is a SMALL book (check number of pages and book size), for a SMALL price, and I think people are being unreasonable to expect a six course meal for the price of a hamburger. There are other books available if that is what they want, and are willing to pay the price for them. Even then they may find it necessary to buy more than one book to get everything they want. But if they click on the additional views and look at the Table of Contents and excerpts, they should have a good idea what the book includes. Then they will see before they buy just what they are getting and will not find it necessary to give a bad review simply because they ordered a book that wasn't what they wanted. Unfortunately, this book didn't have a Table of Contents. But this is a great little book you can carry with you to use as a devotional, meditating on one or two names of the Lord each day. Or, I find it great to use when I want to praise and worship. As I start reading these descriptions of our Wonderful Lord, I get really excited and then move into more praise and worship. It also works to find the ones you need at that particular time in your life to increase your faith for your particular need. I definitely consider it to be more than 99 worth of good information.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wonderful Names of Our Wonderful Lord
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Shelby Brazier
I'm disappointed. It wasn't what I expected but for the price it isn't feasible to reaturn it. I'll donate it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wonderful Names of Our Wonderful Lord
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Richard Wilkins
Wonderful. These short meditations draw me into the presence of my Lord and Savior. Truly great quiet time to seek His face. I am ordering more to give to family and friends.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wonderful Names of Our Wonderful Lord
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
colleen
I love this book! Since I stumbled on an old copy a year or so ago, I've been using it in my quiet time every day & find it an invaluable tool for getting to know God better. I've also been buying copies to give as gifts to those who are struggling with illness or other life trials. While I personally enjoy the poetic nature of the King James language used for both scripture & short devotionals, I do think it needs an updated version for those who find 'thee's & thou's" difficult to get past. These treasures are too good to leave out a whole generation who so desperately need to know God! Also a less feminine cover, so our men will not reject it as a "girl's book".
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wonderful Names of Our Wonderful Lord
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tammy Lnasaw
This is a great book for devotions. There are many other names of God that can be added, but the ones that are there are ones that can be meditated on with great meaning. You can take one name per night or per session. Each one is short enough to read through and then meditate on it without forgetting what you read or having to go back to the material.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wonderful Names of Our Wonderful Lord
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Richard Wildhirt
Ho-hum product. Not really what I was looking for, particularly since it uses KJV. It needs an update or revision. Meditations are too brief--too shallow.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wonderful Names of Our Wonderful Lord
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Eva Strickler
Compact reference: Compiled through several books of the Bible. About 50 names derived from Isaiah alone. Great resource for anyone compelled to seek God.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wonderful Names of Our Wonderful Lord
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Emily Gulledge
This is indeed a powerful little book, one that I will read over and over as I learn all of the names to call Our Lord. I purchased several of them and am enjoying giving them to others. Truly a great buy!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wonderful Names of Our Wonderful Lord
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Andrea
I think this is a great simple book that reminds us of who our Saviour is!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wonderful Names of Our Wonderful Lord
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Carla O'dell
I have not seen these names of God in other publications; the paperback is small enough to slip into your purse/backpack and share easily with others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wonderful Names of Our Wonderful Lord
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ruben Villa
I think there are many more names left out, e.g., Adonai, God is my banner, etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Wonderful Names of Our Wonderful Lord
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Elsie Tant
I have not finish reading it yet. What I have read is wonderful. I have ordered 30 to give my s s class and others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.