Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press Love at Last Sight: 30 Days to Grow and Deepen Your Closest Relationships

WaterBrook Press Love at Last Sight: 30 Days to Grow and Deepen Your Closest Relationships

A simple, effective 30-day plan to deepen the key relationships in your life! Contending that real friends aren't just added on Facebook, the authors of One Month to Live offer weekly principles, daily challenges, relevant illustrations, Bible verse insights, and action steps to help you change, improve, repair, and build more meaningful connections. Hardcover.
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
0
13 out of 1872%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love at Last Sight: 30 Days to Grow and Deepen Your Closest Relationships
Review 1 for Love at Last Sight: 30 Days to Grow and Deepen Your Closest Relationships
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Couples Study

Date:December 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wasn't sure I would like this book when I began. After all, I'm not married (but I hope to be within a few years!). Right away, I realized that the authors had done a fantastic job of including more than the marriage relationship. What they teach you applies to all relationships. They base all their advice on sound Biblical and relational principles.
I will tell you that I did not actually do their suggested daily assignments in the book. I think that this book would be great for a small group Bible study where you could share those things in a journal form and weekly with the others in the group.
The things that really stood out to me in this book were being yourself with the special people in your life and not leaving when things don't go right. This is about love at last sight, not first sight. Hollywood has inundated out culture with romantic ideas that are absolutely unrealistic, and they are basically self-centered. When we realize that true love is action and not a feeling, it will definitely make a difference in our relationships.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love at Last Sight: 30 Days to Grow and Deepen Your Closest Relationships
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
ali4
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
insightful to explaining the importance of relationships and suggestions how to renew and replenish them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love at Last Sight: 30 Days to Grow and Deepen Your Closest Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

We are reading it (wife and I) together & good.

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
bob l
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are reading it (wife and I) together & this book is good, as the LORD is showing us that life is good and helping us to grow. We will do our best to share these ideas with our eight children and the 19 grand children. Thanks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love at Last Sight: 30 Days to Grow and Deepen Your Closest Relationships
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not as good as I'd hoped

Date:November 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mama Mirage
Location:Pacific Northwest, USA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Everything you’ve been taught about relationships is wrong."
This tagline grabs your attention when you read the writeup on the back cover of "Love At Last Sight: 30 Days To Deepen Your Closest Relationships" by Kerry & Chris Shook.
The Good:
I thought this book has some really good things to say. It makes no excuses for the fact that relationships really do take commitment and hard work to maintain, just like anything else worthwhile in this world.
The Bad:
The content of this entire book could have been clearly and effectively edited into a few chapters. The whole dragging it out into a 30-day study thing really sucked the momentum out of my reading.
The Biblical connections could have been stronger- I felt that the connection between God/the Bible and successful relationships sometimes felt forced, and in places where I could and would have been able to smoothly show a clear link if I had been the writer, there was none mentioned in the book. This made the book feel very "baby Christian-ish" to me. I wanted to see some spiritual tools, some real meat; I didn't want to have to slog through milk for a month to get to it.
The Bottom Line:
For me, the bottom line is that this could have been a great book for those who are young in body or young in Christ but I think that the long drawn out nature of the book would be a real turn-off to anyone. I'm blessed to be able to say that much of what my parents taught me about love and relationships was in fact, NOT wrong.
**I have received a free copy of this book from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for review purposes. The opinions expressed herein are my own and have not been influenced by the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love at Last Sight: 30 Days to Grow and Deepen Your Closest Relationships
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Better for those who prefer routines.

Date:November 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Conny Hutch
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I tried to read it; I tried to like it; I tried to get into it; I tried to "feel" the passion for marriage that the authors have ... but I stalled out at page 118 many months ago ... and the book sat - and honestly, I "forgot" about it. I want to move on with Blogging for Books, so I knew I had to post a review to get my next book AND SO I made it to page 133 ... and I'm just done with this book. Sorry :(
It may just be ME. I was excited at first when I requested this book. I'm always up for learning more about marriage relationships in a godly light - or being encouraged in my marriage - or being challenged to do something new for my marriage ... but this book fell flat for me. Maybe it is because I am not really familiar with Kerry & Chris Shook and their ministry ... or maybe (and probably more honestly so) it is because I am inundated by books that challenge us methodically to follow a certain pattern to work on a marriage (a'la "The Love Dare" associated with the movie Fireproof). I don't do well with things like that - I start out doing what I'm ask - but if there isn't any REAL meaning TO ME behind what I am doing, it fizzles. Fast. That's what Love at Last Sight did for me too.
IF you like organized, routinely planned things on your calendar, then YOU might love Love at Last Sight. It contains a one month relationship plan to help your most cherished relationship. And there are plenty of Bible principles to think about in the book. And by the way, the book is not just for marriages but applicable supposedly for ALL your closest relationships.
For me though, I'm going to gift my copy to someone who will appreciate it more than I have.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love at Last Sight: 30 Days to Grow and Deepen Your Closest Relationships
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Love at Last Sight Book Review

Date:June 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
frugal4utx
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
In the book Love at Last Sight Kerry and Chris Shook offer a variety of ideas and advice to improve your relationships. This book is a 30 day guide to deepening your relationships so that when you have lived your last day, you can know that you are leaving your relationships in the best state they have ever been. One of my favorite suggestions from the book comes on Day 15 when the authors remind us of the importance of encouragement. How often do we forget to tell those closest to us how great they are and congratulate them for the things they have done.
Other ideas that are talked about are being willing to be awkward with someone in order to grow the relationship, the importance of vulnerability, letting anger lead to healthy confrontation, forgiving and letting go of guilt. These and many other relational issues are discussed.
If there is a relationship in your life that you would like to see grow or that is not all that you want it to be, then this book is for you.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love at Last Sight: 30 Days to Grow and Deepen Your Closest Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Read, Exceeds Expectations

Date:June 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
abookjunkie
Location:Foley, AL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished reading Love at Last Sight by Kerry and Chris Shook. This book is excellent and far exceeded my expectations. The book features 30 chapters of quick devotions that are made to help you strengthen the relationships in your life. All different kinds of relationships are addressed so that you can create better more fulfilling relationships with others as well as growing closer to God. The authors use excellent stories and lots of scripture to back up the lessons they are teaching. At the end of each chapter the book features a Love at Last Sight challenge with questions that challenge where you stand in your relationships. This book is one you can read and refer back to time and time again.
At the age of 23, my mom passed away unexpectedly at only 53 years old. Ever since this happened and after growing more in my faith I have been striving to become more of a “Love at Last Sight” person. I never like to leave the house or get off a phone call with any bad feelings going on. I always like everything clear and to be sure that others know how much I love and appreciate them. I don’t always practice this perfect, obviously… but reading this book really helped re-energize me to be better at living like today is your last. I feel like the authors did an amazing job of using scriptures to teach us how God wants us to live our relationships with him as well as others. The stories the authors told were relatable. This is a book I will recommend to others and will continue to refer back to many times for the wealth of wisdom inside. I am so thankful that it was one I chose to review. I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love at Last Sight: 30 Days to Grow and Deepen Your Closest Relationships
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love at Last Sight-worthwhile

Date:June 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
HappytoLive
Location:missouri
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Authors Kerry and Chris Shook of the New York Times Bestseller "One Month to Live," write another insightful relationship book. "Love at Last Sight-30 days to grow and deepen your closest relationships" is a great book for daily challenges and quality advice. This book is divided into 4 weekly sections which are divided into daily readings, so one chapter a week with the daily challenges and the book is complete and relationships are strengthened. Week 1-The are of being all there, is exactly what it says. Its a week of practicing "being all there on a deeper level, during conflict, in tough times, and in the moment. Week 2 -the art of acting intentionally. This week is about intentional thinking, intentionally creating space, and intentionally giving encouragement. Week 3-the art of risking awkwardness. Among others, it discusses awkwardness or revealing your heart, expressing anger, unity, and asking. Week 4-the art of letting go. This week works of letting go of insecurity, pride, hurt, and unrealistic expectations, along with a few other topics.
Overall, the book was an easy to read, easy to navigate, and easy to understand book with functional advice and practical challenges. It includes biblical insight and scripture verses for reference as well. Read it, follow it, and deepen relationships!
This book was given to me through a blogger review program and the opinions expressed are soley my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love at Last Sight: 30 Days to Grow and Deepen Your Closest Relationships
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Everybody Has Both Strengths and Weaknesses

Date:May 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wordmachine
Location:Grayson, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a book about learning to love people more as you get to know them instead of in the first stages of the relationships, when their weaknesses have usually not been exposed. It encourages people to be all there in their relationships and to also be real. It is split up into 30 days of readings with topics such as insecurity, guilt, hurt, pride, anger, conflict, and unity. It focuses on different types of relationships such as friendships, marriages, and other family relationships. At the end of each reading there is a journal activity to help reflect on that day’s topic.
This book has motivated me to want to look for more relationships with people who are up front about both their strengths and their weaknesses. This would allow the masks to come off in the relationships and makes people more authentic. It has also motivated me to want to be more up front about my weaknesses and strengths to others, also.
I liked that there were some prayers in this book to help people start putting the principles into practice but I could have also used some prayers to help open up the Scriptures to me; I might be a part of a small group of people who like prayers like that though. It was sometimes hard for me to follow the book because I didn’t know which author was speaking; it was explained earlier in the book that both authors would be speaking as a team though.
Some of the quotes in the book made me smile. I liked that there were journal entries throughout the book that helped me keep track of what I learned with each reading. I also thought the examples that were given in the book about relationship struggles and successes were great.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love at Last Sight: 30 Days to Grow and Deepen Your Closest Relationships
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappionting

Date:May 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anthony Shuler
Location:Kansas, USA
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This book is written in a 30 day devotional format but is still very readable. It's about self-improvement that leads to relationship improvement. Sounds good. The only problem is it's just another self-help book (with nothing unique to offer) laced with Biblical quotes and illustrations. The Bible is not a handbook on self-help and personal improvement.
Thank you to Multnomah/Waterbrook for sending me a free copy of this book for a review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Love at Last Sight: 30 Days to Grow and Deepen Your Closest Relationships
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Is Love at FIRST Sight Too Good To Be True?

Date:February 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
BloggerBridget
Location:Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you thought “love at first sight” was too good to be true, you might be right….according to authors Kerry and Chris Shook. They co-authored “Love at Last Sight: Thirty Days to Grow and Deepen Your Closest Relationships”. This twist on relationships was a good read and the points mentioned can be applied to any relationship.
This book gave great advice on how to be all there and how to focus intentionally on the other person so that the “last time” we are with that person is the one they will remember as the best time! It reminds us that true love is a choice and takes time, commitment and intentionality.
This book was full of real life-stories of people who deepened the bonds with those closest to them and how they were able to do that. I would highly recommend this book to anyone wanting to nurture their relationships God’s way!
FTC Disclaimer – In return for writing a review of this book (either positive or negative), I was given a free copy of the book from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Love at Last Sight: 30 Days to Grow and Deepen Your Closest Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful resource for your relationships!

Date:February 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jamocha
Location:Waynesboro, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome! That's the first word that comes to mind about this great book. I haven't read any other books by the Shooks, so this was my first experience with them. I found the book to be just what I needed right now in my life. I have dear relationships that are in all stages, and I want to do what I can to take them to the "Love At Last Sight" stage. Over the course of reading through this book and answering the journaling questions and following through on their suggestions, you see that the Shooks deeply care for you and your relationships. They sincerely want to help you grow in your relationships and strive to be the best kind of friend you can be. I know that several of the points they mentioned struck a chord within me regarding my dearest relationships. They are very insightful and honest about all aspects of relationships in this book. What would it really be like to have a "Love At Last Sight" kind of relationship? I truly believe that it would be the kind of relationship that Jesus had with his disciples. I know that's what I would love to have with my husband, my children, my dearest friend, etc. Relationships are so very crucial to our life, especially our life as a Christian. This is a powerful, useful, genuine resource that I highly recommend for those who desire to take their relationships to a new level. Whether you have a wonderful relationship already or you want to restore a relationship that is on its last legs, this book will guide you through steps to get you to the kind of relationships we all wish we had. I think this is a resource that we all need to utilize at some point in our life. Check it out! It's worth the 30 days!!
This book was provided free for review by WaterBrook Multnomah.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Love at Last Sight: 30 Days to Grow and Deepen Your Closest Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life-Changing Book!

Date:February 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Caitlin M
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can honestly say that when I got this book from Waterbrook Press, I didn't know that it would change my perspective on relationships. Love At Last Sight by the husband and wife team of Kerry and Chris Shook is one of the best books that I've read in a very long time.
Love At Last Sight is a 30-day journey into what makes up the bulk of your life - relationships. The authors carefully weave a narrative that shows you that everything you've learned about relationships is wrong. The advice we get from the media isn't what lasting relationships are made of. Living a happily ever after tale takes a lot of work. Instead of relying on love at first sight, the authors challenge you to love at last sight. Get beyond the first glance that allures you, the second one that makes you think twice about the relationship, and move on to loving who that person is. Love so that every time you see that person, you're deeper in love. It's not just romantic love. It's the key relationships in your life.
One of the most important lessons that this book taught me is that I don't have to be friends with everyone that walks into my life. You heard me. I got that advice from a book about relationships. Instead of trying to inject life and purpose into shallow friendships, I learned to identify the core relationships in my life and focus on deepening those. All of a sudden, I had more time for the people who truly mattered to me.
It's been a little over a month since I've finished this book. I'm at a completely different place, too. It's just about time to pick it back up again and make sure I'm not taking people for granted. This time, I'm taking advantage of all the authors offer. I'm going to watch more of the companion videos and do the daily challenges. I can't wait to see what happens.
I got this book free from Waterbrook in exchange for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Love at Last Sight: 30 Days to Grow and Deepen Your Closest Relationships
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good for jump starting a stalled relationship

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tim Kirkpatrick
Location:Asheboro, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Love at Last Sight is a book based on a challenge. Much like Love Dare, the popular challenge book from a few years back, Last Sight requires a daily commitment of reading coupled with action. However, what sets this apart from Love Dare is that this book encourages couples to read and do the challenges together. Kerry and Chris Shook also do not limit the challenge to romantic relationships. Seeing that all relationships (platonic, romantic, familial, etc.) have their own strains, the Shooks do a great job of making the book and challenges more wholistic to a person’s life.
Though this book, or any that I have read, will not make your marriage or other relationships completely fool proof; it does help bring much needed introspection and action to our relationships.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Love at Last Sight: 30 Days to Grow and Deepen Your Closest Relationships
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Practical help for relationships

Date:January 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
pastor tracy
Location:Coal Valley, Il
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
With the words “Everything you’ve been taught about relationships is wrong” on the back cover, Kerry and Chris Shook begin to tear down the myths surrounding love at first sight, and restore the biblical paradigm of building strong, lasting relationships. Love at Last Sight is an easy to read, well written, delightful, and immensely practical book. The authors wrote with both gravitas and joy, sharing with the reader their own personal struggles and triumphs in salvaging and strengthening the relationships around them. They have provided a 30-day manual, built upon biblical principles, to strengthen any relationship in a person’s life that may be in jeopardy, or to prevent a relationship from becoming unhealthy. There is a repeated emphasis on the wrong view of lasting relationships/love, and the biblical view of the same. The authors do a great job of contrasting what is commonly believed, taught, and suffered as the result of the cultural myth of love at first sight.
My first thought that the book is intended to focus on marriage was incorrect, as the authors have made it their intent to show the reader how any relationship, whether it be with a spouse, child, sibling, parent, or friend can be salvaged and strengthened. Each chapter provides either a cognitive, affective, or a physical change in relational habits that are very practical and will lead to an improved relationship.
The chapters are grouped into units of sevens, with each unit focusing on a broad area of needed change, and each chapter narrows the focus to one relational implementation. The result is four weeks of easy to implement starter habits or changes of habits. Each chapter begins with quotes from a plethora of authors, and ends with a Love At Last Sight Challenge: a list of thoughtful questions and practical tips to employ.
The authors have built their changes and the need for changes upon biblical foundations, but the depth of these foundations does not go far enough at times. The strongest need for a deeper foundation is found in chapter six, where the authors describe the need for commitment. They use the marriage commitment and the parent child commitment examples, yet fail to tie the commitment of Christ to his bride, or God as father to us his children to strengthen their examples of what our commitment should be like. The Gospel should define our level of commitment, for God, and Christ, are committed to us in spite of our failure and faults, and that is what our commitment should endeavor to be also.
Overall, this book is a very good resource for couples, parents, and others who are looking to strengthen and salvage relationships. A small group could use the helps and help each other to a deeper understanding of the biblical principles the Shooks have provided.
Note: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Love at Last Sight: 30 Days to Grow and Deepen Your Closest Relationships
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good book for a new believer

Date:December 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
gingerly
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I received this book from Waterbrook Multnomah for my honest review. Love at Last Sight is a 30 day challenge for developing closer, deeper relationships. Unlike The Love Dare, which I heartily recommend, Love at Last Sight is not just for marriages, but for all relationships. The Shooks make a clear case for the hard work that relationships require if they are to be Christ-glorifying. In an age when many relationships are now solely online via Facebook, blogs, and texting, we all need a refresher course in what it takes to truly maintain a real relationship.
Ultimately, this would be a great book for a teenager or a young believer. The authors do not include enough scripture reference for deeper study, although the truths they present could have been backed by scripture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Love at Last Sight: 30 Days to Grow and Deepen Your Closest Relationships
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Harry Schloder
Location:Scranton, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Was disappointed at the lack of biblical support. A lot of pop psychology, not a ton of Scripture.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Love at Last Sight: 30 Days to Grow and Deepen Your Closest Relationships
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great small group study

Date:October 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
tprice
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This study has met all of our expectations on studying relationships and how to improve our closest ones.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.