Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press No More Mondays: Fire Yourself-and Other Revolutionary Ways to Discover Your True Calling at Work

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

WaterBrook Press No More Mondays: Fire Yourself-and Other Revolutionary Ways to Discover Your True Calling at Work

If you're one of those people who dread going to work on Mondays, it's time to do something about it! In No More Mondays author Dan Miller will show you that meaningful work is really within your grasp. You'll find the tools and advice you need to reawaken your dreams and find a vocation that adds meaning and joy to your life.
Average Customer Rating:
4.621 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
4 out of 580%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for No More Mondays: Fire Yourself-and Other Revolutionary Ways to Discover Your True Calling at Work
Review 1 for No More Mondays: Fire Yourself-and Other Revolutionary Ways to Discover Your True Calling at Work
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Join the revolution!

Date:July 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
JJ Shimko
Location:Williamsport, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a challenging read, not because of any difficult words or concepts, but because it challenges you to change your perspective on work. Ultimately, we are rewarded with the reality of a process within each of us to fulfill our God given calling (vocation). Dan Miller balances his own personal experiences with examples of others which hit home, no matter what your background. Crisis points occur within all our lives. Is there a right or wrong way, or is it simply a journey to discover our life long purpose on earth? In summary, Dan writes, “While I certainly don’t advocate confusing “who we are” with “what we do,” I believe that our work can be our best gift to ourselves, our friends and family, our communities—and the best expression of our purpose here on earth … But as long as we view work as simply something we have to do to pay the bills, we keep ourselves from embracing our talents and gifts, from recognizing our visions, dreams, and passions.” There are nuggets throughout this book you won’t want to miss as it assists you to find true satisfaction in the work you do. I believe you will stop living for the weekend and start living for Mondays! Will you join the revolution? I did.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for No More Mondays: Fire Yourself-and Other Revolutionary Ways to Discover Your True Calling at Work
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

For a specific audience

Date:June 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
CKBerndt
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The book started off really slow and even into the second chapter the author was telling me what the book was going to teach me or what I was going to learn from this book. Just show me already!
I was born in the late 1980’s and feel like my generation is more likely to follow most of the guidelines in this book. This would be a great book for the baby boomer generation. They are very loyal and thus tend to stay with a job even if they hate it.
I don’t think the economy is helping people be able to find their true calling. When you have a family, you have to be able to make ends meet. If this means that you have to work at Subway to pay the bills while you hunt for a job that you love, so be it. I also think this economy is a great excuse to start fresh. Go back to school and hone in on a talent that will lead you to your dream job. Like the book says, “take personal responsibility”.
Overall, I don’t think the book was for me. I would recommend it to someone in their 50’s or 60’s or to someone who lost their job in this economy.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for No More Mondays: Fire Yourself-and Other Revolutionary Ways to Discover Your True Calling at Work
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not bad.

Date:May 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
grace
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently had the opportunity to read No More Dreaded Mondays by Dan Miller through a service at WaterBrook-Multnomah calling "Blogging for Books" which offers people the chance to own copies of books in return for a review on their personal blog (good or bad).
I will admit I picked this booked based solely, at first, on its title. Because like it states on the very first page of its introduction, who hasn't dreaded a Monday before? And why, instead, do we look so forward to weekends? This book challenges that the reason is simply because many, if not most, are not doing what they love. They feel they could be doing more, and that their current position (literally and figuratively) isn't feeling the void inside that longs to be filled.
This book also states there are many reasons for this: we could simply just not know where to start, we could have circumstances in our life that we think are unclimbable (but never are) or we could simply be used to placing the blame on someone or something else, instead of going ahead and realizing your own personal responsibility for where you are.
This book is great, and it tell you exactly what you need to know, without mincing words. There are sections on everything from finding work that fits you and how to find what works for your skills and abilities specifically, to not waiting waiting for chance to come or expecting anything to happen to you, but getting out there and doing it, and using what you have instead of concentrating on what you don't (among many other things).
My favorite part of this book were the stories told randomly, throughout the book (even if some of them were a little "unrealistic to real life" like the one about the man who didn't graduate high school, had no education, but loved working on cars and now makes $l.2 millon because he "found his niche"). I also enjoyed the inspirational quotes. the back of the book also includes a resource section full of start up suggestions, things you need to know, and long list of websites to help get you started.
This book is for anyone, whether you're happy where you are and are just looking for an added spark in your life, or you want a complete transformation. I suggest anyone get this book, maybe it's not a "win all" for everyone, but its one of those that can't hurt to pick up and glance at.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for No More Mondays: Fire Yourself-and Other Revolutionary Ways to Discover Your True Calling at Work
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Challenging the Status Quo

Date:April 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kayla
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had some mental barriers when I began reading this book, because I don't often read business books. Fortunately, the first chapter broke some of those. He doesn’t promote a college education; he emphasizes determining what your passions and skills are and effectively using them to contribute to the marketplace. No need to be tied down to a 9-to-5 job sitting behind a computer, “dreading Mondays,” when you could be doing something you love. He addresses common concerns like “Won’t I lower my income if I do that?” and “That’s too uncertain for me” both directly and through examples. His examples aren’t obscure ones either; he uses both everyday people he has interacted with as well as famous people, those we all recognize when we hear their names (like Thomas Edison).
Another great thing about the book is the format variety. He has small “Revolutionary Insight” tidbits as well as quotes from a variety of people throughout the book. This breaks up the monotony; it’s enjoyable to read because it is not simply 12 point Times New Roman text on every page.
I had several qualms throughout the book though. The book as a whole focused on “you.” What “you” can do, how “you” can succeed, steps “you” can take to break out of “your” mold. And this book is advertised as Christian? Yes, there are Christian cliches sprinkled throughout (“As a man thinketh in his heart, so is he” and “God-given” to name a couple), but the book it not what I consider overtly Christian. This bothered me. For example, in a sentence on page 74 talking about whether choosing not to have a victim, “life happens to me” mentality, Miller says, “You’ll know you are in the driver’s seat.” Another example on page 98 where he talks about changing your perspective on the situation so you can see new opportunities, he says, “I choose to believe that everyone is out to bring me happiness and help me reach my goals.” Whoa! A bit of egotism, selfishness, and just plain error in that sentence – man is sinful from birth, and no one is “out to bring me happiness” – each seeks his own (Rom. 3:10-12)!
So, while I have benefited from this book in many ways, from his perspective about what a “job” can look like to how to create a plan for developing a home business (as I begin to brainstorm about post-graduation home businesses and adoption fundraisers), I cannot recommend this book. It’s too fluffy and “me” centered. I suppose most business books are that way (though I wouldn’t know; that would be my assumption), but if that’s the case, I guess I won’t be reading much of that genre. It’s not all about me or even about what I can accomplish for God. It’s about what HE chooses to accomplish through me – the glorification of Himself.
I received this book for free via WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. The perspectives above (not quoted from the book) are entirely mine.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for No More Mondays: Fire Yourself-and Other Revolutionary Ways to Discover Your True Calling at Work
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Recommended for anyone and everyone.

Date:April 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kayla
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No More Dreaded Mondays implores you to examine your life, look at where your happiness lies, and rediscover your dreams and talents in order to find that purpose-filled job that God so desperately wants us to have. Your job should be so coincided with who you are that it doesn't even feel like work. There were many quotes, funny stories, and life lessons that I enjoyed throughout this book. So many that there is barely an unmarred page in this book due to how many times I starred and underlined quotes. This book was a life changer for me, you should definitely give it a try!
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for No More Mondays: Fire Yourself-and Other Revolutionary Ways to Discover Your True Calling at Work
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sharon Williams
Excellent book. I was so blessed by the content of this book, that I ordered 5 additional books for my friends and neighbors and family members who I thought could benefit from the information the author provides.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for No More Mondays: Fire Yourself-and Other Revolutionary Ways to Discover Your True Calling at Work
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Randolph Koper
I had borrowed the book from the public library and took so many notes from it that I thought it better to have my own copy. Reading it helped improve my attitude about work.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for No More Mondays: Fire Yourself-and Other Revolutionary Ways to Discover Your True Calling at Work
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
The Finance Coach
If you are tired of your job and think owning your own business is the answer. This is a must read, especially if you are not sure what business. Dan will help guide you to the field that you are passionate about and he will help you gain the confidence that you be successful.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for No More Mondays: Fire Yourself-and Other Revolutionary Ways to Discover Your True Calling at Work
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Linda T Guyse
Great book! Hopefully I can use it at my next job! It should be a great icebreaker!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for No More Mondays: Fire Yourself-and Other Revolutionary Ways to Discover Your True Calling at Work
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Steve
The most encouraging and ispiring book (and I've read a lot of great books) I have ever read second only to the Bible
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for No More Mondays: Fire Yourself-and Other Revolutionary Ways to Discover Your True Calling at Work
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Barbara Dye
Do you wish you could wake up to a career that you create on your terms. Dan Miller's book, No More Mondays, will guide you through the process of searching inward uncovering your true passions, personality, skills and talents. He explains that when properly aligned, will lead to abundance in all areas of your life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for No More Mondays: Fire Yourself-and Other Revolutionary Ways to Discover Your True Calling at Work
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lauren Brasile
Dan Miller's guidebook to finding the work you love gave me the courage to found a charity that mixes my two passions, Interior Design and Volunteering. I continue to work a "real job", but have changed my status with my employer to contingent, giving me the greatest flexibility. I would have never done this if I hadn't been so inspired by "NO MORE MONDAYS"!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for No More Mondays: Fire Yourself-and Other Revolutionary Ways to Discover Your True Calling at Work
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tammy Hopper
I found the message in this book to be very easy to understand and was presented with great enthusiasm!! It gave me the guidance to believe I can find my true calling.Thank God for giving Dan the knowledge to share and assist us on this incredible journey.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for No More Mondays: Fire Yourself-and Other Revolutionary Ways to Discover Your True Calling at Work
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jon Shinaberry
This is a great book for helping someone see work possibilities beyond being an employee at a traditional job location. I recommend reading this book at least two or three times, and then reading it again every year. It helped change my thinking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for No More Mondays: Fire Yourself-and Other Revolutionary Ways to Discover Your True Calling at Work
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
David Whicker
This product is a must for anyone who wants to get those ideas from walking to running. Dan's book "48 Days To The Work You Love" is a clear outline and plan to follow to target that perfect position you are looking for. In this book, "No More Mondays", Dan has yet again provided all the information one needs to step out into "Eagleprenuership". If you are not familiar with the term, you will be soon. Whether looking for ideas or inspiration, this is the book for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for No More Mondays: Fire Yourself-and Other Revolutionary Ways to Discover Your True Calling at Work
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
K. Hardesty
I heard the author do a radio interview and I ordered the book that day. As someone who has been out of the job market for quite a while and now has to return to it, I appreciate the running theme --- find what you are gifted at and the rest will follow. The upbeat writing style, with real-life examples thrown in, makes it a great read and resource.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for No More Mondays: Fire Yourself-and Other Revolutionary Ways to Discover Your True Calling at Work
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Keith Whitley
This book is great. I read it a few months ago, and it gave me an improved outlook on the possiblities that are available. I am taking steps to make positive changes in life. Praise the Lord for encouragement when it is needed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for No More Mondays: Fire Yourself-and Other Revolutionary Ways to Discover Your True Calling at Work
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Kneuss
Definitely a Five Star for me! I read this book just after it was published, and am reading it again. You will be inspired to not only dream, but do! Practical tips and lots of motivating ideas, especially in light of the current economy. Dan's ideas work - I'm proof!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for No More Mondays: Fire Yourself-and Other Revolutionary Ways to Discover Your True Calling at Work
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kim Godsey
"No More Mondays" is a book I recommend on a regular basis because it helped me personally. The book takes the reader through a process to assist in finding your strengths, allowing you to better fit with your job. Job ideas as well as getting a better understanding of yourself help equip the you find out what you are best suited for. The work place is changing. Dan tells how in the next years less workers will be employees and how working for yourself is the only way you can obtain job security.His positive approach is refreshing in these challenging times, making sense of all the layoffs as an essential part of the workforce today. I recommend this to my clientele regularly.-A Finance Counselor
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for No More Mondays: Fire Yourself-and Other Revolutionary Ways to Discover Your True Calling at Work
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Andy Traub
If we are truly new creations (2 Cor 5:17) as Christians, and we truly believe that God has a specific plan for our lives (Jer 29:11) then why do we bow to the alter of the almighty "employer" most of our lives? Why do we believe that we have to do things we dislike in order to make a good living. Why do we abandon our callings and passions that God has built inside of us for the sad existence and experience that is most people's employment? Above all, why do we settle? We're children of the King of the Universe! No More Mondays will remind you of what God has made, and that He doesn't make mistakes! He made us to be unique, to take steps of faith and to use the giftedness He gave us individually. Dan Miller reminds us of those truths and then gives us a plan to put them into action. Imagine WANTING to go to work on Monday. Imagine feeling like your work helps people and honors God. Actually, stop imagining it. Buy this book and start living it. I did and while it's been difficult, God never said following Him would be easy did He? He just said it would be good. My life is good! Stop following the masses, the world, the crowd, the norm...they hate their jobs and they don't honor God. Love your job, honor the Lord and start by getting this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>