Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press The Bridge of Peace, Ada's House Series #2

WaterBrook Press The Bridge of Peace, Ada's House Series #2

Lena Kauffman is a young Old Order Amish schoolteacher who has dealt all her life with attention raised by a noticeable birthmark on her cheek. Having learned to move past the stares and whispers, Lena channels her zest for living into her love of teaching. But tensions mount as she is challenged to work with a rebellious young man and deal with several crises at the schoolhouse that threaten her other students. Her lack of submission and the use of ideas that don't line up with the Old Ways strengthen the school board's case as they begin to believe that Lena is behind all the trouble.

One member of the school board, Grey Graber, feels trapped by his own stifling circumstances. His wife Elsie has shut him out of her life, and he doesn't know how long he can continue to live as if nothing is wrong. As the two finally come to a place of working toward a better marriage, tragedy befalls their family. Lena and Grey have been life-long friends but their relationship begins to crumble amidst unsettling deceptions, propelling each of them to finally face their own secrets. Can they both find a way past their losses and discover the strength to build a new bridge?

Average Customer Rating:
4.872 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (78 reviews)
5 stars
68
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
32 out of 32100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Bridge of Peace, Ada's House Series #2
Review 1 for The Bridge of Peace, Ada's House Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joy Kwap
Location:New Jersey
Age:55-65
Gender:female
This type of reading is very peaceful and comforting. A welcome change in todays world.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Bridge of Peace, Ada's House Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyed the facts, fiction and story

Date:September 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Louise
Location:Bethlehem, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I anxiously await books by Cindy Woodsmall. The story presentation is very interesting and challenges me to "just keep on reading" to see what happens next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Bridge of Peace, Ada's House Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another great story from Cindy Woodsmall!

Date:July 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jamocha
Location:Waynesboro, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found this book to be very enjoyable. Once I got into the story and the characters, I had a really hard time putting the book down. Lena has lived her whole life with a birthmark on her face and has struggled with the comments and remarks that have come with that. She is a wonderful young woman who loves teaching her students and wants to help them in every way possible. Her story is one of coming to an understanding of herself. I enjoyed her story, Grey's story, and the many other stories in the book. The details of Amish life are always so interesting to me, and Cindy Woodsmall does a great job capturing so many aspects of Amish life. This book had some very intense moments, twists, and turns, which just added to the draw of the story. I find the books in this series so interesting for several reasons: there's romance, there's suspense, there's faith, there's Amish life, and so much more. I have so many thoughts swirling through my head about this book, but I can't seem to capture them well. I really found it to be another great story from Cindy Woodsmall. She really has a way of bringing Amish life to life for her reader. I look forward to the next book in this series. I'm hoping that some loose ends get tied up! I so enjoy reading about each characters struggles and challenges and joys! If you love Amish fiction, you will certainly enjoy this story!!
Disclaimer: This book was provided free for review by WaterBrook Press.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Bridge of Peace, Ada's House Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Crossing the Bridge of Peace

Date:May 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
BRHSTEACH
Location:Rock Mills, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
About the Book: The Bridge of Peace is the second book in the Ada’s House trilogy by Cindy Woodsmall but is a stand alone. This book is the first one I have read and I am looking forward to reading more. I am especially looking forward to her third book that should be in bookstores in early Fall 2011.
Summary: Lena Kauffman is an Amish schoolteacher whose outspoken and independent ways surprise and upset members of the Amish community in which she lives. Lena has a birthmark on her face and believes that this makes her flawed and unlovable. Her life as a teacher is not easy….and a series of events threatens her position as a teacher.
About the Author: Cindy Woodsmall is an excellent storyteller as she unravels the tale through her characters’ everyday relationships. The plot of this book is very engaging and I just could not put it down. The author obviously knows the ins and outs of the Amish world so well that it makes the reader feel as if they are right there observing life in a peaceful Amish town of Dry Lake.
My Thoughts: There several good Amish fiction writers, but I’d have to say that this one would be my number one pick. This is a must read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Bridge of Peace, Ada's House Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A GREAT AMISH READ!!

Date:April 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Henderson, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
THE BRIDGE OF PEACE by Cindy Woodstock is an interesting and amazing inspirational Amish fiction set in present day Amish country. It it the second in "THE ADA HOUSE SERIES",Book One, "Hope of Refuge",but can be read as a stand alone.It is well written with depth and details.It is about an Amish young women,Lena,,who is a teacher and has a birthmark on her cheek. She has endured ridicule,humiliation,and talk behind her back.She only wants a family of her own her,to teach school,find love and happiness.Grey,her long time friend,has problems of his own with his marriage,a son who has a handicap,a wife who has gone cold in their marriage
and dealing with how to bring his marriage to what it used to be. While Lena is dealing with rambunctious children,and a school board she has defiled their word.She believes her students should be able to learn. Then a tragic accident happens,leaving a wife dead,a husband and a student full of guilt,the school board furious with Lena,someone is not only trying to discredit Lena but is also planning to get rid of her.While Lena and Grey are finding their way ,they find they are not only facing deception,but Lena is facing danger,she isn't even aware of,and they are fighting their own feelings. They will have to build a bridge of peace to survive.This story is of love,faith,deception,redemption
forgiveness, and the power of second chances. This is a fast paced story of the Amish faith and their power of moving forward.If you enjoy Amish,romance,faith,a little mystery you will enjoy this one.A great read. This book was received for the purpose of review from the publisher and details can be found at WaterBrook Press,Multnomah and My Book Addiction Reviews.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Bridge of Peace, Ada's House Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn't put it down!

Date:April 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle
Location:Lynden, WA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bridge of Peace by Cindy Woodsmall is such a good book. I've read a few of Cindy's books and was excited to get the chance to read another because she is a great author. Even though this is the second book in the Ada's House series, it can easily be read alone. Lena is an Old Order Amish school teacher who finds herself in trouble with the school board and community due to her use of non-traditional Amish ideas. Grey is struggling in his marriage and after his wife passes away, lives with a lot of guilt. Lena and Grey are brought together through their difficulties and tragedies, but still need to face the community who expect Grey to be mourning his wife and are unsure if they can trust Lena as the school teacher. With a few other side characters and story lines, Cindy Woodsmall has written a very good book of hope, forgiveness, suspense, and romance. I can't wait to read the next book in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Bridge of Peace, Ada's House Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hard to put down!

Date:April 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
So Mommy
Location:Hartselle, AL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do you like to blog about the books you read? If so, you should check out Blogging for Books. WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group provides you with free books in exchange for an honest review. So far, I have really liked the selection of books I've been given.
The most recent book I was given the chance to review was "The Bridge of Peace" by Cindy Woodsmall. Cindy is a New York Times best-selling author, who is known mostly for her connection with the Amish community. This connection allows her to write very true-to-life Amish novels. I was impressed with her attention to detail in this book!
"The Bridge of Peace" is a novel about a young Amish girl named Lena, who is a school teacher waiting on Mr. Right. She has dealt with a noticable birthmark on her cheek all her life, and at times feels like it is what is holding her back. In this novel, we see many different families, their joys and tragedies, and also how they come together to help each other in times of need.
I absolutely loved this book! I can't say enough about it. I couldn't put it down until I finished. I don't normally like the romantic-type novel, but this one had so much more in it than just romance. It showed the difficulties of Amish life, and how they deal with problems similar to our own, such as Lena's self-conciousness about her birthmark. As a school teacher, Lena has to deal with difficult students and parents - which I'm sure any teacher out there can relate to. Cindy Woodsmall is definitely a winning writer if you ask me. She includes so many details about the Amish traditions and way of life that really brings this book to life! I felt like I was almost there with Lena when I was reading! I would definitely recommend this book (and author) to anyone who reads for enjoyment!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Bridge of Peace, Ada's House Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Bridge of Peace

Date:March 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
simplysusan
Location:central Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book that I’ve read by Cindy Woodsmall. In the past, I haven't really been able to get into Amish fiction, but I really did enjoy this one. The story was interesting and I really liked the characters. My only hesitation with giving this book 5 stars is that because it is a second in the series, you can’t just jump in and read it as a stand alone book. I hadn’t read the first book in this series and I often got confused by some of the back story. So, I would definitely recommend reading the first book in this series before reading this one. Other than that, I really enjoyed the book and would highly recommend it!
NOTICE:
I received this book free for giving my honest review on it, good or bad. Thanks to Blogging for Books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Bridge of Peace, Ada's House Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Tried-and-True genre fiction

Date:March 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
MissBlack
Location:Buffalo Ny
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I often dislike books of the ‘Amish Fiction’ genre, including ones by Beverly Lewis, but I actually quite liked Cindy Woodsmall’s book The Bridge of Peace. (It is the second novel in her ‘Ada’s House’ series. I have not read the first one, but I found that it wasn’t a problem.)
Ms. Woodsmall has a smooth writing style and her characters were layered and believable. Her use of the third-person narrative mode was perfect and suited to the story.
The Amish community in the novel was less strict than some I have read about, as it allows books, mirrors, gas stoves, and showers, and permits, members of the faith to read the Bible. The language, too, is quite modern. However, Ms. Woodsmall captures not just the Amish lifestyle but their mindset, as well. This makes for a fascinating and insightful glimpse into another culture.
With such a large cast of characters, the separate storylines were widely complex and tightly woven, but still easy to follow. The plot wasn’t too predictable, and included several curveballs that threw me off-balance. Many complicated issues were addressed and while I felt that some were resolved too simplistically, most were concluded in a realistic manner.
Ultimately, Ms. Woodsmall suggests that love conquers all and that we must trust in God. These are fairly standard messages, but are presented in a fascinating and uncommon fashion that makes them seem fresh. I look forward to reading the next book in the series.
This book was provided to me by Waterbrook Multomah for review purposes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Bridge of Peace, Ada's House Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is a great read!

Date:March 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Faith
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always had such an interest in the Amish. This book does do them justice, but I suggest that you read some background info on the Amish and why they live like they do so you don't get confused while reading it. At times, the book was a little confusing, but for the most part I was able to understand what was happening in the story. Once you start this book I'm sure you will not be able to put it down!! There is alot of suspense throughout the book, and the conclusion of the book leaves you satisfied and happy. I highly recommend this! It's a great read and I think everyone who reads it will enjoy it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Bridge of Peace, Ada's House Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Bridge of Peace- A must read for book lovers

Date:March 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
frugal4utx
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the peaceful setting of an Amish community trouble is brewing. The school teacher, Lena, is trying to make a difference in the lives of her students while hoping to one day marry. She is faced with one struggle after another as a student is injured on the playground, a dead cat is found in the school and, a woman is killed by an enraged bull near the school. Lena finds herself at odds with the school board after several of her actions are questioned. Her friend and advocate on the board is grieving and unaware of the mounting problems. How will the issues be resolved and what or who is behind these events? The Bridge of Peace is a great book. I strongly recommend it.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Bridge of Peace, Ada's House Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good reading

Date:March 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
karina
Location:ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a very pleasant book seems very real to the actual
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Bridge of Peace, Ada's House Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Bridge of Peace Blog Tour

Date:March 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lukie
Location:Milford, NH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I was asked to review The Bridge of Peace by Cindy Woodsmall, I jumped at the chance. Now the story takes place in present day but the characters are Old Order Amish, so they fall into the lifestyle that I love.
The book was a page turner from beginning to end. I so enjoyed the main characters and their struggles. Lena is a school teacher that has a very spunky spirit. She feels she has been cursed by God with a large birthmark on her face. This birthmark (in her mind) is the reason that she is still unmarried. Lena has always had men in her life unfortunately none of those friendships have ever developed into something more. Grey is Lena's brother Allen's best friend. He has known Lena for years but only sees her as a friend. After Grey's wife dies, Lena starts to wonder if Grey could or would ever have feelings for her.
Grey sees something different in Lena and tries to get other Amish men interested in his best friends little sister.
My only complaint about the book is that the author introduces so many characters in several of the chapters that I found myself spending more time trying to remember who everyone was rather than enjoying the story.
I would recommend the book to all my readers but would suggest that you read the first book in the series, The Hope of Refuge, first. Maybe that way the characters would make more sense. There is a main characters list at the back of the book but does you little good if you don't know it is there.
I received this book free for review from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group. Thank you so much!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Bridge of Peace, Ada's House Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good read if you like Amish fiction.

Date:March 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie Adams
Location:Cumming, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have not previously read any of Cindy Woodsmall books, but I have enjoyed "The Bridge of Peace."
Follow Lena Kauffman as she deals with her Amish traditions and the need to help one of her students. She has a love of teaching but has not found a man to love.
She and Grey have been friends since childhood. A tragedy, secrets and misunderstandings threaten their friendship. Can they get past it all to keep their friendship? Can they build a bridge that they both want?
Even though I question the accuracy of some of the Amish traditions portrayed, I enjoyed the book and want to read the first book in the series. I also am looking forward to the next book to see what else happens. I would recommend this book for anyone who enjoys Amish fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Bridge of Peace, Ada's House Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

enjoyable read

Date:March 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
MelindaJoy
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
http://melindajoy.blogspot.com/2011/03/bridge-of-peace-book-review.html
I have read a few other books by Cindy Woodsmall, and I am definitely a fan. I not only enjoy her writing style and creative plots, but I also enjoy the population she chooses to write about: The Amish. Ever since I was younger I've been fascinated with this population and this lifestyle. I used to read every book I could on the Amish, and have visited Amish homes in Lancaster, PA and got to try their cooking and see how they lived. It's a very siimple lifestyle, and this book was no exception to Cindy's work, as it's another great book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Bridge of Peace, Ada's House Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Amish fiction

Date:February 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christine
Location:Jonesville MI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Woodsmall has done it again. She touches my heart with her characters and dilemmas. She creates very vivid scenes. I felt like I was in a classroom, pasture, and bakery living through the trials and emotions that go with them. She deals with grief, self righteousness, and fear in a way that is very relatable and at times very close to home. An excellent read that I will recommend to many. I have recieved this book from Water Brook Multnomah for free in exchange for a review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Bridge of Peace, Ada's House Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent read!!

Date:February 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
greetinggirl66
Location:Poplar Grove, IL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bridge of Peace by Cindy Woodsmall
Brew yourself a cup of tea and find a comfortable chair then pick up a copy of The Bridge of Peace and let it transport you to the world of the Amish.
Lena Kauffman is a young Old Order Amish schoolteacher with a facial birthmark on her cheek. She has learned to deal with this birthmark by asserting herself and pouring her love for teaching into her Amish students. She is independent and tries unorthodox methods that bring her into conflict with parents and school board alike.
Grey Graber is a member of the school board and a life long friend of Lena. He and his wife are experiencing difficulties in their marriage due to his wife’s fear that she carries defective genes. They are in the process of resolving their problems when tragedy strikes their family.
The author uses this tragedy to bring Lena and Grey together but rumors and secrets threaten to destroy their friendship and their future.
This is a well written and gripping story. From page one the author draws you into the lives of the characters and their struggles. She also gives a modern portrayal of the life of the Amish and the challenges it holds for those who follow this faith and life style. I highly recommend this book and this author. I look forward to reading more books that she has written.
You can find this book at Christianbook.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Bridge of Peace, Ada's House Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Book!

Date:February 24, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bridge of Peace by Cindy Woodsmall is the sequel to the Hope of Refuge. I have not read the first in the series, so I was afraid that I would have a difficult time figuring out the people and following along. I was pleased to find that was not the case and that I followed along quite easily. Of course, I definitely plan to go back and read the first one now!
This book covered some tough issues, such as marital issues and judgments passed on by others because of looks or disabilities. To be honest, I was a little suprised by the fact that these were covered because I don't usually tend to think of the Amish having the same kind of problems that we have. Not really because they are immune to it, but because so many books dealing with the Amish tend to omit these issues.
I definitely recommend this book to absolutely anyone!
_________________
I received this book free from Waterbrook Multnomah through their Blogging for Books program for their book review. I was in no way required to write a positive review for this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Bridge of Peace, Ada's House Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Amish fiction!

Date:February 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
samwife
Location:Springfield, MO
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bridge of Peace is book two in the Ada's House series. I have been looking forward to reading this book and it did not disappoint! I love how Woodsmall writes the characters as everyday people. I had to remind myself that this was fiction. However the struggles the characters go through were very real. The story was relatable and interesting. It is what I call a ‘fast read’ because I could not put it down!
One of the struggles discussed in this book is grief! Wow! What a topic. Woodsmall does an excellent job of describing Grey's struggle with grief and how it effects being a parent to his son, and his relationships with others. Grey questions everything he has done and is constantly wrestling with how to handle all this grief. I found this part of the story really fascinating. I hate grief! Grief seems to suck the life from the living and I often find myself asking God 'Why?' just as Grey does. In the end Woodsmall intertwines God's faithfulness and love with the story The Bridge of Peace.
I loved this story it hit all the points for me. I could relate to the characters and left encouraged! I would highly recommend this book to anyone who loves Amish fiction as well as those who have never read Amish fiction. Woodsmall is an excellent writer and I look forward to book three the final book in the Ada's House series due out fall 2011!
I received this copy for review from Water Brook Multnomah
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Bridge of Peace, Ada's House Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good "bridge" book into Amish fiction genre

Date:February 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Snowflakes
Location:Georgia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Being a fan of Amish fiction, and a former teacher, I really enjoyed this book. I could envision some of the scenes in the classroom as clear as if they had happened in my own classroom. (I say “some” because thank the Lord that none of my former students were as disturbed as one of Lena’s students, Peter, who along with his big brother exhibit some very frightening behavior.) This is not the typical Amish book. This book deals with some very dark topics, such as the aforementioned sociopathic behavior of the character of Dwayne, suicide and depression, alcoholism, infertility, pregnancy loss and more. I liked that it seemed less “rainbows and ponies” perfection than some Amish fiction I’ve read, while still seeming hopeful, with a pure and wholesome love story or two. I’ve never read any books by Cindy Woodsmall, and this book made me want to go back and catch up on her other books, particularly The Hope of Refuge, #1 in the Ada’s House series, the predecessor to The Bridge of Peace. Woodsmall’s narration is just descriptive enough to allow the reader to envision the scene without being too wordy, and her characters are real and relatable. I loved the character of Lena, and I also liked Grey’s character, but I particularly enjoyed the relationship between Ephraim and Cara. I think you will too. ☺ Woodsmall was thoughtful enough to include a cast of characters, which was helpful since these folks carried over from book 1 of the series, and several have the same first names. I also liked the glossary of Pennsylvania Deitsch words she included in the back.
All in all, I enjoyed this book thoroughly, and read it quickly. I would recommend it both to Amish fiction aficionados and to those who have never read Amish fiction and are looking to get their feet wet in the genre. It is a good “bridge” book between inspirational fiction and “bonnet books.” The story lines were engaging and the characters endearing, and I highly recommend The Bridge of Peace.
*I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group in exchange for an unbiased review.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.