Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press The Harvest of Grace, Ada's House Series #3

WaterBrook Press The Harvest of Grace, Ada's House Series #3

When Sylvia Fischer turned down her beau's offer of marriage, she expected him to give her the time and space she'd requested, believing they would eventually wed. .Instead he married her sister. When she learns that his betrayal was her father's idea--a proposition made to save the farm--she knows she'll never trust another man.

Despite the secrets hiding in Aaron Blank's youth, he thinks he's ready to face his future. As he sets out to make up for the wrongs he's done to his family, he meets Sylvia, the new farmhand from a nearby district. She doesn't want him around, seems to have his father's heart in the palm of her hand--and what she knows could ruin his future.

Average Customer Rating:
4.542 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
18
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
56 out of 5995%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Harvest of Grace, Ada's House Series #3
Review 1 for The Harvest of Grace, Ada's House Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read!

Date:November 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kate
Location:Glenolden, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Harvest of Grace will stay with you long after the last page is turned. There are no minor characters - each one is carefully and lovingly created and nurtured. You know why each one hurts and how great each triumph is. The story is rich and pulls you in. A real must read for every fan of Amish novels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Harvest of Grace, Ada's House Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE this series!

Date:August 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
So Mommy
Location:Hartselle, AL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Cindy Woodsmall's "Ada's House" series. They are wonderful books! 'The Harvest of Grace' is the 3rd book in the series ('The Bridge of Peace' was #2, see my review here). These books are very well-written with love stories, drama, conflict, and pretty much everything you'd expect in a real-life story, but these things are all packed into Cndy Woodsmall's novels.
In 'The Harvest of Grace' Sylvia wants to be able to run the farm that she loves, but can't do that because of her gender. In the beginning of the book, her boyfriend asks her to marry him and she asks him to wait. He marries her sister, which crushes her completely. She lives on the same farm with them trying to be the best she can but one day something happens between them and she knows she has to leave her family farm. Many things happen after this, many conflicts and many resolutions.
I would highly recommend this book to anyone who loves to read fiction. I loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Harvest of Grace, Ada's House Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Review from a Man's Perspective

Date:July 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:Middleburg, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is the 3rd book in the "Ada's House Series" by Cindy Woodsmall. As you can imagine, I have not at this point read the first two books in the series. I will say, though, that even without reading the first two books, I wasn't as lost as I expected myself to be. There is enough of a back story, plus almost new characters to lend this book to almost being a stand alone title.
Sylvia Fisher is not an ordinary Amish woman. Being the oldest of all girls with no brothers her father has let her run the herd but not have a lot of say in the farming. This has caused her to seek out duties such as tending to her family's dairy herd and milking cows to normal duties of tending children and managing a household. Having scorned a suitable Amish suitor, she is forced by guilt to leave her home and beloved family farm and seek refuge with another couple, the Banks'. The Banks are a couple that have been devastated by the of their daughter a year ago and a son that is away at rehab for alcohol abuse.
Upon Aaron's return, his plan is to persuade his parents into selling the farm and moving with him into town. Although Sylvia has become attached to the couple and to their farm, she must join with Aaron and his plan in order to see her own dreams fulfilled. Will they sell the farm? Do Sylvia and Aaron give in to their mutual attraction? BUY THE BOOK!!!
I will say that the book was very well written, just not really my genre of reading. The characters were well defined, the story was paced appropriately and the plot was believable.
Is this a "Man's Book"? Not really. While I can say that the book was well written, I can also say that I can't imagine too many men reading this book. Doesn't mean that it wasn't a good book, just not really for men.
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Harvest of Grace, Ada's House Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A story about personal struggles

Date:July 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sylvia Fisher's beau Elam finally asked her to marry him, but was she ready to give up everything she loved for him. She loves Elam but has spent most of her life helping her father on the dairy farm even to the extent of making suggestions to improve the farm and her father listened to her. Will Elam be willing to let her have an opinion in their marriage or will he expect her to take on the Old Order Amish role of the woman managing a household and raising babies only. When she finds out that Elam signed a contract with her father to take over half of the farm without asking her, it makes her wonder even more what her role would be in their marriage.
When Sylvia takes too long to give him an answer, Elam marries her sister Becky. Sylvia's father won't let her leave the farm so she stays home but after a dangerous incident she demands that he let her leave. She moves to Michael and Dora Blank's dairy farm to help him. Since she's left home her father refuses to let her have any contact with anyone in her family so she soon feels like Michael and Dora are her family.
The Blank's are in desperate need of help since their son Aaron left several months ago and Michael suffers from rheumatoid arthritis. Aaron is an alcoholic, driven to drink by the treatment from his dad after his sister was killed in a freak accident, which they each blames himself for. Aaron gets help for himself and returns home to help his dad and talk his parents into selling the farm. He wants them to help run an Amish appliance store, which he has put money down on to purchase, in three months.
Michael continues to treat Aaron terribly while he accepts the help he is giving them on the farm. Sylvia dislikes Aaron because his plans will ruin her plans to live their and farm, since she feels like she'll never be able to return home again. It is a constant battle, difference of opinions, will any of them ever give in, it seems to be two against one? Will Sylvia ever get to see her parents and sisters again and where will home be for her? When Aaron realizes that Sylvia has become a like a hermit, not going to church, not seeing friends, etc. he forces her to take time off from work which she also resents and thinks he's trying to get her to agree to selling the farm.
Cindy did her usual great job and held my interest and jogged my memory of the first book so I wasn't lost. Sylvia, Michael and Aaron are all three strong willed people with their own plans. I have a lot of family members like that so it hit close to home for me. I read the first book in this series a long time ago, thought I had the second one but discovered I didn't. I plan on going back and reading the second one though. This is a good story about personal struggles and how different personalities deal with them.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BloggingforBooks.org book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Harvest of Grace, Ada's House Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Book

Date:June 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
SmileyMommy
Location:Bowling Green, KY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The book, The Harvest of Grace, by Cindy Woodsmall is about several young Amish "couples". The couples form themselves during the book and are all weaved together making this book interesting. All of the characters are friends from the beginning or become so when entering the Amish community. I enjoyed the book and feeling like I was right there with the characters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Harvest of Grace, Ada's House Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Superb book for Amish Fans

Date:June 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
high plains
Location:WY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This a must read for all Amish fiction fans. It is book 3 in the Ada's House series. Great plot excellent read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Harvest of Grace, Ada's House Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Confusing, yet sweet, novel.

Date:June 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kataleen
Location:Farmville, NC
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This book was a bit unbelievable. I have read numerous Amish books in the past, but this one seemed to paint the Amish in a different picture. The hero (who is Amish) is a recovering drunk, the heroine (also Amish) kissed her sister's husband and ran away, they barely speak any Dutch or German. On the back of the book, it talks about Sylvia and Aaron. But half the book is about a woman named Cara forgiving and reviving a relationship with her once-drunk father. I didn't care much for Cara. I wanted to see more of Sylvia's relationship with Aaron.
There was also a bit of confusion at the beginning. She was introducing so many new characters, and not describing them, so I couldn't tell who was related/friends/married/etc with whom. I also, because of the lack of description, could not picture or imagine the characters very well.
However, I did enjoy the book, overall. It took a bit for me to get into it. The writing style was lovely. After a bit, I grew to enjoy the characters. My only big complaint is that, during the Epilogue, they never told us what happens to Aaron and Sylvia. The Epilogue was about Cara and her Amish fiance. At least, I think he's Amish. I was a bit unsure, because the author never really explained it. She said he had been shunned, but Cara was joining the community.
Anyway, if you read it, I hope you enjoy it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Harvest of Grace, Ada's House Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this book!

Date:March 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rebecca
Location:Richmond, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cindy Woodsmall's "The Harvest of Grace" was definitely not my first foray into Amish fiction.
What struck me most was how real and relatable the characters were. Some books like this feel like the same character is replicated throughout. But in this book, Woodsmall engages you with men and women who feel like you.
The story is the continuation of a previous story line; however, Woodsmall does a great job of bringing you up to speed whether you have read previous books or not (although I had). It's also a story of forgiveness and redemption, from both points of view. Some characters enter the story seeking forgiveness while others have the greater challenge of offering forgiveness, erasing the debt of years -- sometimes decades -- of hurt.
I'm already a Cindy Woodsmall fan, and this book definitely did not disappoint.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Harvest of Grace, Ada's House Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Romance In The Making...

Date:February 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nel Fastenau
Location:Willard, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Harvest of Grace is a true romance in the making. It is well written with strong characters.
Sylvia is the oldest of nine girls, single, and leaves home which is unheard of in the Amish community. This happened when Sylvia and her brother-in-law, which happened to be her previous beau, could not keep their feelings in check. How did Elam go from being her boyfriend to her brother-in-law?
Sylvia takes a job at a Dairy Farm for an older couple, the Blanks. Their son Aaron, whom never wanted to be a farmer, comes home following rehab trying to convince his parents to leave the farm and move to town with him. Instead he finds Sylvia trying to help his Dad get the farm back in the red. Will Sylvia and Aaron work out their differences?
There are several other romances taking place and developing in the story also. Cara ended up in Dry Lake with her daughter Lily. Cara grew up in the Bronx, her mom died when she was young and her dad abandoned her. Cara has found her self head over heels in love with of all people an Amish man. Will Cara ever get through her training and learn the Amish ways? Can she leave her old life behind?
There is also Lena Mast who has a large birthmark on the side of her face; she is in love with Grey. Grey also loves her but he is an upstanding Amish man who lost his wife last year. They have to wait out a mourning period before they can proceed with their life together.
There are a few other characters you can meet and answer all the questions when you read the book The Harvest of Grace. This is a very good fast paced book. There is a lot going on and it keeps your interest.
I received this book free from Blogging for Books at Waterbrook Press Publishing as part of their Blogger Review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Harvest of Grace, Ada's House Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good story of grace & reconciliation

Date:February 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
notdenise
Location:Northern Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Harvest of Grace by Cindy Woodsmall is the 3rd book in the "Ada's House" series. Even though I had not read the first two books I was able to enjoy this story on it's own. I live in the midst of a large Amish community in northern Indiana, and am usually not a fan of Amish fiction, feeling that it doesn't portray the real life of the Amish, at least in my experiences with them. Cindy Woodsmall's books are the exception to me - her stories are believable yet entertaining.
In this story, Sylvia is a mid-20's Amish woman who loves working on her family's dairy farm. She is the oldest of 9 daughters, so there are no sons to take over the farm (Amish tradition is that the males usually have priority in inheriting land). She has been dating an Amish man, but this relationship falls apart and she leaves her family to go to work on another dairy farm a distance away without telling her sisters where she is going. Once on the Blank farm, she meets the sole surviving Blank child, Aaron, who is returning from treatment for alcoholism. Aaron has dreams to sell his parents farm, which is deeply in debt, and buy an appliance shop, but Sylvia is determined to work at all costs to save the farm. They end up working closely on the farm and their strong personalities and differences of opinion clash frequently. Sylvia does end up reconciling with her family, and they find a way to save the farm and keep it operating. I enjoyed reading this book.
You can read an excerpt of the first chapter at the publisher's website.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review, but the opinion of the book is mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Harvest of Grace, Ada's House Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Harvest Of Grace

Date:January 28, 2012
Sylvia Fisher loved living on her family's farm. From the time she was little, Sylvia helped her grandfather while he was working. He taught her everything she knew about dairy farming. She even inherited a part of his farm after he passed away. Being the oldest of nine children, all girls, she also helped on her family's farm. Something unexpected happened and she had to leave the farm. She started working at Michael and Dora Blank's farm. She was in charge of all that was dairy.
One day the Blank's son, Aaron, showed up out of nowhere. He was an alcoholic and had just finished rehab. He was determined to keep on the straight and narrow. Michael and Dora didn't fully trust he would be sticking around, but they put him in charge of the rest of the farm. Micheal had health issues that prevented him from being able to work a lot. The Blank's were going to lose their farm if the crops didn't produce and the cow's milk production didn't increase.
Aaron and Sylvia butted heads but they worked together for the one purpose of keeping the farm afloat. Aaron's goal was to sell it. He wanted his parents to move to a new town with him and help run an appliance store. Sylvia's goal was to make it profitable so the Blank's didn't lose it. This story revolves around the struggles of trying to keep the farm running. Whether they succeed and keep it, end up losing it, or moving, you'll have to read the story to find out.
The Harvest of Grace focuses mainly on Sylvia and her struggle to accept God's grace, His forgiveness. Along the way she encounters friendships and romance that she never expected. There are several smaller story lines within this story. There are the stories of Grey and Lena, Ephraim and Cara, Trevor Atwater, Ada and Israel, Deborah and Jonathan, and Michael and Dora. This book is close to 600 pages but I could have kept on reading. Cindy Woodsmall drew me into the lives of the characters. I felt I like knew them when I finished the book. Read The Harvest Of Grace, you'll be glad you did!
This is the third book in the Ada’s House Series.
I received a free copy of this book from WaterBrook Multnomah for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Harvest of Grace, Ada's House Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

OUTSTANDING BOOK!

Date:January 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Moonpie
Location:PRYOR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the 3rd book in the Ada House Series. I have read the first one but have not read the 2nd one. At the beginning of the book it had a short synopsis of the first two books. It was perfect and just right to let give me an idea about what happened in the 2nd book without giving too much information! I really appreciated the author including this. I didn’t’ feel left out at all! I can also go back and read the second book and not feel I did so out of line.
Sylvia Fischer isn’t the norm for a housekeeping, sewing, cooking Amish woman. She shows great skill in helping her father manage the family dairy. She is content to care for the cattle and be with her beloved family. The surprising unfaithfulness of her beau and her continued attraction to him drives her away from her family. She does the unusual for a young Amish woman and finds a job many miles away from her home helping an elderly couple revive their failing dairy farm. Her new life seems perfect until their prodigal son returns home from an alcohol rehab with plans to sale the farm and move his parents to town with him.
Aaron Blank’s homecoming stirs many conflicts for the family and Sylvia. There were points in the story where it appeared there could be no resolution to the problems. Ms. Woodsmall beautifully illustrates it is always darkest before the dawn and that with God, all things are possible. Sometimes I saw myself in Sylvia and Aaron when in periods of my life I became so focused on my plans that I had no room for God’s. I felt their feeling of hopelessness and frustration that resisting God brings. I was also reminded of how God’s plans are always better than the best plans we can imagine for ourselves. I found myself gripping the book tightly in suspense as it looked like all the progress the characters had made would be lost.
This is a beautiful story of how God can work to soften the hardest hearts and right the worst misunderstandings with His grace and forgiveness.
Another outstanding book by Cindy Woodsmall! This is a wonderful series and I hope there are more!
I received this book free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group . I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Harvest of Grace, Ada's House Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I recommend THE HARVEST OF GRACE!

Date:January 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Eleanor Anders
Location:USA
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Look:
The betrayal of a sister who marries the man Sylvia Fisher loved gets even more complicated. Years later, Sylvia indulges her sister's husband in an adulterer's kiss, and she must give up her family. She takes a job on a farm, the Blank's farm.
Cara Moore is discovered living with her daughter in Ephraim's barn. Alone with her daughter, Cara's background is heartbreaking; her mother died and her father left her alone at a bus station. She's an abandoned child whom Social Services takes into foster care. After knowing her plight, Ephraim Mast takes care of them and endures a shunning for refusing to make her seek help elsewhere. Now, she's in love with Ephraim and dedicated to become an accepted member of the Amish community. However, her father comes back.
Meanwhile, Aaron Blank's parents will not answer his letters from rehab, but that's not going to stop him from going home. He's going to take care of his parents, and Aaron has a plan. Putting money down on business, he goes home intending to do the right thing for them. Can he make amends? Aaron wants to take care of his parents, but it was only months earlier that he had left them alone on a dairy farm.
Lena Kauffman is in love with Grey Graber, but she's prepared to wait for his official mourning period to end. Grey is a widower and wants to do right by his first wife's family. How would they feel having their daughter replaced too soon? Will time do more than keep them these two apart?
THE HARVEST OF GRACE delves into the lives of these and others characters. However, the most central theme is the family struggles and rejection is a large part of these stories.
Cindy Woodsmall demonstrates that hurt begets hurt and forgiveness needs to follow. She does not concentrate on the Amish themes; she zeros into the characters, their flaws, and the many human emotions that we all share.
My Take:
I recommend THE HARVEST OF GRACE!
Cindy Woodsmall writes from a background with a strong Amish connection, but she writes about non-traditional Amish issues in this book and will keep you turning pages.
She provides more than just a love story and does more than teach you about the Amish traditions, Cindy Woodsmall writes about issues that face all of us and shows us all forgiveness is possible.
This is a stand-alone novel, but is part of a series. You will want to catch up with the other titles in the Ada's House series. They are THE HOPE OF REFUGE: ADA'S HOUSE BOOK 1 (August 2009), THE BRIDGE OF PEACE: ADA'S HOUSE BOOK 2 (August 2010), and THE CHRISTMAS SINGING (October 2011).
Through WaterBrook Multnomah's Blogging for Books Program, I received this book for free in exchange my honest review. ***Though the publisher provides the free book, I offer the opinion.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Harvest of Grace, Ada's House Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Miracles of Grace

Date:January 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Miss Tina
Location:Chicago
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have to admit this book started off a little confusing by shifting very quickly between characters, places and stories. It wasn't until the end of the book, that I realized that "The Harvest of Grace" was the 3rd book in a series. The author does a very good job about giving enough background information so that the reader won't feel totally lost. I will definitely read the two previous books in the series.
The story involves 5 couples, but only 3 of them are the very main characters. The author bravely tackles tough, real life issues with each story line, from widowhood to alcoholism to sibling betrayal. I was very impressed with these “sticky” topics were handled. Typically, many novels about the Amish don’t address alcoholism or genetic diseases. However, Cindy Woodsmall presented a fresh and refreshing perspective on each of these that highlighted forgiveness, unconditional love and the need for treatment of diseases, even by people of faith.
The main couples were Lena, a 20-something Amish lady who lives with her widowed father and Grey, a widowed father who is living with a daily reminder of a possible genetic abnormality that is in his bloodline. Both of these characters seem very faithful to their religion and also family oriented. In the end, love and perseverance win out. The care and concern shown by them to Grey former in-laws was very selfless and revealed a great love for them.
The next couple is more of an “odd couple” in that Ephraim is Amish, but Cara is English and seeking to become a member of the Amish community. The dialogue and interaction between these two was very light and a lot different from traditional Amish novels. Cara is quite outspoken and feisty, which seems to be very attractive and amusing to Ephraim. Ephraim is the epitome of love and support as Cara seeks to work through dealing with the ghosts of her past, which seem to keep reappearing. One awesome event in the book happened when Cara feet “arms embracing her as she cried”. She thought it was of the love of her life Ephraim, but it turned out to be the lover of her soul, consoling and restoring her resolve to love and forgive.
Finally, there is Sylvia and Aaron, an unlikely couple who found their way to each other through hard work, arguments and reconciliation! Both seem to be running from their pasts, but find that their futures are contingent on the things that they are trying to hide, bury and forget. Sylvia’s ability to shatter the stereotypical, domesticated picture of a single woman living in an Amish home was portrayed very well. She did come across a little rude and suspicious at times, but I guess that’s natural if you have dealt with betrayal of two people who were supposedly close to you and who loved you. Aaron’s willingness to share his struggles and his faith with his friend, Sylvia and finally his father was quite courageous. Though his motives weren’t quite as pure initially, he eventually saw that God had placed him where he was supposed to be. The love that blossomed between these two was quite heartwarming and a symbol of how the heart can heal and go on.
Overall, Woodsmall did a great job with depicting the bountiful blessings of love, joy, contentment and peace that can come from a harvest of grace!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Waterbrook Press. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Harvest of Grace, Ada's House Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great conclusion to the trilogy

Date:January 7, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The third book in the Ada's House series, this book brings the trilogy to a nice conclusion. I'm sad to say goodbye to the characters in this series. I'd love to find out what happened to them all later in life, but I guess that's where I can use my own imagination! It's just hard to end a series when you love the characters.
This book picks up where Aaron Blank has been to rehab and has gotten out. He desires to make things right with his family so he goes back to the farm to attempt reconciliation and to hopefully have his parents realize that they need to see the farm and move in with him to help run a store. His desire for farming has long left him and he is seeking a new start to life. While Aaron was in rehab, he didn't realize that his dad had hired a farm hand, Sylvia Fisher, to help run his farm.
Sylvia is not your typical Amish woman. She doesn't want to just stay home and raise babies. She loves her family's dairy farm, but a betrayal by her boyfriend and sister have caused her to run away from the farm to avoid reconciliation and to hid from the guilt. Her father meets Michael Blank and the two agree that Sylvia could work at the Blank farm. With Sylvia's love for the dairy farm and Aaron's strong intent on selling the farm, how will these two ever work together? What will end up happening to the farm? What will happen when Sylvia must come face to face with her guilt and how can it ever be reconciled?
That is the main story throughout the book, but you also have the story of Cara learning to forgive her father who abandoned her, Ephraim and Cara finding out how long they must wait to get married, Grey and Lena finding out if they will be able to have children without disabilities once they are married, Deborah and Jonathan taking steps toward marriage and Ada and Israel finally figuring out what they want in their relationship.
If you've read the first two, you must read this book. If you haven't read the first two, then do it and then get this one. Cindy writes in a way that makes you keep turning pages and makes you feel as though you are living your life among the Amish, even if it is just for the time that you are escaping to inside of the book.
_____________________
I received this book free from Waterbrook Press through the Blogging for Books program in exchange for my honest opinion of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Harvest of Grace, Ada's House Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Grace, Suspense and Amish Heritage!

Date:December 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
MyMrsO
Location:Wisconsin
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was easy to be swept into the life of Old Order Amish in this third book, "The Harvest of Grace", from the Ada's House series, by Cindy Woodsmall.
Reeling from an unexpected betrayal, can Sylvia find relief from the echoes of her past…or will they shape her future forever?
Although Sylvia Fisher recognizes that most Old Order Amish women her age spend their hours managing a household and raising babies, she has just one focus—tending and nurturing the herd on her family’s dairy farm. But when a dangerous connection with an old beau forces her to move far from home, she decides to concentrate on a new start and pour her energy into reviving another family’s debt-ridden farm.
I liked the determination and values of the main character, Sylvia. She struggles with the same issues all of us face each day. Being honest with others, wondering how our past mistakes can ever be forgiven, and finding hope in the simple things. When Sylvia takes time out to rest under a tree in the hot summer heat, or notices the strength that comes from generation after generation working to build a dairy farm, or the tenderness she gives to the little kittens she finds in the barn loft, you can almost believe you are there sharing those moments.
Sylvia has to learn to trust her new friends, too. Aaron, Grey, Cara, Ephraim, Trevor and the other families who all come to Ada's House, will bring you to appreciate traditional Amish events and the daily routines that are part of the Old Order Amish heritage. I would recommend this book for those who appreciate the Amish community and for those struggling with the issues of forgiveness and God's grace.
If you'd like to read the first chapter of this book, just click here: http://www.scribd.com/doc/58119222/The-Harvest-of-Grace-by-Cindy-Woodsmall-ch-1-excerpt
Author Bio
Cindy Woodsmall is a New York Times best-selling author whose connection with the Amish community has been featured on ABC Nightline, in The Wall Street Journal, and in other media. She is the author of the Sisters of the Quilt series, The Sound of Sleigh Bells, and a nonfiction work, Plain Wisdom, which was written with her closest Old Order Amish friend. Cindy lives in Georgia with her family. Visit her website at CindyWoodsmall.com
"I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Harvest of Grace, Ada's House Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!

Date:December 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hayley
Location:Central Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
The Harvest of Grace by Cindy Woodsmall is part of the Ada's House novels. This book has a very interesting story line and I really enjoyed reading it. Like most of Cindy Woodsmall's books this is novel takes place in an Amish community. I highly recommend this book if you enjoy reading about the Amish . Thanks to Blogging Books for providing me with a free copy for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Harvest of Grace, Ada's House Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fulfilling ending to a great trilogy

Date:December 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Harvest of Grace
Cindy Woodsmall
This is a story about the Amish. This last installment is about Sylvia and Aaron. They are two people who have a history that has challenged their past and future. They are likeable characters, well developed and kept me interested throughout the book. I would gladly recommend this story to friends. I believe this was a faithful installment to the series and provided readers a satisfying book. I have always enjoyed Ms. Woodsmall's books and always eager to read her next book. I am thankful to blogging for books for the free copy that provided me the opportunity to review The Harvest of Grace.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Harvest of Grace, Ada's House Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not So Amish

Date:December 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Borger, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book, The Harvest of Grace, centers around a young Amish woman named Sylvia Fisher. Sylvia is jilted by the young man who has been courting her....for her younger sister. And if that's not bad enough, her father gives the house her grandfather left to her to the newly married couple. As the oldest of nine daughters, Sylvia was very close to her grandfather--who taught her how to build the herd of milk cows and develop the land and crops for those cows. Sylvia would rather be outside working with the cattle than inside cooking or doing the normal things young Amish women do. Because of an indiscretion with her sister's husband (and her former boyfriend), Sylvia decides to leave her father's home and move 30 miles away to help a man with his dairy herd. This man's only child left home months earlier to go to a rehab for his alcohol addiction.
I didn't realize when I started reading this book that it is the third book in this series. For the most part, I could figure out what was going on. But there were huge gaps in the book that you wouldn't know what had happened unless you'd read the first two books. There were two or three story lines of other people's intersecting lives that were followed and several were from the "outside" and not Amish. Personally, I didn't think the true Amish flavor really came through. It was very distracting to follow so many non-Amish people when the Amish characters didn't seem all that Amish. But Cindy Woodsmall is a great story teller. In fact, I wouldn't put the book down after I began reading and read into the night.
I'd give this book 4 out of 5 stars.
Thank you to WaterBrook Multnomah Publishers for providing this book for review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Harvest of Grace, Ada's House Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The harvest of Grace by Cindy Woodsmall

Date:December 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
cathy
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Harvest of Grace by Cindy Woodsmall is about Sylvia Fisher who at the beginning of the book has just had her fiance dump her for her sister. Sylvia has always helping in the running of her father's dairy farm and to help deal with the feelings of rejection she has decided to leave the family farm and go away to work for another farmer who had placed an ad for work in the paper. This is a big decision for Sylvia both financially, (she stands to lose her inheritance as well as her life savings) as well as she needs her father's blessing to avoid being shunned. Sylvia pours herself into trying to revive a poorly run farm and get it back on its feet. To further complicate matters Aaron Blank the alcoholic only son of the farmer returns after spending time in rehab with the plan to move his parents to an easier lifestyle in town. His plan is to sell the farm and buy a business in town.
The Harvest of Grace is the third of the Ada House series. I wished that I had read the first two books as they were probably just as good as this one and I would have more easily followed the story line but even so Cindy Woodsmall has a little 1 1/2 page catch up telling the previous story so far. This is a delightfully well written book of life in one Amish family. These people have the same problems as in any family but are solving them following the rulings of the Amish church to which they belong. I loved this book and I would suggest this as good reading for any age.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.