Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press The Daughter's Walk

WaterBrook Press The Daughter's Walk

In 1896, Helga Estby and her daughter Clara walked from Washington State to New York City, a distance of 4,000 miles, in seven months in the hope of raising $10,000 to save their farm from foreclosure. But that journey is only the beginning of their story, as the tragedies that follow their accomplishments and what they learn upon returning home are enough to separate Clara from her family for decades. Estranged and alone, it will take the power of faith and forgiveness for Clara to accept healing and to walk into a present joy and a hopeful future.
Average Customer Rating:
4.441 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
32 out of 3494%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Daughter's Walk
Review 1 for The Daughter's Walk
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A walk to remember...

Date:December 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Crystal
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I'll be honest, the 4,000 on foot historical non-fiction journey between Norwegian Americans, Helga Eastby and her daughter, Clara to rescue the family farm from foreclosure had me on the edge of my seat! Helga is a determined, independent soul trying to do what's best for the family and believes if one finds a fork in the road, the Lord will guide and reward your path! I was fascinated with her, yet quite frustrated with Clara. I felt she was often portrayed sometimes as a female Davie Crocket, cold, reserved, uncooperative, in general unlikeable. There also wasn't enough discussion on women's suffrage, politics, fashion, of the time. I wanted to learn more of the facts, instead they were cut short. This is a fair novel, but for those like me that enjoy to indulge in the truth, I'd recommend reading 'Helga Eastby's Forgotten Walk Across Victorian America'.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Daughter's Walk
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Thought provoking historical fiction

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
julies
Location:Prairie du Chien, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the story written by Jane Kirkpatrick a mother and her 18year old daughter walk from Spokane, Washington to New York City in an effort to raise money to save the family farm. The story takes place in 1896 during a time when the nation was struggling with womens rights. The disagreements and strive that this causes within the family forces the daughter to start out on her own and develop a new life.
Daughters Walk is historical fiction with thought provoking challenges for the characters that bring the reader to consider their own lives and family relationships.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Daughter's Walk
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

fascinating story but with a slow start

Date:June 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Katharina
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
An interesting look at life through the eyes of women from 1896-1942. This was an interesting story from history that few have probably ever heard of and one that I had certainly never heard.
In 1896 a mother accepted a wager from the fashion industry to walk from Spokane, Washington to New York City within seven months to earn ten thousand dollars. Helga Estby hoped to save the family farm with the money and thus set out with her oldest daughter leaving behind her husband and seven other children.
Clara, eighteen, was not happy about having to trek across the US with her mom but the journey shaped her in ways she never could have imagined. After the year long trek she left her family behind and sought to make her own way in the world.
The first half of the book is about the trek that Clara and Helga Estby completed in 1896. While the first part is the most historically accurate of the book I found it hard to get into and ended up skimming it. The second half was more interesting and read more like a novel. But it’s based more on educated guesses.
Clara’s family hated it that their mom and sister had been gone for so long and refused to let them speak of it. Clara left for that reason and kept in her possession some of the memorabilia of the trip. Those items were found later by a grand or great-grand niece and it is from those items that the story was finally revealed to the world.
I wouldn’t call this a great book but it was truly fascinating to learn about women in business in the early 1900s. The author does a good job portraying the emotions behind decisions and showing how ordinary life was affected and not affected by World War I, suffragettes, and politics. The portrayal of family and friendship is another well done aspect of the story.
Disclosure: I received this book for free from the publisher for review purposes. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Daughter's Walk
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting Read!

Date:May 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
sherrijinga
Location:Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(click to see the video)
The Daughter's Walk by Jane Kirkpatrick is the story of Clara Estby, nineteen-years-old, and her mother, Helga. They set off on an adventure from Spokane, Washington, to New York in 1896. The problem with this adventure is they are on foot and it is an adventure that Clara did not ask to go on. Their family farm is in danger of being lost after the father has been injured, and Helga takes on a risky challenge in order to save it. Clara is at a point in her life where she enjoys her job and has a gentleman she’s interested in. The last thing she wants to do is leave home for a journey that could take six months or more. A dangerous journey, at that. A journey that involves leaving the father at home with the other children, one of them a baby.
Why is this journey something that could save their home? This is during the women’s suffrage movement days and the fashion industry has developed a dress which is shorter than the traditional dresses and they claim it will make life easier for women. If they make the journey by walking from Spokane to New York in these dresses, stopping along the way to get signatures of prominent leaders, they have a chance at winning $10,000.00. Of course, shorter dresses were quite the scandal then and so Helga puts Clara in potential danger just by being a representative of the manufacturer. Clara, additionally, is humiliated each time her mother shares their financial struggles with others. Helga seems to have the family’s best interest at heart but you also get the feeling that she loves being away from her responsibilities at home. She loves the attention.
This walk is historically accurate and is only the basis for the book. There is so much more. Clara must deal with her feelings of inferiority that her mother causes and she must face secrets that shake her foundation. She must learn to stand on her own two feet. Sometimes it’s hard to break away from what you’ve always felt was true about yourself. Clara makes a break from her family, becomes a businesswoman and eventually finds her way in the world. She makes friends with people who teach her wonderful things like faith and love—things she needed to know.
This was my first experience with the author and I liked her style of writing. It was easy. I found my eyes gliding along the pages. She didn’t drag the scenes out too long and I didn’t find myself saying, “Get on with it,” like I do in so many books. The book addresses the issue of equality and it deals with family situations like so many in our world today—less than perfect.
I received this book from the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Daughter's Walk
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Good Read

Date:April 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
India Girl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
“The Daughter’s Walk” is a well-written novel based on an often neglected historical event that occurred in America in the early Victorian era. Jane Kirkpatrick entwines fact with fiction in a rich dialogue that makes the characters come alive and draws the reader into the lives, struggles, and emotions of each character.
Not only does Jane Kirkpatrick succeed in the retelling of this historic event but she also addresses issues within the story that nearly everyone has struggled with or will struggle with in their lifetime: resentment, bitterness, rejection, forgiveness, love, and learning to overcome the hardships that the world often throws at us. Every character in “The Daughter’s Walk” is wonderfully human and flawed.
This novel touched me personally in the character’s struggle to know God’s will versus her own. I felt a bond with Clara as she often faced difficult decisions and circumstances amid hurt and confusion. Oftentimes I wonder if an opportunity is from God or if it is because I am seeking an escape or running away from a difficult situation. Two quotes that particularly touched me were the last part of the verse from Isaiah 30:21 which flows through the book as one of the main central themes, “This is the way; walk ye in it.” , and the second is advice from Clara’s mother when she was talking to her daughter after their failed journey: “Remember Clara. Listen for His voice; don’t trust your own” (pg. 142). Both quotes empathize a reminder on dependance on God and listening for His voice above our own desires.
This novel is beautifully put together and holds your attention right from the start up until the last sentence. That being the case, I wasn’t able to put the book down and read it from start to finish in one day. I highly recommend this book to readers who enjoy historical fiction and nonfiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Daughter's Walk
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good, but not what I expected

Date:April 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wanda Myers
Location:Dublin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Based on true events, this novel tells the story of the famous 3,500 mile walk made by Norwegian Helga Etsby and her daughter Clara in 1896, when they followed the railroad from Washington to New York. The story continues on from there to tell how the walk affected their lives and how Clara lived the next twenty years estranged from the family she tried so hard to help. While the walk is a real historical event, the author has used research and speculation to fictionalize an event and create a tale that is very captivating.
I found a lot to ponder about this book. The walk in itself was a great feat and I found myself wishing that it had been a little more detailed. There are many questions I have about how that was really like for two women to be alone and make the trek across country. The rest of the story after the walk was very interesting and I felt deeply for Clara and her struggles with her family, who did not realize the sacrifices she and her mother had made. I caught myself not liking Clara’s sister Ida at all. She was so very judgmental and treated her mother like a naughty child. The book deals with family dynamics in a very realistic way that will make every reader stop and consider her own family relationships.
While the writing is good and the story interesting, I have to admit that I was rather disappointed with the ending. It did not turn out exactly as I had hoped. The book also did not have as much spiritual content as I would expect from a Christian fiction novel. It’s a clean story but that is about it. Given the title of the book, it would have been nice if it encouraged people in their Christian walk as well.
I received this complimentary copy from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group through their Blogging for Books program. A positive review was not required and the opinions expressed here are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Daughter's Walk
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Exceptional Must Read

Date:April 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Amanda
Location:Michigan
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Daughter’s Walk by Jane Kirkpatrick is a historical fiction novel based on a Norwegian mother and her daughter who take on a wager from a fashion industry to walk from Spokane, Washington to New York City in an effort to save their family’s farm from foreclosure. Jane Kirkpatrick takes you on the 7,000 mile journey with them and gives you a real sense of what they experienced and went through. She explores the idea of how the journey might have changed both the mother and daughter’s life along with the rest of their family. Jane Kirkpatrick also explores what happened to the daughter Clara Estby after the journey and how it completely changed the direction of her life.
The Daughter’s Walk is a fantastic read that far exceeded my expectations. It is an inspiring story of courage and strength, sacrifice and family, and exile and restoration. Jane Kirkpatrick has done a amazing job writing this book. From the very first page she will pull you in and have you cheering for Helga and Clara the whole way. It is an exceptional must read for any book lover, especially for those whole truly enjoy historical fiction. You will not be disappointed by The Daughter’s Walk.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Daughter's Walk
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heartwrenchingly Vivid

Date:December 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Meghan G
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A daughter's thirst for adventure and a fresh start, her mother's tragedy...a 7,000 mile journey that did not end with their return home.
Based on a true story, Jane Kirkpatrick chronicles the real-life 7,000 trek of mother/daughter Norwegian women, Helga and Clara Estby. The author also explores how, after the defining trek, Clara's life changed and revealed secrets, upturned tradition and challenged the culture at every turn.
Jane Kirkpatrick, highly acclaimed historical fiction writer, sticks to the facts of what Clara did with her life after returning home to the family farm after the 7,000 mile round trip she and her mother took to pay the mortgage on their farm. Clara Estby changed her name, set out to not only recreate her identity...but find it.
Ms. Kirkpatrick weaves in all the facts, with only a little fiction, and in this paperback, gives you a highly engaging, emotionally gripping tale of loss, forgiveness and how one choice affected not only a young woman's life, but that of her family's.
I was given this book for free from Waterbrook Multnomah.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Daughter's Walk
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Appreciate the History of Women

Date:November 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
luv2readjen
Location:Lisle, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sometimes women are underestimated, even today, but imagine how much more that was commonly true in the late 1800s, early 1900s. Women weren’t allowed to vote, were required to be modest, and were expected to follow their husband’s instructions regardless of personal opinion. So imagine, in that day, a woman who purposed to walk from one edge of the continent to the other to save her family.
That is the starting point for a refreshing novel of incredible courage, amazing faith, discouraging circumstances, and miraculous reconciliation. Kirkpatrick does an incredible job of weaving the facts of two women’s journey with the partially fictionalized tale of the consequences. The result is a book with a sweeping plot that describes very different outcomes for the women who trekked through history. The defiant women live in direct opposition to a world that would discount their choices, while the submissive ones sacrifice for something more important than sheer determination.
In the end, all demonstrate the strength required of the historical woman. Since these women lived in an era where your worth was defined by first your father and then your husband, it is no wonder that nearly a century would pass between when this happened and when we would appreciate the beauty of a pair of women who were willing to forge ahead, even so. The consequences of the journey undertaken at the outset of this fictionalized account span decades, but are both immediate and long term. Read the tale of Clara and Helge and understand the complicated yet simple decisions that compelled a life long journey through tragedy and triumph.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Daughter's Walk
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Personal History and Fiction Book

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vicky
Location:Lafayette, Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love to read Christian fiction and am always surprised when a book surpasses my expectations . This book by Jane Kirkpatrick is just that kind of book. I have read her books before and have not been disappointed. When I read what this one was about it really intrigued me. What actually transpired throughout the story was so compelling and a look at history in the late 1800's and into the 1900's.
It starts in 1896 when Helga and her daughter Clara accept a wager from the fashion industry to walk from Spokane Washington to New York City. It has to be done in seven months and they will win $10,000 which they need to save the family farm from foreclosure. I thought the book would just detail their walk and what happened along the way, but it was so much more in depth. They were gone a year and when they went back home a lot of things have changed and not good things. Clara decides to leave home and walk on alone, leaving the family home and changing her name. This is where the story really begins-with Clara and her continued journey. She is a risk taker in an era where women did not have many rights or independence.
The story ends in 1942 and how the family separations and forgiveness finally begin and a new chapter begins in Clara's life . I found the author's notes and acknowledgments very insightful into the story and just how this book came about.
This was one enjoyable read and I thank Waterbrook/Multnomah for sending me this book free just for my honest opinion of the book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Daughter's Walk
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life 's trials

Date:November 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
ssemah
Location:California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I could feel for Clara and her mother. Hard times.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Daughter's Walk
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting and enlightening book

Date:August 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
RobbyeFaye
Location:Oxford, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Daughter's Walk by Jeanne Kirkpatrick is an historical novel based on very limited information available on Helga and Clara Estby's walk across America but more particularly about Clara and her years of estrangement from her family.
In 1896, a time in America when women were still considered to be little more than possessions and not allowed a voice or the vote, Helga Estby in effect forced her daughter Clara, age 19, to go on a cross country walk. Neither Clara nor Helga's husband wanted the walk to happen and as a direct result of the walk there followed a 20 year estrangement from Clara and her family.
The walk was to occur over a period of seven months time, during which time they were to wear a new reform dress. Their walk was sponsored by makers of the dress in the hopes of proving women had stamina and how the dress allowed them freedom in their busy loves. In return, Helga would receive $10,000 from the sponsors, money desperately needed to save the Estby's home.
Jeanne Kirkpatrick has done a wonderful job of piecing together a story from little to work with. Her portrayal of the two women's walk, from Spokane, Washington to New York City, (a span of 3500 miles) and then their return home, is written in such a way that you feel you are there with them.
Her conjecture on Clara's life is a delightfully written intertwined story based on her research and impressive imagination.
The ending left a little to be desired but I credit that to the lack of information and not the author's talent.
The Daughter's Walk is in one of my favorite genres; historical fiction. I especially like when there is biblical application included. That being said; I was disappointed there wasn't more biblical relevance introduced in the book.
I was provided this book by WaterBrook Press in exchange for an honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Daughter's Walk
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
loves to read
Location:PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an excellent read. I found myself unable to go to sleep some nights until I finished a chapter. I've read some earlier books by this author and enjoyed them, but this was the best that I've read of hers so far. I recommend this to any reader.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Daughter's Walk
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A really good book!

Date:August 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Leona Koziarski
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you like books that are based on history this books for you! The story is not ended until you read the Epilogue and the 'Authors Notes and Acknownledgements'. I don't normally read those, but I'm glad that I did this time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Daughter's Walk
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Book!

Date:July 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Holly Smith
Location:Charleston, SC
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In 1896, Helga Estby and her daughter Clara, journey on foot from Spokane, Washington to New York City in a desperate attempt to save their family farm. Much to the dissatisfaction of their community, they leave their family behind to make the six month trek across the county. During the time spent on their walk, Helga reveals a deep secret that alters her perception of her family. Upon their return to Spokane, several years later, Clara continues to walk. . .but this time away from her family. She relocates and changes her name, leaving a rift between her and the ones she loves the most. Based off a true story, Jane Kirkpatrick explores Clara's life that follows the great walk of 1896.
I'm not sure how to sum up my experience with this book, except to say that this story is like none I've ever read. It gripped me and fascinated me in a way that no other work of fiction has ever done. The tone of this novel differed from other novels, but that didn't deter me.
Mrs. Kirkpatrick is a master at bringing real-life figures into pages of fiction. Since this book is written in first-person, and because Mrs. Kirkpatrick does such an outstanding job with these characters, I constantly I had to remind myself that I was reading a piece of fiction and not Clara's actual biography.
This book is not your typical work of fiction. I found the pace a little slow, yet every second equally compelling. I'm not sure how the author accomplished that, but somehow, for this novel, it truly works.
The Daughter's Walk tore at my emotions and touched me deeply. This is a fascinating fictional account about a young woman who forges on in a time when women were undervalued and fighting for their rights.
I highly recommend this story. Readers who enjoy Nancy Moser's fictional accounts of real-life figures will devour The Daughter's Walk. Anyone who reads this story will come away with a new perspective on forgiveness and family.
**I received a complimentary copy of this book from Waterbrook/Multnomah in exchange for an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Daughter's Walk
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A MUST READ!

Date:July 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joyful Books
Location:Washoe Valley, NV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“It is good when God gives us great beginnings, because soon after come the downpours of discouragement. One needs the memory of good starts to carry on,” Clara, June 1896…
The Daughter’s Walk by Jane Kirkpatrick is about a mother, Helga Etsby and her nineteen year old daughter Clara. Who accept a wager from the fashion industry to walk from Spokane, Washington to New York City within seven months in order to save the family farm.
I was draw to read the book The Daughter’s Walk for several reasons. First being Jane Kirkpatrick’s ability to give the reader such a vast knowledge of historical information that entices interest in learning more in the topic, such as the what did the “New Reform Dress” really look like? Or When reading Jane Kirkpatrick’s novel A Gathering of Finches I really did have to visit Shore Acres on the coast of Oregon and see the places that were described in the book. I wanted to be part of the story.
The second reason for wanting to read The Daughter’s Walk was my husband’s grandmother who is 94 years old and lives in Spokane, Washington, where the story begins. Places were described in the book and I thought about the house that his grandmother, Bertha lives in that is 113 years old.
Jane Kirkpatrick is not an easy novel to read for those who like light quick reading. She is a writer that has much to tell, so prepare yourself to be taken on a journey. Our life has trials and so does this story. I believe that is the point of this book. It is not easy to forgive and to lay down our life to serve another, but if we can come away with remembering John 15:13 “Greater love has no one than this, than to lay down one’s life for his friends.”, than we have served well.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Press.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Daughter's Walk
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

the daughter's walk review

Date:June 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received "The Daughter's Walk" by Jane Kirkpatrick for free from www.waterbrookmultnomah.com. This book starts off with two women, a mother and daughter, walking across America for $10,000 in 1896. The legitimate reason to walk is to save the family farm, but in reality it is because mom wants to have some fun. The women end up not making it in time to please the sponsors and not receiving the money. They are then stuck in New York for several months. Meanwhile, their family back home is hit with diptheria. This causes the family to develope a deep anger towards the mother and Clara, the daughter. Clara then leaves home on her own to make her way in life completely seperated from her family. Most of the book is her journey through life with a surragate family.
This is a true story. Some of it has been expanded on fictionally. There is an author's note in the back saying which parts are true and which are embellished. I also looked up some original articles from when the walk took place in newspapers that are now online. This is a really good book. The characters are very well developed. Even the less mentioned characters have a very real quality about them. It also covers a lot of women's sufferage. This was a time of disregard for women and they had few if any choices. This is the story of some women who made choices. Some were not the best choices. Some were down right stupid. But at least it was their choice to make. Loved it. Suggest you read it. Men probably might not relate. It is a very "women's" book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Daughter's Walk
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Daughter’s Walk by Jane Kirkpatrick--A WaterBrook Multnomah Book Review
The Blurb:
A mother’s tragedy, a daughter's desire and the 7000 mile journey that changed their lives. 
 
In 1896 Norwegian American Helga Estby accepted a wager from the fashion industry to walk from Spokane, Washington to New York City within seven months in an effort to earn $10,000. Bringing along her nineteen year-old daughter Clara, the two made their way on the 3500-mile trek by following the railroad tracks and motivated by the money they needed to save the family farm.  After returning home to the Estby farm more than a year later, Clara chose to walk on alone by leaving the family and changing her name. Her decisions initiated a more than 20-year separation from the only life she had known.
 
Historical fiction writer Jane Kirkpatrick picks up where the fact of the Estbys’ walk leaves off to explore Clara's continued journey. What motivated Clara to take such a risk in an era when many women struggled with the issues of rights and independence? And what personal revelations brought Clara to the end of her lonely road? The Daughter's Walk weaves personal history and fiction together to invite readers to consider their own journeys and family separations, to help determine what exile and forgiveness are truly about.
My Review:
I enjoyed this book very much. Jane Kirkpatrick brought the characters to life by using historical records, and family history to put the reader there along with Clara and her mother Helga during that extraordinary walk, especially considering the time they lived. This is a book I will pick up to read again.
**The Daughter' Walk written by Jane Kirkpatrick was provided for me free by WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Daughter's Walk
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Strong, resiliant characters--fascinating

Date:June 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
BaronBookReview
Location:Gilbert, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I selected this book, I didn't realize that portions of it were historically accurate--that the walk actually took place. For that era, it was unheard of for a wife to disobey her husband, leave her children, and independently take charge of herself. I'm in awe of what Helga Estby and her daughter, Clara, accomplished.
Clara initially refuses to accompany her mother on the trip, however she acquiesces realizing her mother will go alone if necessary. Once the journey begins, mother and daughter begin a new book in their relationship. Clara learns much about her mother that didn't know before and begins to respect this new woman in her life. It always touches my heart when a parent and child begin to really "know" each other even though they have lived together day in and day out. This relational shift is a gift to both and to future descendants--think of the stories that can be passed down!
Unfortunately for Helga, her life was irreparably altered after the walk. From the way her family treats her to the way others perceive her. For Clara, her life is also transformed but in a different way (I don't want to give it away!!). Would they have done the walk knowing their future outcome? Would they have done anything differently?
This is the first book I've read by Jane Kirkpatrick and I have to say I am very impressed with her writing style, the way she develops the characters and how they actually become family to the reader. Her descriptions of surroundings and circumstances is also well done. Ms. Kirkpatrick has surely done her research of the walk and it shows. I know I will be looking for other books written by her. The Daughter's Walk has earned a 5-star rating from this reader--thank you Ms. Kirkpatrick and Waterbrook Press!
This Book was provided by Waterbrook Press through the "Blogging for Books" program in exchange for an unbiased review. The opinions expressed were my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Daughter's Walk
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A book to make you think about your own journey.

Date:June 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The cover design captivated me. This is why I chose to pick up this book. Here you have a picture of a girl standing alone. She is on a journey of life. She has hat in hand as her bag sits upon the ground. Is her load too heavy to carry? Is she placing everything down for something more? Would you take a 7,000 mile journey? I am astonished at the history, Jane Kirkpatrick, studied to put this book together. The history and detail make you feel as though you too are right there with, Helga and Clara Estby, as they take this journey.
Norwegian American, the Estby family, is about to lose the farm. They are about to lose everything they own. Helga is challenged to accept a wager. If she will walk from Spokane to New York she will gain $10,000. The money they need to save the farm. Helga doesn't take this journey on her own, but forces her daughter, Clara, to journey with her. The Estby's have a large family. Here is a mother, leaving her family to travel on. I wasn't sure how I felt about this. Part of me thought, "Stay home and have faith. God will supply." Another part of me said, "You go girl!!" Helga is willing to risk everything for her family. Clara isn't understanding, like most others, including their family. They are just about shunned, but they carry on, facing challenge after challenge. Even as they over-come obstacles, they find blessings along the way. They find those who understand and those cheering them on. Much like in our lives today. Not everyone is on board with what God has called us to, but we must take the journey anyway, even if we are standing alone.
This is more than a journey to save the farm. I really enjoyed this book. It was a walk we all must take. What are we willing to give? How far are we willing to go? There were many questions to ask yourself along this journey. Much of this book is true to historical fact and Kirkpatrick has added to this story to bring us in and have us turning pages into the night.
This book was a gift from WaterBrook Press for it's review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>