Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press God Gave Us Heaven

WaterBrook Press God Gave Us Heaven

Children are often confused by the subject of heaven--and who can blame them, so are adults! Little Cub is no different, and so she asks her Papa one day what heaven is like. The two set off for a day together, and spend a lot of time talking about what heaven is like, and what it is not. Little Cub asks things like, "How do we get there?" "Do we get to be angels?" "Will we sleep in heaven?" With tender words, Papa answers her questions and gives her biblical insight as to what he knows about our "forever home." The book features thirty-two full color illustrations, taking the familiar, endearing characters from the bestselling books God Gave Us You and God Gave Us Christmas, and enlisting them in a journey of exploration in nature, while having this important conversation. Recommended for ages 4 to 8.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for God Gave Us Heaven
Review 1 for God Gave Us Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
doula
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful series of books that I enjoy with my children to show them what God is like. In God gave us Heaven, it gives us a glimpse of why we need Christ, and look forward to someday being with Him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for God Gave Us Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great children's book explaining heaven

Date:January 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lins
Location:Britich Columbia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this book for our 2 year old son and he loves it. We then purchased another copy a to give to our little nephews. We were so impressed with how the story was told that we also purchased God Gave us Christmas.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for God Gave Us Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Karen Yanovitch
Wonderful book! I purchased it for a friend's son who lost his little brother suddenly. It was helpful and healing for the whole family to read it. Should be in every church library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for God Gave Us Heaven
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carol Hanson
this book was a present for my 6 year old grandaughter, I felt it was written in such a way, that she would understand & the pictures so cute
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for God Gave Us Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Johnson
Excellent book. My 3 1/2 year-old loves it! Simple, well-chosen words and lovely illustrations do a wonderful job of explaining tough concepts to small children (such as Jesus being a "bridge" to God and Heaven).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for God Gave Us Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Diane Johnson
Little cub ask Papa what's in Heaven, what will he see,who will be there. My grand son Matthew loves this book along with God Gave Us You and God Gave Us Christmas. These books teaches about God,and heaven so childern can understand yet are different than the usual bible stories. I'm glad I bought them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for God Gave Us Heaven
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
When do we get to see heaven?Will we eat in heaven?Will we be angels?Little Cub asks her Papa. Some of the questions do not have clear biblical answers; not much is known about heaven when we examine the scriptures. Papa bear is never evasive, but speaks in terms that small children can understand. He tells Little Cub of heavens goodness, how it is filled with love and everything that we long for, most especially God.And the most important question:How do we get there, Papa? To heaven, I mean.This launches Papa bear into a simple explanation of Jesus as the bridge to heaven, a mild childrens gospel that simply points to Jesus as the Way. However, the theology offered is somewhat soft, with Papa bear positing that all of their loved ones will be in heaven a statement made before he shares about Jesus. Parents may want to clarify that this is the case only if all of these loved ones are believers.Bryants illustrations are delightful, they are among my favorites in childrens literature. The bear family is adorable in their wintry home, the snow reflecting all the shades of the sky and sun. The soft, powdery pastel shades are enticing, rendering the bears hugable and the landscapes somewhat ethereal. Never before has the Arctic been depicted so appealinglyDedicated to a little girl who went home to the Lord at the age of six, God Gave Us Heaven provides a gentle way to speak to children about death. Whether preparing for the passing of a loved one, after the death of a child or simply to meet a childs curiosity; this book clearly expresses Gods love and the riches of heaven, revealing that believers can look forward to a loving home as their final destination.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for God Gave Us Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Christina
Lisa, you accomplished exactly what you set out to do! You have created an amazing story that describes a place where "we can live with him forever...and know at last what life is supposed to be like--peaceful, joyful, worshipful" and you did it in an incredibly simplistic way that every child (and adult) will get! "Heaven will be full of everything good!" I couldn't agree more... Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for God Gave Us Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Reading Room Reviews
This is a wonderful book written for children between the ages of 4-8 about the topic of heaven. Kids have so many questions about what happens after we die and this book does a great job answering those difficult questions in a comforting way.The author along with illustrator Laura J. Bryant use a polar bear family as a conduit to impart these important truths. The text is lively and the illustrations are adorable. This is one for the home library... it's a keeper.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.