Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Random House, Inc God Gave Us Love

Random House, Inc God Gave Us Love

Little Cub has questions about love---and Grampa Bear has answers! He explains that love between Mama and Papa is different from what Little feels for her friends or siblings. And that God gave the biggest love of all---his Son. Lush illustrations and easy-to-understand text will make this a favorite for your 2- to 5-year-olds. 40 pages, hardcover from Waterbrook.
Average Customer Rating:
4.645 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for God Gave Us Love
Review 1 for God Gave Us Love
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Adorable!

Date:October 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pam M
Location:NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This children's book by Lisa Tawn Bergen and illustrated by Laura J. Bryant is adorable! My 4-year-old son loved the story and the illustrations! It would make a great gift or an addition to your own home library
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for God Gave Us Love
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A good book!

Date:August 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:Nebraska
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love board books. I feel almost a sense of huge loss when I realize my children are beyond board books. It is a good thing but I loved reading those first hardback books to my children.
Just for grins and giggles I recently read a new board book, God Gave Us Love by Lisa Tawn Bergren and illustrated by Laura J. Bryant.
Little Cub is fishing with his grandfather when he gets mad at the otters because they are scaring away all the fish. His grandfather turns that into a lesson on love. How we can love the otters because that is what God wants for us.
The story is cute and well-written. The lesson is timely and important. I’m not sure though it fits in a board book. The print is small and there is a lot on each page. Being a parent who has had children reading board books (and eating them too), I don’t think children will sit still and listen to this story at the age board books are designed for.
The illustrations are superb! I think they could be a bit more colorful and bright. They could also be a bigger on some pages. Children love looking at bright colored pictures.
If this book was put in a format for slightly older children, even children reading on their own it would be a better fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for God Gave Us Love
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great book!

Date:June 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
mojo
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very cute book from Lisa Tawn Bergren and Laura Bryant – exactly what you wold expect from these two. I found the story a wonderful explanation of not only God’s love, but love in general. Little cub struggles with loving “the unlovable” and through the course of the book comes to understand the height and depth that God calls us to.
This is a great book! Thank you Multnomah publishing for the opportunity to review this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for God Gave Us Love
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

"Over and Over"

Date:May 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shepherdsfold
Location:Missiouri
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
**Over and Over,** that is the best way to describe this little book. Because that is just what you will be doing when you get your hands on this God size Love book. The charming Grandpa Bear captures your little one while the sincerity of the message of love will draw them close to you time and time again. You won't need to worry about the multiple readings by you or them as the book is made child ready with both a hard cover, back, and pages. Lisa Tawn Bergren and Laura J. Bryant have joined together in their God given talents and you will be blessed. Enjoy!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for God Gave Us Love
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wholesome and great content and illustrations!

Date:March 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dalyn
Location:Yakima, Wa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have you read any of this author's darling little books? I hadn't until I chose to review this one. I was attracted by the darling cover. Perfect timing since my CJ is almost 2 and loves to snuggle in my lap and have me read him stories. He's never too young to start getting good messages! I'm going to have to order more of these books for his birthday.
We enjoyed this book with it's engaging story and message of love. The illustrations really hold a little person's (and a big person's too) attention. They are very well done. Usually a child's board is silly and too simple, but this one had great dialogue and wasn't "dumbed down" for a toddler.
I would definately consider this a CM type of toddler book, for you homeschool moms out there.
This little story's setting starts out with Little Cub and Grampa out fishing together. There's a problem to be solved (they are bothered by the otters) and Grampa teaches Little Cub to love and forgive. He goes on in the story to develop the love of family and love of God. Wonderful little book! I'm so glad to find something with such good content and worthwhile to read my babies.
You can find a copy here.@ CBD.
Excerpt
“Otters!” Little Cub shouted.
“Otters! You’re scaring away the fish!”
“Easy, Little Cub,” Grampa said. “The otters can share our spot.”
“But Grampa,” Little Cub complained, “if they scare all the fish away, we won’t get any.”
“That’s all right,” he said. “Half the fun of fishing is being together, right?”
“I…guess so.”
Excerpted from God Gave Us Love by Lisa Tawn Bergren; illustrated by Laura J. Bryant Copyright © 2011 by Lisa Tawn Bergren. Excerpted by permission of WaterBrook Press, a division of Random House, Inc. All rights
reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.
I reviewed this book in exchange for a free copy from the publisher. This was my own opinion *U*
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for God Gave Us Love
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great artwork and story

Date:March 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wanda Myers
Location:Dublin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I review a children’s book the very first thing that I look for is the artwork. Is it cute and colorful? Does it capture a child’s attention and draw him into the story? Is it GOOD artwork? If all of these answers are yes, then I concentrate on the content. The reason I do that is because no matter how well the story is written, if the artwork is not good, it will not be a good book. The same goes for content—you need a good story to tell in order to make a good book. This one has both—great content and appealing artwork. I was immediately drawn to the cute bear family in this storybook. It invites a child to open it up and discover what is inside. The size and thick pages are just right for tiny hands to “read” and turn the pages without help. Little Cub gets a lesson from Grampa about loving others and God’s love for us that is cute and inspiring. Told in a simple way that little ones can understand, this book will be a great stepping stone in teaching toddlers some of their first lessons about God and His love. This is a perfect beginner book to read to your child over and over again.
I received this complimentary copy from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group through their Blogging for Books program. A positive review was not required and the opinions expressed here are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for God Gave Us Love
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cute book

Date:March 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Salina
Location:Sinton, Tx
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I requested this book from WaterBrook Multnomah for my son. It's a hard cover book with colorful pages written by Lisa Tawn Bergren. This book is about a grandpa bear who takes his grandson fishing but their adventure was interrupted by mischievous otters. The little bear starts asking his grandpa questions on why he should love the otters even thought they were getting to him. Grandpa bear tells him God wan'ts us to love everyone even though we don't like them at the moment. This book is a good way to teach kids why they should love others the way God loves us, not only for kids but for the parents reading the book to the child will learn from it as well.
I received a copy of this book from Waterbrook Multnomah for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for God Gave Us Love
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God-size Love

Date:March 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sonshinegirl
Location:North Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lisa Tawn Bergren has written another great children's book filled with the amazing artwork of Laura Bryant.
God Gave Us Love is an adorable little board book for any age that illustrates the loving relationship between Little Cub and Grampa as he teaches his grand-daughter patience, sharing, faith and love. Mostly love though - who we are to love; why we love; where love comes from; what love looks like; when we are to show love and how we know we are loved.
Little Cub becomes quite upset when three playful otters decide to share the same fishing spot she and Grampa had picked out. Right away Grampa has to explain to Little Cub that God wants us to love everyone - especially otters. (I just love how that almost sounds like others)
When Little Cub asks why we love Grampa explains to her that it is something deep within us that God put there when He creates us. God is Love so He created us to love.
Little Cub said she didn't want to love the otters like her Mama and Papa love each other with all that kissing and hugging. With a smile on his face Grampa goes on to explain to Little Cub that God gave us all kinds of love and that it brings out the best in us and others.
Excited by what she had learned Little Cub yelled "group hug!" As the family nestled in close together, nice and tight for a few moments Little Cub realized God was giving them love right then and bringing out the best in them. "Any time we show love, we're sharing a bit of His love."
In the beginning of the book Little Cub states she loves the otters but she just doesn't like them right now because they are messing up her adventurous fishing trip with Grampa. Later in the book she compares her brother and sister to the pesky otters and Grampa has to remind her that we may not always feel like loving others but choosing love is always right. Love is a choice. We love because God loves us.
Little Cub becomes curious and wants to know how we know God loves us and Grampa explains that God sent His Son to save us and forgive when we don't make good choices. He reassures her that we won't ever be separated from God because of his God-size love for us.
What a great story of reassurance that we are all loved and created for love by the One who is LOVE.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for God Gave Us Love
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

showing love, God's love, to others

Date:March 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heads up to all Mommies of tiny tots!! This is a delightful and lovely little board book just the right size for those little chubby hands of your little one to grasp. He or she will toddle around with this lovely book learning about showing love, God's love, to others.
"The story" involves Grampa Bear tenderly explaining to Little Cub that even though Little Cub doesn't love the unbearable antics of the group of beavers romping in the fishing hole and scaring away the fish, he can still love them.
The book, and Grampa Bear, teach that God is love and that we must share bits of His love with others.
Lovely, warm, definitely endearing. A delightful way to encourage a young child to share God's love - a little bit at a time.
ISBN: 978-0-307-73027-5 PUBLISHER: WaterBrook Press
I was provided a complimentary copy of God Gave Us Love by the publisher in exchange for an honest review without obligation for a positive review. Opinions expressed are my own. http://chatwithvera.blogspot.com/2012/03/god-gave-us-love-by-lisa-tawn-bergren.html
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for God Gave Us Love
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great God Gave Us... book

Date:February 22, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read several of the "God Gave Us..." books and absolutely love each one of them. They are fun for me to read to my kids and I hope that one day they look back on the words of these books and realize that when I read them, I meant every word to them.
This book was a little different in the fact that it is a board book. I was expecting it to not be a board book just because the other books aren't, but it was nice to be able to let my little girl read this book without fear of her ripping out the pages. It's full of the same beautiful pictures though that are found in the other books.
The story is about Little Cub learning about love from his grandpa. He learns that sometimes even when we want to love others like God loves us, we don't always feel like loving them. Little Cub is told that choosing love is always right. I love that because love is a choice in many ways. The story continues and talks about God's love and how we can know He loves us because we have faith. Grandpa explains faith to Little Cub and how if we love God then we will never ever be separated from God.
Since this is a board book, this would be so great for an Easter basket for a little one. It's great for any child, but I love that newborns-2 or so would greatly benefit from it being a board book.
__________________
I received this book free from Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for God Gave Us Love
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet Story About Different Kinds of Love

Date:February 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Delia Latham
Location:Okmulgee, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Out fishing with Grampa Bear, Little Cub isn't happy when playful otters scare the fish away. But Grampa Bear tells her she has to love the pesky animals, even though they're annoying, and different from her. Little Cub being the inquiring little mind that she is, this leads to a whole bunch of questions and answers.
She doesn't want to love the otters like Mama and Papa love each other—all that kissy and huggy stuff. Grampa Bear patiently answers her questions and provides wonderful, wisdom-filled answers about the various kinds of love—answers every "Little Cub" should know about the love of Mamas and Papas, the love of siblings and other family members, the love of friends…and the unmatched love of God.
Bergren has a unique gift for explaining biblical truths and teaching lifetime lessons…both of which are seamlessly woven into an interesting, touching story. All of the "God Gave Us" books are wonderfully educational and sweet, but very young children may find the beautiful, eye-catching pictures in this one of more interest than the text, which could be a bit wordy for tots. Nevertheless, the message of loving one another is very clear. Even if it needs to be shared with a child in a couple of sittings, the core message is well worth the effort.
This beautifully illustrated board book is a wonderful addition to any collection of beloved children's books. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for God Gave Us Love
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Heather R.
God Gave Us Love is another special book for little ones. I thought the cover to this book was adorable. This story is about a little cub who struggles to understand how love can be shown even when it isn't necessarily felt. Grandpa bear teaches the little cub about the types of love, and addresses te fact that sometimes love is a choice simply because it's the right thing. Grandpa bear explains that God's love is unfailing and shown to us in many special ways. This story teaches children that God is love and He made us to love also. I thought the author captured all the questions a child could have concerning love and placed them into a wonderful, well-written story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for God Gave Us Love
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Little Cub and Grandpa Bear explore the many ways that Gods love is displayed in our world, and in our relationships with each other.Theres the need to love those who we find annoying, the special love between Mamas and Papas, the love between family members, and, most of all, Gods love for us as shown through the gift of His Son. Theres also, of course, the love for our younger siblings when theyre acting troublesome, the love we see expressed when God provides abundantly for our needs.Not only does Grandpa Bear explain various types of love to Little Cub, but he also explains how all love is an expression of Gods big love for us. Through all, he says, Grandpa shows that because God is love, we are called to love others as we strive to be like Him.Illustrated by long-time series collaborator Laura J. Bryant, her soft, action-filled watercolors are downright adorable.As much as parents find the series incredibly sweet, God Gave Us Love may prove somewhat wordy for the youngest read-aloud audiences. Explaining spiritual concepts like loving when youre not feeling loving, and trying to encompass the entire concept of love in a picture book is hard to do without becoming a bit wordy. My three-year-olds attention span drifts if I try to read this title to her in a single sitting, and even my six-year-old looks a little distracted while Im reading it. Ill try them again with this title as they grow, and see if it catches on at a future date.Loving the soft, whimsical artwork, pastel palette and gentle spiritual lessons, Im disappointed that God Gave Us Love hasnt captured my childrens imaginations the way I hoped it would. Still, I cant part with it its just too cute.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for God Gave Us Love
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Reddoch
This is a wonderful book for children about the love of God. It's a fun story about Little Cub and Grampa Bear who are off on a fishing adventure when it's interupted somewhat by some pesky little critters!! OTTERS!! Grandpa Bear wisely took this opportunity to teach Little Cub of God's love for everybody....even those who are difficult to love...the unlovables.I loved the part where Grandpa Bear says, "Any time we show love, Little Cub, we're sharing a bit of His love."I believe that to be the truth. This is a really great book and I highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for God Gave Us Love
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
V. L. Lovelock
This book was delightful!! We loved it and after reading God Gave Us Love, my kiddos asked a lot of questions about love and who we should love and why. It led into a perfect little devotion for loving our siblings. This book is one our shelf and I am sure that it is one that we will read time and time again. And because I have artists in the family and the fact I am not one so I appreciate great artwork, these books are beautifully illustrated. Kudos to the illustrator for so wonderfully capturing this story and making a family of polar bears come to life for us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for God Gave Us Love
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2009
I enjoyed God Gave Us Love a great deal because it really speaks to the different thoughts children have when it comes to love, especially different kinds of love. Whats different about the way I love Mommy and Daddy and the way they love each other? Grampa Bear explains love in a way that Little Cub can understand and relate to. The illustrations by Laura J. Bryant are well worth a second glance, just to make sure you saw everything!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for God Gave Us Love
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Amy
Grandpa Bear is introduced in this God Gave Us book. It is a sweet story about all the different types of love. I especially like the reference to the love siblings have and should have for each other. It is a good lesson for kids and my kids really like this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for God Gave Us Love
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 2, 2009
A very sweet story written well for young children about what love really is - in all its forms. The illustrations are great. The the character lesson shines through. Loved it as do my children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for God Gave Us Love
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 2, 2009
Little Cub and Grampa Bear are out fishing and explore the meaning of love. Grampa explains that anytime we show love, we are sharing a bit of his love. We don't always feel like loving others but when we choose to do so, it is the right thing to do. God gave us love so we could see the goodness in others. God shows his love to us in many ways and there is nothing we can do to make him stop loving us.Bergren's book for young readers is a very positive story about God's love and excludes the idea of God finding displeasure in some of our actions.The new artist for this book is Laura J. Bryant. Her work is not as pleasing as the previous artwork by David Hohn.This book was sent to me for review by WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for God Gave Us Love
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jean Grot
The latest book in Lisa's "God Gave Us" series is, "God Gave Us Love." Again, this is a very heartwarming story with a biblical principal that we could all use a reminder of from time to time. In this book, Grampa Bear illustrates to Little Cub, how we all need to love others, even when they're not being very lovable...like those pesky otters who keep scaring the fish away while they're fishing...and even Little Bear's baby twin siblings at home, who can also be rather pesky and annoying at times. My grandson and the children I read these books to at church, really loved them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>