Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press God Gave Us the World

WaterBrook Press God Gave Us the World

When she discovers that there are different kinds of bears that exist far away from her arctic home, Little Cub learns that her world is much bigger than she imagined! And her zany adventures will help your 2- to 4-year-olds realize that God made everybody different on purpose---and he loves them all the same! 40 pages, hardcover from Waterbrook.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for God Gave Us the World
Review 1 for God Gave Us the World
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Celebrating Differences

Date:June 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The latest installment in Lisa Tawn Berren’s popular God Gave Us series of children’s picture books is absolutely adorable. God Gave Us the World is definitely my childrens’ favorite out of the three books from the series that we own. The entire polar bear family visits the museum to view an exhibit that displays a few of the many types of bears around the world. Using these bears as a jumping off point, Little Bear and Mama Bear enter into a discussion that explores the unique differences that make each bear unique, a gentle exploration of conservation, and a celebration of diversity within God’s creation.
As always, Laura J. Bryant’s artwork is lovely and whimsical. Soft pastel shades, playful characters, and richly colored landscapes all contribute to the frequency with which my two-year-old pulls this title off the shelf for my husband or I to read her. These illustrations keep little eyes busy while the text gently teaches lessons appropriate for 3-6 year-olds about the nature of God and the joys of differences.
Of course, the ultimate goal of this series of books is for children to apply the truths the polar bears are learning in their bear-oriented world to the child’s own world. Bears are different and there are many types of bears should (hopefully) eventually carry over into people are different and there are many types of people – we are all created by God and are all special and unique in our own ways. This book offers a gentle and playful way to introduce this concept through a well-thought out storyline and a fun family adventure.
Reviewed at quiverfullfamily.com
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for God Gave Us the World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cute Story

Date:March 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
SoaringEagle
Location:USA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Has your child ever asked you about the world he/she lives in? This book would be a perfect introduction to the big, wide world that God made.
This book starts out with Little Cub and his family heading to the museum. The theme was bears around the world. On their way, Little Cub asks his mom if all bears have pink tongues. This started a discussion about God being creative and making different places to live, making different bears, and different bear tongues. Little Cub is amazed that there are different bears living in different places around the world.
Laura J. Bryant is a wonderful artist. The adorable illustrations are colorful and reveals the creativity that God used to make us and the world that we live in.
I really like what was written here which I will quote from the book. "The whole world is like a mirror of God's work, Little Cub. Out of all the places he could've put us, he chose this world, Earth, to be our home. He made it just for us. God gave us this special world and every creature in it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for God Gave Us the World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God Gave Us the World (Lisa Tawn Bergren)

Date:February 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gram
Location:Nashville, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a delightful story of God’s creativity. As a grandmother, I was touched by the conversations between a baby polar bear cub and her mother and the obvious love between them. The theme of the story is set up in the different types of snow that falls and the uniqueness of each snowflake. The family then takes a trip to the zoo, spending time looking at and discussing the qualities of different bears. It is a pleasant tale that describes God’s imagination and joy in making bears different rather than making them all the same. The illustrations throughout the book are very nice and portray the same gentleness and wonder as the text. It is a sweet and enjoyable book, and is a good springboard to discussing the differences and similarities in individuals and people groups. This book is part of the God Gave Us series of books.(Disclaimer: WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group provided this book to me without cost for my review.)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for God Gave Us the World
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

All Our Creative God Made

Date:February 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
gingerly
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received this book from Multnomah Publishing for my honest review.
We all loved this book, mom and dad included. God Gave Us the World is a sweet book about a little cub who learns that not all bears are Polar Bears, they don't all eat the same food, look the same, or live in the same climate. His world grows as he learns about the creativity of his creator. I love the charming illustrations in this book. The mama bear speaks affectionately to her little cub, explaining to him about the God who loves him and created a whole world displaying His majesty and creativity. This is a new family favorite, especially for my little ones.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for God Gave Us the World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great picture book!!

Date:February 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
greetinggirl66
Location:Poplar Grove, IL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mama bear is taking Little Cub to a museum exhibit about bears. Little Cub has many questions about bears and about how other bears are different from polar bears. Mama Bear takes this opportunity to teach her cub about God the Creator and the wonderful world He created. She leads Little Cub to see the diversity of God’s Creation and the responsibility we all share to care for it.
I really liked this picture book and the characters that the author created. I think that small children will relate well to Little Cub and the curiosity that she exhibits in her questioning. The Mama Bear character is so kind and gentle in her approach to her daughter and explains things directly in language that her daughter can understand.
The illustrator of this book, Laura J. Bryant, does a beautiful job of showing the words of the author in her illustrations of the characters. I love her use of vibrant colors that capture the attention of small children and keep them focused on the story. Her drawings are detailed and accurate as seen in the claws of the various bears and the way they move and eat.
This book was provided to me free of charge for review purposes by Waterbrook
Multnomah Publishing Company.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for God Gave Us the World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Blurb:
Little Cub’s trip to a special museum exhibit, “Bears Around the World,” sparks a flurry of questions from the young polar bear who is just beginning to learn about life beyond her North Pole home.
As Mama Bear shares with her about the different types of places that God has put the various types of bears, with their different kinds of fur and food, Little Cub begins to wonder: Why didn’t God make us all the same?
With Mama’s loving guidance, Little Cub is taught to see the vastness of God’s wonderful creation; His abilities as an amazing, inventive Creator; His desire for us to care for our world, and especially the important lesson that…
“Every bear has a special place in God’s great, big world.”
This adorable story offers young children who are discovering their place in God’s big world an opportunity to learn about the wonder of diversity, the gift of creativity, the importance of caring for His gifts, and how each child-each creation-is special to God.
My Review:
God Gave Us the World Written by Lisa T. Bergren and Illustrated by Laura J. Bryant is a sweet little book that teaches children that God created the world, and all the different people in it, using a bear family's trip to a museum to start a conversation between Momma bear and Little Cub. The illustrations are adorable, and perfectly describes the authors words.
I read this book to my two daughters (ages 4 &7) and they absolutely loved the story. We will be trying to collect the rest of this series for my daughters to share.
Here is a list of the the other books in this series:
God Gave Us You
God Gave Us Two
God Gave Us Christmas
God Gave Us Heaven
God Gave Us Love
WaterBrook Multnomah has provided some companion coloring sheets for this book and the other books in this series to download.
**God Gave Us the World Written by Lisa Tawn Bergren and Illustrated Laura J. Bryant was provided for me free by WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for God Gave Us the World
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2011
Jesus loves the little children,
All the children of the world:
Red and yellow, black and white;
They are precious in His sight.
Jesus loves the little children of the world.
Little Bear has many questions about all the different kinds of bears that live all over the world. Why do they look different than she does? Why do they not live in the same snowy world she enjoys? Are they, too, created by the same God who loves her?
As Mama teaches Little Bear about God’s unique creation, there are many lessons children can learn about how wonderful and creative their loving God is. For, truly, He has given us a wonderful world to live in!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for God Gave Us the World
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Urailak
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While visiting a museum exhibit, "Bears Around the World," Mama Bear helps Little Cub learn about the different kinds of bears living in different places around the world. Surprised to see other kinds of bears that have strange diets like panda bears and sloth bears, Little Cub (who is a polar bear) begins to ask lots of questions. God Gave Us the World is a cute, colorful book that teaches young kids about the awesome wonders of God's creation, the amazing abilities of God the Creator, His creativity, and our responsibility to take care of the earth/world which is God's gift to us. Kids will learn to appreciate the uniqueness of each bear/person and celebrate the beauty of our differences. The illustrations are fantastic. Beautiful details. I encourage you to also check out other books in the God Gave Us series (eg. God Gave Us You, God Gave Us Love, God Gave Us Christmas, etc.). They all are adorable. They are geared towards children ages 3 to 8.
~ I received this book for review from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for God Gave Us the World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best One Yet

Date:January 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This book may be the best conversation starter of the series yet. I have enjoyed all of them so far, but this one has a beautiful way of bringing up how creative God was when He created the world. It is told by bringing up the different bears and where they live in the world and what they eat, but it can easily be brought up how people live in different places, with different foods and different looks. There is a bit of tree hugging in the mix, but it's not overdone so I didn't mind it (you know, don't hurt the earth and such). Overall this is my favorite book in the series to date!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for God Gave Us the World
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Teaching Tool

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Erin Lowmaster
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
God Gave Us the World by Lisa Tawn Bergren is the sixth book in the "God Gave Us" series. This book is generally geared toward children ages 3-7 years old. After reading it myself, I found that it is full of a lot of food for thought in teaching our children.
The large colorfully illustrated pages in this book are sure to engage this visual interest of children. My daughter going on three this year really liked pointing out the images on each pages of the various bears. In this story you'll find the mama bear taking her cub on a trip to a museum in order to teach him about bears living in different habitats that eat different foods, and she points out how they look different, even though they are all bears. Through this lesson the cub and the children listening and reading this book will and will have learned the importance truths about God and his creation in making us all different and not the same and how to celebrate those differences and care for the earth around us.
This is a wonderful book that should be in every child's library. I look forward to adding and reading the other titles in the God Gave Us series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for God Gave Us the World
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Little book...big wisdom

Date:January 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Delia Latham
Location:Okmulgee, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Like most little guys his age, Little Cub is full of questions when he visits the museum with his family. One special exhibit displays bears from various locations around the world. The young polar bear is surprised to find that a world exists beyond the North Pole. He’s even further amazed to discover that bears who live in those far off places are not just like him. They look different, they eat different, they like different things.
Little Cub wonders why God didn’t make all bears alike and place them all together in one place.
Every little “cub” needs someone like Mama Bear to show them the wonderful reality of God’s inventiveness. In the beautifully illustrated pages of God Gave Us the World, Mama Bear gives Little Cub a glimpse into the vastness of the world he lives in, the amazing inventiveness of a Creator who designed a universe of variation and diversity, and the importance of taking care of the corner of the world in which God placed him. By the end of the day, the little bear cub knows without a doubt that every bear is unique. Every bear is loved. Every bear has his own special place in God’s great big, wonderful world.
All children could benefit from the contents of this beautiful picture book.
What a great way to discover that “different” does not equal “bad” or “wrong”, and that God loves each one of the creatures he created—every color, every tribe, every nation…every bear!
Between the bright covers of God Gave Us the World lies a treasure trove of gentle wisdom and value. It is entertaining, educational—and an absolute must-have for young readers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for God Gave Us the World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Charming illustration and great writing

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Oconto Falls, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
God Gave Us the World by Lisa T. Bergren and Laura J. Bryant is the most recent entry in the wonderful God Gave Us series. In this book, Little Bear and his family visit a museum where he sees other bears from around the world, and he wonders about their differences and just why God made them that way. Mama Bear carefully explains God's care for creation to her curious little cub. I truly love this series by Bergren and how she uses these bears to explain difficult concepts to children in a way they can easily understand. From love to Heaven to Christmas in previous books, to Creation here. The lesson here is that God is our Creator, and He has made each of us different for a reason, and we need to appreciate each other as special and important to Him. Even though we may look different or act differently, we are all a part of His plan. Bergren also points out that it is important to care for the world around us as well, in respect to the Lord. Bryant's artwork is charming and will draw children's interest in, while Bergren's easy conversation between Mama Bear and Little Bear will keep them turning the pages. I look forward to see what is next for Little Bear and his family in the next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.