Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Random House, Inc Raven's Ladder, Strand Series #3

Random House, Inc Raven's Ladder, Strand Series #3

Following the beacon of Auralia's colors and the footsteps of a mysterious dream-creature, King Cal-raven has discovered a destination for his weary crowd of refugees. It's a city only imagined in legendary tales. And it gives him hope to establish New Abascar. But when Cal-raven is waylaid by fortune hunters, his people become vulnerable to a danger more powerful than the prowling beastmen--House Bel Amica. In this oceanside kingdom of wealth, enchantment, and beauty, deceitful Seers are all too eager to ensnare House Abascar's wandering throng.
Average Customer Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Raven's Ladder, Strand Series #3
Review 1 for Raven's Ladder, Strand Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Engrossing & Enchanting World of Auralia

Date:May 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bob Hayton
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:25-34
Gender:male
The best fiction transports the reader into the setting of the book. The adventure written becomes an adventure experienced. Characters aren't just described by the author, they are befriended by the reader. This is when reading becomes an engrossing, consuming experience, and books become a work of art rather than a mere production. Jeffrey Overstreet wields this kind of book magic in his "Auralia Thread" series.
"Raven's Ladder" (book #3) was my first encounter with the series, and as the story developed I felt like I had stepped into a well-developed, alternate world. The members of a fallen House are struggling to survive in a wilderness, and a mysterious danger lurks below ground. A young king believes in childish myths about The Keeper and risks everything to follow his mystical guides. A group of devious seer-types control an economic stronghold where the people worship moon spirits and follow their own pursuits and pleasures wholeheartedly. And a malady which turns men to beasts has destroyed another House and threatens all the land.
The tale is so different it takes a while to feel comfortable in the story. And when you begin to sense the grandeur of the tale, glimpses of connections to Christianity make the tale all the more alluring. Auralia's vivid colors mesmerize all who remember them, and visions of beauty stand out all the more starkly against a pervasive and widespread ugliness. Whispers of The Keeper and the mystery of a long forgotten past make figuring out this world much less easy than it seems.
As the tale progresses, high and low points ebb and flow. The conclusion will leave you begging for more, and wondering what is in store for young King Cal-raven and the other heroes of the book. And after finishing this book, you may feel the urge to read the first two books to enjoy the world Jeffrey Overstreet has created to its fullest extent.
Disclaimer: This book was provided by Waterbrook Multnomah publishers for review. I was under no obligation to offer a favorable review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Raven's Ladder, Strand Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2010
There is one major issue when reading a series such as this one... it is really beneficial to read them as close together as possible. I have read the first two books in this series and thought they were excellent. A series that is fresh, innovative, fun, but deep and with an amazingly unique world that is captivating. The problem is that since putting book #2 down I have read about 200 other books so the details were a little cloudy going into this one. I valiantly spent the first couple chapters refreshing my memory and reintroducing myself to the characters as the first two books came flooding back. Once reacquainted with my surroundings I sat back and enjoyed myself.Following Cal-Raven as he leads his people to a New Abascar, on their detour to Bel Amica and on side roads to the Cent Regus. His Captain Tabor Jan does his best to hold things together as Cal-Raven searches for where The Keeper wants them to go, but circumstances are out of his hands. Cyndere at Bel Amica still wants to help them in memory of her husband, but she is up against the Seers and Ryllion. The plots twist and turn and I really enjoyed this book. I am hoping that there is another book coming, there were lots of loose ends... but I honestly don't know. At any rate, this is a series that will capture your imagination, I just recommend reading them close together.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Raven's Ladder, Strand Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Andrea Schultz
I haven't read a lot of Christian fantasy novels, but I've enjoyed the ones I've read to date. Ravens Ladder was no exception. Mr. Overstreet is a masterful & imaginative storywriter. He's created a wonderful fantasy world, & has described it with lots of color & creativity.As seems to be the case with all Christian fantasy novels I have read to date, it has taken me a couple chapters to get it. Ravens Ladder was no exception. I did hang in there & was soon drawn into the story & its characters. As is often the case when you join a book series midstream, there's the concern that it will be difficult to follow the storyline. I didn't find that to be the case with Ravens Ladder. It stands alone very well. And Jeffrey helps those of us who are joining the series in the middle by providing A Guide to the Characters at the back of the book, a tool which I found most invaluable through the entire reading of the novel (there are a lot of characters; pay attention!).I found this book to be extremely well-written; Mr. Overstreet is a masterful storyteller. It was adventurous & mysterious, & the story kept moving. I was a little surprised that the story was not more overtly Christian (unless I overlooked something). It is billed as Fiction/Fantasy, but since it is published by Waterbrook Press (the Christian imprint owned by Random House Publishers), I expected it to be more allegorical. There were some elements, but not as many as expected. It is certainly not non-Christian or non-biblical, in my estimation, but I had other ideas of what it would be.There'll be a fourth volume of The Auralia Thread, which Jeffrey is in the process of writing. I look forward to seeing where his imagination takes these characters!This book was provided by Waterbrook Press for review purposes.Reviewed by Andrea Schultz Ponderings by Andrea http://andrealschultz.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Raven's Ladder, Strand Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2010
Raven's Ladder is part of a series - which I prefer to read in order but sometimes is not an option - but this story takes you on an adventure that can easily stand alone without reading the previous books in the series.It is a fantasy filled with danger and hope, it is imaginative, yet filled with biblical truths and principles. Very enjoyable book that will keep you captivated to the end where you may find yourself still thinking about the story long after you finish the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Raven's Ladder, Strand Series #3
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Sikora
I did not really care for this book as I have other books I have reviewed. I couldn't get into this one. It could be because this is the third in the series and I am coming into it at a mid-way point and haven't read the other two before it.Other than that, it does have a story line similar to other villains and hero books
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Raven's Ladder, Strand Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Charlene
Cal-Raven leads the exodus of his people as they search for a land of legend in which to build their new home. This sounds like a well-known Bible story so I expected to be in very familiar territory. I was pleasantly surprised to find myself elsewhere. Cal-Ravens story has some parallels to the book of Exodus, but I would not consider it an allegory.Ravens Ladder is extremely well-written. The authors attention to detail is notable. He writes vividly and crisply. Because of this, I have ordered the first two books in what I believe will be an outstanding series. However, I cannot recommend Ravens Ladder as a stand-alone read. While reading I was often pulled out of the story by references to previous happenings I was not privy to since I had not read the first two books.I feel confident in recommending this book on the strength of the quality of the writing, but with the caveat that one begins the series with book one, which has been twice-nominated for a Christy Award.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Multnomah Press. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Raven's Ladder, Strand Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jeffrey
The best one yet! Mr. Overstreet Does have a wonderful gift. He is the most colorful writer I have ever read. Raven's Ladder is a masterpiece!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Raven's Ladder, Strand Series #3
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2010
If you like tales of worlds that are full of strange creatures, mysterious histories, heroes and devils then you will enjoy Jeffrey Overstreets Ravens Ladder. Although the author can spin a wonderful tale, I found it very difficult to follow. I could not understand what the hero was truly seeking, there was very little description of the strange creatures of the land, and the dialogue often confused me. The tale is more for adults than teens. (Warning: The book does not stand alone. I haven't read the first two in the series - or have an inclination to - but I hope they make this story more complete.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Raven's Ladder, Strand Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 3, 2010
One of the things I love about a series is that each book returns you to a familiar place and takes you on a new adventure. In Raven's Ladder, the third installment of The Auralia Thread series, author Jeffrey Overstreet takes readers back to the strange, intriguing world of the Expanse. House Abascar was ruined in the first book and the survivors have attempted to eke out an existance in the cliffs of Barnashum. But King Cal-raven has seen a vision of New Abascar. He also has a startling encounter with the Keeper, a mysterious creature thought to be myth that appears only in children's dreams. He and his captain, Tabor Jan, travel to House Bel Amica hoping to find protection and a temporary resting place until the people of Abascar can find their new home. But Cal-raven is betrayed and the people of Abascar fall into the traps of the Bel Amican Seers. Who is an enemy and can be trusted? Traces of mystery, adventure, terror and hope weave through this book like the threads of an intricate tapestry. Overstreet's vivid imagery brings his tales to life. I eagerly await the final strand in The Auralia Thread that will tie everything together. This book was provided for review by the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Raven's Ladder, Strand Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2010
This bok was very well written with strong characters and an interesting storyline. My one problen with this story was the one scene with Cal-Raven and another person whose name I will not mention. Very dissappointing. That part in the tower was totally unneccessary and uncalled for. It really detracted from the story and could have esily been left out. Overstreet writes in a christan market but he puts in just enought worthless junk to mess it up. Why can't he write a perfectly clean book for everyone? You don't need stuff like that to make a good story. I plan to put a white-out marker to my copy before reading it again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.