Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press Untamed: How the Wild Side of Jesus Frees Us to Live and Love with Abandon

WaterBrook Press Untamed: How the Wild Side of Jesus Frees Us to Live and Love with Abandon

Have you met the real Jesus-the One who is wild enough to set you free?

Too many people settle for relating to Jesus merely as a comfortable friend and companion, when what we all need is an untamed Savior, a fearless champion tough enough to conquer our shame and compelling enough for us to follow him without hesitation.

Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Untamed: How the Wild Side of Jesus Frees Us to Live and Love with Abandon
Review 1 for Untamed: How the Wild Side of Jesus Frees Us to Live and Love with Abandon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

STRESS FREE AND ENJOYABLE

Date:April 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joyful Books
Location:Washoe Valley, NV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
UNTAMED How the Wild side of Jesus Frees Us to Live and Love with Abandon by Lisa Harper
It is so easy to be critical and find fault, so please bear with me with the point I wish to make concerning the Subtitle of the book, “Untamed.” I will be the first to admit that I didn’t choose the book “Untamed” by Lisa Harper when I first had the chance because it seemed too “disrespectful” to put a Holy God in man’s expression for describing Jesus Christ as His actions toward us as “wildly.”
Lisa Harper uses words to describe Jesus as Our Savior as: Wildly Redemptive, Wildly Unsettling, Wildly Devoted, Wildly Tough, Wildly Compelling, Wildly Pro-Women, Wildly Confident, Wildly Confrontational, Wildly Unconventional, Wildly Attentive, Wildly Faithful and Fearsome, and Wildly Liberating.
If the word “wildly” is taken away in describing Jesus, then what is left is very much holy and respectful.
So is there a problem in what Lisa Harper has written? Why does one word cause a “check in the spirit” when it comes to the book? The word wildly means a confused and reckless manner. Some synonyms for the word wildly are: amok, berserk, frantically and uncontrollably. Jesus never did anything without control or in a state of confusion, so wildly does not describe an action I believe He would have. This of course is my personal opinion which caused a check in my spirit.
Although I do not agree with the one word, “wildly” I do believe that Lisa Harper is a solid biblical teacher with the ability to use humor along with scripture to tell her testimony of how Jesus Christ helped her follow Him to conquer her past. Lisa is honest and is relatable of what living life as a Christian is about.
I received this book for free from Waterbrook Press.
God Bless Your Day!
Kelly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Untamed: How the Wild Side of Jesus Frees Us to Live and Love with Abandon
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Meet the Wonderful Savior

Date:July 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Location:Liverpool NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
In Untamed, the reader joins author Lisa Harper on a journey through the Gospels, stopping along the way to witness the encounters Jesus had with people. Lisa’s insights and commentaries allow the reader to experience life-changing moments with the Savior. She tells the stories as if the present day reader is actually there in the moment with Jesus on His one on one appointment or in His meetings with the multitudes. Though at times she deals with the content casually and flippantly for this reader’s comfort, she presents a Jesus who is both loving and kind and who desires nothing less than what is best for those who are brave enough to follow Him. The study and discussion questions throughout each chapter are thought provoking and challenging. Those who read the book is its entirety will love Jesus, the wonderful Savior, more when the final page is turned than she did when she first cracked its cover. This is a good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Untamed: How the Wild Side of Jesus Frees Us to Live and Love with Abandon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Untamed

Date:July 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christy G
Location:Houston, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
*Untamed* by Lisa Harper is a book full of conviction wrapped in a package of humor and Biblical stories. Harper takes stories about Jesus that we are all familiar with, and finds a nugget of truth from them that reaches down to your core and makes you want to be a better follower of Christ. I was amazed as I read every chapter to find something new from stories I have read and studied my whole life. I came face to face with my Savior who has been in a box safety tucked away in my closet, and now I want to let him out and let him change my life from the inside out. He is unconventional, devoted, redemptive and loves me for all I am, not because of what I have done or not done.
There are questions at the end of each chapter that would make it a great book for a group study, but I got so much out of it without doing the questions. I can't wait to find more books by Harper. She does take the Biblical stories and add funny descriptions to make them more relevant, but I don't think its too far to make it irreverent. The parts of the stories that she brings out that were new to me were mostly based on further Greek translations that I wouldn't have known on my own. I liked it!
I received this book for free from Waterbrook Press.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Untamed: How the Wild Side of Jesus Frees Us to Live and Love with Abandon
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

the author was UNTAMED!

Date:July 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
ATaylor
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I’ve never been more disappointed by a book than "Untamed" by Lisa Harper.
Seeing the purpose of the book is easy because it’s in the subtitle -- often our “squashed caricature” (p. 9) of Jesus reveals that we don’t know (or have forgotten) who our Savior really is, which makes it impossible to worship Him appropriately. This is acutely true, and a great message! Unfortunately, the message is lost amidst the vast artistic license Harper takes with scenes from Scripture. An example:
“As soon as she and Joseph got to the edge of the Holy City, she pulled Jesus’ middle school picture -- the one that showed His cowlick and braces -- out of her wallet . . . She and Joseph anxiously knocked on doors, retraced their steps, and put fliers on windshields.” (p. 28)
Um, no. Honestly, I am embarrassed to have typed those words, and I think Harper should be, too. As one who values the Truth of God’s Word, it’s a personal preference of mine that authors do NOT take such liberties. I understand that Harper is trying to make the text “relevant” (a dangerous word, in my book), but isn’t Scripture -- as it was written by the Spirit of God -- ALWAYS relevant to everyone? It is clear this book is meant to entertain, which leads me to believe that the book was written with man in mind more so than the Lord.
Last time I checked, it’s not about man.
Beyond a reasonable doubt, this book is targeted toward women -- and probably younger ones (think the millennial generation). While Harper is a fantastic storyteller, I found that I was laughing so hard I missed the point of the story! The stories in God’s Word don’t need embellishment or tweaking or improvement. It will never return empty and will accomplish its purposes (Is. 55:10-11). I say we don’t mess with it.
A few other things:
Harper quotes most Scripture from the following versions: New Living Translation, New Century Version, The Message, New International Version. These are all thought-for-thought (dynamic equivalency) translations, with The Message being a paraphrase. As I’m sure you can guess from what’s written above, I think using formal equivalency references would have improved the book’s quality (although there are a few English Standard quotations sprinkled throughout the book), but I’m not surprised at the use of dynamic translations.
I’ll only mention one, but there were numerous instances of poor (or just plain wrong) theology:
Regarding Jesus teaching in the temple: “This brow-raising event was one of the first tangible clues that the Alpha and Omega had graciously distilled His omniscience into His Son” (p. 29).
First, this implies that Jesus was only omniscient because the Father gave omniscience to Him, which place Jesus on a plane unequal to the Father. However, John tells us that, “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was in the beginning with God” (John 1:1-2). The Son is equal to the Father in all attributes belonging to God. This contradiction could lead a new believer to misunderstand the relationship between the Father and the Son and/or the deity of Christ, both of which are crucial tenets of the Christian faith.
The icing on the cake is the soft undercurrent of feminism that weaves through the middle section of the book. This is the world’s idea, not God’s, and I was disappointed to see it in this book.
In my opinion, "Untamed" represents the worst of the “seeker-sensitive” movement. I don’t recommend it to anyone, but especially not to new believers or believers who are returning anew to their walk with the Lord.
In exchange for my honest opinion, I received a free copy of this book from WaterBrook Press.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Untamed: How the Wild Side of Jesus Frees Us to Live and Love with Abandon
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Book Review: "Untamed" by Lisa Harper

Date:July 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Doreen
Location:Maryland
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have to say that I was excited to receive a copy of "Untamed" by Lisa Harper. It has 211 pages, consisting of 12 chapters. At the beginning of every chapter, it will state "Our Savior is....". I love how it says for example, "Our Savior is Wildly Compelling" and then underneath of it, it will have a quote. Under this one, it's by Charles Spurgeon and says: "His character enchants, subdues, overwhelms--and with the irresistible impluse of its own sacred attraction it draws your spirit right up to Him." Wow! It will also have sniplets throughout the chapters --The Wild Ways of God-- such as: "The fact that Jesus chose exactly twelve disciples is likely a New Testament nod to the twelve tribes and twelve patriarchs of ancient Israel." At the end of every chapter, there's a section that will say: "We need an untamed Savior because....only a wildly compelling Jesus frees our hearts to race toward Him when He calls." I love this and they're different for each section. Underneath that, it'll have --Living and Loving with Abandon-- and will have questions that you can answer either by yourself or with a Bible study group. This is a wonderful book that I cherish.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free for review from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Untamed: How the Wild Side of Jesus Frees Us to Live and Love with Abandon
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

"Untamed" Turns Jesus Upside Down

Date:July 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lori
Location:Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
*"Jesus confronted confusion, oppression, dishonesty, and spiritual deadness because He cares so much about us and isn't willing to let us settle for anything less than the abundant life and absolute freedom God created for us to enjoy,"* so Lisa Harper emphatically states in the eighth chapter of *Untamed,* entitled "The Divine Trait of Stepping on Toes."
It is bold statements like this that cause you to sit up and take notice as Harper one by one debunks the myth of the milquetoast Jesus that plagues our world today. In chapters with titles like "Rough, Tough, and Ready to Rumble," "Simply Irresistible," and "The God Who Leaves Men Gaping," Harper systematically challenges wrong perceptions of Christ and offers scriptural proof that we serve a God who is wildly untamed.
Harper weaves a mixture of anecdotes from her own life (growing up in a divorced home, being a victim of childhood molestation, and being reared under chauvanistic teaching,) with Bible stories and passages to help readers identify with each characteristic of Christ that she unveils. She weaves in powerful quotes from respected Bible teachers and preachers and word studies that reference Greek and Hebrew. She concludes each chapter with discussion questions & scripture passages for further study.
*Untamed's* strength is in the characteristics Harper chooses to focus on -- those characteristics of Christ that we desperately need to understand and experience in order to "live and love with abandon." At times I found myself tempted to cheer out loud as Harper championed our Savior as wildly pro-women, wildly confrontational, and wildly redemptive. Other times I was moved to tears when she reminded me that Christ is wildly devoted and wildly attentive.
There is only one component of this book that I wish were different. Harper is a well-educated and articulate theologian, and by no means is this a shallow, fluffy Bible study book.
Unfortunately, Harper occasionally tries too hard to make her Bible stories contemporary. For example, the otherwise strong second chapter describes Mary's discovery that they had left Jesus behind in Jerusalem after the Passover. *"As soon as she got to the Holy City, she pulled Jesus's middle school picture -- the one that showed His cowlick and braces -- out of her wallet and began asking everyone if they'd seen Him. She. . .knocked on doors,retraced their steps, and put fliers on windshields."* While I understand the literary attempt at connection, it comes across as over the top, distracting, and slightly irreverent. Though tempted to discard the book after several similar passages, I am very glad I persisted to the end. Harper seemed to have gotten that style out of her system and settles into a thoughtful, reverent, yet very contemporarily relevant book.
*Untamed* is appropriate for Sunday school, women's Bible studies, or as a small group or personal study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Untamed: How the Wild Side of Jesus Frees Us to Live and Love with Abandon
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great study in learning to live wildly for Jesus

Date:June 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have you met the real, Jesus? Are you just going by how He is portrayed in paintings? Do we see Him as the world does or are we seeing the real Him? So many times we put Jesus in a box and close it up tight. We limit God with our own limitations. We seem to think He is only one way, but in reality, if we look close enough, deep enough and long enough? Well, that is when we are going to see the real Him. The Jesus that has no limits. The Jesus that is wildly free and wildly crazy about you.
Lisa Harper engages us with Jesus in her newest study, Untamed. She uses stories to bring our interests alive and detail to bring us a sharper image of Christ. The real image found in His Word. Lisa uses scripture to help us begin a new journey. One filled with hope and freedom, only found in Christ Jesus.
I really enjoyed this study. It is a great study to do alone or for a small group. I would love to do this study in Sunday School. Lisa, will make you laugh, tears will come and you will ponder your relationship with Christ. Sure, we believe, but are we living out our faith untamed? It's time we get Christ out of that box we place Him in and open our eyes to all He has done, is doing, and will do. He just needs us to open our hearts and see Him for who He really is. The One who came and gave His life for us. That's pretty untamed to me. Living wildly for Christ is what it's all about.
I learned to surrender my anxiety and all my brokenness to find a real joy, a lasting joy, only found if I am willing to live an untamed life for Christ!
This book was a gift from Zondervan for it's review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Untamed: How the Wild Side of Jesus Frees Us to Live and Love with Abandon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Wild Side of Jesus

Date:June 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Karen
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(click to see the video)
The Wild Side of Jesus…Our Saviour has a wild side? Really? Through twelve revelations, Lisa Harper gives us a clearer view into the heart of Jesus. She begins by challenging us to choose a less traveled path to get to know Him better. A path that is more liberating and more exhilarating than many other spiritual path chosen. If we choose to think outside of the box, push past learned behaviours and break inhibiting boundaries, we can be lead into a much more expansive and abundant view of our Lord and Saviour. She takes us on a journey to discover Jesus in a new and more intimate way. When you turn the last page you leave saying…I have been touched by His awesomeness and changed forever! He is bigger and getter than I could ever imagined!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.