Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Waterbrook Press Treasured: Knowing God by the Things He Keeps

Waterbrook Press Treasured: Knowing God by the Things He Keeps

If God had a box of souvenirs to remind him of things that matter most, what would it hold? Blending personal stories with Scripture, McLeroy examines the mysteries of heaven through tangible symbols of God's goodness, grace, and mercy---a fig leaf from Eden, Hagar's waterskin, a blood-stained strip of fabric . . . 224 pages, hardcover from Waterbrook.
Average Customer Rating:
4.185 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
1 out of 333%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Treasured: Knowing God by the Things He Keeps
Review 1 for Treasured: Knowing God by the Things He Keeps
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Shows God's heart and touches yours.

Date:February 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
hagertyhouse
Location:Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyed the book so much I ordered multiple copies to give as gifts to friends and family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Treasured: Knowing God by the Things He Keeps
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

A little disappointed...

Date:January 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
lilsmom
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The title of this book caught my eye and it sounded like something I wanted to read. When I started reading it, I was a little disappointed. I like to read a chapter a day of a devotional style book, but these chapters are so long that my kids are needing me before I can get through one. The author uses a lot of stories to make her point, where one solid story would be better than many. The book does, however, contain some good thoughts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Treasured: Knowing God by the Things He Keeps
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Best for Beginners

Date:May 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Treasured by Leigh McLeroy is a book of devotional insights that follows the author through some of the major stories and events of the Bible, picking out a key object from each story (a fig leaf, Abraham’s knife, a smooth stone etc.) and uses those objects to illustrate God’s love and care for us. McLeroy also brings her own life’s experiences alongside each of her reflections on the objects she has chosen from each story.
There are thirteen short chapters that make for brisk devotional reading. A discussion guide is also included which would lend itself well to use in a small group setting. This is a book that is best for newer believers – within their first year or two of birth into God’s family. Many of the stories and insights are fairy simple, and most Christians who have been in the faith for more than a couple of years will be familiar with the major points that McLeroy is making.
In all honesty, this isn’t a title that I can picture myself buying for our own collection, but it might make a good gift for a new believer who is just starting to learn about God, his history, and how Christians relate to Him in their daily lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Treasured: Knowing God by the Things He Keeps
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Garwood Mayer
During a period of poor health I read Treasured and felt inspired. The Scripture, followed by explanations and personal stories give me hope in time of extreme frustration. I, and my husband, are short term missionaries to Romania. We can not go back to minister to the people. Instead we have used Treasured as part of our mission work. We are passing out copies to people in need.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Treasured: Knowing God by the Things He Keeps
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Heather R.
Treasured: Knowing God by the Things He Keeps is written by Leigh McLeroy. Her inspiration comes from a cigar box that she inherited from her Grandfather. It seemed like an odd thing to receive at first, but as she examined the items her Grandfather kept, she began to know him more. In this way she discribes the objects that God might keep and what they might symbolize about his personality and character. Objects include a fig leaf for His covering, an olive sprig for new beginnings, and many others. One of my favorite objects that might be treasured by God was a Shepherd's harp string showing that he cares about the little guy and can use unexpected people to accomplish extraordinary tasks. In Treasured, Leigh McLeroy weaves bible stories, scripture and personal experiences together to make a pleasantly layered devotional. Treasured also contains a personal reflections and discussion section that would work well for group study and application.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Treasured: Knowing God by the Things He Keeps
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Treasured by Leigh McLeroy is an amazing book that poses the question: what would God keep in a treasure box as mementos of His love story with humanity? By focusing in on pivotal moments in the Bible, like the fig leaf, Abraham's knife, and Balaam's riding crop, she creates new understanding about who God is and just how much He loves us. It also adds subtext to each story making them richer and meaningful for today's readers. She takes everyday items and made them seem almost sacred because of their context. Each chapter is easily read in a few minutes daily making it a terrific addition to readers' time with God. She ends the book discussing the items that would be in her own treasure box of faith and encourages readers to consider the contents of theirs as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Treasured: Knowing God by the Things He Keeps
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Reddoch
WaterBrook Press"Treasured: Knowing God by the Things He Keeps" by Leigh McLeroyThis is a beautiful, hard-cover book you will add to your collection of treasures for years to come. This book has a guide for "personal reflection" and group discussions. There are 13 chapters in "Treasured". Each of these chapters describes one of God's treasures and the way God corresponds with each chapter and the author applies it to every day life. This would be a great Christmas gift, birthday gift, or "just because" gift.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Treasured: Knowing God by the Things He Keeps
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 5, 2009
Treasured, knowing God by the things He keeps, is a book that Leigh McLeroy fills with personal stories as well as many insights from the Bible that reminds us of how much God loves his children. The stories are so vivid and reminders of how loved we are by a God who is active in our lives daily. I was also reminded to slow down and look for moments in my day where God's is active and present in my life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Treasured: Knowing God by the Things He Keeps
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
V. L. Lovelock
Treasured, by Leigh McLeroy was a true treasure to read. I enjoyed it cover to cover and even re-read a couple of the chapters. I dearly love books that make me think about my relationship with God and this one does just that. I love that the author opens herself up and shares many personal stories that coincide with what scriptures she is using in each chapter. Her concept was one that I have never seen before and I love it's originality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Treasured: Knowing God by the Things He Keeps
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jean Grot
I really enjoyed this book, because like I said, it is set up so you can take your time with it, and read one short chapter at a time. Each chapter is about one certain thing that God tells us about in the bible, in order to know HIM better. For example, A Fig Leaf (Adam and Eve), A Fresh Olive Branch (Noah's Ark) or A Shepherds Harp String (David). The author talks about how we all save souvenirs in our cigar boxes, etc. to remind us of important milestones in our lives. She says God kept these keepsakes, tucked deep in the pages of His Word to tell His story and to help us understand our own. I would definitely recommend this delightful little book, perhaps as a stocking stuffer, for a loved one that you would like to make feel "Treasured" by you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Treasured: Knowing God by the Things He Keeps
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Erika Chapman
I am finishing up a sweet book called Treasured by Lisa McLeroy. The summary is below, but each chapter reflects on one item from the Bible that if God kept a memory box He might have saved. The items are not ones you would automatically choose and name. McLeroy weaves stories and illustrations from her own life throughout and does an amazing job at making the characters from the Bible come alive as well. The book is not very long and small in size so it would make a great Christmas gift for someone that might be kind of hard to buy for. It is a book rich with meaning but not difficult to read nor theologically overwhelming. I have thoroughly enjoyed it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Treasured: Knowing God by the Things He Keeps
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2009
We can know a person by what he treasures. Combining vignettes of her own life with biblical stories, McLeroy shows how God meets our needs through items He treasures. God heals our pain and shame with the fig leaf He treasures. He assures us of new beginnings with the olive leaf of hope. Even when we are sent from a familiar place, God nourishes us with Hagar's water skin. We know that God's plan goes beyond our loss with Joseph's bloody coat. We are encouraged that God looks on the heart (and not our resume) as evidenced by David's harp.McLeroy closes the book with her own collection of treasures. She encourages her readers to assemble their own treasures. She has included questions for personal reflection and group discussion.The retelling of biblical stories at length may be a bit much for Christians well versed in the Bible. The strength of the book, I think, is the end section. The full impact of McLeroy's idea will only come to the reader if there is reflection on what is treasured and action taken to journal or otherwise record the meaning of those treasures.This book was provided for review by the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Treasured: Knowing God by the Things He Keeps
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tonya
Treasured - This is a small book...it is compact enough to fit in my purse...which I did...at a Lancers game one night...intermissions are boring! :-) Anyway...that is the very nice thing about it, you can take it with you wherever you go. McLeroy is a lot of fun to read. She starts each chapter with a passage of scripture...explains the passage and then gives an example from her life or the life of someone she knows. She lays it out nicely for easy comprehension and likability. This book gets an A!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Treasured: Knowing God by the Things He Keeps
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Amy
This was a good read. It made me think about the treasures I have in my life that I have received from God. Also how my story fits into his grand plan.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Treasured: Knowing God by the Things He Keeps
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 2, 2009
In her book "Treasured: Knowing God by the Things He Keeps" author Leigh McLeroy examines the tangible treasures that God gives to people as he guides our lives. She weaves together things she has kept as humble treasures, beginning with examining a box containing things her deceased grandfather left, and going on to look at objects from Scripture.Leigh recalls how God sent a tiny heart shaped leaf to her doorstep when she was sad and lonely one Valentine's day, being as she wrote, "an unmarried forty something woman."She continues with separate chapters about treasures in the Bible, including the olive sprig sent to Noah, a shepherd's harp string and a golden bell.Anyone interested in exploring what their own treasured objects are, and learning more about Bible treasures will enjoy reading this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Treasured: Knowing God by the Things He Keeps
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 2, 2009
Excellent book. I'm not a huge fan of non-fiction, but this is a very easy to read book. The author does a great job of taking well-known and well-loved Bible stories and adding in her own life experiences to teach us why we serve such an amazing God. I highly recommend it. It would make a great Christmas gift!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Treasured: Knowing God by the Things He Keeps
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
LC Kerr
In 13 easy-to-read chapters, McLeroy opens our eyes to how and why God treasures this and other items... and that most of all, God treasures us. Included, at the end of the book, is a "personal reflection and group discussion guide" to help the reader figure out "What's in Your Box?". Treasured would be a wonderful Book Club read or a great gift. It is encouraging and eye-opening... it a book for a fresh new start with God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Treasured: Knowing God by the Things He Keeps
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Shannah
I enjoyed reading this book. Some of the chapters were not as thought-provoking as others, but overall, I found the book a refreshing read. I also thought the discussion guide at the end would make for excellent small group interaction!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Treasured: Knowing God by the Things He Keeps
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2009
Leigh McLeroy has written an encouraging book that helps us know God better as we also gain a more personal understanding of His great love for us. Leigh helps us look into our own life stories and recognize the pivotal moments in our faith walk with Christ. Just this past month, my own pastor asked us to share with him any pivotal moments in our walk with God. My husband and I each retold our stories to our pastor as we discussed our personal testimony and our relationship with Jesus. Leigh helps others do the same, and to see the meaning within those moments. Treasured would be an excellent book to give to young Christians, or those who are seeking God. If you know someone who just needs to see the beauty in their difficult journey, it could encourage them. Sometimes our lives are messy or sometimes just mundane. Yet, God treasures each of us and there are moments in our relationship with Him that we treasure as well. That is what Treasured celebrates.This book was provided to me by Waterbrook Multnomah for review purposes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Treasured: Knowing God by the Things He Keeps
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Momma C
Grief has a way of monopolizing itself. You feel overwhelmed in every area of your life. It is easy to feel like the world is falling on top of you. Leigh McLeroy opens your eyes to the little treasures that God gives us each and every day. As I read the book, I felt the layers of yuck peel off as I climbed out of a pit of lies. I was reminded of God's love for His "most precious possession" - me!With thirteen short chapters, this book can be used as a personal devotion or group discussion. It even includes discussion questions and scripture to help you dig deeper. McLeroy uses similes and metaphors like I have never read before. The imagery comes to life on each page. This is not a deep book. The message is very simple. So grab a cup of coffee and allow God to show you that you are His precious possession and climb out of that pit of lies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>