Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B. B. Kirkbride NKJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Genuine Leather, Levant Grain

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

B. B. Kirkbride NKJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Genuine Leather, Levant Grain

For years the unique Thompson Chain-Reference system has been a favorite study tool, and for good reason. Easy to learn and use, the Thompson Chain-Reference system contains over 100,000 topical references in over 8,000 chain topics, helping to make in-depth topical study and lesson preparation easier and more efficient. The Thompson Chain is also known for its excellent archaeological supplement and extensive collection of charts, diagrams, and other illustrations. Other features include a revised concordance, 16 pages of full-color maps, words of Christ in red, and Smythe Sewn reinforced tubular construction, which lies flat and provides a durable binding that will hold up to heavy use for years.

Features:

  • Thompson Chain-Reference System---over 100,000 marginal references covering 8,000 completed chain topics
  • Thompson instant-use guide included
  • NKJV concordance
  • Numerical index of chain topics
  • Alphabetical index
  • Outline studies of the Bible
  • Bible character studies
  • Bible harmonies and illustrated studies
  • Hebrew calendar
  • Index to the Scriptures atlas
  • 8 point type
  • Double-column format
  • Wide margins
  • References in margins
  • Words of Christ in red
  • Subject headings
  • Concordance
  • Full-color maps
  • Archaeological supplement
  • Ribbon marker
  • Gold gilded page edges
  • Smythe Sewn
  • Black genuine leather
  • Levant grain
  • 10.00" x 7.50" x 2.00"

Average Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NKJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Genuine Leather, Levant Grain
Review 1 for NKJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Genuine Leather, Levant Grain
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's a superior Study bible!

Date:December 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dflo75
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have just received the New King James Version of this Thompson Chain Study bible, in the black levant genuine leather grain, And I must say, once you get the hang of using this bible for a while, you will see exactly how SIMPLE it is to use! You can really do some systematic study with this Kirkbride winner! And it's like a whole library all in one book.
The Thompson Chain Reference bible, a most POWERFUL study tool in your hands!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NKJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Genuine Leather, Levant Grain
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Its Just too big..

Date:May 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Diligence
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had an old Thomas Chain reference in the KJV but it was bonded leather. Some of the letters in red were faded and my dog got a hold of it. But I loved the size.... I wanted a NKJV in genuine leather thinking it would be the same size but it wasn't. It was way too bulky and not something I would want to carry with me to church. It was too heavy and thick. 2 inches is too much. I had to send it back...
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NKJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Genuine Leather, Levant Grain
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent product

Date:November 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
ShazAB
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a birthday present for husband who had been reading my copy that I had for 9 years. The quality is very similar but I do prefer my old copy. This bible is a solid study bible in that you have to do the work, the study notes are not there for you to read. Every household should have a copy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NKJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Genuine Leather, Levant Grain
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
kruck
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband is a Pastor and he loves it. It was a gift for his birthday.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NKJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Genuine Leather, Levant Grain
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good, but...

Date:June 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
TGL31
Location:Tennessee
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is my 6th Thompson. I really don't even look at anything else when it's time to purchase a new Bible. But this one just feels different. I did a double take to be certain that it is genuine leather rather than bonded. I can't say I'm disappointed yet, but I'm not really sure I'll enjoy this one as much as the others.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NKJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Genuine Leather, Levant Grain
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Real nice solid Bible with great word studies

Date:May 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robert
Location:Greensboro NC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first Thompson Chain, and I went with the NKJV rather than the older pre-updated NASB or KJV. The topical numbering system and chain references are very helpful and I really like the fact that the text is not cluttered. Just look in the margin for topics or notes, and then follow them up using the reference index in the back. The binding is high quality and the Bible lays flat. The actual material (leather) is the stiffer, thinner type that is typical these days (not the luxurious calfskin or goatskin of Bibles costing twice as much), but it is still excellent considering the reasonable price.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NKJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Genuine Leather, Levant Grain
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Excellent Resource

Date:February 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
macjr
Location:Dayton, Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As one who has used many bibles over the years, including the Thompson Chain Ref., I have come to find that it is very difficult to improve upon this classic. My grandfathers both used this Bible as well as my dad in their service to their Lord and King. And yes, I used it early on as well. However, I got away from it over the years, thinking I needed a more note filled annotated Study Bible. However, over time, I found myself very frustrated with the Study Bibles and the "note dependency" they seem to promote instead of good faithful study in and of the Word of God.
I am embarrassed to say that in time, I found myself not studying as hard, or reading, listening, observing, researching and struggling through the process of interpretation of the Word of God. No. I found myself becoming more dependent upon the study notes themselves that others had struggled to put together for me within those Study Bibles. Lord forgive me.
As a result, a dissatisfaction began arising in me for a Study Bible that would actually help me study God's Word without trying to create a dependency upon what others were saying, thought, understood, etc. So, after a season of time, I found myself looking back to what my grandfathers and dad had known and understood; that you can't go wrong with using the Thompson Chain Reference Bible for the study of God's Word.
So, I ordered it through CBD, received it and have been using it all of the time since. It, as it always has been, is a wonderful tool for studying God's Word. The completed links along with the updated notes, charts and maps are all great as well. The paper is of excellent quality. The binding awesome. It lays flat out of the box. You can never go wrong with something that is Smyth sewn. The leather has a wonderful feel to it and is wonderful to hold. It softens readily with use which is also nice. This is a Bible that is made to be used, read and studied for a life time.
With all of the liberties that are and have been taken in what seems as ever increasingly loose translations of the scriptures, I am especially pleased that this Study Bible is available in the faithful and conservative NKJV.
It feels big in my hands but in a good and solid way. Several of my other Study Bibles are larger so I find its size not a problem of me.
It you want a Bible where others have done all of the hard work for you, and that will point you in the direction that they themselves have traveled, this isn't it. However, if you want a tool that has many resources in it that can and will help you actually do the work of studying the Word of God, then I believe you can't go wrong with this Study Bible. As a resource for the faithful reading, studying, preaching, and teaching of God's Word, you can't beat it, IMHO.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NKJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Genuine Leather, Levant Grain
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent quality and dynamic study features.

Date:January 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
GF51
Location:Tupelo, MS
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have never owned a Thompson Chain Reference Bible before. I am extremely pleased with the study features included in this Bible. The quality exceeds my expectations and the study features are easy to learn and use. This Bible allows me to focus on any topic I choose and as in depth as I wish. I highly recommend this Thompson Chain Reference Bible to anyone who is a serious student of God's Word.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NKJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Genuine Leather, Levant Grain
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
James Earl Thompson
The Thompson NKJV Study Bible is an excellent study bible and is very well constructed. The genuine leather edition will last a lifetime. Reflecting back, I cannot find any aspect of this Bible to criticize. I have bought many items from Christianbook.com and their service has always been excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NKJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Genuine Leather, Levant Grain
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rev David C Allmann
The best pro is the upgrading of all of the material in the chain and other study materials. The con is that the Levant Grain leather is not the best leather for such a great reference Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NKJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Genuine Leather, Levant Grain
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ryan
I've had one of these bibles since I was a child and I was excited to see that they came out with it in NKJV. These bibles are the best quality bibles that I've ever seen. If you need a bible cover for this, the wordkeeper large with the wide spine fits it great and its made of genuine leather.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NKJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Genuine Leather, Levant Grain
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jon Carey
nkjv is the best translation period. the niv is full of omissions. thompson chain one the best study bibles available. nasb update is my second favorite translation. but this study bible here is second to none for features and non of those study notes on the rapture non-sense. how anyone who calls themselves saved can fall for the rapture needs to read what Jesus himself said on end time tribulation and the elect or followers of Christ. the rapture is one of the biggest cons by Satan himself.
-6points
2of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NKJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Black Genuine Leather, Levant Grain
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
George Folk II
I bought the Thompson Chain Study Bible on the advice of my Pastor. As a up and coming minister he thought this bible would be inspirational in my study and a help in preparing subjects for teaching, preaching God's word. I am truly satisfied and happy that I took the suggestion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.