Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bridge-Logos Publishing The Pilgrim's Progress in Modern English, Updated Edition

Bridge-Logos Publishing The Pilgrim's Progress in Modern English, Updated Edition

At last---an unabridged contemporary English translation of Bunyan's enduring classic! Children will be swept away by Pilgrim's adventures, while mature believers can savor the gems of wisdom hidden in every chapter---from Christian's flight from the City of Destruction to his homecoming in the Celestial City. Features a helpful index and over 50 illustrations. 450 pages, softcover from Bridge.
Average Customer Rating:
4.474 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews for The Pilgrim's Progress in Modern English, Updated Edition
Review 1 for The Pilgrim's Progress in Modern English, Updated Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Morgan
I am so glad to have a copy of Pilgrim's Progress in modern English again even though I truly appreciate the original version written by Bunyan. The modern English does not lose any of the story's value but it does not take a reader to the soul searching depths Bunyan was pouring out on paper from prison. I would highly recommend purchasing this book first to gain understanding of the entire story and then read an original Bunyan work.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Pilgrim's Progress in Modern English, Updated Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Matthew Terboss
The book has a nice updated translation with notes on why they changed some of the word along with the book is a study guide which is nice for family reading or youth group.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Pilgrim's Progress in Modern English, Updated Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
John Lyons
A wonderful book, a must have for all christians. this book will walk you through all aspects of life.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Pilgrim's Progress in Modern English, Updated Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bhong Bondoc
You'll definitely love this book. A must for every Christians. Though I haven't tried the accompanied CD. Excellent!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Pilgrim's Progress in Modern English, Updated Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jo Anne Lang
This is my first time reading this book in the modern translation. I am not sure about it yet. I guess I am very used to the King James and so don't mind the original.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Pilgrim's Progress in Modern English, Updated Edition
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
James Whittaker
This edition kept much of the original feeling but seemed to have been hastily updated caused a loss of the intensity. If it was read aloud to someone, especially the youth, I am not sure their attention would last.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Pilgrim's Progress in Modern English, Updated Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Craig DeLong
This is a great book for any christian at any stage in their walk with God. It would be a good book to give to someone who is not a Christian because I think it would help to bring them to Christ.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Pilgrim's Progress in Modern English, Updated Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Odarise Coates
Excellent Reading - My Mom recommended that I get this book and outside of reading the bible, it is truly a great book
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Pilgrim's Progress in Modern English, Updated Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Janet Craig
Excellent book. Great also for a group study. Has a study guide in the back section of the book. Has referenced all bible verses used in the book. Next to the Bible this is a book every believer should read as it depicts the spiritual journey we all will take. Also has a section of questions asked to the reader on each chapter to reflect upon.This book has encouraged me in my daily walk.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Pilgrim's Progress in Modern English, Updated Edition
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Vladimir Storkorov
The pilgrim's progress (as we well know) is sencond only to the Bible in the number of copies printed. Some even call it "second only to the Bible." In the opinion of many, if not almost all critics on Christian and English literarture, a classic for the ages.Many still say this perfect for the new Christian, as Bunyan also infers throught his most famous work. Clearly a great work for the continuation of the glory of our Lord, correct? I, on the other hand disagree entirely. Bunyan, while giving the impression that he is portraying an objective image of Christianity, in fact demonsrates his partiality to Puritanism Disestablishmentariansim.Young Christains who encounter this partiality risk falling into Bunyan's preffered doctrine. Saying this should be read at the beginning of one's faith is preposterous, for it is the mirror of Bunyan's try at the deception of one's person. In fact, Bunyan's opinion of any other doctine besides his was that the members of which ( say Anglican and Roman Catholic, Bunyan's hated enemies), would eventually and ultimately fall into perdition.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Pilgrim's Progress in Modern English, Updated Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Donna Zulauf
There is no other book quite like it in the world. Awesome allegory describing what our Christian walk is like and the burden that we must shed in order to receive the full benefit for Christ's death on the cross for us.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Pilgrim's Progress in Modern English, Updated Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Brian
This is among the finest books I have read.Its central character is named Christian. The book begins with Christian, who is dressed in rags, holding a Book. He lives in a city in which he has lived all his life. Its name is Destruction. As Christian reads his Book, he increasingly senses the weight of a burden on his back. What is this burden of Christians? How may he be rid of it? How does his deliverance from his burden change his life? Part I of this book answers these questions and more. (Part II, a sequel to Part I, looks at what became of Christians family.)The book is filled with beautiful scenes and passages. ("Now my name is Christian, but my name used to be Graceless.")John Bunyan makes great use of imagery. For instance, Chapter 8 (The Pilgrim Meets the Family) paints a beautiful picture of the purpose of the body of Christ--the church. Chapter 14 looks at Christians battle with Giant Despair; what happens if we take our eyes off Gods promises, and how to reclaim the hope that shone so brightly when we first believed. Chapter 18 (Hopeful Tells of His Conversion) is the glorious account of Christians friend. It unwraps God's gift of grace extended to undeserving sinners. Have you ever had a friend or family member whose hope of heaven is themselves? Chapter 19 (The Pilgrims Deal with Ignorance) provides a treasure trove of seeds helpful to plant when witnessing to them.This edition features John Bunyans original footnotes, additional footnotes from the conscientious translator, an extensive index, and excellent biography of the author. There is so much in this book. Another reviewer noted that it would make for a great Bible study, and that is very true. The story of Christian is fresh and yet familiar, for it is the story of every Christian. God worked powerfully through John Bunyan.I would recommend this book to every Christian. Is this a helpful book to share with someone who is not a Christian? Yes; if they are a good reader.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Pilgrim's Progress in Modern English, Updated Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Robert Brake
A wonderful book which leads one to accept Christ as their Savior and what goes on after they do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Pilgrim's Progress in Modern English, Updated Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Debra Evertson
A grateful THANKS is in order! Years ago I struggled through the original and felt that the "work" of reading and interpreting the old language left me missing much of the story and certainly wasn't enjoyable. This is enjoyable and well done!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Pilgrim's Progress in Modern English, Updated Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Nancy Gallatin
This is a fantastic book. It is easy to understand and relates everyday occurences and decisions. I wish everyone I know could read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Pilgrim's Progress in Modern English, Updated Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Scott Sterling
Although I had no trouble reading the original in its Middle English, I find this edition to be easier and more comfortable to read. I bought it because it has way more scripture references than the original. This is a Must Have for any serious student of the Scriptures.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Pilgrim's Progress in Modern English, Updated Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
craig luse
This book is a faith builder to know that the christian pilgrimage has all ways been a struggle. Do read this book. I love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Pilgrim's Progress in Modern English, Updated Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2003
Customer Avatar
Jack
What a faith builder to know that in the middle 1600's knowing Christ was just as it is today. Second best book ever written. This edition is in language you can understand and yet does not loose the old english flavor. It has scripture references and can really be a neat Bible study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Pilgrim's Progress in Modern English, Updated Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2000
Customer Avatar
janet
Extremelly readable. Enables one to apply Biblical Truth in daily living. Honoring to Christ. Bible references. Excellent for Senior Graduation along with some money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.